(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

wonder baby,
we are not allowed to use that kind of protection...catholics...but have to monitor situation and action only at the right time lor..

but currently no action at all mah... :p

cheezel
how is Javen? Bao yin Dan is the powder we used to spread over bb's gum when they are young to protect them from vomiting, diarrhoea and cough.
Hou ning is acutally Hor Zhou Shan was another mummy thought me to give for hua4 tan2 when children cough. it's expensive cost $60+ for a tiny tube. if the child's cough very bad will take 1 a day, i gave ky 1 tube over 4 times if he just started cough or i heard he got little phelgum.

yes, i got my baby vapour rub from watson. $6.25 for a very small tub...super expensive

Sgn,
so does the hou ning works? Like ky doesnt cough after that?

Girls,
Been busy to log in. How's everybody?

I applied vapour rub twice on YX but does not seem to work lei. He's been having a bad cough and for the past week... been vomitting out his food everytime he coughs. Think everyday will puke at least twice.. on the bed somemore

Tried Eu Yan Sang Ba Bao Sang for the past two days not much effect. Seen a doctor on Monday still no cure lei.. hope all the phelgm and cough clears soon!

zhuzhu/wonder/sgn
Javen ok liao. only vomited in the morning. after that seems fine. but find that he not as active as b4 and his hands abit cold when i patting him to sleep just now.no fever....just monitor. he seems to have phelgm cos he keep rubbing his nose like very itchy like tat.

oh...sometime i apply the bao yin san on javen's gum when he younger. Jin Feng San the same? My mom will apply but my mil doesnt.
i heard of hou ning b4.....for cough....but heard cant take too much? is it? is the one at EYS good? didnt try b4.

JAnet
will check out the baby vapur rub.

Janet
well the last time ky had chest infection n was too late to give hou ning ( i also forgot i have it at home) anyway he was admitted for pneumonia. since discharge once a bit of throat noise i faster give hou ning somehow it went off. it not only works for cough but to dissolve phelgm.

cheezel
maybe Javen catch a cold, chinese says feng han.

Taro
got to tahan for 2 wks usu bb cough n flu takes 2 wks to recover. Hou ning should be better ba, cos my friend's hubby got very bad cough n took 2 tube of hou ning n he got better.

sgn,
what is the synptoms for pneumonia?

just saw that my bb molar is sprouting out, no wonder she also no energy, fever, rub her nose, cough..ai yo, so many things together, and also not drinking her milk...just gained some weight, now sure to loss it again...

Janet

Aww, she's growing up..sometimes I wonder why teething can be such a painful process...hope she feels better!

This morning, brought Adam to PD for his chicken pox jab . Next mth MMR. He's 10 kg now. Finally!

Janet
my boy had fever for 1 wk followed by cough and restless at nite, seen pd 2 times, fever even went up to 39.7deg, she said going to develop broncholitis try to use med to suppress but it didn't help.

my boy's stool analysis result is out...he had the salmonella virus..which can comes from chicken n egg that are not well cooked..

CD

Hey, same same!
Adam's 10.5 kg & 83 cm tall, hhehe. Btw, I bet you didn't go home to observe if jordan's legs were curved right? ehhehe. ANyway yesterday I checked with PD. She said some babies may have curved legs but should straighten up after abt 2 yrs. So long...but rather relieved it's quite a normal thing.

zhuzhu
Oh my! Sorry to hear that. That's the one which hit Primadeli outlets right...it happens when food's contaminated. So how? Is he better now or still having diarrhoea? U on child MC?

cheezel
do you give yr baby half boiled egg?? I tot i remembered some mummies have ever given it to their kids.

cheezel
no leh..i dare not give him half boiled..always give him very well cooked egg

smalldreams
i think dat is the virus..his diarrhoea better lar..now the max he only poo 3 times..

my co. no child MC leh..

smalldream
oh yes .. i 4got abt checking :p Time flies .. our babies are all growing up so fast. Next time our discussion would be abt schools etc etc

zhuzhu
poor markus, i think not from egg ba can be transmit thru human too (i means the way we handling food).
huh ur company dun have family care leave?
i thought my co only give us 3 days very little.

hi, just sharing about cough. Yesterday I bought from chinese medical hall a "zhi ke tang" (stop cough soup). is sweet taste, like liang cha. also can buy the nan xing, bei xing, chuan bei etc to cook yourself. it works for my girl 5 year old.

zhuzhu,
did you feed your boy with egg? I have started giving him but not half-boiled yet.

Cheezel,
how is your backache? need recommendation for massage? I have very bad backache before and after preggie, after my masseuse did for me, now almost healed, maybe need to drink waist tonic to maintain later on.

zhuzhu
probably the chopping board used has the bacteria...and if you cut fruits for him on the contaminated board...that's a more probable source. Always separate chopping boards use for raw meat and fruits. Else use hot water to clean the board before use.

springdance, cheezel
my boy is under my MIL's care during daytime. Night time I take over....he's much better now. Thanks for your concern.

small dream
i didnt give half boiled egg. my sil did give my niece half boiled egg when she only 1 yr plus. but i dare not. prob when he is older ba.

jeanyard
my backache better. tis preg i more active ...prob cos need to take care of javen too. how abt trying HuiJi Bu Yao Jing? i had that after i give birth to javen. my bro also taking that for backache....find it not bad...but u have to take it frequently.

zhuzhu
agree. could be the way we handle food etc.whos taking care of markus during the day?

zhuzhu
sry to hear that markus is not well. Do take care.

jeanyard
U hv someone to recommend for massage? Me having bad backache....sobsob...

RE: Half-boiled egg
My PD did ask me to test half-boiled egg on bbK B4 her MMR jab but I seeked another PD's opinion cos I rem I read somewhere not to gib bbs half cooked food. True enough, this PD advise not to gib half-boiled egg cos it might spread to chix flu.

sgn
no leh..my co dun have family leave..only the govt required childcare leave lor..

Jeanyard
Ya did gave him egg...but its always cooked leh..

Cheezel
My MIL takes care of him daytime lor..I was just telling her PD said could be from chicken or egg..she said never give him these 2 things to eat b4..then i told hb..confirmed its her chopping board or the knife liao..today she told me he poo 4x leh..haiz..so heart pain

zhuzhu
maybe you need to replenish your boy's stomach's normal flora..so much pooing (plus antibiotics)might deplete him of the good stomach bacteria and make way for more Salmonella to grow..not to mention the lost of electrolytes (that can also cause more pooing). Check with your PD if can give him a bit of Yakult etc, or prescribe some Lactobacillus powder or electrolytes.

for the MMR jab, start ur child off with cooked egg yolk first. Egg white has more allergens...so if your kid is ok with the yolk then can move on to the white.

zhuzhu
now most company in sin do have family care leave, eg singtel is up to 5 days. can ask ur HR.

ya chopping board must scurb clean after each use.

mommy poh,
is it advisable to have pneumococal n MMR jab together?

is it true that after MMR got to advoid eggs content food?

sgn
my PD did ask me if I wan to have both jab together..one on each legs..but i said dun wan lar..cos like very painful to have 2 at the same time

Mummypoh
Ya hor..I will check with PD next wk when we go visit her again..

sgn
i try not to give both the jabs...not coz of the pain but more of if the child can handle 2 types of foreign "invasion" at the same time...it's like having cough and diahhorea. Both jabs will result in fever (MMR starts only after 5-7 days)...in that scenerio, the child cld be having fever for the full week straight (first from penumoococal then MMR)...very siong (for the child and parents too)

MMR has egg albumin in it so I don't see why we shld avoid egg after taking the jab. in case of overdose? keke...i still let my gal eat as per normal.

scrubbing the board only help to rid off some of the food bits but single bacteria can still multiply on the board...safest way is still to run thru with hot water before use (esp if the food is meant to be taken raw like fruits) Another thing that's often overlooked is the cleaning sponge...must change regularly...as it is a good breeding ground for bacteria too.

zhuzhu
usually if my gal poo too much (runny stool etc), i'll give her some Yakult or H2O isotonic drink. for your case, it's safer to consult PD first before doing that as Salmonella is quite a potent bacteria.

Mummypoh
ya..the PD was saying duno wat can become a carrier..or something..i was tellin hubby next time markus cannot be a chef..

was reading some of your post abt MMR and egg. Sorry can someone explain again? I don't seem to understand what you gals are talking about leh...and i'm concerned lor..cos MMR jab is dued soon..Anyone of you intending to delay it? You know all the talk abt MMR causing autism and all??

Mommypoh,
how are your two cuties? Are they better now?

zhuzhu,
mommypoh is right...did your PD give you the Lactobacillus? We were given this when Josh had sight diarrhoea some months back. I didn't even know the cause of it!

nellu
errr previously PD only give antibotics leh..nothing abt lactobacillus..today he poo 4 x again..
think maybe Mon must bring him got visit doc

zhuzhu,
sounds like it is a really bad bout. Do take care...make sure Markus is well hydrated.

did the PD advise on changing formula to soy-based one? Sorry maybe you've mentioned but i think i might have missed your post. i recall PD telling me to cut down on dairy products so i had to change the milk to soy-based. but of course i think if still bfdg, there is no issue.

zhuzhu
yup markus cannot be a chef next time if he's a carrier coz ppl working in the food industry has to be screen for Salmonella. i think you better bring him to KKH if he's losing too much fluid and not as active. They can prescribe him the Lactobacillus too.

nellu
#1 has recovered and #2 pox are dropping off. MMR vaccine is derived from egg so as a precaution, we need to intro egg to the child before they get the jab to see if they're allergic to egg products. If they're, then need to inform the immunisation clinic so that they don't give that jab. As for autism...the risk of getting Mumps, Measles, or Rubella is much higher than autism.

Nellu, MommyPoh

Gosh, This is the first time I've heard of MMR being linked to autism! What's the relation anyway (tho it does sound scary!). But then again many other kids have been MMR-ed but they're not autistic right?

zhuzhu
Isomil is quite thick I tot... Adam drank that also when he had diarrhoea.

Till date Adam has gotten tummy flu twice! I think it's coz he keeps putting stuff into his mouth. Sighs...

mommypoh
i don't think he losing dat much fluid..he still super active..

smalldreams
isomil taste quite bland i think..he drank 1 time when he was super hungry..the next morning i give him..he refused to open his mouth

my bb's cough developed into runny nose and fever...ai ya...all from me loh...

next time, i must really take care of myself...otherwise, pass to bb not good.

because she is sick so cant go for her GUG today...waste money also, each lesson, $42...errrr

zhuzhu
poor markus. is he feeling well now. everytime when our bb fall sick, the most heartpain is us. Remember to tell ur mil not to use back the chopping board that has been used to cut raw food to cut fruits etc for markus. throw away the current one now ba. its always good to rinse thru with hot water after washing the board to kill any bacteria. scrubbing with soap is definitely not enough.

Janet
u bought ur gal to GUG? hows the lesson? how much is te course? me thinking of letting javen attend some or such course after i give birth. now abit diff, cos my hubby workiing shift n if i alone, i cant catch up with him now. hes too active liao.

mommypoh,
thanks for the info on MMR jab and egg. no one told me that. Neither did the PD at our last visit.. hmm...

smalldreams,
there were some studies some years back that link MMR to autism. Cos autism is due to brain damage. The invasion of live viruses can potentially cause brain damage if the child's body cannot handle it. I think the arguement was that MMR is a vaccine of a combination of live viruses so it is very likely to cause complications.

But then, i checked with some of my dr friends. They all told me that the risk is very low. can trust them lah...cos they are my classmates from way back in primary school. :D...better than asking some pd or gp who may have the agenda to earn more $$...

cheezel, zhuzhu,
i agree with cheezel. I'm very kiasu abt knives and chopping boards. I got a lot at home for different things... only my MiL will use the big chopper for everything on an old fashioned wooden chopping board and always never wash properly and never dry properly before plonking it into the cabinet!

cheezel
he is pretty alrite lar..today only poo 1x...already told my MIL to change her chopping board...I offered to buy for her..she said she wans to buy herself..I just throw away mine also..quite paranoid now..everytime i want to give him food or drink..i keep washing my hands..told hb my hand is going to be sooo dry..

zhuzhu
how's markus?

janet
did u bring ur girl to the pd?

so angry today..hubby n i took our girl out shopping today. then saw this young boy( think abt 3 or 4 yrs old) wandering abt..with his mother nearby. i saw him dashed to one couple's stroller to touch the toy so i was on standby mode already..true enough when we walked past, he dashed over to my girl in her stroller n reached out his hand to hit her! lucky i was faster n used my hand to push his face away so he cannot reach my girl! so angry! i glared at the boy and turn to look at his mother. but she clearly looked away and ignored his son's a antics!!! what kind of mother is this??? if he had hit my girl i think i would have slapped him!#@%$^$@

zhuzhu

so how's markus? hope he's feeling better. Hey you know right that there are anti bacterial chopping boards being sold? but they cost quite a bit of $$!

nellu

yups, suppose you can trust yr dr friends, since they're friends, and not a GP or PD you see once in a while. With regard to chopping boards, never wash properly at least still not too bad, but just keeping it without drying is the perfect ground for germ breeding!

Janet

Aww I hope yr gal is better. It's so heart breaking to see them have the sniffles right? U must eat Vit C too okie! btw, u mean GUG doesn't refund if you don't go? At least can make up for it another time?

wonderbaby
Goodness that boy is quite a mischief, ey? Lucky you manage to shield yr baby. But then again, I think the mom is very helpless already - don't know what to do abt her son. sometimes i worry Adam would be like that too. Already now 1 yr old, so mischievious! But i hope he won't cause much disturbance to others...sighs...

Wonderbaby,
during javen 1st brithday celebration. We bought him to the swimming pool in the club for a swim. Theres this boy come over to play with Javen….n soon he was gurping water into his mouth and spatting it out. I notice it and when I saw him spat into javen face I was very angry and told him str , he cant do it. I look ard and saw his mother standing there looking. But not too sure if she explain to him after that. After this, I bring javen to the other side of the pool and keep him away fr the boy. I was fumming inside.

Another occasion, I was bringing Javen for a walk ard the neighbourhood and we walked past a basket ball court. Theres 2 boys runnning ard the basket ball court, spatting saliva onto the floor…..doing it on several areas. We walked past and I keep quiet when he did tat near us. When I walked past, I squat down n told javen he cant do that next time, as its very rude and unhygeniene. I turn back and saw the boys mother standing there watching the boys did tat. I shook my head and continue our walk.

Not necessary 2 jabs at same visit will cause fever. jboy juz had his chic pox n pnuemo few weeks back, he was ok.

wonderbaby
some x really is the parents we shld be angry abt .. i mean, wat does the young kids know, but it's the parents responsibility to teach their kids rite .. hiaz. .