(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

janet
thanks for the names. just did a quick check on website. i'm not familiar with them but what i didn't like too much was, for the creative child, they have 2 sessions of TV viewing. and for peg and jo, it's a small place above a macdonalds. would prefer an open area, not totally air-conditioned.

there are another 3 that i called. one is a montessori school but they only practice partial montessori. and for her age group only 1 other child. so they combine with nursery class. the other one, sparkletots, need to attend whole week, cannot accept 3 days a week, which is what i wanted.

carmichael is similar but the facility is much older. this one is quite new. they just moved over a year ago. previously was at another house.

think at the moment convenience is more impt for me. would prefer to try out a montessori centre but i don't have any around the area. is there a directory for all the available ones in different areas? then can narrow down search.

saw one in bugis. looks interesting but will only check that out if this doesn't work out.

SD
happy birthday!!!

any one wants to go for father, son, and ox play on fri? 11am or 4pm? if anyone interested in 2nd jan, let me know. thanks!

Hello mommies...been MIA for a while. Didn't read back the past threads for similar posting but even if repeat also good to serve as a reminder.

Carter/Oshkosh/ON Sale at Gimmill Building
Blk 43 Tampines Street 92
19 - 21 Dec
9am to 8pm

See you mommies there...

Cheezel...I'm going this Fri...are you interested? Hope Javen's finger is ok...

mommypoh
u on leave this fri? aiya....how to buy things with Javen ard.....if leave him at hm, my mil prob cant cope with 2 now.

nellu
i'm still a spotty dalmation
waiting for the scabs to drop off

Wonderbaby
You are rite...heheh...how you know? You saw an alert on FB or something?

WonderBB/ Cheezel/ Janet/ Lynn/ Nellu
Thanks for your belated wishes...Had a simple celebration with my parents, hubby & son at a restaurant at Pan Pac last evening...Also had a small cake from Bakerzin to blow candle...heheh. Me old liaoz....

Cheezel
Nope will not continue with Busy Buds....think of try something else...that's why attend other trial class...:p

Can refund for the last class mah? Best if can although I think unlikely they will allow...as for the makeup class in Jan, actually hor, i also dunnoe we can make it or not...coz again, I will likely go for Sat class only and if we sign up for other activity by then, then probably will not go...

SD
not refund for last class. but the deposit...can take back right? i'm not going for the last class. will call for a make up lesson for next term. anyway, will be calling tomor morn. let me know if u also wanna slot into the 1st new class next yr

I have 2 pieces of one time complimentary customized skin solutions treatment for free at Marina Square by New York Skin Solutions. Please send me your SAE to me if u are keen.

Please email me for the facial vouchers and do a free facial before Christmas and CNY
!

lynn
wow, you really do your homework man.
maybe i just follow you lah, see you decide which one, and i follow...hee hee, lazy me.

just wondering if you gals ever visit other 2007MTB threads? I know some of you do..I didn't until recently a friend told me to go read her thread... wow...After reading it, i feel damn stressed. Cos the babies are younger but like 1000000times more advanced than our kiddos leh...

...or maybe the mummies there too free and like to share a lot of info...

..btw, Josh went for his last BB class today... feel really poignant cos BB class was the main stimulus for him over the last 6 months. At BB he learned so many things. The teachers really helped me to get Josh out of his shell. He started the classes sitting really close to me and refused to let the teachers come near him. Today, he ran off to play with his friends and teachers on his own and left me behind...It is a major progression for me. I know now that he'll be ok in a short while when he's used to the routine at childcare.

nellu
cannot like dat compare...different kiddos have diff development mar..like for my boy..until now he still duno how to speak except for a few words..and i mean really few words..he din even know how to call ma ma..
sad leh..

anyway which thread are u referring to..should go n read if got time..

zhuzhu,
same lah...Josh is stubborn and doesn't really want to talk so much...says a lot of gibberish that no one understands...

i know cannot compare...that's why i say maybe that thread's mummies all too free..hahaha..or show off, or just plain like to talk (maybe in reality it's not the case leh?! hahahaha!)....

btw, how's markus doing at CC? Josh's turn coming soon in Jan. I'm making his daddy take him to the cc next week for a couple of days for a few hours...so i can take 'leave' and go out! hahaha...i'm really tired cos my hubby's been travelling like mad since Sept...i've not gotten a day of rest yet!

hi nellu, zhuzhu,
not to wori. as a mum, i hv learned tat most imptly, i want my kids to grow up healthy, happy n b of gd character. i 'dun dare' to read ash's thread. all d kids can read, write, play piano etc etc. but my ash is still playing evyday. i hv been teaching him to write his name, recently he did it but not very well, worst as he is left-handed. i try to appreciate 'his other talents' lah (haha, if any). he loves science n like to read science books n ask questions tat somtx i cant even answer. mus go read up...
most imptly, treasure their infant, toddler stage, sweetest n most innocent moments, they grow up real fast......
i motivate myself tru tis phrase, 'in evytg, give thanks'..

WonderBB
No lar...he didn't eat the cake... he not interested at all...basically, anything that is for eating, he not keen...except for tidbits like Gerber puff or chips.

Err...he dunnoe how to kiss me also lei. Daddy also never do that lor...Zzzz....

Cheezel
So you booked the makeup class oledi? Going for Sat also?

Nellu
heheheh...I had a quick investigation after you posted about the other thread discussion on child's development and I think I found it. Some stranger apparently took the sharing as showing-off...well, actually I do feel that too much discussion about your child's development on the open forum will naturally make people start comparing. Then this may make some more sensitive mummies whose kiddos are slower feel upset after reading. So I would say abit of sharing about this topic once awhile on the public exchange is fine but maybe not to the extend of typing out and telling the whole world the 100 list of things your toddler can do. :p

Like zhuzhu says, different kids have different pace of development...most important is that we know our child is healthy and normal (well.. we know our boys can understand us although they are not talking alot rite? Which means their hearing no problem!).

hey mummies
mil also said ky don't speak much but when i'm with him i always talk to him by asking many questions. ky would wonder why ma ma so alkative..... ha ha ha

nellu
think Markus is starting to get use to CC..he still cries when go sch..but after a while he is ok...

Sanrio
Markus is oso a left hander..like me..cos i saw the newsletter the cc sent me everywk..and i saw the pic that he is coloring with his left hand..

springdancce
agreed with u leh..my boy understand what i am saying..just that he is not speaking.. he only goes "ba ba"..now he learn another word..BUS minus the sssss sound..

maybe its also good that in this thread, we share more on our weakness so as to learn from each other.

I brought my girl for her 18th month yesterday. she cried like mad...for her past injections, no tears at all. this time, she cried and struggled so much that the nurses said that i no good in holding her down, they do it themselves. today, the wound of the injection is still quite big. usually there shouldnt be any wound for injection. wish my girl did not struggle so much. lucky this is the last injection already.

she also not so heavy. 50th percentile. but like other mummies said, i leave her weight to fate. so long as she is happy and running around.

sanrio,
didn't know that ash is left handed. Someday must ask you how to teach him...i suspect Josh will be left handed as well..He's been showing preference to use his left hand to do a lot of things.

my hubby isn't that pleased that Josh might be left handed.. but i'm ok.. left handed pple tend to be more creative and artistic.

SpringD,
definitely agree with you..That's why i was telling my fren who's in that thread that it's really crazy!

hehehe...jonas can pretend to kiss or not? at least?? Josh used to lick when you ask him to kiss..then your whole face will be wet lor!.. it's hilarious just thinking about it!

janet,
josh also was struggling and crying like mad when we did his 18th month assessment. So farnie cos last time he's totally ok. i think it's cos they are more aware of what's going on so they would react like that ba....

looks like most of our boys can't manage the S sound yet hor...Josh also says BAH for bus!

janet,
as a 2nd tx mum, i really wori much lesser. eg: cher on food strike for almost 2 wks, i oso take it quite easy, like i tell myself, is a phase, she dun wan to eat, i cant force her. n cher is oreadi v light, recently she fell sick n is now 9kg only.
at 18m, they ar now more aware of d environment so tat probably explain ur girl's 'fear' of d injection/nurses.
cher sometx ok w pd, somtx not, depend on her mood tat day.

zhuzhu,
ash does evytg w left hand. wen he started self feeding, he cld not send d food properly into his mouth wen he used his right hand, wen we switch d spoon to his left hand, he did it very well. oso he can only cut w a sisscors using his left hand. but at a young age, most kids are gd w both hands, they can use both left n right hand to colour etc...
problem w ash writing w left hand, his alphabets like S etc alwys written in d wrong way.. n his name all written titled or slanted one..

nellu
hb oso ask me to try to convert markus to rite hand..cos he said next time if he eat outside..will keep on "fighting" with whoever sitting beside him...but i had no issue..since I am a left hander since young..

zhuzhu,
i read somewhere before that it is not good to try to 'convert' a left handed. It'll cause some brain confusion or something like that...

not sure how true. My hubby told me his second brother is actually left-handed but my mil forced him to use his right hand. Always thought that my BIL2 was a bit of a funny character...maybe it's got something to do with it??

sanrio,
I have two left handed friends. they both write words slanted or in upper cap. I think it is the way left handers hold their pens. In fact, I found their handwriting very nice.

janet
actually i din really do much. just followed my mum's neighbour who initially wanted to enrol in that school. so i thought go and see see. seems ok to me. in the end she din enrol, but chose one much further away. i didn't change because transport is a problem for me. i'm sending her in for trial next week. so will see how it goes.

nellu, zhuzhu, janet
i think it's good we're supportive to each other in this thread. can't imagine if we post just to compare what our kids can do. or to boast. it really doesn't matter much at this age because there's such a long way to go and different kids mature faster at different stages. which thread is that??

zhuzhu
my girl also say "bah", sometimes she will say "bah" then pause then "sss" but it's rare. :p

janet
same!! my girl struggled when i had to restraint her and cried when the doc injected her. the stupid doc still can ask why she cry!!!! what a question to ask! first and last time i'm seeing this doc. i asked her about my girl's sensitivity to light, which she brushed off at first, and after i probed, she checked and found there may be a problem. so ask me to go polyclinic for referral to make sure it's not astigmatism.

Hello mommies!

Greetings from Japan! hehe. I'm finally here.

Updated our blog before my memory fails me as I see more places each day. It's freezing here when the wind blows. if not, it's just like walking in super cold aircon place.

Nellu

What do you mean by advanced? They can read many words? they can say 100 words? They can count to 10? or they can do somersaults? It doesn't bother me what other kids can do. Coz the most important thing is they enjoy their childhood and learn at their own pace.

We don't know what those parents have done with their kids. And also I don't want my child to grow up faster than he should. If he can read too many words or understand too many complicated things, I wonder if school would be too boring for him later on (coz he needs new things to have his mind stimulated). So, I deal with it - adam can't talk much, plays all the time. I let him. But when the time comes when learning becomes serious, the least I could do as a parent is to guide him along.

Whoops, topic over ? hehe sorry!

As for being left-handed, adam also appears to be like that. Perhaps it's quite normal in some ways since many of us seem to describe that. left brain confusion? from what i can remember from basic psych, left brain controls language, right one controls creative side. So, erm.. well i think the brain is verrryy verrry smart, things will fall into place, so no worries!

Zhuzhu

don't be sad lah. markus is so cute! and so brave too

Janet

just now i went to a store, to look for baby stuff here. But, they closed at 7 pm! Grr. Was thinking of getting leg warmers for adam.

lynn
when u said ur gal is sensitive to light..how can u tell? cos sometimes i find that when i turn on the bedroom lite..markus wil blink blink blink..

smalldream
okie lar...i will get over it..anyway as long as he knows what i am telling him..i am ok with it..

ZhuZhu
How is Markus doing at school so far? Still got cry? Think he's probably adapting better?

Nellu
Fake kiss he also dunnoe lei.... he will either shun away or giggle shyly when I ask him to kiss mua....he hor, dunnoe what to say about him.

Smalldreams
Oh ya...your Japan trip started on 16 Dec rite? Must be really chilling cold there now...is it snowing?

You brought along your laptop or you using the business centre at the hotel?

Is Adam doing fine? How was the flight journey? Do put on more clothings for him to prevent himm from catching a cold.

Lynn
I thought you bring Sophie to see Dr Low? How come it's a SHE doctor for the injection?

Cool_D
I was expecting NO photos of Jonas since he almost didn't join the kids at play..hahah...not bad you still got a vague & blur pic of him in the far background. Heheh...

I like the Jap costume of Jordan he wore to Vivocity lei...buy from where?

springdance
he still cried when he goes to sch..but i think come Thur & Fri, he got used to it..then when mon comes again..its back to crying...

next yr..most of his classmate will be promoted to Nursery 1...so i think only left abt 4-5kids in playgroup...

CoolD,
hahaha I'm just speculating about the left-handedness..

lynn, smalldreams,
yes i think some parents are really kiasu over the top. I'd like to take things as they come. I strongly believe that kids will learn a lot more if they enjoy the activities. Having grown up in an environment where my parents strongly emphasised on the academics, I don't really want my kid(s) to go through the same madness. I know Josh is a bright kid, he's shown us his capability and his potential, but I also want him to have an enjoyable childhood. I am worried that if I load him too much now, he'll get so bored in school and he'll have a nasty experience in school (cos teachers will punish him for not paying attention or being the class clown..that sort of thing...)

lynn,
can I just ask how you discover that Sophie might be sensitive to light? what are the signs? I'm very concerned about Josh's eyesight cos my hubby is a super blind bat! ..and also Josh's airways cos I'm super allergic and sensitive..

smalldreams,
enjoy your holidays! I wanna go Japan too but I dun think I want to bring Josh yet... thinking whether I'll have the time to go to hokkaido at all with my mum at least... or a gf...hehehe

SD,
hmm...is it cos Jonas doesn't really see his parents kiss?? hehehe....josh is v affectionate as a little boy maybe it's cos he sees us displaying affections like hugging and kissing ba...he's even ok with hugging his frens at BB and our friends and their kids (dun see often ones!)...

smalldreams
enjoy your holiday in japan!

springdance
i thought all kiddos will like cake. chloe got tired of her gerber stars. now she's into cornflakes
can teach jonas to kiss you. when he does, your heart will melt

nellu
chloe is very affectionate too and is always hugging and kissing.

cool_D
Thanks! didnt know u capture Javen riding on the mini toy bus! hehe

SD
going for the $1st class next term which starts 5th jan$

CD,
U managed to snap bbK photo ar....haha, cute. Thks.

smalldreams,
yum yum.... eat all the sushi and sashimi on my behalf!!! hahaha enjoy ya!

cheezel, janet
Wen u gonna collect the tics frm me? Do let me noe early cos nxt wk will be busy, hving quite a nos of xmas parties n wedding diner to attend.

Springdance

Hey happy belated birthday! Nehmind wait till Jonas' a bit bigger - he'll get all excited over his mummy's birthday for sure.

Thanks for advice- I bundle adam up in his winter jacket, fleece & baby tights - the only pair that I have, almost everyday! Don't want him to catch a cold lah. but i think babies find it easier to adapt to weather changes compared to us,adults. but still i don't want to take chances. not fun travelling with feverish tot.

The flight was 6 hrs - adam slept abt 1/3 of it. better than nothing lah. but once he woke up he wanted to walk around. as if the plane very big like that. Tsk.

and yups, my hub brought his laptop and got free internet access in room so i just use lor :p (of coz only possible when adam's asleep)

Today we went to Tokyo disneyland. Superrrr crowded and stuff are just uber-expensive!! abt 16 bux for a bucket of popcorn, 50 bux for children's disney raincoat. haha! i didn't buy much for adam, but in the end bot him a little buzz lightyear light toy - so boring... but at 1800 yen (abt $20), he'd better like it!

Nellu

Hokkaido is lovely i'm sure but i'm not covering it this time round. if i do get there (ever), i'l wait till adam's a bit bigger so he can appreciate the snow. got snow there rite?

wonder_baby
Thanks for the wish! are you totally cured of chix pox?

springD
e Jap costume is bot by Jboy's ah ma .. in Japan
Hehe, lucikly i hv dat 1 pix of Jonas, so I hv all the kiddo.

cheezel
i oso like e 2 pix of e boys on the bus. So cute hor.

smalldreams,
i saw ur blog. wah! winter holiday in japan, soooooooooooo nice. adam looks like a 'big boy' now. enjoy urr holidays n show us more fotos. i went japan few tx b4 marriage n i love it. wish i cld b bk agn but got to wait for d 2 kids to b much older..

smalldreams
adam looks smart!! like big boy...hehe...must enjoy$ ok. Things in Japan r $more exp. Hokkaido is somewhere which u should go in the near future. its NICE...i love the place. n yes of cos...theres snow if u go during the winter time. but their summer/spring period also nice le....got flowers! very nice colour.

zhuzhu, nellu
i'm also not sure because it was my mil who mentioned it to me. she said she noticed sophie quints a lot when exposed to light and takes a long time to adjust. i also noticed she doesn't like to open her eyes wide in the morning but i thought that was because she just woke up. my mil said she is sensitive to light herself so she thought sophie may have the same problem. her doc told her it's a vit B deficiency but the pd said it should be A or C. anyway i don't think sophie is deficient as she eats well. she's 12.4kg!! hahahah.....

so now i'm checking out which place to go for checkup, pd said to check if it's astigmatism. heard most babies have this, just to which extent.

sd
dr loh was on leave, and i didn't want to wait till christmas week, so i sent her to another pd near my place. it was supposed to be a simple jab. also i'm sending her in for preschool so i need the vaccination cert.

Nellu
You are rite onz! Jonas neber see his parents kiss before...we shy people lar! Hahahah...

Wonder_baby
How to teach my boy to kiss me? Like what Nellu has mentioned "do it" in front with daddy?? :p

Think gals might be generally more affectionate than boys?

Smalldreams
Woah...that sure looks like very good "protection" on Adam against the cold winds. Kekek.... but always better to be on the safer side (more Kia-Su) when it comes to taking care of the kid's health. Coz it's really super duper inconvenient & tiring for the parents if the kid falls sick on a trip overseas.

Jap Yen is very strong now....that's why many people avoid going Japan currently...everything will be soooo ex.

How's Adam's appetite in Japan so far? Can find suitable foods for him?

Lynn
Sophie sure is one chubby gal! So long never see her liao...can post her recent photo here for us to see?

She starting school in Jan 09?

smalldreams
adam looks so cute all bundled up!
i seem to hv pinkish scar after the scabs drop off

springdance
say 'kiss' then kiss jonas. and say 'kiss' then put your lips or cheek to jonas' lips. i taught chloe this way. hehe. now when i say 'come kiss mummy', she'll squeal and run away. but when she is in a kissing mood, she'll make sure she kisses daddy also after mummy or the other way ard

lynn,
really huh? have you brought Sophie to get an eye check? Optic Point has partnered with someone to do this..I took Josh before but I can't remember what is the operation called now. That time Josh was abt 8-9mths.. Also had astig..but it's normal at this stage...I was told it will correct out as they grow up...the deg is v little only abt 50+ thereabts.

abt deficiency, it's really hard to tell. Even if the person is of normal weight and all...it's like it's not true that thin people won't have high blood cholesterol..and it's not necessarily true that fat people will definitely get heart attack... in any case, i think it's no harm to really look at her diet hor..

smalldreams,
went to your blog to see the pics...wah...me sangat envy again..hehehe...really looking forward to holiday...now must be good girl and work hard so can enjoy nanti at Geneva in May...

make sure you keep Adam warm..but make sure that he doesn't get too heated up either...

SpringD,
hehehe...yes..i think girls tend to be more ready to express affection..but I think it's really got to do with the people around them...Kids lah...monkey see monkey do!

me am really tired and vexed...Josh has been on a milk strike for 3 days now...and my hubby's been flying in and out for the last two weeks...oh goodness...cannot tahan liao leh! I can't imagine how things will be in the next few weeks. Though hubby will be on leave but we've got loads of things to do for Christmas and CNY later...I'm reviving my tradition of making Christmas dinner for both sides of the family. I think I'm mad to want to do the whole thing (turkey, side dishes, dessert, drinks!) all from scratch..but I love doing it leh...crazy.. :p

what are you gals doing for christmas?

nellu
Josh rejecting all milk feed? jboy oso rejecting his nite feed quite frequently recently. Me been pouring away 180ml FM .. hiaz wat to do rite?

Xmas .. i hv a xmas party on 24 Dec and another one on 26 Dec :D