(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

CD

Wow, Jboy is so strong!
My PD also said that chix pox & MMR won't cause fever. So far, Adam hasn't had fever after his jabs but when he was younger, he'd feel a bit warm and also cranky! Lucky no longer like that these days.

Wanna see what Adam has been up to lately? getting more impish by the day...

http://smalldreams.wordpress.com

smalldreams,
nice blog you've got there. I'm still amazed at how some of you mummies have time and inspiration to blog...i still can't do it...still stuck at blocking the url for the blog...hahahah

cheezel, wonderbaby,
can understand how you feel. You know what is more infuriating?? lemme share with you...

Josh and I meet up with some mummies and babies around our area on a weekly basis. Most of the time we are at one another's homes. There was one time (this was 2 weeks ago), we went as usual. I didn't exactly see what happened, but i think maybe Josh really did accidentally hit one of the babies lah... but not that he purposely hit, it's probably him trying to 'pat'...anyway, so that kiddo (abt 7mth old) cried bloody murder. The mother came to his rescue...but guess what she said to Josh "What is it that J(her son) did to you that you must hit him??!!" Walao... i was shocked to hear that! so stunned until i dunno what to say. I dun mind if she had said to Josh "No, it's not nice to hit." But this??!?! If she was angry she could pick a fight with me but why take it out on the boy??

Then what happened next really surprised me. When we were leaving (happened to be at that mummy's place), i told Josh to wave goodbye to everyone and give flying kiss. Josh usually is very sweet and obliging and would wave and blow kisses nonstop. He did but he was SELECTIVE!! Josh REFUSED to say bye to that baby and that mummy! Wah...surprised...i think he knew what that mummy said and was angry with her wor!!

scary isn't it, that our kids can understand so much?? and this mummy really makes me quite angry with her.....

Smalldream,
r u a malay? Saw ur blog. Adam looks funni in the carrier together with ur hubby. Think adam too big for that? N heavy too le. I stop using when javen ard 7-8 months. Dun think my shoulder can tahan the wt now. Brought Javen to IMM yesterday too. N he was running ard without wanting us to hold his hand. Even when holding his hand, he wanted to go his way. End up he falls a few times. The last fall is when he holding on to his newly brought barney. Lucky the barney cushion his fall, else I think he will get bruise on his face as he falls face down. Scary man.

Nellu,

so ncie to meet up mommies and babies on a weekly basis ard ur area. Where u stay? I think sometimes we mommies beside having to protect our own baby, we also must be tactful when with others esp when the rest r also mommies of baby ard the same age. Sometime ppl just blar out without second thoughts. if I were u, I think I will also be at a lost…dunno what to say.

I think our babies now can understand abit here n there. Last sat while having dinner outside, Javen was sitting on my lab playing with him when he suddenly hear someone say “di di” from the other table n he then lift my blouse up to look at my tummy to tell me di di in there. I smack his palm once but he repeatedly lift up my blouse n I stop him n smack him again. He did that for 3 times n I scolded him. After tat he look at me like as in he understand n when I told him he make a mistake n must say sorry to me, he actually salute to me (his way of saying sorry) and pull his ears. My parents n bro were all laughing at him. N when my hubby was back from restroom, he pretend to make faces like he wanted to cry n complain to his daddy.

cheezel,
i live in bt batok. abt the weekly mtgs, i thought it was nice until that incident. Anyway not really suitable for us cos Josh is one of the older babies and the rest are still >1yo. so how to let them play together right? Sure will end up having Josh look like he's a bully since he is more 'advanced' and can take toys on his own and play with his own agenda...

hehehe Javen is so cute...wah...next time he can either work in PR or be politician...if i have $$ next time and start my own PR firm, i'll sure hire him! :D

smalldream
yah . tis boy is kinda quite brave actually. Tho' he still cries when the needle prick, but will stop once it's pull out

Btw, i m adding adam's blog into jboy's.

cheezel

yups, I'm Malay
And yes i agree that Adam's too big for the carrier! hehe! Just took the pic for the fun of it. he looks so long on it already & now at 10 kg, no way can my shoulders tahan !

Nellu
Yeah I know what you mean...ourbabies can understand more than what we think they can. Sometimes when we give instructions, they can actually carry them out!

And perhaps Josh is a tad too big to play with babies below 1, tho he's still very much a baby himself too. Adam has 1 baby cousin - abt 7 mths but I don't let him near her coz I'm afraid he might just take a swipe at her face! Already he wants to play with her rattle and you know how hard these little boys can throw stuff !

Guess the mommy also needs to be more sensitive when giving comments lah. Am sure she's angry but must also control feelings right!

CD, cheezel
OKie, I'll link you gals...or rather, babies up too!

smalldreams,
yes i thought so too. It wasn't really my intention at all for Josh to play with the smaller kids. The meetings were initiated by that particular mummy and she wanted to start a sort of support group from SAHMs in our area...but then we are SAHMs so need to bring the kiddos along right? anyway, me am quitting the group cos I found a good baby class for Josh to go.

smalldreams
tks for sharing Adams blog, saw him riding a rocker which ky enjoined the rocker when he was admitted when he was down will pneumonia. i think should go get 1 for him.

about attachment, my boy was very sticky to me too esp at night! during the day when he was watching his vcd, i just walk away for 5 sec only he will cry for me.

nellu
if i were u i will tell the mummy, come on lah Josh did't do purposely why take it so hard.

Today ky did something which i believe bb's do understand what's going on around them. i ask he got give winne (my winne the pooh bear) milk milk? n he use his milk bottle n feed the bear!

these few nights javen keep waking up at night, crying. dunno whats wrong. its unlike when he cant find his pacifier and i help him, he will stop and go back sleep. this time wrong, he will keep crying, sometime offer him milk n water also no use....wonder whats wrong.

sgn,
ky is so cute...can feed his winnie the pooh milk.
Now Josh also will feed papa and mama his biscuits if we ask him. Somemore can be so kaypoh want to help me pay money in taxi, pay money at supermarket, want to help carry the veggies... hahaha

Cheezel,
oh no, hope javen isn't ill. Josh was also like that a few nites ago..then just suddenly go back to normal again. Maybe he was overstimulated during the day??

sgn

haha, that's very cute of KY!

Nellu

Your boy also very helpful huh? Hehe... cuteness.

Cheezel

Hope he is OK. Could it be the wind? or are they having nightmares? Adam was like that 2 nights ago also, gave me a fright coz he really yelled his lungs out.

smalldreams,
so coincidental that our boys had somewhat similar sleeping patterns 2 nights ago! Josh was screaming his head off too, which never ever happened when he wakes up in the middle of the night. Usually, he'll whimper more than scream. When they scream you know something isn't quite right.

Is Adam back to his usual patterns?

nellu

Yup guess he's back to usual patterns of whimperings, then, just latch him off to get him back to sleep (SUPER bad habit lor, I'm so ill-disciplined
) He's alright now but once in a while he does have that screaming bouts. Earlier in the day he was super active and slept late too. Maybe too tired.

how's yr Josh ?

Re : enfagrow
Hey mummies, quite a few of our babies are on this right? Now that they've got the 4 X DHA formula, they have increased their pricin right? Now it's $28.60, up from only $24.60 or something last time! Hmph!

smalldreams,
josh is back to normal. wake up once in the night for a few minutes or sleep through (so so so happy abt this!!!
) the night. now still trying to train him to fall asleep on his own w/o us patting or rocking him...very tough work, boy!...takes 1hr for him to fall asleep...

all FM price gone up lah...

nellu

yeah, but lucky he's not on sarong /yao lan right? Think that one even tougher to "wean" off.

I think FM px went up due to the 4X DHA. More reasons to continue BF! Also, not as if all the 4XDHA gets absorbed right? Tsk tsk...still sore abt this.

Anyone here giving their kids Dumex / Nestle etc? It seems like the formula is not that expensive. Wonder what's the difference between the more ex & cheaper formula. But I know some formula uses whole milk, while others may use skim milk

smalldreams,
Josh is taking Dumex's Mamil Gold. I give him that not because it is cheaper or anything, it's more cos he likes it. I also dunno very much abt FM. Josh self weaned from BM for 3mths already and i still had not picked up on my knowledge of FM. Sometimes i can forget to bring the milk out when we go out...still on BF mode... :p

I'm not so sticky abt the formula. If he takes, he takes. If not I just substitute other calcium sources for him. We also give him fish oil supplements.

at this age, the milk is not so impt anymore. milk is just a good way to give the kids calcium (as opposed to feeding them chalk! Hahahaah!). But this still can be balanced out with other food sources. i think it is more impt to make sure that the kids eat a balanced and healthy diet on a daily basis.

Hey nellu mamil gold is very expensive too! is that the one that comes with that special scoop? hehe! nyway yeah i agree, it's not abt expensive or not right, the important thing is they drink it & get the necessary nutrients

Nellu/smalldreams,
Javen not ill. Not sure why all fo sudden like this. Actually has been like this since last week. He will wake up and cry loud loud a few times. These few night, only once ard 5 plus. And strangely its always ard that time these 2 days le. The 1st night I try giving milk early at 5 plus instead of 6 when he crying…he cry. This morn, he refuse to drink and I have to pacify him aslo no use. He stop n return back to sleep after 1-2 mins. Pat pat him a while and go back deep sleep. Notice when he cry, he will lift up both legs…..dunno is it stomache or wind le.

Nellu,
I read that not enough sleep in the day and late night will lead to night waking or diff to fall asleep at night. Proper nap time at the same timing every day is impt.

Small dream,
I also letting Javen fall asleep by himself now. But I will accompany him la. I sit down , sometime pat pat him, then when see him tired liao, then I let him fall asleep on his own. He normally sleep soundly from 8 plus to 2pls. after that, these few nigths, he will keep waking up. Last time whimper…now cry.

Javen is taking mamil gold. Been giving him since birth when hospital give that to him. So I just stick to this. So far he okie.

I have sort of recovered 80%. still coughing a lot at night, but day time is much lesser now.

Bb got all my disease - high fever, coughing, running nose, sore eyes...everything...nothing else in life would come so complete like this...:-(

Brought her to see a few doctors, until finally KKH A&E yesterday, because fever got to really high. She is still not well yet, but I cant keep on taking leave, so have to leave her with my mum today...sob sob.

Cheezel,
GUG's trial is $45, term class is $42 per class. I have the e-brochure, I can email to you. I like GUG compare to other gym because GUG does more sit down exercise, eg. singing, storytelling. Gym mainly do exercise, and I am the one doing the exercise...so tired, as if bb doesnt make me exercise enough at home, now still have to pay money to get someone else to make me exercise...so i choose GUG.

Wonder_baby,
reading your story really make me laugh. not really at what you did, but becasue I would have done the same...and I imagine myself with a whole palm on the kid's face...haha, that will be really funny...

I am also very particular about this. There is one time when another kid, looked a bit sick, wanted to touch my bb in a stroller. I didnt know how I could react so fast, but before he could reach out to her, i caught hold of his hand...haha.

small dreams,
GUG doenst refund non make up lei...that is the bad point about GUG.

ya, enfagrow is so expensive for the new formula. I still buying the old formula....

napping: ky refused to nap this afternoon, by 8pm he knock off liao, mil asked ky does he wants milk milk while i was bathing n he nod his head. mil says it's his opium! ha ha hope he sleep thru....

smalldream
i haven start ky on enfagrow yet thinking of asking for smaple 1st. i also thinking of stop BF but thinking of the money spend on FM n wonder does the BM have enough nutrients for ky

hallo mummies,
just now i just had a major headache and a 'dunno whether to laugh or get angry' moment with Josh. Now the boy wants to try to feed himself. End result is fighting with me over mealtimes. Tried to give him some food in a small bowl to let him try to feed himself, but he is so smart, always don't want the small bowl but wants the big one that I am holding.

just now the 'fight' was so bad, in the end i just gave in and let him do it himself. Very funny..in the end all the food is all over the place, except his mouth....on the nose, on the face, in the hair, all over his hands, all over the spoon, all over the table! the sight was really funny but the cleaning up is damn siong...

anyone of your kiddos started to want to feed themselves yet? what do you all do??

nellu
ha ha, my ky also tried to feed himself, but i always tried to control him by holding his hand with the spoon. usu he only interested in our food but not his own so we tent to give him a little when we eat.

sgn,
haha looks like the two boys are the same..just now Josh also insisted on wanting to eat my rice and drink my soup.

how's your new job??

Janet,

If your Bb still does not get well, I'll recommend that you bring Bb to see Dr Elizabeth Khor at Paragon. She's a bit pricey but she will use all sorts of methods (not just medicine) to keep sick children out of hospital. Sometimes she gives free things too (of cos that could be included in her consultation la).

BTW Mummies, any of your babies started with HA (Hypoallerginic) milk but switch to normal milk later on? Been wanted to switch my boy to normal milk but I'm afraid of bad allergic reaction.

Janet
hows the lesson so far? Good ? Anyone heard of Julia Gabriel? Heard not bad comments.

Nellu
javen also trying to feed himself now. He always like to snatch my spoon n bowl etc. I give him a plastic bowl and spoon. So when I feed him, he will also scoop "air" out from his bowl and feed himself and also try to feed me. When we adult having dinner, he will also sit in his high chair with a bowl and spoon. I put some biscuits in and he self feed. He will use both hand or spoon.

Sgn,
javen wakes up at 6.15 today. Super early. Yesterday he had a late morn n noon nap…from 11 to 12pm and then 4 to 5 and I let him take his usual 8plus night sleep but he only fall asleep at ard 9 after rolling ard in the bed. Told my mil to let him ard the same time everyday during the day….like 10 plus and then 2-3plus. Else night time he had difficulties falling sleep and wake up super early the next morn.

Anyone baby only sleep once during the day? I thought of taking away the morn nap and let javen nap earlier in the noon after lunch.

nellu
my boy tried to snatch the spoon...but he haven't really attempt to feed himself

sgn
Usually when I tried to enticed Markus to eat..I eat abit of his porridge in front of him..then he he will more willing to eat

Markus just poo 5x yday..
going to bring him to the PD tonite liao..

addie,
thanks for your tips. I may bring bb to paragon. she was better yesterday already. but i think the cough still quite bad. she will drink 20-30ml milk, then cough for a while, then continue...its dry cough, just like mine...in fact, mine is still not well yet. tried both chinese and western medicine already...now, maybe i should try indian medicine...haha

Cheezel,
I think bb and i enjoy GUG. She likes the singing session most. The class will conduct the singing session in the music room, where real keyboard and singing, dancing are introduced. I will sing to her after the class, and she remembers all the hand actions...
they also have handicraft session, last time, they put ikan bilis in a small pail and ask the children to fish them with a net...each child gets their own pail, no need to share.
but during the trial, they have less of this...i think all these only for the term class.

my bb sleeps once in the day only. USually, two hours nap. night time, she will sleep at around 9.30-10pm. but lately since sick, she sleeps even later now, yesterday was 11.30pm. she doenst want me to pat her to sleep. she wants to sleep on her own...roll, stand, walk, sing and dance until sleep...an hour after i put her in bed...quite time consuming.

Zhuzhu it has been quite a while since markus keep poo-ing. Is he reacting anything unusual to his normal self? Poor boy. His stool watery or solid each time he poo?

Janet, i tot of GUG too. Cos think not too bad. but abit far le. Its at novena? which day you attend? i tot if got lots of movement then i cant join him with my tummy now if my hubby is working. can send me the brouchure? thanks!!

does ur gal sleep once all along since baby? or u change her sleeping pattern? wonder how to prevent him from sleeping in the morn now n lat him tahan till noon le.

Nellu / Sgn
My boy likes to get hold of the spoon and bowl too....but not to self-feed...but rather to keep pounding the bowl with spoon and use finger to take & throw out the food! He has absolutely no liking for any food, milk or fruits...most happiest when he no need to eat. hiazzz.........quite worrying but can't find any solution.

Janet / Cheezel
Realised that many mummies in May & April thread are sending their kiddos to GUG....seems to be very popular...mayve it's becoz it's one & half hour per session (more worth it!) and classes are available on weekends...my boy has not started any school though coz I think it might be more fun to join only after he know how to walk.

Cheezel, fyi... the center is at United Square at Novena.

ZhuZhu
Could it be teething (molars sprouting) that cause Markus to poo alot? That's what I heard from grandmothers.

nellu
haven start work till next month after national day.

u bought josh to vivo's gymboree b4 rite? i may go this afternoon, which level is it? so far i went vivo 3 time next come across the place.

cheezel
oh ky wake up at 2am n went back to sleep after gave him his pacifier n tossing till 3am. then wake up at 6.30am, 9+ sian sian now having his nap. i feel floating now!

springD
jboy too .. snatch the spoon n bowl, but juz pounding away. Sometimes wif the empty bowl he will pretend to scoop n eat, but not wif real food in there.

sgn,
so you are on leave now? I went only once for lesson at gymboree. I didn't like the teacher...very noisy and talks too fast... i think it's at level 3 at harbourfront centre, same level as planet fitness. I'm bringing Josh to this place called Busybuddies this aftnn. it's quite fun.

haha mummies, looks like all the kiddos are doing the same stuff with their food. I left Josh to eat by himself now...not using spoon but using fingers!

cheezel,
josh naps only once now. From abt 1230-230pm..sometimes to 3pm... you have to make the morning nap later and later, then it will merge into two...but i think you shouldn't force Javen into it, unless he is showing signs, e.g. sometimes skip morning nap, or morning nap time getting later...then you try...if not, it's not good for him.

nellu
where is this place? need membership? i just wants to make use of the membership cos paid $50 so far never go at all.

cheezel,
clarify my post. I meant to say "make the morning nap later and later until TWO merge into ONE"...hahaha typed too fast just now didn't realise.

sgn,
you got the website add liao? the prices are there. So are the class schedules. can check it out if you are keen. this programme is more than gym, it's got music, art, reading, water and sand play. Each class is 1.5hrs. I thought it's really fun cos it's got variety. Took josh few weeks back for trial and he really enjoyed it.

cheezel
his stool normally is paste kind..only once in a while its solid..actually other than pooing that often..he is pretty alrite leh..still as active as normal..

springdance
duno leh..he had been pooing many times each day for 1mth++ already

nellu
I did try to let bbK feed herself too, but end up messy everywhere. She'll onli feed the 1st few mouth clumsily into her mouth den all the rest of the food will be everywhere. Got once, I gave her rice to play wif. She use her hand instead of her spoon, when she tired liao, she start to scratch her head!!!oh gosh, u cant imagine how messy when all the rice stick to her hair!!! hahahaha....

Cheezel
bbK wakes up at 7am, will hv her afternoon frm 12+ till 4pm den slept at 8+ in the evening. So she oni hv 1 afternoon nap. bbK is attending JG, I can see improvement in her. She's attending the chinese lesson. The branch at evans got more facilities den the one at forum. I hv attended the trial at GUG but I find GUG abit cramped. JG hv singing lessons, art&craft, storytelling, snacktime,(swimming/sandplay/waterplay/playground)-These 4 oni applied to evans branch cos its more spacious.

SpringD
*Hi5* bbK oso is the happiest when she dont nit to eat!!!! PD has said that she's eating too little but wad to do, she juz refused to eat!!

m@w/ springdance
my girl can join your baby's 'no need to eat' club too! hehehehe. i let her self feed some yoghurt but with my hand guiding hers else land on the floor
..trying to feed her lumpier porridge today but she rejected..apple also hv to puree..haiz..
m@w, good that your girl is taking pediasure

janet
hope your girl get well soon

zhu zhu
think maybe the fm not suitable for markus, issit?

Re : sleeping

I think Adam can even go without sleep if he's too engrossed in playing. Play all day long! But by 12 pm he'd usually get a bit cranky. Sometimes my mom just brings him to his cot to have a rest, then he may fall asleep too.

zhuzhu

Gosh I feel quite sorry for Markus. I sure hope he gets well soon. Could be wrong formula lah
But good to know he's active as ever. That's a good sign.

I have a long day at work today. Probably get home only past 9 pm. Very sianzzz...

Springdance

Heys I think Adam is same as yr boy. Small, eater. Adam's so fussy. Only eat 2-4 spoonfuls then that's it! Yesterday I gave him honeydew to hold & eat - he ate up quite a bit. he bit the honeydew off with his tiny teeth :p

smalldreams
lst saturday my girl woke up at 7..then stayed awake till 5pm ..after dat she was cranky n extremely tired..then fell asleep without latching..hahaha
adam can hold honeydew and eat by himslef? so smart! i can't get my girl to bite and chew..how ah?

wonderbaby

WOw, that's a dream come true right - falling asleep without latching (except the cranky part). hehe.

Guess it's like how nellu & M@work does it - just give him the food and he chomps it up. But i guess the food must be tasty. Of coz gotta supervise too when he gets to the last bit else he might swallow & choke. Yr gal can also eat biscuit on her own?