(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cool daughter & cheezel
okie i will go get some ling yang..duno if he likes it or not..cos i for sure dun like the taste of it..

any other things that i can give to boast his appettite? That boy had been super picky with food..some days he dun eat much oso..worry that his stomach got problems...

anybody knw where i can buy fabric paint set? preferably fm somewhere in e east :p

2560382.jpg

zhuzhu,
gd to hear tat markus fever is gone. normal days u can give barley drink, juice etc. i heard ling liang is v 'cooling' so not advisable to give too often.

cheezel,
d weather is bad. yes d virus is like 'alwy there'. af get well, a while wld b down agn, esp runny nose n cough. sianz..
can undstd when kids sick then mummy sick, is so tiring for evyone.
somtg mild: zrytec.

zhuzhu,
there are some multi-vit tat contain appetitie booster in it. i cant remb d exact brand. u can check w d pharmacy. but it may or may not work.

Just found my primary school report card...yipee, going to send my girl to my primary school, will be joining the alumini, so no need to do volunteer job...haha

sanrio
my PD giev zrytec before. but no effect. then see my family doc...give another type of antihistamine....still no better.

ya...kids sick...mommy sick...mil sick...it goes in cycle ..rd n rd. so irritating

Mummies..
Wanna check. Are your little ones getting v whiny and anyhow throw temptrum? Shyanne started being like that recently. Will whine for almost everythings instead of asking for it. I ignore her and keep trying to tell her that she will only get the things she want if she asked for it properly. She will whine and whine.. And worse.. Lie face down on the floor to whine if I contine to ignore her.

Is this a normal phase that all 2 yo has to go thru? She's driving me crazy! Somemore.. She's starting to get v clingy to me. Wanna me to do everything (when I not ard, other ppl she not so clingy). She keep clinging to me like a koala bear and I can't do any other things.

Mummies, pls advise! Must I tolerate and go thru this phase?? She's almost driving me to jump off the building already.

JG
Javen also like to fuss n whine nowadays. He whines when he cant get things his way…like cant seems to put his train on the track, he whines….he doesn’t get to open the fridge n gets what he wan to eat he whine. I notice theres a few times he lie on the floor n whine which I think he prob learn in sch when he sees the older kids doing that. Every time he whines/fuss, I will pull him to me n look sternly at him n ask him what he want. Told him he has to tell me what he want n not cry like a gal. I always ask him if he is a gal and he will say no n then I will tell him if he cry somemore, his hair will grow long n I’m not going to bring him to cut his hair. Strangely, it works. Told him, he has to say what he want instead of crying. Sometime he simply refuse to take his meal n only want to munch on tidbits. Will tell him if he wants to become ET? He say no and then I will quickly say if he doesn’t want to be like ET (skinny and with big eyes and Javen doesn’t like ET), then he has to eat rice, vege and meat 1st. only when he finish his meal, then I give him tidbits which I really did la although unwillingly. Not sure if it’s a good method but at least I get him to take his meal.

Normally I will try to avoid situation where he will whine like I know he will surely wanna come over and play with the fridge if I open, so I will try not to open the fridge when he is ard or will do so when he no notice.

Can feel the blood pressure going up when such things happen which can be everyday……so now I just try to relax myself. My mil mention, he doesn’t behave this way when we are not ard…the moment we reach home fr work, he starts all his nonsense. Prob just trying to get attention??

cheezel,

yours is a good way of stopping the whinning. Mine is not so good. I only carry B away, and distract her by talking or pointing to other things, so that she will stop whinning. B also started to whine alot more now...she doesnt lie down on the floor to whine, but she will kick if I am carrying her.

Cool_D, Zhu Zhu,
Just thought too lazy to do volunteer work, so started digging out my primary school report card...hee hee

I thought of joining alumini to see whether is it too stressful to study there...if too stressful, then may not send B there...heard that those Hokkien Clan or Teochew Clan schools all very stressful.

JG
Markus oso whine n whine when we dun give him wat he want..just like cheezel said..if he cannot link the train properly he will whine..then throw the train away..

sometimes i am oso very pissed and really wanted to jump off the building oso..worse when he is sick..he just keep crying crying and I duno how to help him...dun worry..we are all going thru the same phase..

My boy is the same. Maid says when Sir and Maam not around, boy doesn't behave that way...don't want wear shirt, refuse wear diapers, climb here and there...cranky, fuss etc. Cos maybe he knows when we around, if he fuss, we parents will step in to do something. He wants our attention I think.

Hey mummies, can you guys help me measure how much porridge you serve to your child for each serving? Cos I see bowl size like my boy eats a lot, so today I go measure, is like 250 ml of water content. Do you think is too much? Each serving, and maid often replies me he eat all. Cos if I feed, I usually won't feed all, afraid too full will vomit.

Thanks for sharing that I'm not the only one going thru this phase. It's the same with shyanne too.. Whine to me only!! But I don't think I spoilt her leh.

Today her first day at toddlers' class. So far so good. I stayed outside but she din look for me. This ger.. As long as got things for her to play..she will forget all abt me.. Ha!

hahah ris..cannot help u with this..my boy still on food strike..haiz..if only he will eat as much as ur boy..i dun need to worry..already skinny skinny liao..

JG
Good for u leh.. Shyanne so good gal..

Ris,
Didn’t measure. U mean porridge? If porridge, javen can take 2 bowls (abt the size of our normal rice bowl…normally he eat 1+3/4 bowl. Last time only 1 bowl then slowly increase le. But if rice then he normally eat abt ¾ to a bowl + soup.

janet
i m still at the phase where I tink near is gd. Anyway, for now, there are 2 pri sch within walking distant fm my hse, so .. but who knws, pri sch is another 4 yrs rite? maybe by than i strike toto and move liao :p

ZhuZhu
My boy also whines like Markus...throw the train on the floor if it doesn't link up or go through the "tunnel" properly...he dismantles the train tracks also...I kinda regret buying the set for him... Hiazzzzz.

Oh ya, he also lies on the floor & kicks wildly if he doesn't get his way.

Janet
Your primary school is an all girls school?

cool_D,
My primary school is near my mum place..so what ever it is, i am quite sure, my mum will not be moving...hee hee. so quite safe

SD,
no. my primary school is a mixed school. I was never in a girl school

cheezel,
B has appt with KKH for eye check. Last time, the periodic check-up (together with injection), I asked the doctor to refer to KKh. Because I thought B has some issues with her eyes.

Janet/sgn
thought Javen has been watching TV, seeing laptop.....not too sure if wanna bring him for eye checkup. Cos my friend's son who is just 3 yrs old, has to wear specs liao cos deg abt 300+ with slight astig le.

Cheezel,
if so young wears spec, then must be genetics. Both yourself and hubby wear spec right? Just like me. so 80% our kids will wear spec. it is just sooner or later.

janet
ya lo....dunno if wanna bring him go check le.

sgn
u have the contact for the clinic at shaw center. I think taro give me once but i lost it.

cheezel
i am oso worry abt Markus' eyes..sometimes he just lie down n watch TV..esp when he wans to sleep..

there is this optical shop at Shaw centre..i see they got do children checkup..near Isetan there..think on level 2 or 3...cannot remember...later if I walk pass..i go check again..

<font color="0077aa">Morning mummies!

Been some time since I logged in.

Springdance
Hey, same lah Adam is also like that. he like got temper like that man... if the train derails, he'll get mad and start kicking the rails. Then he'll re-fix them again, or worse, get my hubby or my grandad to re-fix.

cheezel, Janet
Me &amp; hubby also wear specs.. I really hope Adam won't need to wear as a child. Not nice lah ...

I had KFC breakfast today. Hehe, a nice change apart from Macd breakfast</font>

i was borned short sighted + astig too, tho' my parents have perfect eyesight. My mum told me she oni realised i need glasses when she brot me for routine chk up and nurse noticed I sqiumm my eyes. I started wearing glasses when I was 5 i tink .. only 1 in my kindergarten :p

jboy recently kips rubbing his eyes tho' .. hmm, maybe shld bring him for a routine chk???

CD
same case. both my parents perfect eyesight. Even my bro also perfect eyesight. My in laws too and same for my hubby's sis. the thing is myself n my hubby both wear specs. I wore wheni 11 yrs old n think my hubby younger. So now scare Javen aslo like us. So tot of bringing him for routine checkup.....wanna go together?

cheezel
let me know ur plan .. need to ask hubby see how. hehe, wonder how they do chk up for kids .. cannot be ask them read e ABC on e board rite? :p

CD
no la. i think they ask the kiddo to look into a machine or what ba....i also dunno. My hubby say not necessary to bring him for check up since he still young. but i kiasu ma...so prob i just find out n then bring him there to check.

Hi Cheezel
this is the one..
http://www.pediaoptix.com/en/

the uncle said charges is $65 onwards ..but the person who is doing it is only available on Mon, Wed &amp; Fri..

I think there is another one a Shaw Centre..remember Ambery ever bot her gal there to check..

cool_D, cheezel,
very rarely kids are born with poor eyesight...u gals must be special...:)

B's checks at KKH is not reading A, B, C. The nurse will hold a board and make some noise to get B to look at the board, and the nurse will observe her eyes through a small hole on the board. The boards have many different thickness lines. I do not know outside optician whether they do the same as KKH.

cheezel
yap it's the same optician we went. easy and fast, they scan the kids eye with some equitment far from the kid so ky was very co-oprative. the last time was free, wonder how often we need to screen our kids. ky like to stand very near tv console to watch tv. my short sighted is very bad 500+ degree each eye.

springdance
same for ky like to break up the tracks and throw things. sometimes he just come up to me and hit me. then i asked him why hit mummy then he keep quiet!

sgn
mine also 500+ each eyes. Very tempted to go do lasik le.....Javen also like to stand right infront of the tv to watch tv. Check yearly?? not too sure also le.

Cheezel
did my lasik 5 yrs ago. Eye sight still good.
Talking abt kids watching tv v near, do ur kids understand when u ask them to sit back? ryan likes to watch v near too. Wat i did is pause and wait for him to return to the sofa.

i just brought my girl for eyesight check. and thank God it's ok. we suspected some problems before. it's recommended yearly but there is usually one done before the kids attend school. so i think maybe one more check if necessary, because the eyesight will change before age 6.

they checked for 4 things. astigmatism or impaired vision, lazy eye, cross eye, and unusual growth in the eye.

cheezel,
think that time they had offer, free checkup. i didn't think i had to so i didn't go.

blue
i think they understand but sometimes have to remind, cuz when they're so engrossed with tv, they may want to go nearer.

cool daughter
no need to read abc one. i also thought that was how they do it but was surprised it's so easy with new machine. and if there is any problem then they will refer to docs which will use solution to dilate eye, may be uncomfortable.

one thing i learnt there is that if there is a problem with astigmatism, it can be corrected by wearing glasses before age 6, then it may be corrected. if didn't wear glasses early may need to go for surgery, like adults. but all these is only if there is a problem in the first place. only abt 5% children may be affected.

lynn
u went to pediaoptic also? Need to call up and make appt right?

Blue
Think they understand ba cos sometime when i ask Javen to go to the back to watch tv instead of standing infront, he will tell me "Javen see tv near near, eyes pain pain...got to see doc" so i presume he prob know ba

cheezel
Indeed...sayang the barney and thomas...haha.

Anyone send their kids to Dayspring at Punggol? I am looking at that school for pre nursery.

TV:
oops... as a sahm somtx i wish cher can b 'glued' to d TV a bit more so that i can do some chores. but she is not into TV leh. Her fav show is hi-5 but she only watches for a very short while only. cartoon, thomas train, barney etc, she doesnt like woh..

cheezel
i'm also tempted to go for lasik but few years down the road got to wear glasses again for long sighted. got collegue went for lasik 30yrs old but now 42 got to put on glasses again.