(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

sori..i wld prefer a wkday.

Re: Gathering in Dec
Errmmm...if possible, would prefer more centralised venue to meet up.

1. Janet - can take leave
2. Nellu - SAHM
3. Mum@work - SAHM
4. Sgn - can take leave
5. Cool daughter
6. SD
7. sanrio

been MIA for veri long le. my maid will be extending for another 2 yrs, so will let her go back from jan to mar b4 i pop. dunno whether i can survive the 2 mths anot. signz...

sanrio

I agree, hehe these days we just put our needs aside and most of the holiday plans centre around the kids. But one thing good, after a day of play, they sleep well at night. Heh!

Kris
How's yr pregnancy been so far?

Janet
Marina Barrage is great if it's not raining

Anyway today we thought of taking adam to the zoo, but half way through the journey it rained and rained, so we turned back & went home where Adam & I had a nice long morning nap. eheh. Seems i cant do that "seize-the-day" thing like nellu did with Josh months ago! Weather has changed..

it's really been a long long time since i last posted...
just to check whether does anyone knows about the kids events/performance in shopping mall for the coming holiday period? i only know of Marina Sq, United Sq & Taka.

yo ladies!
I'm back fr genting trip. So tiring...we drove up with 2 of my hubby colleagues and also my mom. rent a 9 seater car....hmm....guess Javen not so used to be confined to the car seat for so long....he gets cranky along the way there esp when he wanna nap. but he's ok on the way back. even brought him to selangor for sharks meat porridge. its a 2 hr drive fr KL.....after that we proceed to malacca and then back to sg. by the time we back, Javen also knocked out....hehehe

Re: Gathering in Dec - Prefer weekdays

1. Janet - can take leave
2. Nellu - SAHM
3. Mum@work - SAHM
4. Sgn - can take leave
5. Cool daughter
6. SD
7. sanrio
8. Cheezel

outdoor or indoor also can la. i'm fine with both arrangement.

SD
Hows ur class on sat? The weekday class for busybods not much pple. as usual....the gals are more sociable than the boys!! haha....got the free busy buddies tee??

Cheezel

welcome back! Did Jaren go along too? It's normal for Javen to get cranky lah...toddlers are just not made to be confined to seats! ehhe. Well hope u had a good break.

SD, CHeezel
saw on cheezel's blog in the Busybuddies' entry. I saw a big girl walking on some thing - hey isn't the class for toddlers? or don't tell me the big gal is a teacher ehehe

smalldreams,
heheh last time i was able to cepat cepat go to the zoo cos we live quite near to it mah..by BKE only takes us 15-20mins! Sorry to hear that you didn't get to do it. There is always a next time!

abt the big girl in the BB class. Unfortunately sometimes grace kids pple dun really control other parents bringing their older kids into the class. I'm usually fine with it as along as that big kid dun go and disrupt the class by trying to participate with the toddlers (eg. eat their snacks, snatch their toys..etc). I get this a lot in gym class but not so much BB.

Cheezel,
is this the first time Javen travelling long distance in the car? did you all break journey or not? When we drove up the Cameron Highlands last year, we had to break journey several times. back then Josh still not crawling/walking yet already have to do that. Now can walk will have to break more often.

btw, you went to the thurs 315pm class right? it's alpha babes class for smaller kids till 18mths. usually the one you go on sat is for 1.5-2.5yos.

sanrio,
what industry is your hb in? end of yr still v tied up? we also got no year end hols this time cos hb has to travel quite a bit to finish off his studies. but we've done our long holiday in Apr-May already when we went to France & UK!

next year hoping to go Europe in late spring/early summer again. really love it.

yes yes...me going to start work soon...next Jan aft Josh starts CC.

gathering also i prefer weekdays. cos i need to chope the weekends for hb to spend time with Josh lah..now they two are best friends forever. Small one will scream at the big one for leaving the house to go to work! hahaha

Smalldreams
Nope didn't go sentosa as you guessed...raining whole day yesterday...Duhzzz...wasted my leave and my plans all spoiled. Not fated to go ...

Cheezel
Welcome home! Did Javen enjoyed himself at Genting? Went on many rides I guess? You & hubby got chance to go casino look see?

As for the BB class on Sat, think there were about 6-7 kiddos...the 2 sisters (not sure if you know who I referring to...the younger one is called Valerie & very participative in all the activities one) are still with the class. Rest are noew people...and as usual, the gals are more attentive and enjoyed themselves more. Jonas was playing with a ball all throughout the class!! Haizz...never paid attention to anything at all except the puppet play. Teacher was commenting at the end of the class maybe she should design an activities that involve the ball so as to get some attention from Jonas.

Oh ya...i saw the snowman made by Javen.

I didn't get free T-Shirt!!! Did the teacher gave out during class?

Nellu
Are you going back to previous company or a new one? Which CC have you enrolled Josh in?

Sanrio
After much considerations... me & hubby are planning for our next family trip next year (after CNY) to Gold Coast...like what you did with Ash last time.

By the way, did you stayed at service apartment? What is the name of the hotel or apartment you stayed at? You cooked for Ash?

Re: Gathering in December

Hmm...just suggestion...how about we do a picnic on the "Green" rooftop at Marina Barrage? Lotsa of big open space covered with grass for the toddlers to run around...the rooftop also has a unblocked view of the Singapore Flyer... as for date, how about 8 Dec..it's on a Monday and is a public holiday?

smalldreams,
its much worse den last one, nausea is super bad for 1st trim, nw 2nd trim, headache and backache is super bad. dunno when tis will b over..signz

nellu

we had several break during the journey....but he still cranky lo. dun wan sleep...wan play only...end up too tired n then cranky.

i went for the busybods class. not the alpha.

SD
they give out the free tee before class starts le. Javen as usual....abit shy when the lesson just starts...then after tat can dance and enjoy himself esp during the snack n outdoor activities. The teacher also ask if its the 1st time Javen attending playground cos he is so shy when the teacher talk to him. but then after a while ok liao....during the story telling, he joined in and even answer the teacher when asked whats inside the present.....ball...cat....

Nellu,
he is in oil industry, evy min is $, alwy busy, i wonder when can we ever go for a long holiday to europe. envy envy..

SD,
we stayed in hotel, holiday inn if i remb correctly. i wld think marriot is more centrally located. no we din cook. ash eats well so not a problem. but he is a typical asian boy. so evy dinner, we hv to dine in chinese resturant n gold coast is tourist spot so is quite costly to eat in chinese restaurant. a rice+meat meal for 3 of us wld cost at least S$30-$50+... lunch we wld eat at foodcourt or sometx burgers depend on where we were.
but gold coast is pretty fun. dreamworld n movieworld are nice. but i wld not recommend seaworld, err... boring n din change much/at all since my visit during uni days. as i m quite familar w aussie, we took their local bus to small towns etc.. n we joined local tour to farm etc. 1 more, i dun think sunshine world is worth travelling to esp w a small kid, far n nothing much.

Tdy i brought cher for 18m jab at polyclinic (tot i shall try polyclinic instead of pd this tx). hmm.. not bad leh, i rec'd gd svc n d nurse was so much more detailed in the charting, questions etc. cher is only 77cm (10 percentile), 9.3 kg (25 percentile) but head circumference is 75th percentile. while the doctor was checking her, doing assessment, she pointed at d 'teeth' poster on d wall n said 'brush teeth' n when doctor put on d stethescope, she said 'listen, pom pom pom' n when doctor asked her 'do u want to b a doctor next tx'? she proudly said, 'yes'! cher likes d young handsome doctor, hahaha! so doctor said speech sure no problem right...

gacc,
no wonder lah..recession proof industry!
maybe next year you can go...market will be quieter mah.. hehehe...

definitely Cher has no problem with her speech lah.
dunno when my Josh can say things properly..we are still stuck with bus, truck, teeth, cheese, bread and papa.. *sigh*

cheezel,
oh.i remembered wrongly. alpha is wed 315pm, not thurs.

Javen must have been excited lah!

guess what? i tested Josh over the last few days. Found that he can read (as in recognise, silent read) quite a no of words. But he just refuses to vocalise leh.. prefers to gesture and make funny noises. haiz..

here's his list of words:
eyes, nose, mouth, ears, head, hair, arm, arms up, row, hand, tiger, umbrella, hat, smiling, sitting, bib, cup, dogs, cat, clap, wave, hi, shoulders, toy car, ball, drum, horse, duck

sanrio

hey cher so clever, can say so many words! Am still waiting for adam to talk now.... for now he's able to understand words & his body parts especially

Anyway did you have to pay any $$ for 18th month jab at poly? When I went for his 15th month jab, nurse told me must pay $87+ for the 18th month jab, but someone I know who brought her son there said it's free. So which one is rite?

Cheezel
Huh...then the Sat class I kanna "cheated" liao...never get any Tee...must request from the teacher this sat. DUHZZZ...

Javen is certainly doing far much beta than Jonas in the class then. Signzz...dunnoe what is my boy thinking of or is he just slow in everything.

Sanrio
Thanks for the info... I was thinking to visit currumbin wildlife sanctuary also...did you went before? And very important, shopping at Pacific Fair...KEKEKEK.

Cherelle sure can speak very well....am still waiting for Jonas to say his first words.

Nellu
Hmm...new job is P&C?

smalldreams,
yes must pay for 18m 5-in-1 booster jab at $87 plus $5 consultation. unless u opt for the 3-in-1 DTPa package, then is free but 3-in-1 has few more separate jabs so most parents do not choose this nowadays. but yes usually d much lower income gp families bb/kids (or any s'poreans) still can opt for 3-in-1 DTPa w oral administered Polio free at d polyclinic.
but MMR jab which is taken at 15mth is free for all s'poreans at d polyclinic.

Nellu, Adam,
i suppose generally girl speaks earlier than boy as in d obvious case of my both kids. ash was very slow in speech compared to cher. but they unstd n is absorbing like a sponge. soon ur boy wld speak more n more, my ash is v noisy nowadays. cher can now identify n say words like ostrich, elephant, giraffe, zebra, orange juice etc... she answers, 'yes' n 'no' too..

SD,
yes we went to currumbin. ok not too bad. i find tat if u go during nice weather (not hot), kids are 'happier' to go anywhere. we went up d mountains too. took a local bus to robina town but is quite far. yes pacific fair we went too. cant remb wed or thur there is late night shopping. went to factory outlets too but not very cheap as compared to US ones.
dun wori, jonas wld speak soon. cher is chatty lah.
oh last sat, we attended ash 1st ever stage performance, his school concert. i was so 'proud' of him cos my once upon a tx super shy boy did so well on stage n was so smiley w no stage fright. i felt so touched n almost dropped tears :p

nellu
josh is quite good cause he can say umbrella. the only 3 syllable word chloe can say is peekaboo..but she is now combining 2-3 words tog eg. read book, wet baby

chloe rejected using the potty when i went to msia for a week, a couple of weeks ago. she'll poo in her diaper and then only tell me. and she will juz sit without pooing on the potty. now hv to retrain again..harder this time. juz now she was on the potty for 15 mins and didnt want to poo. then once i put her in the empty bath tub to bathe, she poo-ed! haiz..

sanrio

OK thanks! In that case I'll take him to the PD. Abt the same price (inclusive consultation) and also I'll need a child mc . hehe.

wonder baby
Hey how are you & chloe! hehe. given up on weaning adam liao.

smalldreams
hehe..how was ur 'weaning' session? mine didnt work out..hehehe..my 2 sisters keep asking me to wean saying that chloe is so big already but i feel tht she is not ready to be weaned loh

sanrio,
Cher is so clever...not afraid of doctor. My girl is so afraid of doctor...always cry

nellu,
Josh can say quite a lot of words already lah...dont worry.

SD,
late night shopping is Thur for Australia. So u can shop longer till 9pm. Other days will be up till 5pm only.

Smalldreams,
I am those few Singaporeans who opted for 3in1 injection. I will be going for the 18month on the first week of dec. maybe i can update u whether need to pay if u have not gone to PD for the injection yet.

Usually at polyclinic, if u see the doctor, u can also ask for child mc.

Gathering:
are we all still on for the gathering? is 8 Dec ok? or is that reserved for family time? If most cannot, then can propose another non-public holiday week day. I guess venue quite confirm already right? Marina Barrage. Maybe for those taking public transport, we could all meet at Marina Bay Mrt station

wonderbb, janet,
you got me wrong. Josh CANNOT say anything much except bus, truck, bread, teeth, cheese, papa and bubble.

but he can READ, as in recognise the words. i know he can read cos he can point to objects or pictures that shows the meaning of the words. eg, if the word i flash to him is 'tiger', (i don't read out loud the word for him) he'll go and get his stuff toy tiger and show me.

SD,
for now I cannot disclose much. This is public space lor...later kena axed by various relevant parties how??! when start liao then I'll let you know lah.

nellu

i agree, public space cannot divulge too much. in fact, one of my bosses actually know you, ya'know! *whoops* Hehe!

wonderbaby
nevermind just hang in there till 24 mths. Hehe. but the most painful thing is him getting up at night. for past few days I tried getting up at 6 am so i can have time to do my own things but Adam could sense i wasn't there, and he also woke up! Tsk. There goes my plan.

Janet/ mummies
8 dec i can't join u all for the gathering as i'm away for a trip to Batam.

talking:
ky also can't speak much, very good at 'bu yao' when he refuse his milk!
'Tang' when asking for sweets.

flash cards really good for them, whenever i flash the aphabets he can read apple, bus, cow (nu), dog, fish, goat, etc....

smalldreams,
forgot to ask you.. Adam co-sleeps with you? I found that the kids tend to get affected by our movement in bed or in same bedroom if they co-sleep with us. Aft i moved Josh into his own room, his sleeping really improved a lot.

smalldreams
Thanks for the consoling....hey, when are you leaving for Japan trip with Adam?

Sanrio
Woah...sounds like you really covered quite alot of GC...how many days you were there? There's no direct flight ot GC ...need to take an hour plus drive from Brisbane rite?

I can imagine how "Gan Dong" you must have felt to see Ash's first performance on stage...post photos on your blog ya...think if Jonas perform on stage one day, I'll be very excited and cry too.

brought Javen to the water play area at IMM this noon. went there ard 2 plus but no water. so let him play at the playground instead but there are older kids ard and they played till so rowdy. so we go shop shop.....wanted to go home at ard 4 when i thought prob can just go up n see....who knows there are so many kids playing there. hehe....i let Javen play a while.....the momment the water splash onto him, he ran to me....hehe....i was half wet too.

hubby came to fetch us back...n when my hubby asked him where he go...he say "M M.....pom pom" i was laughing away.....

SD
prob too many kids on sat so never give out?? theres only 5-6 of us during the weekday class.

Re: talking.
Javen talks alot and infact he has been imitating what we adult say everyday. theres once, my mil say he very "Ji Xiao"in hokkein...n he repeat after her...n oonce my hubby say "wah lao", he also follow. i almost fainted.

when i say "1", he says "2" and follow thru till "10"....not so good with odd numbers...

just ask him where he wanna go, he say "gen ting"....hehe.....

Janet
gathering should be fine for me....but i wll be alone with Javen. HUbby working as he works shift. whats interesting there ah??

Janet
i will back on the 8th Dec.

cheezel
ha ha ky also likes to call my FIL's name cos MIL always shout for him so he also follow!
ky like barney since we let him watch the channel 1 (free for a period) by star hub. then he will say 'ka nee' i *peng*.

Janet
i will back on the 8th Dec.

cheezel
ha ha ky also likes to call my FIL's name cos MIL always shout for him so he also follow!
ky like barney since we let him watch the channel 1 (free for a period) by star hub. then he will say 'ka nee' i *peng*.

SD,
10 days. we went out early evy day n cum bk quite late. oh must go to d wkend mkt. can take their local bus tat operates on d wkend mkt days. yummy fruits at cheap prices.
yes v gan dong. haiz... cant take fotos of d performance cos quite far awya fr stage. i did take some fotos of ash w makeup, wld post in blog, but my blog v bkdated liao.. i bought d performance dvd (recorded by a professional crew engaged by d school).

sanrio, sgn,
so farnie. Guess what? Josh doesn't care abt the cartoons or other kids prog on TV! recently we just changed our subscription on Starhub and got ch34 for him. but he has no interest at all. Watch Handy Manny for 5 secs, run off. Watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse for 2 mins, run off. Watch Noddy for 1 min, run off. Watch Thomas for 3 mins (this seems to be the longest cos he's into vehicles now!) and runs off.

more interested in reading. Everyday take his 1001 books and shove into my face or my maid and make us read. And must read one book many many times. Both of us tired with the reading!

nellu/ sanrio
same lah ky can wath the same singing vcd for thousands times also not sick. now he starts to memberise the disc by telling me whats coming up next eg. fish or 'won won won' the bees!

for tv prog he only sit still when i give him somethings to eat so he will eat n watch.

Cheezel,
Venue suggested by cool daughter. She said there is a large space for kids to run and also water playground. I also never being there, and will be going alone with girl too.

Gathering:
Q1. Anymore suggestion on venue? If not, can we fix at Marina Barrage?
Q2. I think morning would be a good time because not too hot yet. Any comments?
Q3. Which date do you prefer? 8 Dec or 15 Dec?

Janet, Springdance

I'll be leaving to Jap on 16th & will return on 23rd. It's a self-planned holiday by my hubby and his cousin. Wish us luck! Food will be an issue... aiyah, nevermind, guess I'll just go vegetarian & eat fish lah. The problem for me is, most Jap food uses sake / wine rite? Janet any rec of where to go in Tokyo?

sgn, sanrio, nellu
oh ya now got the free preview of Jim Jam on starhub rite? It's switched on almost all day long these days. But I can't take it! Last Thurs I was at home whole day & I watched the same barney about 10 times, the same thomas & train & the same Rubberdubbers..etc... GAH!! Almost went mad. But since kids don't really stay put to watch the whole thing, I guess they don't notice it's on repeat coz there's always something new for them to watch.

Cheezel
hey Javen is so fast huh, can say so many words!

cheezel
Hmm...we all pay the same fees rite....so it wouldn't be fair for the sat class kids not to have the t-shirts lei...regardless of whether the number of kids is more than weekdays or not.

Sanrio
Wow...that was a long stay at GC...I was thinking of spending 4-5 days there only. Guess I won't be able to cover as much as you did. :p

By the way, Ash is now studying at SJCK is it?

Janet
Errr....I would prefer late afternoon coz more time to prepare or buy foods for the picnic.

Interested Mummies whom have yet to reply, would you like to share your thoughts with Janet about your preference for the Dec gathering please?

1. Nellu -->
2. Mum@work -->
3. Cool daughter -->
4. sanrio -->

SD,
ash wld b w SJCCC till end nov. dec wld b at hm w me n attending some enrichment classes. jan he wld start new kindy at arise kindergdn, somewhere opp bt timah courts. we din choose st james or barker rd kindy (popular kindy n we manage to get a place thou) in d end as i dun wan him to spend hrs in a schoolbus, travelling so far just to attend a kindy. if we take barker rd kindy, he has to b up d schoolbus at abt 630am++, so poor thg right i tot... we feel tat if he is so tired out by d journey, he probably cant learn well in school.

hardly can go holidays due to hb busy work schedule so must take a long break if we do travel..

Venue: Marina Barrage

1. Janet - timing: either early morning or late afternoon, date: 15 Dec
2. Nellu - timing? date?
3. Mum@work - timing? date?
4. Sgn - timing? date?
5. Cool daughter - timing? date?
6. SD - timing: late afternoon, date: 8 Dec
7. sanrio - timing? date?
8. Cheezel - timing? date?

Janet
how early is ur morn ah?> tat day is public holiday so not too sure if the others will want morn.

Ilm okj with morn or noon.

Venue: Marina Barrage

1. Janet - timing: either early morning or late afternoon, date: 15 Dec
2. Nellu - timing? date?
3. Mum@work - timing? date?
4. Sgn - timing? date?
5. Cool daughter - timing? date?
6. SD - timing: late afternoon, date: 8 Dec
7. sanrio - timing? date?
8. Cheezel - morn or noon also can. 8-dec

SD
u r quite right. they should give out the tees to all kids who attended. hmm...u u wanna see the tee? i can bring on sat n show u....

sgn
ky so funni....can say ka nee....heheh....Javen say "nee" for barney. he also like barney.....recently he likes humpty dumpty music show....

smalldreams
going japan?? bringing adam?> yeah i guess eating will be an issue...as well as language too.