(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

springD
hehe .. dat show how long I hv not been to sentosa. My last stay at Rasa was 2 yrs back, my anniversary in feb, when Jboy was still in my tummy :p

As for your hubby, perhaps it's easier to convince him when there is an occasion .. like anniversary, ur birthday, his birthday, Jonas birthday etc .. hehe.

Cheezel, SpringD,
ya..tumble tots location very weird. If not the timings are weird. In any case, when we went for the trial, we didn't feel it was the right class for Josh cos he was climbing all over the place and the teacher wasn't engaging.

the main reason i decided on the classes at Grace Kids is cos the teachers are very engaging, and very encouraging. When the kids cry or throw tantrums, they dun give the parents that dirty "you bad parent" look like what I had experienced at other places. instead they help to get the kid back onto the programme. I feel that in itself will help the situation a lot, as you know, if we parents get agitated or kan cheong, our kiddos can pick that up and amplify it (in my case, super amplify! now josh is famous at grace kids for being an extremist kid! hahaha!)

i went for one gymboree trial and really didn't like the teacher cos again, Josh was all over the place but she gave me that "can you go and get Josh to follow??" irritated look and tone! a bit inappropriate for a teacher at a toddlers' class right?? should know that this is normal toddler behaviour mah..

SpringD,
busybuddies got class on sat. 115pm i think. the teacher told me that last week. dunno if this timing is ok for Jonas or not.

abt going to sentosa, aiya..tell your hubby don't worry too much lah..sentosa not out of singapore so everything is still accessible mah.. is it he scared he dunno how to handle Jonas? but then hor, there will always be a first time. The first time we travelled out of singapore on a road trip to msia, i was very stressed as well. But then aft we've done it, we were so glad we did. That's why we went on other trips later! must cross the first hurdle courageously.

coolD,
me also havent gone to sentosa for a long time. The last time we set foot there was my bday this year, and only for lunch at Il Lido. Short short only. go eat and come back. Josh went with us as well.

We are also thinking of staying a weekend at Rasa.

The last time we stayed there was for our wedding anniversary 4 years ago! Walao..so long liao!

tks for concern. tdy af cher gd nap, i slowly clean up her wound n realised is d 'deep' cut tat caused d bleeding. n d cut is very near d gum area so when she opens her mouth or light abrasion, it would bleed. there is a small chip on her top front tooth but phew, d tooth is not shaky. i called up d paed dentist clinic n was told to monitor for 1 more day n c how. so ended up i did not send her to d doctor.

SD,
oh yes, aussie was first trip n 2nd was we drove up to malacca with ash. but d trip din turn out gd as ash fell sick 2 days b4 departure. we shdnt hv gone cos he was super cranky n he ran a very high fever in malacca, we were so worried.
u can consider hotel stay at amara santuary in sentosa, i heard is beautiful. we went twice hotel stay but in orchard rd, he enjoyed a lot.

SD, sanrio,
actually come to think of it, we can use hotel stay as a prep for an overseas trip with the kiddos isn't it?

sanrio,
really hope Cher is better. *hugs*

SD
prob one of these days when u all go out, cn let Jonas try outside porridge. Javen can finish quite alot the 1st time i let him try. prob tats cos hes hungry ba...cos his diner is an hr later than what he normally has. hehe

we change new aircon just a month ago...and previously we always switch to 24 deg n javen seems fine. but with the new aircon, prob new one...cos more powerful...i notice, he gets running nose after installing ne aircon too. cos i also feel 24 abit cold for me. prob tonight i switch to 25deg. my hubby complain quite warm if set to 25...but think no choice la...baby more impt. haha..just told my hubby n he agree to set to 25 deg

u wanna try busy buddies? wanna wait for me 1st? hehe....

nellu
thanks for the info on classes. Where did u all go for the malaysia trip? how old is josh then?

my bro jio-ing us to go genting in dec after i give birth. very keen to go....but then not sure if #2 is too young anot. he most prob only abt 2 months by then

cheezel,
msia trip was when josh was 7mths, dec last year. went back to visit hubby's relatives in Ipoh. we also went up to Cameron Highlands for 2 days and broke our journey (back and forth) at KL (2days).

genting in dec might be wet, cold and windy. Also may be crowded because of school hols. I probably might not do the trip if I were you. More concerned that #2 will fall ill leh.. but then when kids are younger, easier to go on trip lor, esp if they are breastfed! kekeke!

Cool_D
Actually hor…I also very the long never go Sentosa liao…..just that me in hospitality industry so more aware of the new hotels in Singapore… Anyway, I understand there’s a lot of construction going on the island currently due to the IR…so if go, we must go to the parts not affected.

Yes yes… agree it’s easier to convince when there’s a occasion…my hubby’s birthday on 24Oct..just before the long weekends (Deepavali holiday!)…am scheming plans in my mind now…Hiak Hiak Hiak !!!

Nellu
By the way, Josh attending both RIM & Busy Buddies on the same day? He appears in both classes and is so “dramatic”…it’s no wonder the teachers are familiar with him already but I am sure they ADORE this little boy.

The 1.15pm class is actually ‘alpha babes’ (6 – 18months)….I figured Jonas might be too old for this group lei by then we sign up in Oct….

Regarding hotel stay & trips,
Yupz…like what I mentioned to Cool_D above…am trying to cook up something for a trip or hotel stay…that’s why collecting information & experiences from you mummies now so that I can plan my “rally speech” to hubby. Hahahah!!!!

Actually hor ….Singapore hotels (those 4 or 5star resorts) stay is damn ex as compared to those in Malaysia or Indonesia ….

Sanrio
Yes Amara Santuary looks wonderful (Lovedogs went there) but it is also super expensive…. :p

Tell you something…I shared your experience about Ash’s trip to Aussie…think he’s starting to be more convinced to go out there…many thanks to you my dear!

By the way, how is Cher this morning? I hope her bleeding has stopped….if she still feels uncomfortable, maybe can bring her to GP to get some basic medicine to ease the pain?

Cheezel
Tell your hubby Javen has got less fats than him…so will naturally feel more cold…heheheh!

Yup I think will let Jonas try ‘outside’ porridge one of the weekends see how….

I forgot…when’s your due date dear? Is it Oct or Nov? Hmmm….If it’s Nov, why dun we go for a trial class first in Oct?

congrats Cheezel! din realise it was so soon....SD just asking if oct/nov.....heheh...

SD
I tell her "no" also no use. even slap her palm. heard that it's the part where inflict some pain but won't injure. but now she's more selective on her scratching. usually when she's tired and cannot fall asleep. she also learn to blow at me in defiance when she's rebelling. very naughty.....not the snuggly bb you see. :p

you want to go trial for busybuddies ah.....i'm interested too. now thinking of trying out JWT. any feedback?

wow! cheezel delivered! congrats!!!!

m@w
chloe can drink up to 18 oz of water a day..think i better reduce as well

sanrio
how's cher? poor girl..hope she's feelng better.

cheezel,
congrats! so surreal! we were still chatting here yday!

lynn,
when busybuddies was at UE Sq, it was next to JWT. I walked past a few times and saw that the teachers are quite rough with the kids. Turned me quite off hence I didn't bother to try.

Josh is also very cheeky recently, likes to scratch me and pull my hair. this also happens when he is trying to get to sleep.

I think it's not that they purposely do it but i guess it's an overtired response thing?? Me also trying to look for a sound strategy to deal with it. have you tried ignoring?

SD,
we are really 'heong' with the classes. Tue: my gym, thurs: busybuddies, fri: RIM. hahaha my hubby's idea. Me super tired!

yes the people at grace kids love Josh alot. cos at first he was really very cheery and happy, only recently started to be more dramamama. they are still ok with it and they are more than happy to help me entertain him....Grace (the boss) calls him "Uncle Josh". This morning the new nickname is "Char Siew Bao"...I'm very amused!

want to share this really amusing thing with you.

recently i just jokingly asked Josh "who's the cookie monster?" He pointed to himself! At first i though maybe he didn't understand me and was just pointing for fun..but then after repeating the questions a few times and getting the same response, i think he really thinks he is the cookie monster! Very amusing! he can giggle when he points to himself!!

wonderbb,

no pic of him doing his "i'm cookie monster" thing, but here's a pic of him aft he tried to feed himself his dinner. This was abt a mth back when he first started to self feed.

1706018.jpg

nellu
hahaha..he looks so cute and cheeky! how is his self feeding now? any reccomendation on what food to teach them self feed? hv not started this yet. scared juz thinking of the mess my girl will make..so far i only let her self feed 'dry' food like biscuits, bread, etc..

Heheh...just clarify I didn't remember wrongly...Cheezel's EDD is in Oct. Just that her prince no.2 can't wait anymore to come out see this world and hence, premature by a few weeks..but no problem at all...he's good & healthy!

Lynn
Your gal so cute...blow at you? Must be a funny scene...

Busy Buddies classes are at Great World City.. you ok with the location for the trial class? Also currently, they only have Alpha Babes (6-18mths) for Sat afternoons ...so our kids actually will consider "old" for the group. U mind?

Nellu
No wonder Josh is so well-known there...you & hubby BIG TIME customer there..hahahah.

U not sick of going GWC so many days a week? U drive there? Parking very ex neh.

Looks like Josh really LOVES FOOD!

wonderbb,
hahah they sure will make a mess one lah. you gotta close eyes on the mess when teaching self feeding. I didn't deliberately teach Josh. He wanted to do it himself. it was quite frustrating at first cos he'll fight with me for the spoon. Later i just let him hold the spoon and i take his hand to guide him the first few times. after that he can do it liao...but on and off with different types of food will still need to guide lor.

He can eat porridge by himself but not rice. he always end up using his fingers to eat the rice! Now he can also eat yoghurt by himself. I'm trying to teach him to use his fork to poke at his food like fruits to eat.

Josh knew how to finger feed himself with bread and biscuits and bits of apples since he was abt 10mths.

springd,
sian to go great world cos everytime dun get to shop! hahaha..too early shops not opened yet. dun drive there. hubby drops us off in the morning and we take cab home. my hubby as i have shared with all of you before is frivolous with his money when it comes to his son but not so when it's his wife!

actually still ok for alpha babes class lah. our class got one 17mth old girl leh. or wait till jonas is 18mths then can join the busy bods class.

yes Josh LOVES to eat! sometimes must stop him.

Oh gosh! Cheezel has given birth?? Congrats!! I agree, it *is* very surreal. Must've been a fast labour! Shall wait for her story..but then again she must be super busy with 2 little ones..

Nellu
Josh sure looks happy at mealtime! Adam will be happy to self-feed but of course I have to clean up after that! He just slept after some warm milk & latch-on...I'm hoping he won't get up to latch on tonight..tired!

Wonderbaby
So far I also just let my boy feed on biscuits, basically dry stuff. i even let him have some "keropok" sometimes, but of course must give lots of water...

Anyone noticed the new formula by Dumex? Dumex all in one or something..thinking of switching to that for Adam... cheaper too ...

Janet
found yr squeaky shoes? Got BP on it..don't know if it'll go thru though... I tot the designs are nice, but a bit pricey for shoes with no-brand...

nellu,
josh has 'changed' quite a fair bit since i last saw him. so cute.. what day n what tx does josh attend his classes?

SD,
u're most welcome. hope u can hv a gd trip coming up
yes, get ready n go. like wat nellu shared, dun wori too much, just go. jonas may enjoy the trip n is a gd experience/exposure for him too.

sanrio,
look on the bright side ref cher's tooth. It's not permenant!

ya, josh has lost some fat and became taller since you last met him. he goes for classes in the mornings on tues, thurs and fri. We stopped going for aftnns cos now his nap is longer till 3pm. so we cannot make it for classes in aftnn.

smalldreams,
the mess with self feeding is a process. They'll get better. When we first started, we put newspapers all around to minimise the mess. but then my maid is happy to do the cleaning. so i let her. hahaha!

sanrio

good to know cher's better! Adam also i realised has a little chip /mark on his right tooth..probably he fell and hit it somewhere..

So, guess it'll be another 7 yrs at least before the new tooth comes out :p

smalldreams,
will check out the BP.

But I thought it was a pity that i missed one of the BPs that sells float. They have the shuttle float. Looks like a space ship kind, with steering wheel. Quite cheap too, only $11.90. But all sold out by the time I saw it. Have to wait for the next round.
Am thinking of buying one, because want to introduce swimming to my girl.

Anyone of you have upgraded your stroller? What is the maximum weight now? I realised most strollers can only take up to 15kg, or up to 3-4 years. Any light weight stroller but can take heavy weight babies?

Nellu
Maybe you can shop after the class finishes? Lunch out with Josh at GWC.

Lucky you that Josh loves food…..You dun know how time consuming and frustrating it can get to feed my boy the amount of pathetic milk & small bowl of porridge! He won’t bother about self-feeding coz he likes it best when he dun need to eat. :p

Sanrio
Not to worry about the small chip in Cher’s milk tooth…she’ll have a brand new set of pearlies some years down the road.

“Kiasu Me” starting to think a lot again…. When you bring your baby on trips, do you still sterilise the milk bottles? Do you cook porridge at the hotel or just let him/her eat outside foods? Also for bath times, is it ok to bath at night like 9pm or so after returning from "gai-gai"??

Advice please please please!

SD,
i stop sterilising ash milk bottles wen he was 1 year old, to b exact, tink 11mth++. he took outside food. i bathe him anytx wen he needed 1. but of course if cold/winter, i only bathe him once in d late morning/noon n if nite, jus clean face, hands, brush teeth. they mus not catch a cold in cold seasons, v hard to recover n cant enjoy d trip liao if they're unwell.

long time didnt log in. now busy doing overseas spree and at thr same times do online shopping. hee.

re: TRIPS
springdance
i'm bringing my daughter to genting at the end of this month. i'm not bringing steriliser. will use hot water to sterilise the bottle and will feeding her with outside food. nowadays i seldom feed her with porridge. now my daug likes to eat rice and normally i will feed her with rice soaked in the soup.
and genting is cold, i think will bath her in the morning and wipe her body before her sleep.

SD,
oops, i 4got, we brought ash to phuket once also. i m more concern w d water n ice/cut fruits. so if overseas, we avoid cut fruits (exposed to bacteria), restaurant plain water, ice for him esp. n we use mineral water. but depend on d country eg: thailand/m'sia vs aussie. u can brg along a small electric thermal flask to boil water n a thermal flask to store hot water. we hv a tiger slim long one, i find this v useful if we travel w a kid/bb tat nid milk.
travellig w a young kid is certainly a bit more ma fan (but dun tell ur hb this :p), da bao xiao bao...

springD
Jonas dun take those jarred food too? Those will be the best option when travelling. For me, since jboy dun, I brot along a travel cooker to cook his instant porridge .. those 10mins cooked kind. For bottle, I will wash n use hot water to 'sterlise'. Shower, even at home, jboy showers late like 9+ every nite. Wkends if we r hm late, like 11+, we still shower him b4 he goes to bed.

serene, springdance,
im oso tinkin of a genting trip soon. nw preggie, tink my china trip got to cancel or wait till im in 2nd trim le. dunno if we can get a few mummies n go 2gether wif the kids, shld b veri fun

Springdance

Hey you know, Adam's like yr Jonas too. He doesn't really like food-food. He hates porridge, eats only a few mouthfuls of rice. He likes crackers though! And if i'm lucky he eats baby biscuits. That's why he's lightweight too. Sometimes can even see his ribcage! But his cheeks, enough fat for me to slobber with kisses :p

Btw, similar to sanrio, I've stopped sterilising LONG ago. Too lazy. At most I just scrub with bottle cleanser then wash a bit with hot water. That's it.

I think some germs may be good for their tummies also...easier when we travel... hehe...

CD
Adam don't really eat the porridge I cook, but last week I bot an instant Nestle porridge and he ate quite a bit (half a packet, that's a lot for his standards). Hehehe... Fed up also man, does that mean my cooking sucks?!

kris
want to join me to genting?? will be going by budget flight. i'm going on 29 sept and coming back to s'pore on 1 oct. celebrating children's day there. hee.

Sanrio/ Serene/ Cool_D
Much appreciated for your advices my dear friends..Realised that going for a trip can be much easier...Tell you gals, my family is still fervently sterilising the glass bottles with boiling water daily and we bath Jonas before the sun set every day. My DH and MIL conservative people...they worry my boy catch a cold niah.... :p

Sanrio
Ya I can forsee we need to bring a huge luggage even for a short trip ...mainly the necessities for my boy! Oh ya...need to bring stroller also rite?

Cool_D
So far, my boy only tried jarred fruits...which he only eat if warm (we need to steam it abit)..as for jarred pasta or stew or porridge...have a strong feeling he dun like...he's really fussy with foods. The travel cooker you referring, is it small thermal flask? How does it look like?

Kris
You love Genting ya? Recall it's only last yeay you went...actually hor...I very long never been to Genting liao...now got alot of fun places for small children there is it?

Serene
Not bad...you found kaki to go Genting so fast! Shernise & Kelly can play together on the rides in Genting liao...so nice.

springD,
can't really shop cos the shops still not opened when we finish class..

abt trips
our last trip to Europe. We had alot of baggage, 37kg to be exact. mostly josh's clothes and food. Prob was
1. he wasn't fully weaned on adult food yet. So we did exactly what coold did. brought travel cooker and made instant porridge. Somedays he takes jarred food. towards the end of the trip (UK leg) he started to eat off our plates!
2. there was no formula in France/UK, as in different brand. So had to lug all the formula.

sterilising is really quite a thing in the past for us. We sort of stopped sterilising on a daily basis since Josh was 6mths. Now for the fun of it, i get my maid to do it every sunday. During the trip, i however brought along cold sterilising tablets just in case.

as for bath times, just bathe only when get back to hotel. if late just do a quick wipe down.

if we go for trip now, i'll do away with the food. and just bring formula. in fact i'm trying to get josh to drink cow's milk more so that i can get him off formula which is quite hard on the pocket.

you'll need to make sure you bring enough clothes. must factor for accidents like food spills and all that kind of stuff. Some toys to play. Some comfort items as well.

Stroller you dun have to check in. Just wheel up to the plane and leave it with the baggage handling before you board the plane.

good idea to take a night flight so that kiddo will sleep, esp if flight is long. But depends on your destination and whether there is a time difference then you've got to work out how you want to arrive there. Eg. like our Europe trip. Going there on night flight is quite ok. cos we arrive in the morning/mid day. but returning to Sg, we made a mistake the last time to take a night flight back. cos we arrive in the evening in singapore. so Josh couldn't sleep.

smalldreams,
just wondering if adam only doesn't want to eat what you cook for him? does he do that when he's under your mum's care while you are at work?

maybe the trick is to refuse to give him those snack foods unless it is snack time. Josh sometimes also demand for biscuits and cheerios instead of eating his proper lunch. I'm the cruel mum. I refuse to give him and let him go hungry. aft 2 days he'll get the message and guai guai eat the lunch/dinner.

sometimes i negotiate with him. Tell him that he must eat his porridge/rice first then he'll get his biscuits later. he'll usually comply as well.

janet,
abt stroller.
other than the volo, the quest is also a good and popular choice. We bought ours last dec and it has followed us on all our trips. Very convenient. I love it more than the Graco Aerosport that we have.

nellu,
but the volo so expensive lei...then couldnt find any second hand...ok, have to see how...
thanks for your advice

Nellu

even when he has gone for hours w/o food, he still won't really eat much. He'll eat only if the food is veryyyy delicious. Tsk!

Even when I'm at work, he does the same thing with my mom - eating only spoonfuls of rice.

I tot of starving him too, but then again it doesn't really work, so just let him be lah since he's not underweight or anything.

janet
Most wk days morning he wakes abt 8am, coz we need to send him to IL's plc. Wkend, maybe 9. There are some gd nites he slept abt 10pm too. Usually once we off e TVs n lite, he will drift to sleep within 30min time.

coold,
josh is exactly like jboy. can eat 2pkts of the nestle porridge at one sitting. Incidentally hor, our travel cooker is also the same!

SD
yeah. got kaki can play with is definitely more fun

janet
will be taking tiger airways to KL airport which took 45 mins instead of driving lah which takes 4-5hrs to KL. then will take taxi or maybe van up to genting which is another 1 hours. so total journey will take ard 2-3 hours.

Nellu
I think not a problem at all not to bring foods for Josh on your next overseas trip with him….He’s so easy on foods.. envy envy!

Talking about Cheerios, I noticed it comes only in big boxes….won’t it take very long for Josh to finish? Our bottle of Gerber puffs can last for weeks.. but we seldom give Jonas snacks though.

Cool_D
Thanks for the travel cooker picture…hahah…. think I really “Suaku”! If I am not wrong, last time when we students go camping, this gadget very common rite?

U got give Jordan instant porridge even when in Singapore? Or only when overseas?

Smalldreams
How about you give Adam just the meat to eat? Maybe he likes stronger taste foods. I recalled you mentioned you cooked roast chicken for him to eat before….

Serene
So which hotel did you book at Genting? Think the hotels there always quite full on weekends must book really early.