(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Hugs to Lynn.

Me tired out. last week Cabbage had viral fever, later broke out in measles-like rash.
this week Cookie has bronchitis, now still having difficulty in breathing. doc gave only oral ventolin.

Re: CDA funds
1st child can use the sibling's CDA funds

JG, zhuzhu
thanks for sharing. It's good to know there's a silver lining out there
Sunshine after the rain.

Lynn
Hope u're feeling better!

Jeanyard
Guess that's the inevitable part of motherhood huh.... one sick, the other one gets sick. Hope Cookie gets better soon.

Bayges
how old is yr baby now? A few mummies sent their babies for baby classes here, rite? For me, I only sent to 1 trial class of Growing Up Gifted. I decided it was too early for such classes, so I didn't enrol my son. I'll just wait for playgroup

thanks for all your concern and sharing your experiences. really made me feel better, initially was at a loss.

i just did d&c this morning. so now on 1 week mc. got to figure out how to so mini confinement. can't remember what can and cannot eat. only know drink red date tea. and vinegar ginger pork.

jeanyard,
cda: yes

i was quite upset/angry w ny mum tdy. i know,
grandparents dote on grandchildren, i appreciate her coming to play w d kids somtx so that i cld take a breather/shower etc. but.... she alwy say, kids are small, they dun undstd, they ar bored.... n she allows them to throw thgs evywhere so much so that they wld take their colour pencils, toys, cards n throw evywhere, stomp n jump on them n go wild. when i told d kids, 'stop, pick up, keep...', they wld ignore me knowing that they hv a 'backing' that kind of approve their actions. n i hv no choice but to discipline esp ash who is old enough to undtsd what is right or wrong behaviour. i explain to her that she is pampering them n allow them to do 'wrong thgs' fr young but she feels that such actions are 'nothing wrong'. kids are just kids n they need to hv fun. n i know if i m in shower, she wld me d one who quickly does all d keeping b4 i m out. oso knowing that ash has food allergies, somtx she wld secretly give him some forbidden food n wen i told her, you see how he cough so badly n suffer then she wld feel bad but that doesnt mean no 2nd tx...
somtx i so angry n feel like telling her, 'then u dont come lah' but i cant n i din n i shd not b so unappreciative...
i hope 1 day if i grow old n becum a grandma, i wont repeat what she does :p
ai ya!!!! sorry to vent my frustration here...

lynn,
d chinese beliefs: rest well, sleep more. avoid catching a chill. dun take cooling food like raddish, tea, cold drks, certain fruits. take some 'pu xue' stuff like red dates.

sanrio
its like dat de la .. jboy oso behave differently when grandparents ard. If it's nothing serious, we juz let him be. But if his behavior is really bad (like beating pple etc), we will still punish him. Maybe wif grandparents ard, we will not beat him (coz they will heartpain and start shielding him), but will make him stand by the wall example. . haha :p

sanrio,
I guess that it is the same for those who have to live with in-laws. The teaching is always different. I live with my in-laws too. So just have to think that if it is not a life and death matter, just have to close both eyes loh. closing one eye is not enough for such encounters. Cheer Up, dont be so stress.

Lynn,
need to bathe with those herbs? Rest well.

Do you know that ACT3 is providing free trial class this Sat? You need to write to them to register. I have already register. Or are most of you going to the Suntec fair?

Sanrio
Hope u feel better after venting :p

CoolD, Janet, Sanrio
Same lor. Adam is afraid of my mother - who is a strict grandmother. However, he goes wild when my father & grandfather play with him. So notty - mess up the toys, insist to be carried to switch on lights, go up & down the staircase (my mom lives in a maisonette). Aiyo. Too mischievous!

Now Adam's my brother's little shadow & sidekick. My bro has just finished NS, now waiting for school. Adam hangs out in his uncle's room all the time, jumping on the bed. My bro's freedom now has been curbed, haha.

Oh yes, will there be a motherhood exhibition or something at Expo? Wonder if they'll have good deals on diapers.

Lynn
Rest well. I hope u're feeling better. Who's taking care of yr little babe when u're on MC?

smalldreams
i remember the last motherhood expo..they have some deals on pampers..cant rem the price..but saw alot of ppl carrying cartons of pampers out..

Janet, Smalldreams, CD,
tks. i fully undstd. yes somtx i 'close both eyes' but esp to ash who is no longer a 'baby', we feel tat we shd b consistent w our teaching at all tx. eg: somtx he wld 'shout' at my mum n we wld not allow such beahviour as this is rude n showing disrespect. but my mum can somtx 'bo chap' him n still acede to his request.
tks for listening

Smalldreams,
gd tat ur mum is strict :p

sanrio
maybe when it's our turn to be granny, we will behave the same way :p

Actually i m quite a 'relax' parent. Even at age 2, I still let jboy do most wat he wants .. as long as it's not life threatening, and it's not harmful to others. hehe. But bad manner is oso something I cannot tolerate. My MIL ever once taught him to say 'jing jing' (quiet) to my FIL when he scolds him. Than he came hm n said 'jing jing' to me when i scold him. I had to spent some time to correct that. . .Huumph !!

smalldreams
thanks, i'm staying with my mum for the week. :p i can take care of sophie, just not bathe her and carry her too much.

sanrio
thanks for the advice. now drinking red date tea with ginger. and some sesame chicken. otherwise food is quite normal. ate grapes. thinking of having lychees.

my mum opposite leh, she like to keep stuff, say messy. i stay at her place for a few days she headache already. :p cuz i have to keep sophie entertained, and all her stuff all over. not toys cuz sophie will keep but i prepare some craft, then playdoh, so a but messy. kekekek....

but with my dad she keeps asking for food, esp raisins and mangosteens. and both sophie and my dad got no limit one. until my mum have to step in.

good that you din scold her. sometimes i think i dun appreciate my mum enough. i wonder if she feels like i dump sophie on her, cuz i need to do some stuff, but not much choice lor. maybe that's why she scared if i have another one. kekek....

Sanrio
While our mum or MIL who is taking care of the kid has some methods which we dun agree about, I must say they are indeed a great help (especially fo rme since I am working full time and my MIL is all alone at home in the day to take care of my boy). So I sometimes just close one eye lor.. quite impossible to have everything to our wish I guess.

Cool_d / smalldreams
I'm the soft type mummy...discipline issues for my boy is done by my hubby. I think I will probably get "bullied" by my boy when he is older. :p

I finally brot my boy to the children specialist clinic at NUH yesterday to confirm if he has any speech problem.. the doctor say likely Jonas has got speech delay since he cannot even say two words continously (eg. mummy come) at this age... doctor advise to schedule a hearing test and speech assessment for him. Haizz..dunnoe eventually must spend how much $$ liao to do this.

Lynn
Good to know u're feeling better.

My mom is the "garang" type - she won't agree to take care of Adam if I was just out having fun, hehe. And Adam is really a handful, so I also want to give my family members a break. Don't worry lah, mothers are there to help us, as long as you dont abuse her kindness, I don't think she'll feel u dumped sophie on her, hehe.

Springdance
Hey, good that you brought him there. Actually I think you're very courageous & pro-active. If it was me, I'd probably adopt a wait-n-see approach. Hope all goes well

tks for listening. i suppose being a sahm, mayb more particular since i m d one taking care of their evtg 24/7, to balance love n discipline is really not easy. of course i do appreciate my mum, is not easy being a mummy, esp a full tx one. yes mayb one day i becum a granny, i wld pamper d grandkids too :p

lynn,
i m sure ur mum dun mind sophie but can c ur mum is an active woman who strive to keep herself happy, active n healthy. i like her style. i wan to b like her wen i grow old, rather tham my mil type, wori tis n tat. ur mum shared w me, we mus live evyday to d fullest, how true!

SD,
dun wori too much but is gd to intervene early. a minor speech delay can b v fast corrected w gd speech therapy. pte patient at nuh? else can go polyclinic get a referral to kkh for sub rate but i dun noe abt d waiting tx. speech therapy queue at d public hospitals are v long esp if it is assesed as a not serious or urgent case. do d hearing test 1st n see what they say lah. hopefully can get early appt

Smalldreams
I not 'courageous' lar...just like what Sanrio mentioned, if got problem, better to remedy sooner than later. Anyway, it's not confirmed yet if he got speech delay..doctor deduce by asking me the list of questions of what he can or cannot do as well as his health. Need to see the speech therapist to assess & confirm.

Sanrio
Yes Pte patient at NUH.. I know it's cheaper to go through Polyclinic but the wait is sooooo long. Even for this 1st appt at NUH, it took one month advance booking and the hearing test..the available slot is also one month later (which means July)...haizzz...by then we get to the speech therapist, dunnoe how many months down the road already... Signzzz

SD,
Dont worry so much...good to check early...money also dont worry lah...as long as it is well spent -- your boy being able to speak lei...

cheer up

SD
dun worry lar..generally boy are slower in speech leh..who knows by the time u need to see the speech therapist..ur boy can start to speak liao..

lynn
My boy oso like to eat rasins..everyday he will ask for raisins...

now he not into eating..no choice had to buy those cars shape pasta for him..n dat boy super fussy..only eat the pasta..all veggie n meat..he will take out..haiz..

SD
dun worry too much. Its gd to bring Jonas for an assessment early. As for money wise...if it has to be spent, there is nothing we can do. Our kid's health more impt.

Sanrio/Janet
i stay with in laws too. i agree with SD. Me a FTWM, my 2 kids with my mil the whole day long.....appreciate her help esp when we bringing the kiddos out, she will help us to prepare things like, dressing the kiddos up, cooking the porridge etc though i do not really like sme of the things which she did. Javen also mess up the whole hse...throw his toys n almost everything.....my mil just allow him to do....i just close one eyes...cos she looking after 2 young kiddos....its not easy. i myself also feel the "tireness"looking after 2 kids alone.

Jeanyard
Javen also dwn with viral infection again on tues....high fever, running nose n cough...brough him to kk a&e....jaren also coughing and running nose but recovering now. Haiz...very sien.....

mommies
i just came back from the Little Big Club Live Concert. Javen has so much fun!! I think the money is well spent. Brought him to the Gingerbread man show this morning too. He enjoy but i shack out!!

going to sleep now./...tomor still got to work!!

sanrio,
at least with your mum you can be frank with her loh. I don't even dare say anything to my MIL. that day Cookie kena cough, she still wants to feed him papaya! what to do, she already mentioned she bought esp for him and not from fridge, very special from hawaii....

cheezel,
Cookie kept having viral like once a month. recently then I realised he had a full grown inner molar.

zhuzhu, lynn,
what is so fascinating about raisins? Cookie takes like 3 boxes a day. If don't give him, will get angry.
sometimes, we just pretend we don't understand him.

SringD, I didn't know you went to specialist straight. cos if you go polyclinic and ask for referral, they'll probably refer you to KKH specialist and will be cheaper.

jeanyard,
what is the symptom of viral? because B just recovered from diarrhoea two weeks ago. now start to have it again. consumed lactofort for 5 days already, still not improving.

Re: Raisins
Maybe because the raisin is syrup coated? sweet mah...my guess only lah

SD
this kind of money cannot save one. if detect early can still treat. that time when sophie had torticollis at 1 mth, we had to bring her for physio every week or two, and the session only 15min. got to pay for physio fees and then checkup with doc every month. but now she's fully recovered, so the cost also forget already. :p

and now we suspect she got eye prob. but i dun have the courage to bring her to doc yet. cannot imagine her with glasses. in her shichida class, there is one boy her age with glasses. during the lesson his eyes watered and the teacher asked if his eye is painful. and he said yes.....woah, i so heartpain for him and his mom. but the next lesson ok already. cuz he was adjusting to his new glasses.

sanrio
hahah, my mum will be so flattered to hear you say that. yeah, she does want to live life to the fullest. now i'm asking her to plan for a hol during my leave, to give her a break. she's been taking care of sophie extra now that we have to see my mil in hosp and they dun allow kids to enter.

yes, sophie is crazy over mangosteen, and she's tried durian, also like, but we dun give her much. very heaty. she doesn't seem to like papaya and mangoes though. maybe it's the texture cuz the taste is sweet. and not so used to lychee.

zhuzhu, jeanyard
yes everyday asking for raisins!!! i have to ration, and give her half a box. if i pass her the whole box, all will be gone. i limit cuz of the sugar intake. yes, sometimes i pretend cannot find so i have to keep changing the storage place cuz she will remember. hahahah.....

janet,
B having diarrhoea how many times a day? her molar come out yet? any change in food prep?

Janet / Cheezel / Lynn
Actually was not so concern about the money lar... when I brot Jonas for the doctor's visit, I would hoping she'll say he fine and has no problem with a little delay in speech...who knows we need to make another two appointments to test and assess before I get a confirmation...and the wait is soo long...Haizz.

What I am thinking now is whether I should bring him to a private therapist for assessment...the wait would be much shorter but the price would be doubled!

Hmm....How would you girls decide if you were in my shoes? Is it necessary to spend this?

ZhuZhu
That's what I thought too...when the therapy appointment finally comes in dunnoe how many months..maybe Jonas can talk liao..kekeke.

Lynn
Hmm...why did you suspect sophie got eye problem?

Jeanyard
Yup I know if go through polyclinic, the fees would be subsidise...but then really will be "Deng Deng Deng Deng!"

cheezel, mummies,
yes i do appreciate the old folks help. but perhaps me as a sahm, more 'fussy' cos i m d one who hv to do d packing, cleaning, preparing, cooking, taking care, discipline, all day n nite long so somtx a bit 'grouchy' :p i m fine lah, got used to such lifestyle already. but somtx i still 'xin yang yang', tot of gg bk to work. mayb i just not meant to b a sahm for sooooooo long :p

SD,
for us, we probably a bit more ks n prefer to intervene early if there is a prob. we did go tru kkh pte clinic but d wait was long n it was almost 'impossible' to get a speech therpay session. but ash did his hearing test there. he was cooperative so was easy. in d end, we wen to pte. i suppose d public hospitals nid to do d more urgent cases 1st eg: my frd's son has speech n slight developmental delay at 5 yrs old n he got this therapy sessions arranged quite soon even thou is a subsidised case.

lynn,
she is such a cheerful n lively grandma mah. v gd! n both she n me like yoga :p.
gd tat sophie loves to eat. cher n ash both dun like papaya. i tink is d 'strong' taste of it. hb nvr like papaya too.
eye problem: why u suspect leh? check w hpb, i tink they hv a program on myopia for pre-schoolers, i dun noe abt toddlers. ash is in tis program tru his school too. waiting for his turn to get his eyes assesed.

SD
i will opt for pte one. the long waiting time can kill both my hubby n myself...too dragy. Know the result early then can intervene early. moreover it concern the development of the kiddo so i will prefer early treatment if its necessary.

Jeanyard
Javen also kana once or twice per month now. N i think his inner molar comming out soon ....cos theres once he cry so loyud while napping and when i ask him he keep crying...scare me off. thought he stomachache so rub some ru yi oil on his tummy....then when he calm down, he point to his mouth and say inside pain. n i always see him poutting his finger into his mouth to dig....or put his finger at the side of the face machiam like digging something. one night before his bedtime, he told me Javen mouth pain pain...teeth come out then no pain already. I nod to him and say yes, teeth come out no pain anymore. So amazing when he say this to me.

SD,
I will also opt for private because can know the results earlier.

Lynn,
Diarrhoea 3 times a day. Just now, my dad told me B has high fever, 38.2C. and a bit of cough...so i think the sickness could all be linked. Only change the milk powder, which is like a week ago. dont think is the milk powder lei. even we stopped the new milk powder, diarrhoea still continue...so tomorrow not going to ACT3 already.

Cheezel
so clever of Javen! Adam can only say 2-word sentences, even then in his own language at times.

He got one new word "tos" which means "close". Hehe. So he goes, "tos dor" (close door).

Janet
Maybe it's a viral infection that B got. Once I changed milk powder and Adam fell ill, but it so happened he could have picked up the germs somewhere. my PD said it wasn't due to the milk powder change. Hope she gets well soon!

Sanrio
Hmm..can let me know the name/contact of the pte speech therapist that Ash visited? What's the charges like?

Cheezel / Janet
Thanks gals..greatly appreciate your views...I'll discuss again with my hubby when he's back from overseas next week.

SD,
No prob. Hope I have helped you in makin a decision

Smalldreams,
yah...indeed B has viral infection accordng to the PD. fever is down a bit already. hope she gets well soon

my boy oso had fever since Thur..on and off..just bot him to see PD yday..wah in the clinic..9 out of 10 kids are all down with fever..

Jeanyard & Lynn
I keep the raisins inside the fridge..sometimes i just pretend that I cannot open the fridge..

zhuzhu,
B's fever also on and off. And we were asked to wait outside the clinic...because of H1N1.
now, she has developed a cough

SD,
sure, i pm u tonite can. school holidays now n i m sick

zhuzhu, janet,
last week ash was oso suddenly down w a high fever of 39.9 tat wont go down much w panadol n brufen. 3 days later than he got better but developed a bad cough. tis week cher had runny nose n me oso runny nose n headache.

sanrio

sori to hear that cher n u both ill. drik more liang teh , get well soon .
smtms i also frus with my mom. . U wanna try choosing a gd tm (eg bring her out for dinner) n share your opinions on wat u prefer her not to do? i do tht smtms. The thing abt our own moms is that no matter hw snappish or hw 'grouchy' we are to them, they are usually 'super tolerant' =P

lynn

sori to hear abt ur mishap. been a while since i come in here, so didn't realise till nw. Hope u recvr well

sanrio,
ASh case is just like B. Very phelgmy cough now...PD said if one week cough still not recovered, then have to see her again for antibiotics.

I remember reading here something about antibiotics not good to introduce at this young age, but cant remember why..why eh?

Also I find that PD always give very expensive medicine. And it is medicine that can buy off the shelf at outside pharmacy, and she still charges more than outside. the only thing is she is very good with B. B also feels very comfortable with her. so no choice loh...

Jeanyard,
now the PD gives another medicine for the diarrhoea. also can get off the shelf. grey powder and mix with water...I find the smell very offensive...so must really dilute it, otherwise B refuses to drink.

haiz..my boy fever still havent subsides..almost 1 wk liao..bot him to see PD last nite..PD prescribe antibotics..she said if with 3 days fever never come down..must go for X-ray..

He oso had very phlegmy cough as well..

my boy also had been having running nose for almost 2 wks. tried flu med and hou ning still running nose!

Zhuzhu
got give markus lin yang for cooling?

zhu zhu,
B also high fever for 3 days. gave lin yang immediately dropped. but still need to take a bit of panadol to completely stop fever.

i went fu hua. they sell in package..mine was $12 a pack, still need to buy rock sugar to make it sweet...B didnt really like the taste, but i spread out through out the day to feed...so she doesnt need to drink too much in one go

Janet,
somtg like this: over-use or over-reliance on antibiotics wld 1 day cause the bacteria to develop a resistance agst d antibiotics n d antibiotics wont work anymore so new or stronger n stronger med nid to b developed to fight agst d bacteria. so we alwy read like d bacteria or virus has developed into a new strain etc...
(wld need my doctor's bosses to explain in clear medical term, sorry i a bit lost touch w my medical data/knowledge/terms liao :p)

zhuzhu,
1 week is quite long. usually viral fever shd subside by the 4th day. d doctor may order an urine or blood test or x-ray if needed.
the weather is real bad. hope Markus gets well soon.

hi gk,
tks. i m feelg beta. yup i talked her n she does undstd. yes mummy are d best.

Javen aslo down with fever, cough n running last week. brought him to KK a&e again. fever subside. running nose cough also almost ok liao. had been bringing him to see doc for 3-4 times in 2 months. terrible. Jaren also down with running nose n cough. the virus is going rd n rd. Me kana blocked nose now after recovering from block nose n cough 2 weeks ago....sien.

zhuzhu
if fever no subside 48 hrs must see doc for blood test or xray to see if its infection. i had fever for a week plus in mar n kana pneumonia when i admit myself to a&e. PD told me if normal virus infection, normally fever will subside fast. So if anything that is lingering, have to be more alert.

I think Markus' fever finally subsides !!! now he like hyperactive liao..

But do you think ling yang can give during normal days..or only during fever?

zhuzhu
lin yang quite cooling le. so far i haben let javen try b4. Not too sure if can give during normal days...how abt replacing with barley?

jaren just pass 9 months yesterday. time flies. Any good med for running nose? he still having running nose for 2 weeks liao le. cough also very phelmy.....sien...see doc take med also no use

cheezel
i tink for toddler, ling yang is ok. My MIL had given jboy quite alot of lingyang. Some during his fever days, or when he shows sign of heatiness.