(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Kris
it wud be interesting to hv 2 babies same birthday

wow.... plenty of good news

At the moment, still can't imagine going thru pregnancy again but i think the gap is nice - abt 2 yrs...

First, must wean my 1st one off my BM. It's strange but he wakes up the moment I leave the room! Gahhh!

smalldreams,
hahah this happened a lot last time with Josh sleeping with us too!

all the mtb-again,
you gals are making me itch! going to ask hubby when we wanna execute the plan.. kekeke... i don't want to wait too long leh..scared i forget how to take care of baby.. now a lot of things are becoming kinda fuzzy for me...

zhuzhu
some how man got same thinking.....

nellu
we had the same thoughts!!!

kris
u are lucky to have someone to take care of kelly.
dun think can cope with ky if i'm preg!

sgn,
i have the same fear about taking care of Josh if I'm preggy. So now we are preparing to send him to childcare..once he's ok, then i think we'll have no probs liao... hehehe

Nellu, sgn

Me three! Also worried on how I can run after that active little tot with my big tummy, or worse, swollen feet.

And the attention thingy. But guess by abt 2 yrs old, he should understand. A tip is to get him involved in doing things for baby (eg, get diapers for baby etc). hehe, like real only I say...

Wonder_baby
You're a SAHM rite? Can u imagine yrself with 2 little ones?hehe I think i'll be frazzled! OK, I'll let ya know once I successfully wean Adam off. And you let me know what you did if you successfully wean Chloe off, deal?? :p

smalldreams,
hahahaha ya lah...cakap cakap saja ah...hehehehe i also always say the same thing and tell myself "no problem lah. i'll get josh to do this and that" but dunno whether will really do it when it happens or not?!

i dunno also whether the solution that I am intending to apply will work or not. ie. to get Josh more involved with outside activities independently. and also hope that my maid will continue to be good lah..den i can go back to work at least on flexi basis and still can have more kids...

smalldream, wonderbaby,
my frd shared: 1st boy: wean off at abt 2 yrs old, by putting a plaster near the nip. he din like it cos he associated plaster with pain. 2nd girl: wean off at 20mth by applying apple cider vinegar on nip, her girl did not like the sourish 'taste'.
i hv yet to try :p 2nd method sounds not bad since apple cider vinegar is safe to ingest yet sour sour not nice. i hope cher wld self wean off soon. else latest by 24mth, i wld try method 2.

nellu,
u decided on sj cc for josh?

smalldreams,
i m a sahm w 2 little ones, somtx tink i m gg crazeeee but still ok so far, hahaha :p. it helps a lot tat my older boy goes to cc wen my 2nd one arrives. but i was d one who felt upset having to 'deposit' him somewhere. he adapted n adjusted well thou d beginning was certainly tough, like his change in behaviour etc.. but tx jus flies b4 i cld sit back to tink/reflect.
i m kind of 'glad' tat mission accomplished, factory closed n we wld next spend the years ahead nuturing them n 'stressing' myself up when they enter school soooooooooooon, cant imagine s'pore stressful education system.

sanrio,
what other issues with putting #1 at childcare? how will behaviour of #1 change? I also feel bad about putting my girl there. but hubby wants her to learn something. so is looking for one now near my workplace?

Janet,
me n my hb tot: we wanted 1 with small teacher to child ratio n gd environment. took us quite a while to visit many n finally found 1. i suppose his behaviour change is 'leaving mummy' n gg cc + meimei arrival tat took up all his personal tx w mummy. what he did: lots of unreasonable demands, funny requests, tantrums, crying. but okie, he is not too extreme type. some frds kids hv nitemares but so far ash did not. i suppose his cc gave him lots of personal attn then.
n d evy morning crying not to go to school wld last for a while. agn, his is not the too extreme type.
most impt, mummy mus not feel bad, there is a time to 'let go'. in fact, ash learns lots of thgs in cc, social skills, speech, independence, learnign to wait and share etc. n af a while, he enjoys gg to school.
i c d benefits rather than him spending tx at hm watching tv.
but next yr, he is gg K1 n i m takign him out of d cc n put him in 3.5 hrly kindy n some enrichment classes. hopefully, i can cope, i wld try cos i tink is 'time i bring him bk with me' b4 he goes to pri school v sooonnnnnnn....

Kris,
read abt kelly ent appt. is it at kkh? not to worry. ash was an ent patient at kkh under prof henry. his ent probelm n others were much more but the scope results turned out fine. note the scope is payable by insurance (u bought the income comprehensive incomeshield like me right?).

zhuzhu
u mentioned hubby doesnt want. but do you want another one? sorry i kaypor

smalldreams
maybe we can wean them off tog..hahahaha..then got support from each other..chloe has not started walking by herself yet. can't imagine being pregnant and still hv to carry her..and i vomited all thru my 9 months last time :S. hope next one will be easy

gacc
the 2nd method sounds interesting but then it will dry off fast. method no 1 wont work on my nottie girl. she will juz tear the plaster off..hahhaah
when the time comes for me to send her to cc, think i will cry non stop..wahahaha

wonderbb,
my frd said she only put d cider b4 girl wan to feed, d sour taste wld reamin there for quite a well.
wen i 1st sent ash to cc, i cried too. when he 1st celebrated his bday at cc as a 'big boy', i cried too. hb faintz....

sanrio,
I already feel very sad now that hb said want to send bb to childcare...cant imagine when it is the actual day. Should be her 18th month...and i will be opting for half day work week then...

janet
Dun be sad la .. its gd to send the kiddo to cc so that can learn new things. Me also reg jboy oredi, but planning to start next yr Jan only, so he wud be 19-20mths by than. I also starting 1/2 day 1st, but will want to proceed to full day after a few mths.

dear mummies,
tx for the wishes

sgn,
my maid takes care of kelly, nw im askin her to stay for another yr to take care of nb, dunno she will stay anot, else i will have to start looking for new maid le.

sanrio,
yup, ent appt at kkh. we got the comprehensive income shield insurance for her, dinno can claim, i tot only hospitalise den can claim. tx for the info. nw dat she stopped bleeding, we postponed d appt to 2wks lata to monitor her.

janet
i also already registered my boy for next yr cc half day only. i also feel sad n feel like taking him out again. i hate the feeling of leaving him there alone n afraid he cant adapt n will cry n fuss, which i think he will lo.

sanrio,
we are not yet decided, but I lean towards sj cc more. I like the small student:teacher ratio. The other day i sprang the visit, i saw how the aunty aunty teacher assistants were handling the smaller kiddos. They were so patient, motherly and kind.

my hubby thought that Pat's may not be a bad idea. cos he thinks that if we can afford it we should just go for it. A lot of his colleagues kids are Pat's alumni and they all rave about it...sigh, but i prefer something quieter, humbler and more Christ-centred...sure you know what I mean..

i think we'll probably make a decision by the end of this week....

i agree that we have to let go..cos when out kiddos reach 2yo, they will start to assert their independence and they'll need the space and the right envt to do so...in fact, i see this assertiveness already in Josh. If I don't give him his space to explore and learn to do things on his own, he'll actually get angry and frustrated with me.

btw, anyone of your kiddos didn't get fever aft MMR?

a bit regret now letting Josh take his jab last sat..still no fever yet, worried that it'll come when I'm away in Beijing...

aiyo...stress lah now..trying to get all the alternative engines in this household running so that I can go climb Great Wall in peace.....

Cheezel, Janet, CD,
dun wori, i wen tru tat. i m a very soft person n i took care of ash full tx, alone since his birth till b4 he went cc, so he is very very close to me.
sure u wld feel a bit upset or 'se bu de' but tink of d bright side, they really grow n learn lots of new thgs. ash started w half day cc in dec. it was a good tx as d term had closed n was hoilday/play time. so the teachers spent lots of tx engaging him tru play. guess he felt less 'stressful' to start like tat instead of lessons. ash's cc has a very low teacher to child ratio back then so it helped.
what u can do: start 'preparing' them slowly. talk to them, have a 'pretend' structured programme at hm in the day, try to get them to eat n nap on a fixed tx so is easier for them to adjust to a fixed schedule in cc.
for me: i even make effort to toilet train ash b4 he started cc. i try my best to prepare him. before the actual day, i brought ash there 2 times to join the kids in meal, play etc.
lastly, i stay with him for abt 1.5 days there n decided to stop doing that, cos as long as i m there, he wld sure follow me.
last last, to minimise the seprartion anxiety, i ask hb to send him.

nellu,
undstd. many tx women n men jus tink differently. we wld tinkg of Pat's then too. discuss with ur hb n at d end of d day, for me, i wld choose 1 tat i feel the kid wld be most happy n comfortable in. cos esp at 18m, i tink they still needs lots of care and love in cc, a gd environemnt is very important. academic wise wld b no. 2 for my consideration.

sanrio
abit diff to prepare him like having a pretend structured programme at home in the day as i'm working. he's with my mil. the most i can do is to let him adjust not to nap in th morning and switch to 1 nap per day. sometime i do bring him to the cc to see the other kids in the centre playing and attending lesson. my mil also brough him there a few times. not muc choice at my area and i have to consider my mil need to bring the 2d one along with her bringing n fetcing the elder one to the cc.
the cc has not get back to us yet. just say reserve a place 1st and the director saying they might not have any opening next yr. shall see how ba.

nellu
javen didnt have any fever. so dun worry. josh prob also not having

talking about sending our kids to cc, i also worry about ky cos he very sticky to me even he is look after by nanny. everyday got to divert his attention while i leave nanny's place. dun mention about a brand new place to him.

sanrio

well u're a wonder woman...hehe, thats why you don't go crazy with 2 young kids! But then again, no matter how crazeee it may be, they do keep our sanity intact at the end of the day...coz family matters most :p

wonder baby
OK, will be great if we can give each other moral support rite? But i think i'll be the weaker one...hehe sure latch when he cries at night coz i just want my sleep!!

nellu
Adam took his MMR last Thursday, and today it's Thursday again, no fever still. Phew! I also hope it won't come over the weekend, coz I'm leaving him under the care of his dad while I work on sat afternoon. Bummer...

cheezel
what you feel is how i feel when I think abt putting adam in child care. But u noe, one of my senior colleagues said something funny. If at home our kids are "kings", at the CC, he'll find bigger "kings" there! hehe, more spoilt brats coming their way... :p

sgn
but come to think of it, good also lah they sticky to us...not as heart pain as if they're not sticky to us, but stickier to nanny :p

wonder baby
I dun mind # 2..but if hubby dun wan..i can't do anything also..unless i go find a sperm doner outside..

Re:MMR Jab
Markus oso took his MMR jab last mth..but no fever also..

Link to Childcare services in s'pore:
http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_disability_main.asp?Services_Id=4

kris,
np. kelly shd b fine, no worries. yup if it is scope, can be claimed. remb to ask them for d form.

smalldreams,
no superwoman lah, i hv frds who can manage 2 or 3 kids wo hving to send any to cc.

cheezel,
is a gd start oreadi if u cld adjust his nap tx close to tat of cc which is usually 1-3pm. dun wori too much, kids adapt to new thgs really fast.
bully: ash is quite a soft boy. he got bullied, pushed, bitten, hit by classmate wen he 1st entered cc. but phew, nothing serious. at 1st he wld just stand there n cry. but slowly he learn to defend himself by saying no, go away, react fast or quickly run to teacher.

sanrio,
find it diff to let him nap once. We tried a few times. Then after tat switch back to 2 naps one in morn n one in noon. Cos he wake up early le. Tis week, he wakes up 6 plus. Normally he wakes up 7 plus if I’m ard. If I leave early for work like this week, he wake up ard 6 plus….as early as 6.15am. how to tahan till noon then nap. Wonder if its due to he sleep ard 8 plus. But sometime 9 plus sleep he also wake up ard 7 plus. If 7 plus wake up then still can let him nap ard 1 pm but normally he gets fussy during lunch cos wanna sleep liao. These few weeks, he not feeling well…so go back nap 2 times liao cos wanna him to rest more

Been quite awhile since I came in here..Thanks for your advices and concerns for Jonas...work has been at peak for me and back at home, has been worrying about Jonas's bronchitis....nevertheless, he is getting better and will be going for his second review this afternoon...hopefully his lungs are more cleared out and he need not continue his neubuliser which he HATES and struggles alot everytime he is on it.

Hmm...so we have 2 preggie mummies rite? MumatWork & Kris? CONGRATULATIONS!

Cheezel
Jonas is a small eater and need little sleep...I would like him to nap more but unfortunately, he naps only once a day quite often now...how to put on weight like that and got strength to walk (he's still crawling if on his own)? Signzzzz....

springdance

hey, welcome back. hope all's good with jonas. I agree, tough to put on weight when the babies don't nap much. like adam also.

cheezel
any reason why you want him to nap once? hehe, more free time if he naps twice rite? Adam's schedule not very fixed - these days he naps once almost daily. but now, at 2.30 pm, he's still not asleep! Furthermore my mom's place got lift upgrading programme..super noisy

sanrio
yeah. so now no rush him. just let him be.

small dreams,
actually wanna him to nap once cos next time he going half day cc and cant nap in the morn/. i scare he will feel tired at the cc if he attend. so trying to train him to nap once only. but since he wakes up so early then now just let him lo.....still have a few more months to next yr.

cheezel,
most babies only start to transit from 2 naps to o1 around 15-17mths. I think try not to force it but look out for his cues. Josh started to nap only once soon aft he turned 1. How it happened was cos i noticed he kept napping later and later for his morning nap. So i experiment abit for few weeks..until i found that he started to get tired around only 1130am or so but won't sleep till 12nn..so i just let him nap later and later until the 2 naps become one.

but the transition period can be v frustrating sometimes because sometimes they get tired and they dun want to eat. but if they dun eat well, then they dun do a good nap..you know what i mean? just have to go with the flow lor..

now he naps anything between 1.5-2hours everyday. When he was doing 2 naps, he was doing 30-40mins per nap. I find it worse for me.

smalldreams,
josh sometimes doesn't want to nap either. but I make him stay in his cot for 2hours. at least some quiet time for some R&R...

Springdance,
hope Jonas is well..

eating and sleeping is related. If they dun sleep well, they can't eat well. If they dun eat well, they can sleep well...sigh...tough hor!

btw, Josh still crawling. If he wants to walk, he'll look for us and hold our hands...v tiring for me!

springdance
good to hear that jonas recovering. u take care too. dun be too stress.

if he's gaining wt, eating well and playing well...seems fine. dun have to worry too much. diff bb develop at diff rate. joans prob take a while to learn how to walk on his own. does he attempt to try walking on his own??

smalldreams/ cheezel/ nellu
Thanks gals..just returned from PD review...good news is that he no nid do the neub anymore...nut his weight is in the 25percentile only...wonder hoe long he'll need to be in the 50percentile which is so average and easy to achieve for most babies..hiazz...

Nellu/ Cheezel
Jonas is the same as Josh...he can only walk if holding on to one of our hands...and he can walk quite fast sometimes in this case..certainly strenuous for our back coz we need to bend a little as we walk in order to hold onto his hand!

springdance
tats a piece of good news. meaning jonas is recovering well. dun worry abt wt. just build back slowly.

initially javen also need to hold on to one of our hands and walked very fast. slowly then he venture out on his own. good place to bring him to somewhere with big field to walk n run etc. even now, without holding hand, he will alk very fast too...sometime walk so fast till he bump into something or someone...n he doesnt look where he's going!

springdance
glad to hear that jonas is well

smalldreams
i also want my sleep so juz let her latch..hehehe..i'm a weakling too! during the day she also comfort suckle

went to the gynae last fri n confirmed preggie le. saw the waterbag, my MS is killing me, juz like the 1st one. i tot ppls say if 2st pregnancy is difficult, 2nd will b better???

wonder baby
I so understand what youre saying :p
Excuse me for asking this...i wonder if you still have sore nipples after 15 mths of breastfeeding? recently for the past few weeks, i've been having it again. Ouch when he latches! Think it's time for my avent nipple cream...

Kris
Hehe, well you can never know about 1st & 2nd pregnancies. Just rest well, and eat folic acid...o well am sure you know what to do

Janet/ Cheezel/ Wonder Baby
Thanks.....Hope Jonas appetite will grow better and he can upgrade to 50percentile soon. :p

Janet
Small annoucement for you...me moving office end of this month. So we should arrange for lunch soon before I go away...........

Nellu
Check with you....any idea what is the programme for Busy Buddies like? Compared to RIM, which is more interesting....checking coz I've got this trial coupon for one of the class....

smalldreams
have you had your menses yet? mine came bck when chloe was 10 mths old and it became monthly since she was 13 mths old. since then my nipples will become very sore when she latches during my ovulation time. but it stops being sore after a few days

wonderbaby
yup, i had mine when adam was about 10 mths old too i think. miss those days w/o menses! Oh, maybe during ovulation time it is rather sore. My menses will be over soon..hope the soreness goes away.

Thanks for yr tips.

kris,
congrats. not true lah. i had bad morning sickness for both preg. n my 2nd labour was even longer than my 1st. i remb u had an easy labour so hope tis tx round, same or easier for u too.

wonderbaby, smalldreams,
i had mine back wen cher was 13mths too. i missed those menses free day too. soreness of nip, i din really notice but mayb yes..