(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

hi ladies....just a few hrs didnt log in so many posting liao......

hey cheetos,
should have know u earlier...hehee...cos tat time i bought quite alot fr the website a few times liao...my colleagues n i even mass order ard the department....hehe......if we want to order, we put "cheetos" on the fax list??

yy
i will be going for oscar test tomor morning. hmmm....still deciding if wan to just take the NT scan or the oscar test.....

kris,
u take blood test already??? how many weeks u into now?? dr adrian only take my blood pressure when i visit him in 11 week.

how come cannot take roti prata?? i was just thinking abt it just now ....like very long no eat liao..now feel like eating leh....

hi yoyo,

yah i also heard before that to take coconut drink near delivery to allow smooth easy delivery of bb....but now i did not take as only 1st trimester so better dun take too cooling stuff.....

heee i once heard my fren mentioned one interesting story from her fren who gave birth...her fren took a lot of durians during pregnancy, and when her bb is born, her bb hair spikey spikey....she described as standing up....hehee

i also have cravings for durian but think now not in season

yy,

how come mango cant eat?....tot only cooling fruits we cant take......

yeah salmon is high in DHA...very good for preggie ladies....

knottsy,

just now i watch the channel show on what to eat for preggie ladies......the chn physician mention coconut is quite heaty leh.....confuse me cos i tot coconut is cooling also......but coconut has vit C, E etc...good....

btw, the show also mention black chicken is high in calcium, iron and many other stuff...cant remember...very good......so during mid pregnancy, we can start drinking....

knottsy,

my sil no like durian...but my niece's hair when she baby tat time.....all stand up one...so cute.....i wonder how abt rambutan?? hehe

hi cheetos,

okay thanks for the info, i think i better cut down my sugar stuffs esp coming 2nd trimester and 3rd trimester :p
tomolo i going for gynae check, hope my sugar level dun increase :p

hi yoyo,

i staying in my MIL house near simpang bedok...working in bedok area too
okay i go look out for western food stalls

hi cheezel,

yah my husband's sister told me before that her in laws also asked her to drink black chicken soup when in 3rd trimester, heard its very good but dunno what's good in it? heeehee

yah think by mid pregnancy we can start taking black chicken soups.

heee cheezel u are very funny...when u ask abt rambutan :p
what ur sil eat? how come her bb's hair stand up? so cute...

hmmm i think tat's why coconut cannot take during 1st and 2nd trimester? only can take during 3rd trimester for easy and smooth delivery? not sure though

Hi knottsy, Hee your niece so cute one ha. One my fren took too many durians until her bb girl everytime little bit oni sweat alot and easily leh. Body heaty, I heard. I like Durian Roll from ANGIE and also durians that are kept in fridge. So Nice!!!! The young cocnut consider cooling leh, I heard. So cant take now....

Eh Salmon can found at the following also if you are shopping or outside, like at Koh San - few stalls away from the Tepanyaki Express in Parco Bugis Junction food court - Teriyaki Salmon, YOSHINOYA.

Cheezel,

Hahahaha, rambutan - cant imagine liao? All curly Hair? Aiyah My hubby siao one. SO I secretly eat the Mango Cake w/o mango, sobz...

Yeah Yeah, I thot coconut v cooling also leh. I heard later in 3rd Tri must take some chinese herbs like ba-bao soup or sth leh....

knottsy,

my mom these few days got make black chicken soup for me....but she only put red dates n wolfberries to cook with the black chicken. i ask her if can drink, she say can...but she only let me drink abit like 3/4 cup full nia

dunno what my sil eat also leh....but i know she no eat durian one.....my elder niece's hair after 1st month shave botak, after tat grow back, the hair all stand up even when it is quite long liao....hehehe......

Cheezel, I think so long dun hv those herbs like dang-gui or those to take for regulation of period (cause uterus to contract), its safe lah.

I heard bb hair must shave after 1month, so that new hair will grow again and become very smooth one.

Ha, tomorrow Im on leave. Free from office and people. I also have cravings for Japanese foods leh. But can oni eat the cooked ones.

hi yoyo,

thanks for the info, i will look out for salmon at bugis and yoshinoya

i am hungry now....eating biscuits.......still got 1 hour plus then can knock off from work....

wah bb hair needs to shave after 1 mth? look for who to shave bb hair? hairdresser?, will bb cry when hair is shaved?

coconut got many types. the fresh type one is the best. Some are burnt to produce a fragrant taste.

to distinct. the fresh type's flesh are usu very tender and moist. the burnt ones tend to be hard.

from a friend, i learnt that the coconut juice is suitable at late pregnancy, to avoid heatiness. and bb's skin will be nice.

But shld avoid the coconut's flesh, coz it's heaty. this is from a chinese physician, shld be quite accurate.

a rule of thumb from chinese TCM.

first trimester, bb is a foetus in forming stage. essentially, needs calcium and folic to prevent bone-related deficiency.

Second trimester, bb forming its body. can take tonics, but not overly. avoid dang-gui. Was advised to eat up the black chicken or meat used to boil the herbs, coz the nutrients are also absorbed.

third trimester, bb is maturing. at this stage, just need to maintain healthy diet. High danger of gestational diabetes. No need for tonics. And recommended to take coconut juice in last 2-3 weeks.

knottsy,
think can shave after 1 mth or the 4th mth...i also not sure leh.....think can bring to hairdresser ba......

littledan,
the confinement agency u mention, r the nannies fr malaysia?

Wah LittleDan - v good info. Will bear in mind. So we juz drink the coconut water in late preg.

Knottsy, me too. I also got another hr plus. Eating butter crackers too. Those individual packs one. I dunno who will shave leh. I heard dunno got a special hairdresser or wat one leh. I heard from MIL and frens...

littledan,

oic, so to only drink coconut juice but not the flesh?, i always thought coconut is cooling, never know the flesh is actually heaty

littledan,

tat means we can only drinnk the cocnut juice n not flesh ah...aiyo...i like to eat the flesh leh.

thanks for the info given!! very informative.

Are you all wearing special maternity bras now? My bras are rather right liao without padding. I bot those wz removable paddings last time (cos Im cup A mah). If buy 1 size bigger, like waste money leh, later maybe cannot wear liao.... How ah? Any advice?

cheezel,

they're a mixed. but more from m'sia. they actually have a resume prepared, so u know how many kids they have, how many households they've worked in, etc. And the agency stresses, reputation is very important to them, so they screen thru their nannies.

the agent came to pay house-visit to explain thoroughly the duties and costs. felt rather assured.

yy/ knottsy,

not a definite must to shave off bb's hair. though, heard some goes to the extent of shaving off bb's eyebrows.

for me son. we only customarily cut off a bit from hair corners. For Chinese, it signifies that bb has passed his full month and the way to a new maturity.

Have heard sad stories from other parents. shave off bb's hair but later didn't grow back. or it gew back in patches, called 'Auntie's patch'.

So, think carefully if you want to botak bb horz.

cheezel, yeah... thread's down again. sianz.

yy, can buy extensions to the bra end. but anyhow, i got maternity cloth-bras. coz always leaking dur bf times, dun wanna spoil the good bras. cannot save ar...

littledan,
i heard if bb has "auntie's patch", can ask one auntie of the bb to buy a pair of shoe for the bb.....tat time my niece also has this patch at the back of the hair, so i also go buy a pair of shoe for her....but hor the air also never grow there leh....hehehe...i think until much later when her other part of the hair long liao so cover that small patch.

Orh, LittleDan, where to buy the bra extensions?
The Maternity Bras are for the BF one ah? One of my fren v funny, she bot those bikini Bra and when she BF, she straightaway pull the string nia. She says easy and cheap also. Cos v ma-fun when leak leh. Heeheeee...

yy,
if ur bra cup can still fit, then just buy extension for the time being.....i bought 2 liao.....but i also bought 1-2 pcs of bra with a bigger size cup.....

Cheezel, where to buy the extension? Yeah lor, my cup still fit leh. Juz maybe my body frame expands liao....

yy..
eh...the patch is just tat the small portion of the head there no hair growth....

bra extension can just buy at any bra section of the store....if u cant find, can just ask the asst

cheezel,

that's old wives tale lar. it's coz the bb's hair follicles not fully formed.
for me son, he had a little patch that had no hair. But u see, he got no auntie. I'm only child, and daddy has no sisters...

yy,

extension can be bought at any bra shops. common item.

littledan,
yeah...i know its old wivies tale....but i still buy the shoe to see if it really works...but it prove oterwise....hahhaha....silly me right

Cheezel, I see. U know my MIL was telling us a story (which was a truth la). You know last time they all gv birth at hospital were helped by mid-wives one mah. SO that time she overheard a few of the mid-wives saying one of women gv birth to a bb. The bb's hair there got one white patch, so the midwives said the woman v vain, near labour date liao still hv sex wz her hubby. (cos the bb head alrdy turn down and if the sperm got ejac, it will kena the bb head or sth)... Sorry for being gross.... Ganasai hor, the people last time. Then my MIL said, v diff to get rid of the white patch on the bb's hair. Cos it sticks to the bb hair. Dunno if its true anot leh...

cheezel, yeah... the things we mommies wld do. my MIL told me a diff remedy, ie to get an auntie to beat bb's backside. har har... think she did get a very old grand-auntie to beat bb's backside lorz. but oso like that wat... hehe..

yy,

it's safe to have sex after first tri. And theoretically, bb is protected by the amniotc bag and membrance. not possible for the semen to stik to bb.

LittleDan, U make sense leh. So the midwives last time too gossipers liao. Such also they will think of.... Another half an hr to go, then can go home liao...

the white patch's probably the cradle cap, or bb's dandruff. me hb had it when he was young. MIl said the scalp has thick flaky stuffs, and use fingers to peel off one.

that was prob it...

hehe... this one i dunno. but it's called cradle cap lar, though dandruff-like.
u lucky leh... off at 6 ar? what time u start work? I'll only end at 6.30pm.

Hee, LittleDan. I see, maybe again those myths la... I start work early ma, at 8.30am. But I always arrive office abit late like 8.45am. Cos travelling time and traffic jam sometimes. Im not working tomorrow. Then I can cook sth for myself. Always eat outside very bored...

littledan,

u knock off at 6.30? what time u start work...how come so late....

haiz....i had quite abit of brown discharge again.....so sian..i wonder how come it always come weekly....
kao_sad2.gif

lttledan, last mon also like tat..then i go scan...bb is ok....gynae say brown discharge could be old blood being expell out.....but i cant help but worry lo.....

Hello, anybody there still? I had a hard time coming in... Was trying to find the subject May later, but could not... So browse thru last 12hrs posts....

Cheezel,

Dun worry, as long as it is minimal and brown, no severe cramps, everything should be fine. I've seen tis on some web. Wat yr gynae said is right, it could be some old blood. Or sometimes our uterus expands mah, so some blood tissues maybe expelled out...

cheezel
Thanks for directing me to the link....could not find it.
I hv spotting again this morning...it's brownish stain...cant help to feel worry. called gynae and she asked me to increase my dosage from 2 tabs per day to 3 tabs. Hope it will stop....

yy,

the brownish stain quite a bit today as compared to other time.....stain the center portion of my pantyliner....tats y worried lo....

blueblue
u r welcome!! cos it just keep happening in several section of this forum lo...so now i save our MAY 07 MTB hread....
u also spotting ah....u how many weeks liao??.....did u ask ur gynae y spot?