(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

yoyo,
for my pregnancy and my sister's pregnancy, my mum will usually make black chicken soup and bird nest for us. maybe becos she has 3kids, so she knows tonics is a must loh...

i remember for my last pregnancy, my mum will make black chicken soup almost every month, and bird nest from 6mth onwards, also once a month, every 2 wks, i will either have black chicken soup or birdnest once.
i try to ask my mum what she put inside.

Karen, thanks.. I heard some pple started to drink bird nest v early leh? Which brand of bird nest is the best?

Jesmine, good mah. Then once u guys had found out the gender, can also celebrate the anniversary on the same day?

yy, i also started taking bird nest and dong chong cao... my mil will cook for me now and then.

ya... will be a gift for us if the bb cooperate and let us know the gender that day. will be 16 weeks plus then.

hi yoyo,

the backaches u think caused by gastric? coz my backaches are solely caused by gastric pains... ask your gynae later.

hi jesmine,

wow....bb so big liao
next visit will be 4th mth? so 4th month can know gender huh... wow, u and hb married for so long liao... me going to have our 1st yr anniversary in Nov only...

yoyo,
many pple advise me not to take birdnest earlier then 25wks, cos will cause phlgem in bb leh...
i think thats why my mum will prepare that only after the 6mth.
my mum usually buy the birdnest from Zheng Zhong Ping. i find that not bad, not much cleaning needed as the birdnest are well cleaned when my mum bought it.

Lovedogs, issit caused by gastric? Uhmmm, maybe I'll ask her.

Mine also next yr then 1st yr anniversary.. Jesmine so xin-fu...

Karen, Oh then I will take note not to take too early liao. Zheng Zhong Ping, issit found at those major medical halls?

got this from one of the other forum, regarding birdnest.

'please allow me to enlighten all of you... basically, its not advisible for pregnant ladies to take bird nest during the first trim... my wife is currently consulting a chinese physician and was advised by him only to take bird nest from the 25 weeks of pregnancy onwards...

according to him, bird nest is a 'cooling' agent, therefore, it will cause asmathe for the baby... '

Thanks Karen, tis info is good for us.

Guess birdnest belongs to the cooling family. Later Tri, I heard our bodies/bb are heaty, so can take abit cooling stuff, issit?

yy and lovedogs...
me next year jan then first wedding anniversary. This nov marks the 9th year we have been together... heehee.

YY, my mum already teasing me that i look like 5 months preggy... tummy very obvious

Jes, Hahahaaa, I see.. So also same as us.

Ok mah, that means yr bb is growing healthier and chubby each day mah. Thats good news!

Thanks Karen. Good link and resource.

Hi karen,

Wah.. so fast 'bu' already. I am planning to start 'bu' too but don't know what is the best..
Only thing is start taking little little bird nest each day.Heard that anything more than 3g is wasted. So each intake per day is only 3g. U heard of that?

Bird Nest is cooling. I heard from TCM that bird nest is 'neutral'

Do you all have backache whenever u finish your lunch or dinner?

Yoji, good morning!! Yup Yup, I hv backaches and v bloated everytime. Wanna puke every after meal leh, but nothing come out lah..

hi jesmine,

pai seh, misunderstood..heehee.... so most of us married not too long ago... did u ladies try for bb immediately after marriage? i was hoping to try for bb next year coz was hoping for 1 year of honeymoon period

hi gal,

for me, backache will hit me whenever i suffer from gastric

yy, keep us update after your check up.

Lovedogs,
Yeah.. backache hit me recently after I eat each meal. Do you just endure?

hi gal,

for me, my backache is caused by gastric. so if my gastric does not go away, i will just to have endure. I am taking gastric pills now. What I do is i will lie down straight and support at my back... (using a small round pillow or something) it helps... my backache clears once my gastric clears...

gal,
heheh actually me also dont know when to starts. usually my mum will prepare and ask me to go over and take.
u taking those bottle concentrated type of bird nest? i never heard about the 3g thing, this sun, my son going to see chinese sinseh, i'll check with her.

yoyo,
no lah... my mum usually buy the box type of birdnest (each box has about 10pcs) from ZTP, then she will soak 1 piece, and put in rock sugar, and if i'm not wrong, pao shen to brew for 2~3hrs.

lovedogs,
i starts trying 4yrs ago 3mth before my customary, after trying for 6mth, i went to see gynae, then i know that i'm not ovulating everymonth, was given clomid to help with ovulating, after 2 round of clomid, i got my son!

for this bb2, also conceive thru clomid(3rd round)

Hi Karen,
I am planning to take those concentrated type during 2nd trimester so I don't take too much. 3rd trimester then start to boil the boxed type of bird nest.

Lovedogs... nah... it's ok. was thinking supposed 9 years wedding anniversary so i got married at the age of 16.

on ur qn, we waited till after our honeymoon in april before we tried. Honeymoon very tired to try le. else made in europe

hi karen,

so you had your customary after the birth of your boy? you must really love children
for me, althou i am old, i am never a big fan of kids... (i am more of an animal person).. i just dunno how to mix with children. but i know that a family is only complete with children... so thought will try about 1 year after wedding...

hi jesmine,

wow, u so young only
i agree, honeymoon tour was so tiring.. i am still amazed that you ladies all started trying immediately after wedding. If i have been your age, i think i will try only abt 30 yrs old.. i want to enjoy life without burden of babies in marriage first leh.. am i weird?

lovedogs,
what sort of gastric pills your doctor gave u? I have gastric since young and is really curious what gastric pills are safe for preggie lady?

hi gal,

GP gave me veragel and famotidine...but no effect to me as i am used to stronger pills like librax etc.. so GP gave me Gimeteidihe...this one like not bad.

i am seeing specialist on wednesday for my gastric. so hopefully, he will give me something stronger, yet safe for pregnancy..

have u consulted GP or specialist?

lovedogs,
no lah.. i start trying 3mth before my customary, but no luck loh.. then 3mth after my customary, still bo news, thats why go gynae for clomid
my customary in mar 2002, starts trying in Dec 2001, manage to get pg in Aug 2002.

hi jesmine,

me over 30 yrs old liao leh.. lagi old... and still not yearning for kids.. weird mentality hor..

hi karen,

u and hb must really love children hor..

hi gal,

i suggest u go GP coz they will prescribed medication suitable for pregnant ladies...

lovedogs,
I don't have gastric yet (touch wood), just heartburn and indigestion and was given mylanta by GP..

gal,
maybe i'll get those concentrated type as well, maybe take a spoonful each day...

lovedogs,
yup... i love kids, hubby also... but for him, he's over loving to DS, so DS is kind of rebellious now... everythg will sure go to his daddy, as i dont always give in to his demand. Have to try to change HB's thinking. now, i feel that i can't teach DS well, as he's getting from bad to worst...

Karen,
Some mentioned not so good to take those concentrated ones because of preservatives but I have many friends who took them. Seems as good. So a combination of both : concentrated ones and boxed one. Less work

Even freshly boiled bird nest must be taken asap if possible. If keep overnight, will introduce 'wind' to it.

halo.....was very busy in the morning. Just came back from lunch. You all talking about bird nest? I am drinking those bottles(6 bottles in a box) kind. Drinking on off only. I bought them myself. Dun think my mum or mil will boil those raw one for me. Me thinking of buying those concentrated ones later on also to drink. Any recommendations?

Hi Ice,
Drink 6 bottles one? Aren't they very sweet?
I am Taking the dragon bird nest - Golden Bird nest concentrated ones.

hi lovedogs ,
i also had gastric problem. i took famotidine , my gynae referred me to a gastric - liver specialist. he asked me to stop that ( if possible) , prescribed me a liquid type . famotidine is not known to hv side effects for preggy but it is advisable not to take ...
i think ur gastric condition is worse than mine , i would assume Gimeteidihe mite be stronger than famotidine. so u better seek a 2nd opinion fm gynae

Gal, no leh. I think they still ok. Not very sweet for me. No choice. Nobody to boil the raw bird nest for me mah. So gotta buy those xian cheng one lor. How much is the dragon bird nest price? I bought the eu yan seng before but rem its quite ex.

hi caicai,

i stopped famotidine as it did not work for me. Famotidine i checked with gynae he said ok. Now I am taking Gimeteidihe..it does give some relief. I have not check with gynae on it yet. Wed I will be meeting gastric specialist. hope he can give me something effective and suitable for preggy woman... sigh...

hi karen,

i heard the saying that mothers dote on sons, while fathers dote on daughters... seem like ur hb dotes on son alot too
i nvr really like kids... i wonder will i be a good mum sometimes... *worry*

i tot cannot eat bird nest till later stage? I was told by chinese sin sei that if take now, all will be wasted anyway as the bb can't absorb any of it... so i stopped taking after only once.. mine is the double boiled kind by my mum...

yeah... my chinese phy oso said first 3 mths bb c/n absorb tonics. but advised some simple ones to strengthen mother's body.
she oso said the birds' nest these days are no longer as pure, usu bleached to get the refined colour, so advised not to take too much. it's actually just protein.
the accompanying tonics, like ginko, longan, red dates are actually more beneficial.
if want, was told to take dur 2nd tri, by 3rd tri can stop liao. too much will cause phelgm for both mom and bb.

gal,
yaloh, whenever my mum prepare the boiled one, she make sure i take it immediately after cooling for 10~20min. so when i take it, still hot sial...

Icy Queen,
sometimes my HB prepares for me also. he uses slow cooker, he just soaked the bird nest, after that, he throw into the tonic pot, with 3~4pcs of rock sugar and pao shen, and he just leave it there for 1~2hrs. then can take it after that. quite easy to prepare.

lovedogs,
sometimes i feel that HB overdoing leh... thats why my son so rebellious now...

dont worry, i believe, your motherly love will naturally come out after the birth of your precious one. ^_^
my mum will prepare birdnest for me after the 6mth, scare of phelgm in bb.

Hi gal, if I din rem wrongly, its 72 for eu yan sang.

Me not taking the birdnest during the 1st trim. Before pregnant, I used to take bird nest occasionally. But since now in my 2nd trim, me thinking of starting to take. Actually initially was vomitting so badly that I thought take anything also waste. So I did not drink any herbal soup or take any bu ping.

Icy queen,
i also dare not take in 1st trim, like u, scare that will be wasted cos of nausea, especially when i always feel 'choked' in the chest after meal time.
but, yesterday after drink the black chicken soup, i feel that my chest not as choked leh, seem to have 'cleared' up. can sleep better at nite also.... hehe

hi karen,

i hope so too.. that my maternal instincts will somehow appear...
if ur hb dotes on your son, guess u have to be the "bad" person to discipline him right?

hi ice queen,

so 2nd trimester onwards ok to drink bird's nest? actually when is the official start of 2nd trimester?

hi yoyo,

how's ur check up?

I've done the Blood test and NT Scan. Gynae said will call me and let me know the results of the Blood Test in 2 days time. Blood test can know so soon meh? The Down's Screening Results will be discussed in my next visit - which is 4 weeks later?? However, she said my figures are good. Measurements is 1 to 5. Wats that??? I also dunno leh.