(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

mich, ur co have very good benefits
thas ur entitement lor...dun say they wun pay u back too :p

sweet, yes ah...can go fidgets or gymboree liao...kekkeke :p

irene, yup yup...but maybe the childcare benefits will benefit u esp if let say, if u intend to go back to work...

Sweet, 1 day is better than nothing, my hubby's company dun even have PL.... I also use childcare leave to bring them out. Good idea, play gyms less crowded on weekdays.

irene, think the benefits will be useful if later on you want to send Joshua to school...

Sporty, that's true... i think I'll just take it all... maybe can take all in 1 lot and go on holiday. Childcare mah, means as long as my children with me then considered I suppose ha ha ha

sporty, true hor... why not indeed? I keep thinking its for things like bringing kids for jabs, or when the childcare centre is closed. But no one said cannot go on holiday kekeke.

mich, ya la...i think the infantcare leave is good la...even tho its unpaid, i have frens who exhausted all their leave when the childcare centre is closed due to hfmd...so at least last resort still have the infantcare leave lor...

sporty, true unpaid is good also. That time when Joy was born, my hubby took 3 days of unpaid leave cos he utilised all his leave already. And it took a lot of trouble to get his unpaid leave sorted out. At least now, it will be in the HR arrangement which makes it easier to take if required.

hi hi ladies!

the 16 week ML and 6 days CCL is the attraction... for the infant leave being unpaid .. o'well we have to give and take some where lah .. else the company lugi then in future the companies will think twice to employ woman hehehe...

morning gals..

wah... me also excited over the 16wks of ML.. heehee..

zoo outing tis sat, we cant join le.. cos nd to visit pil on tt day instead of the usual sun... last min thingy.. so sori abt it... u girls enjoy ya.. :D

Maternity leave planning
mth 2-4 60 days

mth 2 work for 2 days a week (12)Days used

mth 3 work for 2 days a week (12)Days used

mth 4 work for 3 days a week (8) Days used
mth 5 work for 3 days a week (8) Days used
mth 6 work for 3 days a week (8) Days used
mth 7 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 8 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
Still left 4 days! (assuming & hope they extend to 8 mths to use at least)

I planning next child to go back to work earlier cos i dont want to hire another staff - cos hand over & rechecking for my line is HELL!

Hello everyone..

Zoo outing i think i have to give it a miss..
you girls enjoy k..

*Zoo Outing*

Date : 23rd Aug 2008 (Sat)
Time : 9.30am

Interested Families :
1. Sweet + HB + Trishelle (w zoo pass)
2. Jen + HB + Jake (w zoo passes)
3. VicMa + HB + Vicky (under Jen's pass)
4. Powerpuffs + Emmanuel (under sweet's pass)
5. Mich + HB + Serene + Joy (under Jen's pass)
6. kompass + HB + Bb (w zoo pass)
7. Hiroshima + Hiroshi +sophia (under Jen's pass)

Sorry guys.... I need to give the visit to the zoo a miss,
Have a birthday party to attend that day.

*Zoo Outing*

Date : 23rd Aug 2008 (Sat)
Time : 9.30am

Interested Families :
1. Sweet + HB + Trishelle (w zoo pass)
2. Jen + HB + Jake (w zoo passes)
3. VicMa + HB + Vicky (under Jen's pass)
4. Powerpuffs + Emmanuel (under sweet's pass)
5. Mich + HB + Serene + Joy (under Jen's pass)
6. kompass + HB + Bb (w zoo pass)

hi ladies, today took my off in-lieu, now rotting at hme, haha...

wah... everyone toking abt e baby incentives... 4 more wks of ML is gd but was a bit disappointed that there's no gd news on PL. so 16wks of ML we r to be on our own (once again!)...

Rina

our line is like that. the last time hired a part- timer then the mth before must rush & teach, 2 mths before that must look & hire this person , then come back rush 2 week hand over take over - if the company is so nice to give u 2 more weeks that is & also hire this person 1 mth to 2 week before u go on maternity leave.

Well when is it effective & also is ti for also to be taken within 6 mths? if so hor - i think alot of pple will quit their jobs liao or lose alot of ML. Cos i dont think my company willing to pay me for unused ML either.

some one told me - huh like that ar - looks like policy makers didnt consider pte sector - this scheme 1 more mth works for govt sector & assuming there is spare capacity. pte sector where got spare capacity. The only way around this is - permanently have part timers. ONly this way then it will work out - maybe? dunno. I worry about my report i need to submit this mth 1st ba.

my friend company the HR very evil - told them cos they are executives & management Employment act not considered hor - these guidelines are only mandatory - & new policy came out - must finish annual leave before u utilise your childcare leave. - so gialat ar?

The HR hor is a old lady not married no children no life person - always want to change policies to suit her - i think she will die a miserable death alone one day - in life cannot be so evil lor.

Sweet
My coy same same
For the guys ONLI 1 day of PL...
becos this guy from my coy before his wife give birth ask abt PL.... then we joke..maybe u are in the process of going..PUSH!!! times up..PL over had to report to work....

morning ladies ,
congrats lizardness .. so same as me .. boy, boy .. keke ..

ML .. heard the effective date is next year Jan 09 .. so gotta miss the extra 4 weeks ... but still will get the childcare 6 days ba .... hopefully .. keke

wow! jas.. congrats on ur boy! heh..

db!!! well done leh.. u r FANTASTIC.. hahaha

qiuling.. where u heard the effective date is nxt yr jan?

yah ,
confirm the effective date is Jan 09 .. so all the mummies who delivered before teh date miss teh boat .. haha .... We are not their target ..cos we already have bb in our tummy .. keke ..

Lizardness ,
Yes , i wanted to have a girl but no luck and with this no 2 coming out , I dun think i have enought time and energy for the next one .... and I mentioned before have to strike lottery ... Govt measures is not an incentive for me // having a child is personal choice .. if I can afford the time and money ba ..... a few years later .. or never .. keke

Extended government-paid maternity leave: Maternity leave will be
extended from 12 weeks to 16 weeks for mothers with Singaporean
children born on or after 1 Jan 2009. The last eight weeks can be taken
flexibly over 12 months from the birth of the child, subject to mutual
agreement between the employer and employee. For the first two
confinements, the first eight weeks of maternity leave will continue to be
employer-paid, with the last eight weeks to be funded by the
Government (capped at $20,000 per confinement, inclusive of CPF
contributions). For the third and subsequent confinements, the full 16
weeks will be funded by the Government (capped at $40,000 per
confinement, inclusive of CPF contributions).

Maternity leave planning (REVISED)

mth 2-4 60 days
mth 2 work for 2 days a week (12)Days used

mth 3 work for 2 days a week (12)Days used

mth 4 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 5 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 6 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 7 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 8 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 9 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 10 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 11 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used
mth 12 work for 4 days a week (4) Days used

OMG can permanently work 4 days a week for mth 4-12! Like that hor - no more promotion liao le work 4 days week - pple will think badly of new mothers.

Previously can get 5-10% increment a yr. - that's say someone earning $2500 hor $1625-$3250 a yr (including 13th mth) - now got more time to spend with children but less $ to spend. hmmmm. so earn around $100-200 less a mth but we DIY teach children at home ourselves?

if someone earns $4K so increament $4200 - 4400 lesser by $160 - $320/mth.

So mothers lose out say the $2500 mother this yr lose out 5% increment say
Yr 1 no increment 2500 ($100 nett a mth - lose out $1200)
Yr 2 increment 2625 (lose our 2756.25 - 2625 = $105 - $1260)

but childcare subsidy increased $150/mth - still win ?

faints
I borrow Mastercard's advertisment - $ spend on this $x but time with your child - PRICELESS!

yooo hooo

how's everyone?

hui, the 16 weeks ML is effective next yr lor...

rina, excited over the 16 weeks ML?? then ttc soon la...now ttc sure entited one...kekke :p

crystal, ur bb also by "accident" mah...u wun miss out much except the ML and bb bonus of 1k ba...

vic ma, i like ur ML planning leh..sounds good...but dunno whether can work bo..sekali work get piled up and cannot go on 4 days week le...

jen, ya la...what u said is rite...we have to go thru ML on our own once again...heheh

glayz, at least ur co have one day of PL...my hb's co had none lor...so duhz...tha time he only took 2 days of leave to stay with me in hospital...after tha i own time own target liao...

jas, congrats on ur boy
can re-use jerald's clothes and toys...kekeke :p

qiuling, u can always try for a gal...maybe in a few yrs time la since u still young...

db, ur analysis very zun ah...share share leh...

915, long time no see u here...so u ttc for #2 liao after hearing the news?? hehhe

sporty

precisely - if got alot of work -end up waived or cancelled- I in HR - its very luan le - then hor to claim back from Govt - rightfully the staff didnt take the leave & we got paid by govt - wah- encash? What i fear is they tell u BYE BYE hor, just take all the leave to offset hand over & good bye!

I got a better idea.

one day - 8.5 hrs work (for eg)

working hrs 8.30 - 6pm

What if i permanently change my working hours

10am - 5pm? so work 6 hrs a day so leave considered 2.5 hrs a day.

Then day 2 mths worth of ML is 40 days = 340 hrs divided by 2.5 hrs its 136 days - average one mth is 20-23 days say 22 days average = 6mths+ work on new timing schedule?

I think its sounds good le - + hor, pple still see u everyday. can fetch the elder child go cc & go fetch the child come home -IDEA!

vic ma, u are in HR...if u can convince ur co then ok lor esp in terms of working hrs...encash the ML ah? cannot la...wait long long lor, i asked before liao...hahhah

personally hor - i rather take whole day leave - who wants to cut short working hrs? esp if they dont need to cook or clean or need to pick up an elder child from nursery/cc home earlier for eg?

Go to work everyday - time spent travelling + cost of transport is still the same -hiaz - govt must be cursing & swearing - give also complain dont give also complain - Well I AM A PROUD SINGAPOREAN -& i like to COMPLAIN! keke! (migration is out for me cos i dont think i like to live in another country - old habits die hard - hb roots too deep in SG soil - too deep even for other countries to earn some tourism $$ from us! ARRGH!)

jas, congrats...

DB arh.. can u please predict my #4 first? If girl then i try.. lol.. but 16weeks ML not enuff.. lol

Sporty, can encash 3rd month de.. My ex company allows that.

Qiuling, I have to agree with you on that. Having more kids or not is a personal choice and not much to do with govt's incentive.

pinkzebra/sporty/SNG
thanks! yup #2 will be wearing jerald's hand-me-down clothes and playing his toys.
i wun need to buy clothes and toys for #2, can save $$$.
haha.....

hey Sporty, the news sounds good lor...ttc-ing is another challenge esp all our energy have been chanelled into our little monster..so ttc-ing looks like a tough task man..hopefully got good news before 2009 ..haha

Seems like a handful of the june mummies are r going to enjoy the new perks...any plan on ur side?

hello all...!

jas, congrats on boy #2!

db: wow another correct prediction, yr hypothesis working very well!

qiuling....how've u been?

sng, my ex company dun allow encashment...thas why i die die wanna clear the ML before i quit...hehehe

915, agreed tha the news sounds good...good luck to ur ttc-ing
plan on my side? juz take natural takes its course as no precautions taken currently...LOL :p

vic_ma, u veri funny leh abt how to spend e last 8wks of ML. actually, if i can take my last 8wks of ML to work oni 3-4 days a wk, i dun mind, so can bring child to attend enrichment class on weekday. but i tink for my employer, wld prefer u to take e full ML throughout cos it's v.difficult to monitor if u take it flexibly.

singaporeans r like tha, dun give complain, give aso complain, hard to please. kekeke...

i wonder if can take ML to go long holiday??? then no need to consume my AL, can bring forward to following yr. or ask govt to pay tha 4wks of extra ML to my hb's co so tha he can take 4wks of PL to accompany me, for tis, i tink it wld oni happen in my dream world. haha...

morning ladies!

Sporty, hope to hear news from natural course soon

btw, anyone here managed to 'talk' to your toddler har? seems like everytime when my gal cries, i tried to calm her down by talking , she just dun listen, continue crying until the house is almost collapsing then ended up i lose...i gotta carry her outside walk ard to calm her down.

915, I am constantly talking to Joshua as there's only him and me at home. Sometimes he understands and obeys while other time he choose to ignore and continue to ignore.
But usually when he cries, its quite difficult to talk to him.

jas, congrats on no. 2!

vic ma, I am completely amazed by your assessment ha ha ha. That day my hubby was just telling me probably only one parent can pursue his or her career. The other one will have to take a less glamourous one so someone can be around for the kids like fetching them to see doctor, taking time off when the childcare is closed. Looks like its the women who end up "losing" out.

sporty/915, good luck with TTC!

915, when they cry, its impossible to talk to them. Even for my 3 yr old, she will still keep crying so I just leave her to finish first before talking.

hi irene, ic...i think when only 2 of you at home with no other ppl then it's ok. Coz my case is diff, arielle seems to bully me when there are ppl ard esp with her grandparents and daddy..hehe..

Has joshua started talking?

915, Joshua also bullies me. He is not so afraid of me compared to his daddy.
Sigh...he is really slow when it comes to talking. He can hardly say anything.

so these little tots they really know how to bully their mummies!

Arielle also hasn't said much except for "apple". She can recognise apples and say "apple" . Dunno when she can start calling mummy.

915, Joshua can call mama and dae dae but he can't say apple. He can recognise apple and orange but he won't say it.

Well..so we just have to wait lor.