(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

serene,
u so bzee nowadays, wan to meet u oso muz book 1yr ahead lor...hahha

kelly veri notti, run ard non-stop. she juz got a super huge insect bite on her thigh, now left a red mark, so ugly.

jeanyard,
gallop stable is inside pasir ris park at elias rd. its quite difficult to go out wif a nb. unless ur MIL take care of lecia n u bring cookie go walk walk.

smalldreams,
coz i go on sun afternoon, theres a lot of ppl skating, so we walk to the beach whrs theres less ppl. i wanna go to the sheep farm, its at kranji rite?

any other farms dat is interesting?

kris
quite ok. have let shernise take up gug on sunday afternoon so like abit tight schedule on weekend except for sat lor.
shernise also. once they know how to walk, they cant sit still. like to be run around. haiz, have to chase them.
did you try to put on any ointment?

kris,
how about the goat farm at Hay's dairy or sthg? quite near my place. let me know if you are going.
Cookie is still rather timid, will have to carry him if he goes to a new place.

jeanyard
toking abt timid..i think my boy still duno wat is called danger..last wkend bought him to sentosa..he saw the peacock..he wans to go n pull its tail..soo dangerous..

jeanyard,
no need to thank me.
i can totally understand how you feel. I don't have much support so I understand the importance of giving someone else some when needed.

ris, jeanyard,
i cooked porridge with frog in it for Josh once. Didn't give him the frog but he didn't like the taste of the porridge either...sigh this boy everyday change taste now...he's also not walking independently and cannot stand without support yet..but i think just provide him with plenty of practice and see how it goes..

zhuzhu,
hehe this means your boy is recovered already right? btw, i think this trying to pull peacock's tail thing will either continue or show up again when they get older. I remember seeing teenage boys trying to do that in Boys' Town compound before! hahaha

Jeanyard
me will still give birth at TMC. my mil will be helping me do confinement. my mom has to take care of my 2 nieces...so tis time rd may be diff for her to come help me this time. still stay jurong. my new flat at pg not ready yet. hehe.

Zhuzhu
Javen also chase after the peacock when we go siloso resort early this month too. The peacock ran away...hehe....the second time we walked past, dunno if the peacock saw us or remember us, ran away when w eapproaching. hehe.

but Javen is afraid of policeman. hehe. sometime when he didnt sit in his carseat and wanted to climb up, when i told him policeman will catch, he will lie low low on my lap hoping the policeman will not catch him. hehe

nellu
ha ha my boy too walk like playing drunken kongfu, but can stand up by himself after fall down. now i try not to hold him n let him learn to balance himself.

cheezel
oh i think u n my cousin are waiting for the same batch of flat @ pg, she said 2009 can get keys liao. now she also doing her confinement for #2.... all so fast think i can't cope with #2.

my poor KY is down with flu and developed into very wet cough can't even sleep well. very heartache.

Jeanyard, Kris

I'm also into the idea of compiling a list of places for kids to go to, instead of the normal malls (tho I love shopping, sighs!). So far, I've thought of these places :

1. Gallop stable / Pasir Ris Park
2. East Coast park
3. Jacob Ballas (thanks to this thread!)
4. Goat farm or farms at kranji(wonder if it's safe for babies tho due to the goat's smell, animal germs etc

Minimal charges! I've yet to bring Adam to any tumbletots,gymboree places tho...

zhuzhu
hows lil markus?

Nellu, sgn
Don't worry too much abt Josh & KY not walking yet. Adam has an "uncle" - my aunt's son who's was born in Mar 07. He just started walking last week too. this young uncle was rather motivated and walked around when he saw Adam walking around. So perhaps it could help too if Josh / KY met up with others who could walk? :p

Cheezel
so cute that Javen is afraid of policeman! hehe! Adam is not afraid of anyone - but he's afraid of vacuum cleaner & blender, hohoho...

Springdance
If I wanna go Jacob Ballas, where should I enter from / park? Is it a long walk into Botanic gardens? easy to find? Thanks!

nellu & smalldreams
he still poos a few times each day lar..had change his FM to pedisure...but PD said as long as not poo more than 5x each day..should be okie..i started to resign to the fate that his stomach is actively clearing his system..

but good thing is he still gain weight lar...

samlldreams
how about there's a kids outlet in downtown east? plan to bring ky there cos he's favourite are balls.
my boy is afraid of drilling n knocking from renovation work, my neigbour was renovating they place n ky told me 'par par' (afraid) everyday!

Sgn
Javen is recovering from flu since last wed. the week b4 he went for MNR and chic pox vaccin. gets crankly and plus teething and plus flu, its nightmare at night and gets fustrated easily when things doesnt go his way. now better, though still have a bit of running nose. think his gum very sore from teething. wanted apply teething gel for him but he refuse to open his mouth again when he taste the gel. now he keep pulling his pacificer out from his mouth trying to ease the soreness and also bite and pull his bolster and pillow.

smalldreams/janet
not so fast la. mine is BTO one. not those that are almost ready. think by the time we move, Javen will prob be abt 3 yrs old ba.

small dreams
lets compile a list and then share share here. How abt zoo, bird park, gogo bambini etc?

Smalldreams
OIC…So Gallop stable is inside Pasir Ris Park eh….this park like quite interesting for families….got many types of activities…but really far for us to go. :p

EH…I tot you confirm going JCB…not “if” rite? Hahah…juz joking…anyway, if you go, must enter from the gate located along Bt Timah Road. DUN go in through the Botanic Gardens gate near to Gleneagles (Nassim Rd)….it will take you more than 1 hour to reach JCB if you enter through this gate.

Jonas LOVES chasing after the vacuum cleaner lei…and he likes to play with the mop and toilet bowl brush…. *faintz*

Cheezel
How come Javen scare of policemen? He so young know that police uncle will catch people? Heheh…

Serene
Of coz you are welcomed to join…. But your gal’s GUG class is on Sunday rite? The JCB outing is on Sunday afternoon (17 Aug)…. U can make it?

Kris
Hahah…..Me not so “Ho Mai” like you …me a FTWM…cannot afford to go picnic on Weekdays neh. :p

JeanYard
Much as I would love to catch up with you today… but my job is office based…cannot anyhow come out for tea lei…

Springdance
cos theres once, he didnt sit in the car seat cos only short jorney back home. and he behave like monkey climbing up and down. so i tell him.....sound serious....."policeman coming! quickly lie down and hug mommy" and i make sure he do that...then when he try to sit up, i told him policeman outside..haben leave....n he dun dare sit up. i did tat several time and soon, when he heard of policeman, he will quickly hug me. Sometime when we saw policeman outside, i will point to him say thats the policeman and he will catch bad people. policeman only like good boy who sleeps early, let mommy and daddy hold hand while crossing the road etc. hehe....he take a good look while hugging me and think prob thats when he understand ba. anyway, sometime it didnt work now, he will look ard and smile at me.

sgn
u referring to kids explorer? I went to see see look look 1 lunch time. Thot its quite pricey. I just went to Gogobambini wif the april mummies. Promo now, its free for 2yrs and below. Even w/o promo, it's $6 unlimitted play. Nice place

springD
jboy likes to play wif my 'magic mop' too. I juz let him be. Hopefully he maintain e interest next time can help me sweep n mop floor .. haha.

cheezel
hehe. .. dats wat our grandparents/ parents used to do to us. I also do that to jboy sometimes. Sometimes, I used 'ah neh neh' (sorry, dun mean to be racist here) :p

CD
gogobambini restrict the no of adults accompany baby?

i try not to use ah neh neh....cos i scare next time javen see them, he will say loud loud ah neh neh and pt to them. Thats what happen to my colleagues' child. hehe.

cheezel
i m not sure, but i dun tink so coz there is a cafe in there .. more adult = more spending

welcome to PG !! Urs is Vista?

actually i oso will try to refrain fm using ah neh neh .. :p

CD, Cheezel,
HAHAHAHA...i read abt the policeman threat i want to laugh. You know this is so commonly used when we were kids right? but it never works for me cos my parents were police officers! HAHAHAHA how to use this threat right??

SpringD,
Josh is just like Jonas too. Always want to 'help' us clean up..of course not clean lah..end up make more mess than clean up.

Smalldreams,
yes do compile a list of places to go. I've got another: Figets@Turf City. Similar to Gogobambini.

yes i do agree that if the kiddos get to see and be near other kids who can walk or talk or whatever other abilities, maybe they'll be motivated to do the same. That's why now i try to bring josh to classes. The interaction will definitely help.

cheezel
hahaha..javen so cute..already know how to be scared of policemen

nellu
good thing you didnt hv to go thru the 'policemen scare' phase..hehehe

nellu

i heard abt fidget at turf city too. u went b4? nice? lots of expatriates there?

CD
yes. mine is vista.

i also trying not to use policeman to scare him now. now i try to explain things to him and find that he actually listen attentively when i talk and look into his eyes.

cheezel
i will also try n make jboy listen by wanting him to look at me. It's very difficult, especially when he did something wrong. He will avoid eye contact no matter how i grab him still. Hiaz.

Cheezel
Javen is so cute and so intelligent….can understand the word “policeman” and I remember he know how to point to the correct pictures on the ABC posters…think he will definitely be a bright boy in future.

Cool_D and Nellu
Looks like the little boys like to dabble in cleaning equipment…hmmm…maybe this symbolise the new generation of men in future will do housework and the gals can concentrate on pampering themselves. Hahahah……

Here’s more outdoor places you can consider bringing your Tods to:

1. Hays Dairy Farm - Off Lim Chu Kang Rd at Lane 4 Website: http://www.haydairies.com.sg/

2. Quail's Farm, Lian Wah Hing - 5 Lim Chu Kang Rd at Lane 6F

3. Jurong Frog Farm - 56 Lim Chu Kang Rd at Lane 6 Website: http://www.jurongfrogfarm.com.sg/

4. Aerogreen Technology - 115 Neo Tiew Crescent, next to Sungei Buloh Nature Park. Singapore's first commercial aeroponics farm.

5. Oh Chin Huat Hydroponics Farm - Plot 10,11& 13, Bah Soon Pah Road

6. Dairy Tecnology Singapore Pte Ltd - 8 Lim Chu Kang Lane 8A Open 10-5pm daily Tel: 67937769

7. Nippon Koi Farm: 45 Jalan Lekar, Open 9-7pm daily, Tel: 67631882 Nippon Koi Farm: www.nipponkoifarm.com

8. Qian Hu Fish Farm: 71 Jalan Lekar , www.qianhu.com

springd,
my hubby is waiting for josh grow up to be around 5-6yrs old so that he can start to train Josh to do housework. One thing good abt my hubby is that he is the kind who will do housework without any complaints. I guess it's cos my Mil trained him and his brothers from young bah...well, i guess this is something that i'm appreciative towards my mil for. in any case, i think this is a good habit to instil, don't you think? I definitely do not want josh to be like my neighbour's kids who are still expecting their parents to pick up aft them, despite being already in their teens!

cheezel,
ya Fidgets a lot of expats. I dunno abt gogobambini though. Will be going soon with some friends.

springd,
forgot to ask you. I recall the last time you went to HK with hubby and W/O bb?? how many days did you go and what are they things you planned for bb? Who took care of Jonas during that time? Can share with me some tips?

my hubby's asking if i wanna go beijing for a few days with him w/o josh..but i'm scared to leave him behind leh..my mum had offered to look after but i think still must do alot of planning right??

cool daugther
tks for the info. ha ha i tried not to use the 'neh neh' worry other ppl think we racesis

springdance
oh i think kid are all the same, ky loves to take brooms, umbrella, to play ended up i bought a golf set for him n he love going around with the golf stick.

springdance
aiyo...sometime also abit diff to disciplin javen. Now he knows who to look for when he get scolded by daddy...my mil..of cos. he will throw temper also when things doesnt go his way and will be angry with the person who stop him.

nellu
i still no courage to leave Javen behind and go for holiday le. dunno y....fel that he's already part of me....hehe...everywhere i go, i will like to bring him along no matter how troublesome it is. but i think its good to have fun and enjoy the time u n hubby spend as a couple.

cheezel,
ya lor...so hard to leave josh behind...Josh really goes everywhere with me; to the market, to the supermarket, to the bank, to the library, to the stores,...really everywhere....

..sigh...dunno leh...i scared i go also won't enjoy cos will keep thinking abt what he is doing at home...

wah list of outdoor places getting bigger...great! less shopping centres = less $$ spent!

Springdance, nellu
let u in a little secret. Today I took some time off and watched Batman with hubby. My first movie since Adam came along! It felt nice being out with him for movie, lunch & quick shopping (of course I bot Adam's stuff, hehe) but I couldn't get Adam off my mind! Kept thinkin about him and it felt a bit strange not having his stroller to push around.. heheh...

We went to fetch him after that, and...guess where we took him? Jacob ballas! :p

nellu, cheezel,
I also feel bb is part of me now...every where go also brings her along. But there were days when I took leave to go out with hubby only too lah....but dont think can do so on a trip without bb.

sgn,
so fast let ky learn golf already ah? Singapore's Tiger Wood?

janet
ha ha ha he just enjoin hitting the balls n walk around like ah pei with walking stick.....

my boy also very attach to me even he stays overnite at nanny's place 2-3 times a wk. they are clever babies n know mummy is their best friend!

janet

who's taking care of bb? do you inform her caregivers if you're going out with hubby? my mother will never agree if i just leave bb there and go out with hubby...sighs... she's the sort who needs her own time too

sgn

you still work shifts is it?

Nellu
I went on a 6 days trip (3D in Macau, 3D in HK)….that was my first trip ever since I gave birth….I was also really “Bu She De” to leave baby in Singapore while me & hubby go enjoy…but HK will be an impossible place to enjoy if lugging a baby…coz we’ll be running the streets shopping & eating whole day.

But I am lucky that all along I have my MIL helping to take care of him (as I am a FTWM)…so we can “Fang Xin” leave our precious with her. Anyway, when we came back, we found that our boy lost abit of weight….not sure if becoz he misses us or didn’t sleep much becoz he was chasing around my PIL’s doggie.

Having said that, if we go on the next trip, I would like to bring my boy along definitely…coz really miss him a lot whilst I was on the trip and really can’t bear to leave him another time.

But, I must say now that we have our baby, occasional “Pak Tor” on weekdays with hubby only is still a MUST in order to keep the relationship going….dun let baby overrule our lives totally.

Smalldreams!!
You went to Jacob Ballas without us……no wonder you were asking me on Tuesday how to get there….

Cheezel
This is the same for Jonas….he’s rather spolit I think…only person he is afraid of is his Dad….no matter how angry tone I sound when he is doing something naughty or dangerous…he will simply ignore…and when “Kanna” from his Papa…he will come to me for rescue. :p

Springdance,

awww...sorry! I tot we might want to check out that place since both me & hub were on leave, and weekdays would probably be less crowded.

Actually I asked on Wed morning, just before we left home for the movie..hehe but in the end hubby managed to figure out how to get there. Best is to enter thru old NIE side.

pgal
gogo is at demsey hill. I am not aware if they hv other outlets tho'.

smalldreams
other dan e farms, u can also consider like cycling or fly kite. No specific venue and can be lotsa fun too

smalldreams,
my mum takes care of bb on weekdays day time. She is ok with me taking leave to go out with hubby...but not too frequent loh...
I also take leave if she wants her time on weekdays. So she is still ok.

janet, nellu, smalldreams, cheezel

To date, I went on 3 overseas trips w/o my kids...the 1st was to HK when #1 was 8mths old. I was really mentally craving for a short break coz the last one was 3 yrs back and we planned to have #2 soon so it's either then or another 2 more yrs. I wanted to bring her along but upon dissuasion by many, we didn't. It was really hard that time as the separation anxiety kicked in. I was constantly thinking of her, so much so that i came back for a lugguage full of stuff for her.

2nd one was a short business trip to India when #2 was abt 9mths old and I was still BF him. Had to pump n discard the milk when I was there. I called home everyday just to hear their voices and that helped.

The last one was a recent trip to Taiwan/HK with hubby and again I came back with a lugguage full of stuff for them. We only called back twice or so to check on them.

To sum it all up...having reliable caretakers (aka my parents and MIL) was one of the main reason that allowed me to have the peace of mind travelling w/o the kids. It may sound selfish to some ppl but for a sane mind, we do need some "ME time" for mental relaxation.

Eversince the arrival of #1, both hubby n myself are so preoccupied with the daily chores that things became really mundane. I started taking things for granted and sometimes frustrated when things didn't go as I wanted them to. Poor hubby...he was bearing the brunt of all the lash-outs. Not that it's not happening now...haahaa...

So when #2 came along, I just suddenly realised that it's not "healthy" nor doing any good to our relationship. I was no longer who I used to be (can't blame hubby for complaining but we do change sub-consciously). I kind of learnt to let go...allowing ppl i trust to take care of the kids for a few hours while i spend time out with hubby alone or even galfriends. Like what sgn said...babies are very clever...they'll still cling on to us like koalas to eucalyptus trees when we get back.

The "guilt" of "abandoning" the kids is very much still there but I have to constantly remind myself that one day the kids will grow up and have their own life. When that time comes ,it'll just be me and hubby alone. So he's also equally impt and shldn't neglect him either else he gets his attention from some other women. This applies to both genders...extra-marital affairs happened coz even the most "saint" of humans also need care and attention.

Where do you get your swim wear for your bb? The Seng Kang swimming pool is opening soon, so I am thinking of buying swimming attire for my bb

serene,
i din put any cream coz last time she got a smaller bite, a put on some cream n the mark stays. Without cream, it will slower fade away.

jeanyard,
those r quite near ur plc, we can arrange to go 2gether sometimes, can ask some of the mummies to join us too.

nellu,
u mention frog den i recall i bot frog frm Giant n forgot totally abt it...gosh.

smalldreams,
i dun reli like gymboree n tumbletots coz we got to stay n accompany them. if at age 3, they can play on their own with the kids thr, den its useful. i like gg to farms n parks.

springdance,
when u wanna clear leave den we can go out on weekday.

MommyPoh

thanks for yr post! Lucky you to have alternative caregivers. I agree, over the years, we may not be the same as dating time. There are other priorities now, and the most important is to get the kids settled, and household chores completed. I try to hold back also when I feel like nagging at hubby for leaving his stuff all over. Yesterday night i threw some disposable contact lens packaging (i swear i thot they were empty) and this morning hub looked for it! lucky he laughed it off. I mean, it makes sense to keep yr lenses in the containers and NOT the packaging right? duh!

for now i guess we'll still bring adam along if we go on trips. No way is my mom going to take care of him. she's sorta a moderm mum - only 48 yrs!

So far our trips have been to malaysia - nearby only. so can bring him and he sleeps in the car.

janet
i got mine from LHP - swimming diaper. if not, kiddy palace also a lot!

yesterday i splurged on a beach towel/cape for adam from mothercare, tsk tsk. went to the harbourfront mothercare flagship store. So many things to see..(but all so ex)...

smalldreams,
where is LHP? kiddy palace not a lot of variety lei...yah, I also check out mothercare, pretty, but very expensive lei...

so looking for cheaper and good source...hee hee

smalldreams
it's thru BP, Little Hand Prints, hehe! online store.

i agree mothercare is super duper expensive! I think it depends on which kiddy palace you go to. I managed to find one at 29.90. OK lah... swimming diapers, I got from LHP for $15 i think. I've been using it since adam was 5 mths old - his first dip...till now. worth it! and environmentally friendly too ehehhe

janet
Fox baby has swim suit too .. not ex. Actually major departmental store has them too, if you do not like those at kiddy palace.

Smalldream
U mean adam only swim in his swim diaper and topless? jboy so far still in his 1 pc suit. I wanted to try n huggies swimmer or something which is a swim diaper, but dan, i can't find those wet suit top .. cheap ones i mean :p

Smalldreams
So I guess you won't be gng JCB again so soon in Aug rite? Did Adam like the place?

MommyPoh
I share the exact same sentiments as you...we are very lucky indeed that we have reliable caregivers so that we can still work and have time with husband.

Janet
Can check out the babies/kids section at department stores like Robinsons...they do sell nice swimwears and not so expensive.

MommyPoh, SpringD,

you gals are lucky to have reliable caregivers for your kids. My biggest problem here is this: caregivers! See, I used to be FTWM for abt 4-5mths aft my ML but in the end i quit to become SAHM. Not because I chose to do it, but because there was constant bickering and disagreement over how Josh should be taken care of, how and what he should be fed and all sorts of things with my MiL. W.r.t my mum, she's not reliable for long term care...unfortunately i would say, my own parents are not exactly the most supportive of people around.

This time, even though i really wish i can just pack my stuff and just board the plane off to see Beijing in autumn, i have a LOT of doubts over what my mum promised...sadly i was really disappointed with her over these issues. The worst incident happened just before i officially ended work. I had asked her to help take care of josh for the last 2weeks of work but aft one week, she complained and complained and said didn't want to do it anymore. I was so paiseh at work had to take some more leave (already no pay!) to stay home. Then i asked her to just watch Josh (with maid at that time) for one afternoon while I head back to ofc for handover. She refused. Told me to leave Josh with the maid UNSUPERVISED. She knew that I dun trust my maid. By then, maid was very bad. I was plotting to send her off already. And my mum herself also didn't trust the maid, yet she told me to do something like this.

i think for me the issue really isn't whether i have the guilt of leaving Josh behind. I'm more reluctant to deal with the flip-flop attitude of my mum/parents....

er...btw, sorry for the long rant here...

smalldreams
agree. it feels good spending some time on yourself n hubby going for meal, shopping, movie etc. just like the time when we're all dating right. hehe

u planning for trips again? i think i will have to wait till i give birth and my #2 slightly older then we will go on trips again together as 4 instead of 3 this time. i feel bad leaving my kids behind and its also good to let my mil rest n do her own stuff for a while. its not easy looking after kids all day long. n sometime i do appreciate her help though at times some of our style in doing things may clash.

so far i aslo let javen swim in 1 pc thermal swim suit like CD. haben tried letting him wear swimming trunk only le.

now he recovering fr flu....think will have to wait for some time b4 we can bring him go swim liao....

nellu

its ok. we're all here to listen to one another and also at times fed our fustration over work or family issues.

if u're not comfy leaving josh behind...then bring him along then. i'm sure he will enjoy the trip too.
n u wil also enjoy ur trip rather than having to worried abt josh over here when u r there right? then u wont enjoy le.

sometime its good to have some "couple" time together with hubby....but if really no choice then i'm sure u n hubby also no mind bring josh along...after all, when we all decided to have kids....we should be prepared to sacrifice some of our own time.

just now went for checkup. the moment we step into the gynae room, javen starts to cry. he tot he's going for injection. hehe. then when he saw me lying on the bed wit the doc scanning, he cry even louder....keep pointing to me n look at my hubby...like trying to get mu hubby to rescue me. so funni. after that he ok liao n start to play with my gynae's pressure pump, pen etc....n even wave byebye to doc and give him a flying kiss. how fast they forget abt things....