(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

glynnis

home liao? i still at work. wondering what to do also for this weekend - tot of chicken wings but i think hari rayah around the corner Ikea should be really packed better not go.

caitlyn: think my way of displ my bb same as u.. but ofcoz will not let her call out too long else will hv colic again..

Mich: how old is your elder 1? mine is 2yrs old. & at 18th mth old.. i put him in the so call noti corner.. this what i learn frm supper nanny too.. i'm a fier mummy too... if he cried for nothing, i'll show my cane on his skin... but now at 24th mth... his noti corner become is calm area as in he'll lay on the floor, legs up on the wall & sucking his thrumb... looks enjoying.. haha.... so now still hv noti corner, but i'll make him kneel down & pull his ears...

vic: I got the supper nanny book frm MPA too.. really a good guide.. i got the Q&A typ..

glynnis

sorry i went toilet

the bumbo now on sale mums R Us at united sq
http://www.moms-rus.com/shipping.php

apparently its on discount from $80 to $64 for about 10 days dunno ending when. then hor i bot liao then found out that motehrhood mag (can order online or send in cheque) buy at least 2 yrs subscription can get teh bumbo seat lor. then we trying to pair up to get the seat or mag - cos some of us want the mag some of us want the seat.

The subscription is like $96 for 2 yrs worth of motherhood mags with the bumbo free - its very worth lor - then i tried to see who wanted the seat before i subscribe cos then it will be cost savings for me since i already bot the seat.

My girl likes it - but yet to try out for longer seatings - some mothers here say dont let baby sit too long not good.

what's MPA??

Hi ladies!!

Caitlyn,
can i ask is ur boy cry alwaz @ the same timing?
When jovial is abt 2mth+ also like that..in the end i alwaz keep him in my room esp in the evening he super duper cranky..but now no more liao.

Asernal,
Bumbo seat is a chair for bb 4mth and above to sit

vic: opps... its shd be MPH.. hehe

Arsernal: i'm going to get the seat too.. for feeding maybe.. heard frm my sister better let bb on the bed til 1yrs old .. gd for your bone developemnt

hui: my gal also.. at 3th week old so cracky at evening time.. til 3.5th mth.. she is better liao.. only problem now is she refuse milk at time..

Xtine,
last week Jovial take 150ml, he will finish now sometimes he cant finish or even take half nia..sianz..Evening time usuali is colic.

last time motherhood magazine got roadshow at baby fair, 3 years for $99. until now i still got the magazine sending to me... dunno when will end... kekekeke.... sometimes no time to read also....

hui.. now my bb at 4th mth old drink milk at 125ml.. sometimes my maid will drag abit & feed her water instead. will u be feeding ceral soon?
can we gv brown rice ceral at 4th mth, since the packing said 6th mth & above?

xtine, it is normal lah... they need to get use to the eating solid... but dun force lah... if they are not ready, try again another day...

vic-ma, ic what u mean by guilt pushing now.
it's a bit profound, i don' think i experience it like u did.

mich, it's good u have 2 kids, u can tell very quickly how different the 2 bbs are even from their daily habits. wah u even take up parenting course. was it good? i think i will attend a course also, i don't like to read parenting books, i seem to fault at everything written in the book.

sng, haha yeah when they say no it can really tell something abt them.
now all i'm getting is i'm hungry, i'm sleepy, i want to be carried and i'm bored.

re: toddler discipline
new at this parenting thing, so just gonna go one step at a time but i think my parents are rather accomodating. every time my sis disciplines her kids, we (dad,mum and me) are all huddled in the corner quietly occasionally giving her kids the "beware the wrath of ur mother" look. it's my IL i'm worried abt. it's harder to say no to them.
to sum up, i think almost every grandparent just spoil their grandchildren.

wow so many super nanny fans! last time i watched was when i was preggie i remember seeing this episode where the children were brawling on the supermarket floor, i told myself jialat, dunno whether i jinxed myself.

bbfactory: ya lor.. all grandparents will simply spoil them.. but if i displin my boy at my parens house, i'll close the door to prevent them carry him alway.. furthermore with them around.. kids cry even more harder

xtine, elder one is 28 months old... when she disobey, we spank her on the bum with Mr Spoon and she is scared of that but outside cannot spank so we want to implement notti corner.

bbfactory, attend course is good, got interaction and learn from others' experience and sharing
I think a course on learning how to handle toddlers are impt or they will get out of hand and climb over our heads... that time serious headache! The course I attended was quite super... the one thing that stuck to my mind was this, "if you give an instruction, you must make sure they obey you even if you have to drag them to do it, or they will know that they can dun have to take you seriously." So now if my girl refuse to keep her toys, what I will do is grab her up, put the toy in her hand and physically bring her to the rack and make her put in... if not I bring out the spoon. She knows not to play play with me and hubby, cos we dun give face.

mich, i worry a bit becoz i'm not the fierce fierce type so mayb my kid won't take me seriously but who knows mayb he will bring out the monster in me.

watching tv now baby cranky wants mama soon.

bbf - its not about guilt pushing only - but about the way pple react & do things - & how the child will pick up our bad entics if we dont take caution to prevent it.

I like the way the ang mos are brought up - I think it helps to build confident children - yet i dont like the way they 'kick' their teenagers out of the house or their too modern/open ways - i hv always tot of how to balance for my child in the future.

What i felt was - my friends who had housewife mothers were slightly more confident, & better also at their studies in a way. My best friend from sec school had very loving & supportive parents who didnt guilt push them into things but used loving them & explaining to them so that they understand things.

I might not be able to describe it well enough but we are always looking for ways to improve ourselves, our lives, & the well being of our children. - perhaps our generation - parents are usually more concerned about such details. during our times we just eat play - children seen but not heard - who ever talked much about super nanny kind of stuff keke

bb crying out loud
I read from a mag tat shouldnt let a baby cry for too long as the baby will feel insecure and unloved when he grows up...so whenever the baby cry, should go n look wat happen and try to pacify him to let him know tat mummy is there for him n love him...but sometimes I also let my baby cry for a while so as not to pamper him but when his crying gets louder, I will carry him n pacify him...tink tat there must be a time limit to how long to let the baby cry out loud...

juz finished reading thru the posts...so many posts today!! thank god tom's sat...and NO WORK!!

lizardess,not fast thinking of #2 la...juz wanna get over and done with...furthermore we not young anymore lor... :p

glynnis, maybe like what the gals mentioned, ur gal may be biting her lips for self soothing purposes...bumbo is a seat for bbs...very hot nowadays...

bbfactory, i hope athan can fit into the bumbo...haven tried it on him yet...he came home and was happily playing with his fisherprice play gym and busy chatting to his mr clock :p

xtine, all along i'm not tha keen to get bumbo cuz i kno athan cannot sit on it for too long becuz of his bak bak legs but mr sporty wanted to buy la...so buy lor

cary, ur lunch sounds nice...yumyum
wow, so fast got offer liao ah...then u cannot be a temp sahm liao

jen, how come suddenly got suspended?? u didnt do anything wrong rite??!!

sy, thks for sharing ur blog...your gal also bak bak

sweet, athan using the silicone teats from nuk, not bad...more durable than the latex ones...

cel, ur boy and gal looks alike!!

caitlyn, i never MIA ah...damn busy today...busy clearing shit...^$%%^$%$6

vic ma, saw ur blog too...vicky looks big when she was born!

bb crying out loud
Actually..I shocked my June 05 mummies whn i left Sky to cry all his want at a gathering.... (he was swinging this toy broom around and endangering all the other tods..so I quickly grab it and refuse to give back..) So he cry cry cry... and I just watch..until he try to calm himself down then I pat him and explain to him... but thru out his crying I was giving this ultra firm NO.....

But hor...my mum thinking was..if I let him cry for too long...he will cry cry cry when he dun get what he wants... My mum used to terrorise us to make us stop..... I hate it when I was young... so not going to use it.... as even tho we are sad or angry..we hadto hide all our emotions in front of my mum..otherwise we will ganna the rattan....

Sweet
Some bbs will need frequent change of latex teat as it get soft easily... some bbs drink when th teat hardness is comfy for them...

Actually... Mei mei had recognise pple liao.... and she recognise all my family members except DADDY AND MUMMY....
I was carrying her..and she avoid all eye contact with me..as i remember Sweet msg abt her ger avoiding her MIL... I suddenly realise what is happening...
To double confirm... I purposely put her on my lap..so she had to look at me... SHE WAIL....
And my dad super gan cheong want to carry her away...and I actually scold my dad NOT TO INTERFERE..... I am making her recognise mummy....

I was talking to my hb ytd abt bringing mei mei home on weekdays nite.... seem like this ferrying is taking place earlier than usual... Sky onli recognise pple after 4mths...

Glayz, think baby now recognise pple earlier? amadeus also recognise pple liao...he will keep looking at me even when my FIL or hubby plays with him..and when I carry him, he will keep looking at his daddy...but he is still fine wif other pple carrying him...he wont cry...

my son born in may 07 tho my edd is jun 07, so i supposed i joined here since i shd be considered as a jun mtb??? haha... ok, my boy is crying, gotta attend to him. bye.

vic_ma, I agree with you, our generation tends to think more about these parenting philosophies than our parents...

puppet, so early? welcome

Glayz, one of my friends told me that when her toddler boy throws tantrums she also let him cry till he calm himself down. Later on she even had a room where he would go to himself if he was crying. Finished crying then come out and tell his mummy, I finished crying already. So cute.

morning ladies

glayz, agreed tha now bbs can recognise pple and environment liao...u very cute leh,purposely ask meimei to LOOK at u...maybe u can consider ferrying back or visiting after work, since ur workplace is quite near to ur mum's...

mich, ur fren so cute, have a crying room for her son...

mrs puppet, welcome welcome

Sporty
My mum live in ULU part of Yishun..so even tho near my workplace still need to take bus in from interchange...from my mum place back home..I needto take 3 bus....*faint*

morning!

sporty, we tried the silicone teats on trishelle but she doesnt take to it, so we are continuing with the latex ones for the time being.. yup, agreed! the latez get wears out so easily!!

glayz, my gal havent avoid my MIL yet (i was saying that i hope she will, no chance to test it out yet coz trishelle didnt see my ILs for 3 weeks liao) but yesterday when trishelle sees my sis with full make-up on, she cried like nobody's biz! think she cannot recognise her yi yi.. cham lah.. she sees my sis every 3 days like tat, also can dun recognise her *faint*

welcome mrs puppet!

my boy also recognize people liao, that time when my sil and mil tried to carry him he was crying so loud like nobody biz... *grin*... they all panic...kekekeke.... so they have to carry him facing out so that he cannot see their faces... hahahaha

mich, i was early cos i woke up to bfeed my son, he went back to koon but poor mummy can't koon aft tt, so join e forum lor.

i rcvd a call fr tmc parentcraft to join their free weaning talk on 31 oct pm, whereby my DS can try out some solid food, anyone rcvd their call too? so nice of them to call me, i'm taking my off in-lieu to go, keke...