(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

Jen
For me my cousins on my mum side as well as their GF/BF...all standard $6...
My father side all $4...as not as close mah...
The little rascals who my mum used to bbsit... $10...wahahahahahahaha..my sis and her bf...also $10... all are considered to be my siblings...

For the elderly like my mum, dad grandma..is $50 each... but I gave my mum AWS before CNY...wahahahahahahahaha... and I also pay for 1 set of her clothes and 1 set of y dad clothes...
MIL I gave her $50... for her to buy new clothes which she din buy any.... and I think that hb DIN giver her any $$ for CNY lor...

MIL gave $4 to my 2S..and NONE for me..hb I dunno as she is USED to giving him undertable when she tot I din no....

morning
me back to work liao.. cny day 1, i took a slice of bak kwa and at night, i ended up with sore throat.. argh... i haben eat my pineapple tarts etc..

sporty
lucky my coy din banned.. i'm still able to log in.. hehe

glayz
this yr finally i manage to recoup the losses i had for 4 yrs.. haha.. next yr with my no3.. i can have some profits..

ur MIL gave $4 to ur kids ar... thought granny always give more??

Pooh
That is WHAT i tot so also!!!
and hb this yr...ACT BLUR AGAIN!!!! he din give my 2 S ang pows....

Maybe next yr I also act blur and dun give mil $$$!!!

good morning!

hi sporty, Kai Kai grab angbaos and started to put into his mouth for "tasting"...how abt Athan? did he enjoy himself?

jen, actually I used to give $4 last year but I thought standard rate is not $6-8 so I went to up the amount lor. Actually closer nieces and nephews, I give a range of $10-28. But mostly my friends give me $6-8 so I feel that I should return the same amount. yup I give my ILs ang bao, a total of $128 each for FIL and MIL. In return, they give my 2 girls $56 each and my and my hubby $40 each, so not too bad lah...

SNG, wow $500-800 for your IL... so generous! Last time my hubby used to give $800 also. But after we got married, I told him he might as well give me the $800 ha ha ha. How come your don't think Nick is making progress at his current CC? My girl's CC was telling me I should not expect too much of them at this age. Now I don't know what to expect...

Mich, CNY mah.. if don't give them $$ to pao ang pao, it also reflects badly on us as son and DIL.. for face sake, and also to keep their mouths shut cos my lao gong don't go back on the first day..

School.. When i compare the progress of sam and nick (i know i shouldn't.. but honestly which mum never compares? All mummies are kan cheong one mah.. ) Sam could read close to 100 english words and a hundred chinese words by the age of 2. Nick now 2.5yo liao, still cannot recognize his ABC or any English or Chinese words.. He refuse to interact in school, sit there alone, play his bus or car. When his class sings, he also refuse to sing along, but when he's home, he can sing the whole song for us to hear. So, i was wondering if Montessori education will be better for him, just that the price difference is like 2 times the amount of his current FD CC. Also, Nick refuse to sit down and learn like other children and he's hyperactive. So i keep thinking only Montessori will help him..

SNG, if you think the Montessori can really help, then should give it a shot. Its hard for parents not to compare... yesterday I was visiting one of my hubby's friends who send their 2 kids to chiltern house. So I keep wondering to myself if I'm shortchaging serene by not sending her to a "better" CC... also dun know... money is one thing, distance is another. Its a tough call. Already childcare so difficult to decide, I think primary school time was be quite stressful.

Mich, yes.. During CNY, i really feel it's tough not to compare also..

Sam and SIL's son also both P2. Both learns Takwando, and does pretty well in school.. Sam learns Piano and Violin.. SIL mentions to her son that Sam is smarter cos he can read and play music. She also HAS TO MENTION that if she makes more, her son will also have to learn music.. Even both puts on glasses also is something for them to compare..

Nick and my aunty's (also my boss) son both are just 3 mths apart. My uncle commented that Nick is so HUGE and his son is SO SMALL.. Nick can speak and run up and down the stairs while his son always needs to be carried.

That same aunty (also my that boss) also has a 6yo son. He's in K2 but also, cos she heard sam is learning Piano and violin, she also engage a private teacher to teach him at home trice a week! So now , even when he is younger and started music later, he's at par as my son. She is also home schooling him and he is doing the SAME P2 textbooks as Sam.. Super duper stressful.. How to tell Sam to learn at his own pace? i have to send Sam to the room and INSIST he studies every single day..

Grace and my damn fxxking irritating SIL's son (pardon my language, but she was the one who question my HB how come we gave her our old lucky baby pram and not our Maclaren pram..) also 4 months apart. She keeps commenting how come Grace is so small in size and at 8mths still cannot call papa and mama.. her son now at 4mths old, she THINKS is trying to call mama and papa.. She made me so stress that i think i have to increase the number of GD cards to 7 instead of 5 per day.. And my already toys filled home, i think i still need to add more toys to "assist" her on her motor skill and stimulate her little brain otherwise next cannot avoid gathering, compare again and i go crazy.. LOL

i think my KS syndrome is starting resurface..

SNG, oh dear, this sounds very stressful! How does your boss cum aunty do home schooling when she is working ah? I want to tell you don't let the comparisons bother you but I know this sounds lame... but at the end of the day, some things cannot be forced. I'm sure your 3 kids are already very smart, so given time, they will turn out well

Sng's mummy
Aiyo..dun stress la....
If I compare I also want to dig a hole and hide myself..I see some of the progress of the June 05 mummies........ some of them are talking in SENTENCES lor...and Sky still word by word...

bbshane..I see some of the progress of bbs here... I must be stress lor.. but tell myself...dun do so... they already start school at pre-nurs..and will stop at 20+.... like that...their childhood is SO SHORT... so better dun stress..... I dun wan to send them to too much enrichment class as I believe... at the end of the day...they will learn...so let them do it at their own pace.. its hard not to compare... but at the end..make us UNHAPPY mummies and having unhappy tods and babies..WORSE right!!!

If the study evryday is enforce on me..think I will stop my education at O levels...as damn stressful lor

Anyway...some babies are big...and others are small.. dun think too much...I also dun buy too much toys for Shane...

Me n hb are down wif flu n cough now after bb kana on 1st day of NY...now he seems better and we r getting worse...hope we wont spread the virus back to him...

bear, icic...no wonder i thought how come so qiao...side by side leh...i will take photo of A&R and show u how lovingly they look...hahaha...

Jen, my FIL only give us angbao after my SIL ask him to..if not, he will not give lor...we definitely will give FIL angbao lor as hb very filial one n somemore i tink it is a must to give also lor...

SNG, try not to stress your kids la n give them a happy childhood as it is short only...like wat Glayz say, they will develop at their own pace n i believe your kids are smart too lor...

how have your CNY been?

sng
seems like yours quite stress w d comparisons of kids gg on... v stressful hor... tt day i met my frn.. her son gg pri nex year.. she had start sourcing for sch since last year n the school syllabus for primary sch... n she mention tt fm 2009 pri wll ve 2 kind of maths... not sure if its true of the implementation but d way she saz abt d syllabus kinda scary for pri kids... tho our edu std here is quite high yet guess a kids r v stress boy...

jen
how many units r they available for staff? ya if we got one each den we can attend each other party hahahaa...

sporty/vendy/pinkz/bear
yes he is v active n cheeky... tt pic so obvious of his cheekiness... sigh... he is so active till he tired both myself n hb out rather than himself...

Mich, she got the $$.. can engage tutors to teach her boy. And she stopped her son's Montessori childcare classes cos she say he's bored in school. i remember there was once, her son came home and during dinner (was a family dinner with all the aunties and uncles) the son only mention "thank you god for putting food on the table for us" and she got SO MAD that she told the son in front of everyone that he should thank her for putting food on the table for him and not god! And the next day, she went to school to tell the teachers off.

Glayz, chiam.. Nick also not talking in sentences wor.. If u consider broken sentences are sentences, then he can speak a few miserable sentences loh.. And those so called sentences, he always need to emphasize his name in front.. eg Nicholas is hungry or di di is hungry.. Nicholas want pass urine.. these are the only few leh..
BTW, u use kodomo wet wipes? i got 1 unopen packet to give wor plus one opened but used a few pcs. and 2 new packets of Carlson wipes.. Can i pass them to u? Help me to clear them before they dry up..

Powerpuffs, honestly, i do that too.. I already finish Sam's P2 syllabus with him liao.. Actually doing the P3 books with him at home already. But from time to time, i do go back and revise his P2 syllabus also.

Ros, i hope so.. i think when he has his exams, i get more stressed up than he is.. he last year got 3rd.. i told him he cannot get 4th cos pple will laugh at him.. So as a mama, i can only help him to study more and hope he get 1st or 2nd instead.. But then again, if get 1st, won't he be more stressed next year... hahahahahaha

sng, i tink being no 3rd is already very gd lor...my cousin also very strict wif her kids n wanna them get 100marks everytime...n this caused her eldest daughter to be very nervous comes exam time n will have nitemare everynite dreaming her mom beating her lor for not doing well...i feel tat we shouldnt cause too much stress to our children lor or else they can suffer mental breakdown also...

sng
wah will sam b too stressed up? or will he get bored in class when sch teachers teach d same thing he had learnt at hm way b4 hand?

ive got frn's son in ai tong oso v stressed up when he din get top few position in class/sch n got v sad... n he is oni p1 all his papers oredi >90marks liao...
now my frn gotta try help her son to manage his expectation n d result outcome...

siao liao... by d time emmanuel in sch duno wat it will b like liao... now so many kids start their syllabus 1 yr ahead...

mich
sorrie din chk d msg till now... i was at 2nd svc today cos jon was in intercessors for 2nd svc...
wah d toddlers corners v packed hor... is tt y u din bring serene thr now?

Ladies, I thought now that we are adults and parents, its only we give our parents/PILs ang bao and not them giving us?

Bear, we give them and they also give us back.. for luck for good health etc.. maybe also considered ya1 swee4 money?

powerpuffs, Sam feels good that he knows what the teacher is teaching in class.. It also makes him more confident that he can understand better and also help (i call that kaypo) other students in their work.

BTW, P1 also got pre-P1 enrichment classes that helps the children prepare for P1.
that's how sad our education system is....

whoa...so much talk on enrichment classes ah??!!

sng, well...if u think its necessary to sign grace, juz do it lor...of cuz everything must be within budget...there's so many diff kinds of classes nowadays and we cant possibily sign them up for everything due to time and budget constraint mah...dun be so stress and KS ah...we shdnt deprive them of their childhood...

pooh, so fast started work today liao eh...when's ur next off??

powermama, yeah...athan did enjoy himself...had a hard time asking him to nap in between visits ah...hahha...anyways, juz sent him back to my mum's place liao...finally can catch abit of uninterrupted sleep tonite...

mich, wow...ur hb so nice eh...gave u the 800 bucks after u all got married eh? sounds good leh!!

ros, hope u and ur hb gets well soon...

powerpuffs, CNY's very tiring for me ah...everyday i slept with aching arms...hahhaa...

bear, think its not compulsary for parents and PILs to give us back the ang baos la...even if they give its juz a token amount for good luck...

sng
oh tts good... at least it helps him to absorb better when teacher teaches in class... cos my aunt taught in 'learning lab' at united square... some of her students find sch boring cos they know most of their stuffs fm their tutors n learning lab...

sporty
aching fm carrying athan? mine got many ppl carry for me... he dun even look for me... sad... unless milk time or sleep time...

btw anyone knows how to link hotmail account to yahoo account? cos my hot mail always has prob opening.. got many mails got stuck thr... cant read

powerpuffs, ya...aching from carrying him and trying to keep him still while putting him to zz at nite...his strength is really bull strength lor...thas true leh, they only look for mummy when its milk or sleep time...nowadays he like to put my top whenever he wants milk!

hahahaa.. to wean him off fm latching will b a problem hor? my frn had BF for 20mths, recently her girl kept looking for her to suckle for comfort in d middle of d nite... so she tried to wean her off so every nite play 'wrestling' w her girl hahahaha...

powerpuffs, i haven latched him for 2 to 3 weeks liao after he bit me...so now i dun dare liao la...very painful...but at times when i wrestle with him, i will kei kei like let him latch but in the end i pop in the pacifier into his mouth instead...lol :p anywyas, i missed latching la but his two lil teeth very powerful leh...and i very scared of pain ah...

sporty, tks...hb went to c doc jus now n took mc for tomolo..so i jus share his med lor...anyway his is more serious...

powerpuffs, don tink can link hotmail to yahoo leh...but i'm not too sure also...c anybody else know or not..

ros, alamak ... so cham ah... have to share medication...think u beter go see doc if u feel unwell tom...sometimes diff medication are suited for diff pple...

peck, i woke up way b4 tha, then cldn't sleep, so surf net & post on forum.

sng, wah... for children whom u dunno or c once a yr aso give 6-8 bucks. for those unmarried gd friends or gd friend's kids, i aso give 10 bucks. how come ur hb got 8k pkt fr gambling table?

peck/sng/mich, at least ur MIL/FIL still give u back ang bao. ever since we got married, we aso gave ang bao to MIL & FIL (on top of wat hb gave to them to bao ang bao), ea of us gave them $100 ang bao ea (total $400 out fr our pkt) but they never gave us back, so aft 1st yr, i qn my hb how come they dun give, told hb it's not tha i'm eyeing back for e $$, it's supposed to give us back as a token for gd luck. 2nd yr, MIL gave back 1pkt to ea of us, then i ask hb then FIL no need to give? tis happened yr aft yr, then MIL will oni give aft hb asked, mei you xin to give us e xiao bei gd luck charm & FIL oni knows abt input never output lor. last yr, MIL told hb nxt yr (tis yr), oni give bb, no longer give us. so i fed up, told hb, ok then, tis yr, we just give them ea $100 additional b4 CNY for them to buy things, we stop giving them ang bao. i tink MIL/FIL tinking is xiao bei shd give ang bao to xiang ta men bai nian but they tink dun need to give us back ang bao since we r married liao, they dunno wat is yi shi yi shi, for us to hv gd luck in e yr ahead, so unlike my mum/dad.

glayz, my mum's side, standard $10 for unmarried cousins or cousins' kids. my dad's sides, we hardly meet up during CNY & there's no standard even if we do meet. hb's side, standard $4.

sng, i can't help but find tha being ur kid is so stressful. their childhood is so short compared to study/work life, so it's a time to enjoy. my nephew who never attended montessori or enrichment/music classes, just SIL reading him story books & flashcards, he's doing fine now in his studies tho he plays computer/tv games everyday. tho i signed up jake for bjg when he's so young, main focus is still for e fun & chances to play w other bbs, of course, i do hope tha he does learn some things. but if we c tha he's not enjoying himself during e trials, i wun even consider signing him up.

ros, hope u & family r feeling better, recover soon as u r bringing amadeus for e swim tis sat & to meet ur future DIL.

powerpuffs, 2 units, used to be 1 unit oni but fierce competition, so they gotten e unit besides as well. yah, hopefully, we can be neighbours, if on same day, maybe can consider ordering fr e same caterer & ask for disc since it's deliver to units side-by-side, hahaha...

bear, it depends bah, maybe i'm too used to my mum/dad practice liao... we'll give them big ang bao ea & they give us smaller ang bao back in return for gd luck, so i tink my ILs shd do likewise lor. cos i dun tink my married SIL gave them ang bao, so it's ok tha they dun give her & hb any ang bao back but we gave them, so i tink they shd give us back for yi shi yi shi. i mean, hb has asked abt it since 1st yr aft marriage, dun they catch e hint? still must ask every yr... since they practise SIL's way, then we might as well follow.

sporty, jake aso pulls my top when he wans milk milk.

Good morning

After reading all the ang bao issues, I think its better to have boys than girls as it seems like most wifey control the finances. And hor...most hb's parents are getting less ang bao quality than wifey's parents.

I hope Joshua don't do that to me & hb in future since I don't do it to my PILs by setting a good example.

Jiang qian sang gan qing...

Morning Ladies

Bear..
My hb still control his own $$ la...
and he is niao.... when it comes to giving ang pow... "lend" very generous...but auto give very cat...so i have no issues with that... bt even tho he so NIAO... we still make a loss at his family side as most are LARGE producer...or/and... they tag along bf/gf....

Sng Mummy
Sentences with nic in front VERY GOOD LIAO LOR....
Sky still do words onli lor... like he need to pee will come to u say shh shh...
the sentence he say most is PO PO LAI (popo come)

good morning!!

sporty
i bet its a painful experience when athan bite hahahaa... n yes they r powerful hor... d milk so nutritious tt they grow so strong ya...

ros
take care... if unwell better go c doc... agree w sporty tho seems same illness... but body system react differently to medication...

jen
ok pray hard tt we b neighbour den... hahahaha which caterer u intend to order fm? i will nid to order fm halal caterer...

bear, this yr my ILs receive lesser ang pow than my parents is coz my dad is looking after trishelle mah, so my hb felt that it's only right that they receive more

powerpuffs, if I bring Serene to toddler class, either David or I have to stay with her, so then one of us will end up not hearing the sermon at all. Plus the class is so big and messy, so I think gotta wait till she can attend the N3 david's club on her own. I heard she can attend from 33-34 months, which is in 1-2 months time.

SNG, I think Sam very smart already, can get no 3 in class leh... if he is no 1 then it becomes stressful to have to maintain position. I know its hard, its such a fine line between pushing too hard and encouraging them to study.

Bear, even after I got married, my ILs, dad, grandma, aunties (closer ones) still give me so I thot its tradition for elders to give to their children/grandchildren regardless of whether we are married or children? Its just yi si yi si kind, don't have to be large amount I think.

sporty, no lah, never give me the $800 but just leave it our bank account instead... so technically its not mine ha ha

jen, I guess maybe u just give IL yi si ang bao since u already give the $100 pre-CNY.

Bear, for my case, its my ILs who is getting more quality than my dad... cos my ILs are helping me with the kids and overall they also give me and hubby more.

happy new year mummies ,
May the rat year be prosperous and beatiful for all bb and mummies..
back to work today ! just finish the morning lessons and the next one will be in the afternoon . taking a break now
reading the archive later ..

Qiuling
How are u feeling....
Me dying...from the 4 days of CNY... plus 2 nites before CNY
Super lack of sleep...

morning ladies

sporty
yday log in from work later i kenna send up to labour ward... suddenly saw brown discharge.. now i'm on mc, bed rest.. doc say must have walk too much from CNY visiting liao.. somemore i still carry trimelle and wear wedges.. haha..

spend 3hrs in the labour ward... doc say admit for preterm but i dun wan.. i cant spend the whole day idling away doing nth.. somemore no internet access

powerpuffs, yah, it is big and messy. Serene cannot see the aunties in front and therefore she will lose interest and run around. She is not the kind of kid who would sit still and do nothing... she is always moving around... so you're checking out the class for Emmanuel?

leobaby, yup the light stays on when we on it.. it will only go off when we switch the off mode. where did u buy it from? better go get it exchange asap!

pooh, oh dear do take care!

Glayz , dying at 4th day of new year ??? choi !!!!!
This year new year different from last year .. cannot gamble at all and hav to bring zac out means two extra bags out as well cos full day out and all porridge and bb stuff have to carry .. super shiong .. my hubby was complaining he drop a 3 kg over 8 days just looking after Zac .. keke ...
Ang Bao $$$$$$ ranges from $8-10 over at mums side and $4 is the standard at hubby side .. cos too many cousins i think .. I pack 50 angbaos over at his side and still not enough .. huge family .. Grandparents .. my parents gave all the HB $$ i gave them back to Zachary and top up some more .. but MIL side , we gave her 1K to buy new year stuff , which eventually i paid for all of it when we go shopping for the stuff.. and yes , gave her big HB too for new year.. and she gave my zac $50 ... Zac HB money is a lot this year .. and banking in tomorrow for him.
u mummies planning for one year b day party already ??? that is fast ..

Morning gals,

wah.. the kids' classes... saw the Sunday Times ytd report on those high-end childcare.. so expensive.. realli peifu those parents!