(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

ros, which cc did u put amadeus at and hw many days already?

till now ayden will still cry on and off in the morning and after that he is alrite..

its normal for them to be traumatised @ this stage as its totally a new environment for them.. or mayb u can try to search for others CC?

Ken-ma, last time young stay with mum didn't know how to appreciate home cooked food leh. Everyday complain she cooks similar food. Now stay on my own then I know how bad I was last time!

Ros, Oh...Amadeus damn poor thing leh. I think if Joshua is being treated like that I will be heart-broken too. How can the teacher ask Amadeus to shut up!!!
You can consider the playgroup Joshua is attending. I guarantee you the teacher won't do that to Amadeus.

hui, depends on situation one.. cant totally hack care oso

Mei, forgot to answer your question just now. Joshua not attending Tumbletots. Its talentplus below my blk.

And, I saw you and your hb when you both reach PP foodcourt. Hahaha...

Hui, I think the shouting at Amadues and asking him to shut down not nice lor.

mei2, i put him at Qdees n now is the 4th day..insteading of improving, he is crying even worse n jus now he cried non-stop from 8.45 to 10am leh...

hui, i dont know also cos i never witness the thing but my mom say tehir attitude not gd lor...the way they handle the kids when we are there n not there is totally different...when Im there, they will carry him n comfort him but when i'm away, its like they jus put him aside n let him cried lor without comforting him...

irene, ya lor, i also cannot believe it when i hear my mom say tat cos they appear to be very loving lor when i'm there...jus now when i saw him cried so terribly, i felt like crying too...hahaha...

powerpuffs, hehe travelling lesser now
hope emm is better liao.

ros, OMG!!! That Indian teacher is so horrible!!!!!! yes, I agree with your hb, dun send amadeus back to that CC liao! maybe start him at playgroup first then slowly move to cc?

irene, ic ic hee

ya shouting @ amadues is very wrong!

ros, still in 2 weeks trial rite? can withdraw him out and search for another CC..

Hi Ros..
Ken will join the activities and eat there...he takes his bkfast,lunch n tea break in sch.Ken's chinese teacher also got 'shout' at him.. dan he guai guai sit dwn..keke.....frankly speaking hor,if u wana leave him in CC, better dun go n peep at what they are doing otherwise u will be heartpain lor..cos its not like what we treat them at home cos there is so many kids..(its like don't ever which how the chef cook the food theory)

Ros, actually sometimes letting the kid crying it out is ok. As long as the teacher is observing him and knows what she is doing.
The teacher also ask joshua to cry it out when he is unhappy but she will stay there with him.

Really heartache lor...I read what you wrote I also feel sad.

Irene,
ya.. shouting will cause more fear to the tods..

Ros,
speak to the principle? i saw a blog entry frm one of the forum daddy.. he put her gal in CC the teacher also shut @ his daughter to shut up when the ger is crying.. the daddy go look for the principle to complaint abt their bad attitude..

Ros, I think you can try to send Amadeus there for another day and observe your own without letting the teacher find out.
Coz sometimes what the grandparents said might not be that true too. They heartache the grandchild.

Ken-ma, actually I do agree with what you said too. Cannot expect the cc to treat our kid like the way we treat them at home.

ken-ma, if i'm on leave or mc.. i usually loiter ard outside the classroom and peep w/o him noticing me.. :p so far am quite happy with the teacher attitude with the group and we do communicate each other thru their communication book that is inside ayden's bag everyday.. and u're right.. sumtimes we just have to close 1 eye like hw the teacher scold or teaches our kiddos..

ros, prob amadues is scare of being there alone w/o u and ya mom plus the teacher din managed to gain his trust... since he is having bad experience there alr.. better withdraw him to calm him down 1st before leaving him at another ba.. if not he will feel even sadder ba...

cary, ya lor, intend to try out the playgrp ehich Joshua is attending now...

mei, ya, still within the trial but cannot get back our refund lor...tink we will try out playgrp first wif shorter hrs then slowly out him back to CC...

ken-ma, when i put him there, i left n never peep cos i know tat is very heartpain one, it is only when my mom told me wat is going on, then i decided to go n take a look...at least ken still eat in the CC, amadeus don eat there at all as I'm not there to feed him...really very heacdache lor...he is very dependent on me...

irene, i agree tat letting him cry out is ok but it is the sttitude of the theacher which we don like...

wah..mei.. talking abt the communication book.. its like doing homework lor...hehe.. need to write s short compo everyday...

hi Irene..ya lah.. cos if there are like 2 or 3 Ken's in the sch,sure the teachers will ki siao.. so better dun see wat they are doing man...hehe...

rina, my mom is not inside the classroom, she is outside peeping at him...not bringing him back tomolo liao...hb don allow...

ros, what? the teacher asked him to shut up?? how can she do tha?anyways think also becuz he suddenly need to attend CC and playgroup/enrichment classes shd be good to pace him into CC life...ya, i agree u shd talk to the principal and complain abt the staff attitude...

irene, yes i agree with u...last time i also always complain my mum cooks the same old things! hahah

ros - sorry to hear abt wat happened to ama. i think u sld actually do a bit of 'investigation' and sneaking ard on ur own before making ur final decision. wat u said abt ama crying more than the previous days is actually quite a normal scenario w some kids coz they realise tt this skl gg thing is permanent, it may not neccessarily be becoz of bad experience in skl. also, some kids just cry n cry n nothing can stop them so usual practice for teachers is to leave them alone. imagine the teachers got so many students, if gotta carry them all e time when they cry, they need to be like octopus leh. so u got to readjust ur expectations abit? but frm ur post e teachers sound a bit hypocritical so u sld not let them noe but hide somewhere and watch him. u gotta think carefully b4 withdrawing ama. withdraw him if it's really e skl n teachers tt are lousy but if u are withdrawing him becoz he keeps crying, u may end up causing more trouble for urself coz if he cries at every skl he goes to, are u gg to keep withdarwing him?? so make sure it's really e skl tt's lousy. and i think u sld speak to e principal abt wat ur mum saw as well. this keeps e skl on its toes tt u guys are always ard observin gthem as well

sporty, ya lor..i was shocked too when i hear my mom say tat...she shld have saiy it in a nicer way...hb called to complain liao lor and now i going to call again to explain the whole situation as hb got some of the facts wrong...

Ken-ma, huh? You mean parents also must write in the communication book ah?

Yes, I do pity those teachers too. Coz I alone with Joshua I can throw his toys and shout at him too when he made me damn pissed! I am not a perfect mum...I do flare temper too. The teachers are human too.

ros - u already say ama is v dependent on u.. u not there he dun eat.. u sure u want to pull him out of e cc so fast anot? ur cc no air con? did ur mum hear e exact words e teacher used??

irene, haaa ya! we parents oso need to write in the communication book :p like wat the teacher update us on them in school and wat we wan them to help us to monitor etc etc

thats is the 1 of the reason high turn over rate for CC's teachers coz salary too little and high responsiblity.. haiz

i agree with ken-ma.. if u put ur child in a cc, best dun go n see too much!! haha.. sure got good days n bad days as teachers are human! hee.. but of coz got strict rules for techers also lah.. but def hor not as loving and patient as us parents or grandparents bah?

cary, not really mini compo lah.. sumtimes only a few sentences nia! haha
tues i wrote to his form teacher saying that i'm changing ayden's FM and water @ which ml and ask to help me to monitor on his meals + milk feeding hee..

ros, ya...u shd clarify with the skool cuz at times our parents/ILs might always exaagerate the situation! u kno la...they could be more heartache abt their grandchild than us...

irene/cary, communication book is like a channel between teacher and parents...think in pri skool, they practise this also...hehe

crystal, since u mentioned abt CC with aircon,u think CC with aircon is better? but some pple say w/o aircon is better as the kids wun get sick easily...

irene/mei2, i agreed tt being a teacher is not easy... lao shi is wei da de... i nv hv tt kind of patience wif kids...

cary, nw we know wat to expect next time ours goes to playgp or cc..

hi irene..
must lah..dan at least the teacher will get to know more about the child and fine tuned the way they handle them...but quite lucky that Ken has his own fave teacher.. so at least not that bad..cos the teacher called today and said ken even pass her the water bottle and ask her to drink water lor..really become ah bang ah dek...

Sporty, I think the playgroup cannot afford to pay me commission leh. The school fee already so cheap. Wahahaha...
I didn't keep asking you all to join ah...I just suggested an alternative.

Crystal, what you said is true.

ken-ma, the teacher so good hor.. always call u and update u leh.. hee ayden inside for 1mth+ liao i got no calls from teacher! haha and ayden oso have his fav teachers :p

sporty - for me i think no air con is better coz viruses dun spread tt easily but it wun be like a TOP concern kinda thing.. for me, if e teachers and environment is good but got air con i will just go to e place with air con lor.. =) for me most impt is teachers..
n also hygiene practices of e cc.. some cc with air con practice much better hygiene then cc w/out.. u look at hfmd outbreaks hor, even non air-cn cc also kena so i guess air con may not be a big big factor??

ken ma, seems like ken really settling well...so kawan with the teacher liao...hehhe

irene, ya hor...hahha...i better ask my mum to decide soon, if not the vacancies will be taken up thru ur "advertising"...kekkeke :p

hi mei.. think its only for this week nia..cos 1st week mah.. after dat, i tink they will stop calling.. cos where got so many things to tell me..hehe..everytime she call, teh 1st question i ask is,he gt beat ppl or nt..wahaha....
Hi sporty, for Ken's CC, they rotate between air con n fan.. cos they dun wan the children to be too dependant on A/C..otherwise, they will only like cold cold plc n dun wana go outdoors..

crystal, hee i would prefer non aircon coz sumtimes can just peep @ the window and hear wat the teachers are teaching and any abusing onot :p

Ken-ma, hahaha...just now Joshua's teacher also told me Joshua kept feeding her the biscuit I put in his box.

mei - haha.. i think i trust our mummies' instinct.. if we sense sth not rite bah? too bad e place nearest my hse is air con one.. haha

mei, maybe u shd write in the communication booklet tha u want teacher to call to "update" u? haha

crystal, icic...what u said its true lor...but then how do we access the teachers?

ken ma, how do they switch between aircon and fan? some rooms are airconditioned...

sporty - i kinda believe in instincts.. i will just go down to e skl and walk ard and look see lor.. i feel when u see hw e students react or respond to e teacher u will be able to 'feel' whether e teacher is liked by e kids.. hee.. u noe wat i mean??

Hui, cannot compare the playgroup to GUG hor. Coz playgroup is really play play one hor. You don't expect your child to come home and start saying A-Z or 1-10 hor.

Its a place for them to learn to follow instructions,be independent and learn how to interact in a group.

Sporty, yes leh...my neighbour and friends are already saying they interested liao after hearing my feedback.

crystal, well...sometimes might visit the skool at the "wrong" time lor...i once visited a skool at lunchtime...all the kids so rowdy leh! athan even wanna go and sit beside them...haha

hui, u considering playgroup for jovial as well?

irene, alamak...u are saying like "whilst stock last" or "whilst vacancies last..."

hi crystal,
ya.. i tink the elcectrical bills also play a part.. but i m ok with it lah...cos next time go NS also no aircon mah... :p
hi sporty,
all the rooms have windows one.. so they will open up all the windows and on the fan.. one thing that i quite like about the plc is that they have eindows and natural lights coming in...

hi irene..
think they are learning how to share will ppl nw isit?

sporty - haha.. kids rowdy is okies mah..then u can see how e teacher manages e rowdiness... haha.. i find it v unnatural if kids r too guai.. i v weird rite.. haha.. last time i teach at cc tt time, my class always e noisiest class.. haha

crystal, its my hb who is adamant to pull him out...the CC got air con but they never on it unless it is hot...n ya. i jus spoke to the principal and she say maybe cos today she is not ard to carry n comfort amadeus (she is the one who do the comforting the last 2 days) n ask us to give the sch another chance...after talking to her, i might bring amadeus back again to see how...but i need to persuade my hb la...

my mom say she hear the teacher say 'shut up, u' maybe in frustration n not those raised voice...but what i'm not happy is tat, there is suppose to be 2 teachers ard to take care of the class but end up only 1 n the other one keep hiding in the office n didn't come out to help her...

irene, the book is to help the teachers n parents communicate mah but till now, they havent give me the book yet lor...sometimes i also... i agree tat teachers r human too..but i don like it if they do certan things in front of us nia n once we left, it is another way...

sporty, jus finished talking wif the principal n she say normally the teacher is not like tat, very loving..so maybe she is frustrated...this i can understand cos i know what ama is like...but when he keep crying non-stop, at least the other teacher shld have come out to comfort n hug him...n not leave the teacher who is teaching the class handle both situations alone mah...