(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

milky, actually now its still ok for baby to adjust to infantcare... in 2-3 months time, they may develop separation anxiety which makes it even harder - this is what the lady at the infantcare was telling me cos I was exploring childcare options for my girl. But if your mum is ok to look after, then better not send to infantcare...

Mich, thanks for the great advice!
which infant care centres do you recommend? know any? babies inc is too far off.. baby haven good?? best if my mum 'tahans' and continues to look after baby till she's a toddler then maybe can send her to half day childcare. how about childcare centres? based on your research, are there any good ones you recommend? the branded ones like julia gabriel, pat schoolhouse etc. sound like they're able to provide baby with a wholesome learning approach.

hi mrning everyone.

jen-i bought the variable teats @6.90

yesterday evening went to shop & save ,wanted to buy Pamper. all GONE!!!

milky, I don't know where you stay so quite hard to recommend. The one I looked at is called Babies Resort (located at Ang Mo Kio) and its got both infant and toddler care. Its really good as they take a personalised approach to each child, learning about their habits, development and working closely with the parents. As for childcare, I picked one near my IL house - its NTUC - some say not all NTUC is ideal but this branch is very good. As for the branded ones, I'm sure there's value but I'm not prepared to shell out that kind of money and besides not all montessori is the "real" montessori. Yah I agree taht indeed if you mum can tong another one year, then send your toddler to childcare at 18months is a good idea also.

Milky just to share with you what someone shared with me in another thread which I thot was very insightful:

"Many Montessoris in Singapore are not truly done in the Montessori methods. Need to do your research on proper Montessori environment before enrolling your child. Children from Montessori environments are usually more independent than children from childcare centres. But for social development, children from childcare environment will be more advance as they get to work in small groups, play together and practice teamwork. So they will learn how to negotiate and communicate with others better.

Personally since I was trained in Childcare, I believe that Social Development is more important as it is a life long skill. Independence can be gained slowly but once the kid miss out proper social development, he or she might have difficulty in the future when it comes to working with people. Just sharing my thoughts if you mummies don't mind..."

Hello mich,
Staying in Yio Chu Kang. Babies Resort at Ang Mo Kio. ooo..
sounds great
sorry ah, like a goondoo keep on asking ya so many questions.
hope my mum can tong another year. baby needs her now lah.. hope she realizes that! think she does though she always says my baby has turned her into a siao cha bo.

about montessories... montessori children are more independent? wonder why the lack in social development compared to kids who attend childcare? exclusivity vs the mass concept maybe?

still on leave today..Later bring Jovial to see doc

Sporty,
we going Aqua to try later! Call straits cafe juz now their lunch not much var leh

Jen,
haha.. mest be must be..

milky, oh then Babies Resort is near enough for you! Its at AMK St 31. Its the best of the infant cares I've seen so far. I think montessori emphases individual development so the activities are all very individual whereas a normal childcare centre all the kiddies are put together to have class etc. That's the way NTUC - which is at AMK St 32 - is run.

morning ladies

TGIF!!
my boy will be 6 mths old tom!!

Already TBF him for 6 mths...time flies...heheh

ros, think u shd be able to make it for ur bro's son bday la as the bb bash will ends at ard 3pm...but pls stay for photo taking at 230pm k...

sweet/tano/lin/glayz, how was the gymboree class?? u all never update whether is it fun or not...

mich, think u are really a good sleep trainer for bbs...

sharon, i also went shop and save last nite...the one near our house...only left with one pack of Pampers M...haizzz

hui, oh yeah? u going for dinner or lunch?? better make reservations... enjoy

Glayz,
Morning!!todae biz day for u?

Sharon,
morning! Yesterday good! Enjoy the time with him..

Sporty,
morning!make reservation liao. goin for lunch..

Good morning sporty! Today managed to log in so early? Congrats on bf for 6 months! I have 9 more pumping days left to 6 months - after that I am free to stop yipee!!! No lah, not that good... can't even get Joy to nap properly lor... haiz...

gd mrning Sporty
- agreed wif u. time flies
hehe.. i cant find small size
. So are u con'd BF Athan ?

hui - icic. wat happen to jovial ?

Mich:
ok
think will speak to my mum and see how. thanks for your recommendation, Mich. : ) hope my mum hangs on for a couple of more months at least !

Sharon,
now lah.. he had his Pnuemococcal jab on 12th and since then he have cough nad flu. already given med but not recovering n MIL kind of worri so ask to seek another doc lo.. so later bring him to see another doc

Ok ladiess.. loggin off liao. preparing Jovial and goin out le.. bye!!

Sharon
U not the onli one...
I want to stock on L... went there...ALL SIZES ARE THERE... WHERE IS L!!!!

Milky
Think monstesorri (dunno how to spell la) Is to train children to WORK alone...and SOLVE problems themselves...teachers are not suppose to step in unless being ask by children to help...
The cc at my home claim to have it...but at an additional of $150 per month...I was so shocked... (normal childcare already NOT CHEAP!!!)

But will not placed my boi in childcare la.... bo lui...wahahahahahaha

Sporty
Gymboree is fun la...
But hor Shane more interested in Reanne...and Gabriel in all the other gers...wahahahahaha
and I miss out on baby massage as Shane refuse to wait for class end before she had her milk!!!

Bye ladies FOR NOW...

hui, hope the lunch spread's as good as dinner...update us on the yummy food hor... :p

mich, yeah...log in first before i disappear...hehhe...ya lor, cant believe tha i survived the 6 mths liao :p think as long as Joy can have good sleeping habits at nite shd be fine

sharon, yeah...dun see any S size pampers at all...yeah, shd continue ba, next hurdle is 8 mths...see how it goes...

glayz, so the blanket is for the bb massage eh???

glayz: infant care especially, really expensive lor. if parents or parents in-law can help take care, that's the best i guess. will you ladies be continue with gymboree?
think my baby wont be able to last through the session. even now when we carry her, she keeps steering us here and there, turning her back to see who's carrying her or whoever talks, she'll look in that direction etc. so fidgety, mega curious'bout everything.

sharon, bo bian...very inspired by the mummies at the nursing room at my workplace...all of them crossed 6 mths liao and still pumping away...furthermore, save $$...haha

morning all

my turn to fall sick, thus was on mc yesterday

re gymboree, it was fun! trishelle enjoyed herself at the class
and she kept looking at lin and gabriel.. hehehe.. the teacher praised trishelle for having good tracking skills and a very alert bb

glayz can bring towel instead for the gymboree?

ladies, anyone here using playtex bottle liner? j&mum ask me to ask if you all got extra or not? she needs it urgently. vic ma you got extra?

sporty, tt is great to hear tt you wish to continue to bf... hurray good for you and athan... yes definitely can save lots of money...

sweet, so gymboree's fun eh? good...looking forward to it
so are u gonna sign up for the classes since trishelle had fun??

dryper, i have the playtex, i will email j & mum...me still long way to go la...u are the fabulous one, can bf ur gal for sooo long

sharon, ya man...very ex...thas why abit hesitating whether to give up or not...

ok thanks sporty, i will let her know also...

sporty, you on the way already, you go gal... today you not busy at work? your work place got many nursing mama huh... tt is great...

dryperbaby, it doesnt have to be a blanket, basically just need a big enuff cloth for baby to lay on

thanks sha sha! today much better liao

sporty, nope we are not signing up for the class at this stage, coz trishelle cant crawl yet, so cant utilise all the nice props there most likely we will bring trishelle for another trial class at Baby Jumper Gym which is just located opp our home
my hb's fren brings his daughter there every sun. his feedback was that the classes are good

dryper, juz have to go step by step la...i dun dare to say 1 yr at the moment...play by ear lor...today got abit of time to peek in...hee hee...there's 3 bfing mamas here, including myself...

Peck, Montessoris enphasize a lot o n learning at the child's own pace.. meaning to say that those children that learn fast progress fast while those that are slow learner still gets the attention and are therefore not left on their own. In a normal cc, it's learning based on ages, meaning to say that if the child is a fast or a slow learner, they go thru a normal process of something like 2yo singing ABC, 3yo, learn to write, 4yo learn to spell.. minus point is fast learners will have to learn things at a slow pace and slow learner may have problems catching up..

Problem with Montessoris kids is as they learn at individual speed, they tend to be more selfish than those at normal cc who learn thru sharing.. Just need to look at both my sons, can tell liao.. Eldest from normal CC while #2 went to a Montessoris based CC.. Another option is brain based CCs, like those shichida method one.. i think that is another good option that helps in brain developement.. While my #1 when to a normal cc, u can tell that he's a little slow when it comes to "processed" thinking while #2 is better in it cos he tends to have to think more in other to solve some of those Montessoris based toys..

sweet, thanks.

sporty, wow 3 nursing mamas, tt good. ya lah go step by step... for all you know time passes so fast... it will be 1 yr...

dryper, ya lor...step by step lor

915, dryper asking me abt nursing mamas at my workplace la...not here on this thread...there's more on this thread definitely!

miracle, the 3 is from sporty workplace lah... kekekeke not mummies in this forum... :) i think most of us still bf-ing in this forum...

jen
ok i take the avent teat #3 ($5).
collect from you at the 6th month bash.

sha sha
yest i went shop n save.
left 2 M and 2 L pampers.
i quickly grabbed!!!!
machiam see gold lidat.

sha sha
you want to buy pampers size S ah?
yest i saw alot at the Amara hotel shop n save leh.
btw is the variable teats good?
how does it work?
just by turning to the |, ||, |||, the flow will vary?

Lizardess- Im working at Defu lane leh. how to chiong there ?

Variable teats- meant for thicker liquid (ie. if u mix rice cereal with milk. no need to turn the teat. juz point the marking(ie. I orIIorIII)at bb nose. it will flow accordingly.Yes, i try it out. the flow varies. cos the teat cut is designed like a diamond shape.

Lizardess- My gal is 5mth 3wks,small size (last weight : 6.7kg.) tt y im still using small size. Yeah im exclusively using Pamper. Find the quality indeed is worth investing

k. gt to go liao. chat wif u later. bye

lizardess, ur boy still can wear pampers M ah...i wanted to buy but like cannot last too long leh cuz my boy have many spare tyres...kekkeke

915, no prob la :p heheh

lizardess, really huh your niece can still wear M. My gal even though very light only 11 kg at 2 yrs already wear XL because she drinks so much M size diaper cannot contain her urine... always leak so got to buy XL for her...