(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

nellu,

she doesn't like tofu as i heard from my mum. i will try to check tonite whether is it molar erupting. now front she has 8 teeth...

cheezel,

gained 5kg so far liao...i gained only abt 3.5kg at this stage the last round. total weight gain last preg was less than 12kg and i hope to keep it that way loh... but at this rate, i doubt so...

how long did u manage to use the infant car seat for javen? coz even if u can use up till 8 mths, javen will still be too young for the booster seat leh... thats why i also headache. think the maid i get must be really petite...hahahahaa...

aiyoh, javen also like that huh? i think teething must be really uncomfortable. I wonder by which age will all their teeth be complete?

jeanyard, congrats! I think I know the pain is unbearable....for myself, first child 6 hours labour, second child, 3 hours. Very scary, if really third child, does it mean 1.5 hours??

lovedogs, maybe u can try vacuum the mattress, suck out whatever dust first, before using. change cover yes, but bb will breathe the whatever from beneath/within the mattress.

hey, is it many people here work raffles place area? can we get together for lunch?

lovedogs
my first preg i gain almost 10kg at this time now. so hope this time dun gain so much wor. else going to have a hard time shedding off after birth.

Javen now has 6 teeth. think 4 erupting....not3..saw one just now. but today he finish up his porride....dunno what happen. but his frequent night waking is still happening. Hope tonight will be better.

Dunno when will all their teeth be completed too....my 2 yr old niece is currently teething also....eruption of her molar teeth at the back.

i change his car seat when he's abt 6 months. too cramp to sit in liao. I change to maxi cosi car seat for him. HUbby say prob the car seat shift to the front seat and infant at the back. But i do agree.....it will still be crampy in the car after tat.

cheezel
but if the front passenger side has airbag then cannot..then how? put one on left one on right at the back seat? wah next time when i hv 2, i have to squeeze between 2 carseats! n hv to keep removing one of them to get in and out? hehehe

Wonder_baby,
yes, I think I will be like you too. squeeze between 2 car seats, and removing one of them...hahah...

but lucky my bb is better with the car seat now. in fact, every time we get in teh car, she will climb into the seat. at times, for short distance, I have to even ask her not to sit...apparently, she found that it is so much 'fun' to sit into the car seat..previously, I have a hard time, getting her to sit in the car seat, half way through, always have to remove and i carry. now it is better.

Ris,
Springdance, myself and sgn work quite near to raffles place. I dont mind joining you for lunch sometime. hee hee

Ziying,
my bb is better now, she now prefers both my mum and me...so not as bad as last time. I believe it is because every day i fetch her home from my mum's and play with her, make her laugh until finally is her bed time. Could be quite tiring at times, but she has since grown to like me too...you could try and play with her more.

ziying,

my bb now sleeps at 9.30pm, she used to sleep at 8+pm, but she has since changed her habits.

I dont wake her up in the morning when i send her to my mum's. I will just carry her in her sleep to the car..and let her sleep in my arm while on the way there.

So sometimes, she could still be sleeping when she reaches my mum's place.

In the day time, she naps for 2-3hours...I think shd be enough lah...but unfortunately, like me, she at such a young age, also has dark eye rings...

janet
haiz..my girl still screams and cry each time i put her in the car seat
how many naps does your girl take in the daytime?
my nightbird sleeps at 10.30-11+pm. 2 naps of a total of 2-3 hours too during the day time

ris,

i work in raffles place! Serene as well. springdance is nearby. sure i am good for lunch

cheezel,

poor javen... tess is not waking up at nite but she is still not eating her porridge leh.... headache
rice also dun wan. see the porridge or rice will shake her head immediately and push away the spoon. Once she sees cereal or milk, she can't wait for it and smile! kept signalling for milk yday according to my mum

for the carseat, I am hoping to get another 1 for tess.. hope can find a "slimmer"one. My current one is britax royale safe & sound. It is a convertible from newborn to 4 yrs old. SO i think i will use that for the newborn and buy 1 smaller one for tess. hope can fit 2 car seats and 1 slim passenger behind. Tess also sits behind in her carseat herself. We do not accompany her to sit behind.

Wonderbaby,

if u plan for ur number to arrive when ur elder one is about to turn 3, u shd not have this problem. as when child hits 3 yrs old, they shd be able to go on booster seat which doesn't take up space in the car.

wonder_baby
ya lo. if front got airbag then have to put 2 at the back.

javen aslo has 2 naps during the day. one at 10 plus another at 2or 3 plus. and he sleep ard 8.30pm every night. wake up ard 7 plus.

lovedogs
how abt trying bread pudding? bread+milk+egg and then put into microwave or steam.

prob she jsut dun like porridge or rice now. how abt trying mee sua or macoroni?

lovedogs
tessa is such a good girl. can sit behind quietly..ya hoh! planning for another one when my girl is abt 2. so by the time come out should be 3..so shouldnt be a problem..silly me..hehehe

i feel very frustrated too each time when it's time to feed her porridge. she takes a really long time and only eats half a bowl. she will either not open her mouth or will 'leave' her porridge in her mouth for a very long time. and very often she 'leave' till want to vomit. haiz.. tried cooking mee sua and pasta for her but it is worst..maybe will try the bread pudding..but issit balance coz no vege and meat?

cheezel,

she used to love meesua. however, now also spits out and hate it...cham...

can u give me more instructions on how to make the bread pudding please? How much milk? do i tear the bread into smaller pieces? 1 whole beaten egg? is it FM milk or can i use full cream milk? pai seh, i nvr make before... thank you

wonderbaby,

she used to finish 1 big bowl of porridge, meesua etc... problem started only Sunday.....

nellu - chickenpox at 5 mths? so poor thing...any scars? kind of worried abt my gal. I had chickenpox at the grand old age of 27...even tot I might be immune to it. the scars were bad...so really hope that baby skin heals better.

cheezel, lovedogs - really tough to lose post-pregnancy weight gain...more so after #2...coz where to find time to go work out.
Typical daily routine: after work, rush home to BF baby, take late dinner, play with #1 a while then it's bedtime for all. dinner also hasn't fully digested yet. I put on 6kg after returning to work.
can be really depressing at times...the post-pregnancy weight gain not yet addressed, and new kgs piled on.
hope you ladies have a easier time than me....

wonderbaby,

she has 8 teeth now... can't see her back whether got molars erupting as she refuses to open her mouth...

mommypoh,

really huh? for the 1st preg, i did not do any workout...juz as per normal and i lost all my preg weight gain by the time i return to work...so abt 12 weeks... will 2nd preg make it harder since i am gaining more than 1st preg? *worried* I am somemore who loves to eat and do not exercise.... cham...even got time and will not do exercise kind...

lovedogs,
Tess so good ah? I still need to sit at the back with my bb, in case she started crying.

Wonder_baby,
my bb last time didnt like to sit in car seat. Apparently one day while belting her in, i played a game with her. So she found the game so funny, now every time, she gladly climb into the seat and want to play the game. So she associates the game with the car seat, hence like to sit in it now.
For a start, maybe you can routinely decide on one day of the week to put your bb in the seat. Then one day a week, slowly increase to two days a week, so on and so fro. should be able to success. All the best.

My girl only takes 1 nap a day.

Cheezel,
Javen gets a lot more beauty sleep. Good for him. no wonder my bb has dark eye rings, maybe still not enough sleep...

janet,

coz i think we din create it as a habit loh... think from 2 or 3 mths onwards, we leave her alone behind liao... initially was to try out first...then now we just do that. She used to it. now will be busy looking outside and talking. I will talk to her when there is red light.... i have to do that coz there are many times where i or hb will be alone and driving her. If she is used to have company behind, in those scenarios how to ferry her? so bo pian and started early to cultivate this habit.

janet
can share what king of game u played?

lovedogs
actually i've also started putting my girl in the car seat since 2 mths old but she still hates it

lovedogs

Bread Pudding
1) 2 slices of bread
2) 1/2 egg
3) 50ml milk
4) 1/2 tsp of sugar (if u wan, but i dun add)

Optional
5) finely chopped vege (for healthier meal)

cut the bread into small pcs (~1cm cubes), beat the egg and mix all ingredient well. pour into heatproof dish and cook in microwave for 3 mins.

does Tessa like potato? how abt mash potato with mashed fish meat, vege. stir in some chicken/pork/vege stock to make it less dry. I let javen eat when he not feeling well and doesnt take in porridge well.

How abt sweet potato porridge? or pumpkin mixed with potato?hmm....or egg yolk vege porridge?

mommypoh
after my 1st preg...i already find it diff to shed off the last 6-8kg. not say abt 2nd preg. eh...but u do lose quite a lot of wt le as compare to when you just give birth. keep it up. can see the result liao!!

janet
u very funni. ur bb got dark ring?

lovedogs
I made bread pudding for Markus as a tea snack for him...

I don't cut the bread..just use my fingers to tear up the bread..then 50ml of FM with egg lor..i don't add sugar cos milk already abit sweet..

wonder_baby,
I smell and blow her sole. bb found it so funny and kept on laughing and lifting her leg for me to blow...so now, she loves to climb into the seat and lift her leg for me to blow. But may have some bad points as like what lovedogs said, she may not learnt to be independent, meaning, you have to keep on playing the games.
For me, I will sometime sit back, so that she will look outside instead of always playing the game. So now, we only play once in awhile, but she still loves to sit in the chair...maybe can work lah...you can give it a try.

cheezel,
really my bb has dark eye rings.
see whether you can tell from this photo.
1515884.jpg

lovedogs
you're probably the fortunate few that has high metabolism rate. I am the kind that even by breathing air and drinking water only will also put on weight.

cheezel
my recent 7kg loss comes with effort...i know my main downfall is dinner so I either have it really early in office (6 plus) or eat like a mouse at home. now that i stopped BF (no need to rush home to feed), I started using gel and sauna treatment..though not that frequent but that helped with the water retention bit...

janet
it's probably becoz ur baby's eyes are a little deep-set so it cast a shadow below. don't worry..I'm always lack of sleep (esp after having kids) but no dark eye rings. I read somewhere that dark eye rings are caused by poor circulation and nasal problems (other than genetic predispostion lah)...not really due to lack of sleep. so it's gd to do the eye massage every now and then to improve circulation (like those Pri sch kids do in school)

my #2 went for the Young Parents Coverlooks photo taking recently and during the choosing of shots, the photographer said he'll touch up the eyebags to make the photo better. I was like...huh...1 yr old only.....have eyebags? am now just waiting for puberty-induced pimples to join the "party"....

mommypoh,

hahhaa...i also noticed sometimes my gal got dark circles leh... esp when she missed her naps.... how's the photo? any to share from the coverlooks?

cheezel,

thanks so much for the recipe. do u use FM or whole milk? btw, i am really stupid coz i dunno how to make mash potato as well. tessa eats anything before last sunday leh.... then sunday suddenly all changed! now she also refuses to drink water. i just hit her hand many times when she pushes the bottle away in the morning. she cried and i squrt the water into her mouth. she still can spit out. gek sim. But i shouted at her and told her to sit still and not to move. she really sat there on the sofa. So i think they already start to understand that we are disciplining them. but next moment hor, forget liao

zhuzhu,

oh so u use FM... ok, i will try with FM. will try it tmr.... thanks

cheezel
thx for the recipe

lovedogs
juz steam the potatoes then mash n add milk. my girl used to love her cereal a lot but for the past few weeks she also rejected
when u feed tessa rice, how do you cook the meat and vege? any soup? my girl has 7 teeth.wonder whether she'll eat rice..but so far she rejected even mee sua.
today i cooked abc pasta in soup for her..hope she eats

janet
i dont see any dark rings

re: dory fillet
i remember seeing those frozen dory fillets somewhere..do you all think it's ok for baby to eat? was thing easy to flake and can steam with bread pudding or eggs or make baked fish

lovedogs,
dont hit tessa lah, she so cute.
be patience with kids. I remember the last few times, I gave my bb solid food, she also didnt want. I fed until angry. i didnt hit her because she wouldnt know. Instead i bang on the table. my bb looked at me, a second later, she also bang on her high chair table. That is when i realised whatever we do, kids will learn very fast, I dont want bb to be like me ie, bad temper. So from then on, I seldom scold, hit or shout at her. if she is really naughty, I will firmly say a 'no', and turn away from her. She knows that this is serious, and she will quietly come back to me.

If Tessa doesnt want to drink and eat, maybe it is really the teething. Have you tried the suggestion on teething gel, how about different methods of feeding water, ie, using spoon, straw, cup, bottle, or give juice, or give rice water, etc. sorry, can only suggest these few from my little knowledge. enjoy tessa, dont let the mood takes you, remember the second baby can hear you too! :)

mommypoh and wonderbaby,
thanks, I will try massaging my bb eyes then..of course, can only do this when she is asleep...hee hee

lovedogs,
I also feel that tessa hair is not long. Just right for a girl. If you feel her fringe is long and getting into her eyes, maybe just cut the fringe, good enough.

lovedogs

yeah i think babies know we're disciplining them already. But it only works if we're consistent! I'm the firm one, but the male persons in my family (eg, baby's dad, grandad & great-grandad) are weak and give in to baby. Tsk tsk.

Janet
can't spot the eyebags at all. But u noe what? My hubby's side, they all seem to have natural eyebags. And I think my kid has inherited this facial feature... haiz... Hmmm, how abt putting some cucumber on baby's eyes? Hur hurr...

Btw, anyone here using a quinny zapp? Been thinking of getting one, but always changed my mind in the end. Now, am thinking of getting one, 2nd hand though.

zhuzhu, cheezel
the bread pudding, you need to bake it right? Silly me for not buying a microwave oven with convection baking features!

lovedogs, cheezel,
i put on slightly more wt for 2nd preg compared to 1st thou i did not eat much more. 1st was 9kg, ash born 3.2kg. 2nd was 13kg, cher oso born 3.2kg. but i lost them all n is even lighter than my pre-preg wt now. 2nd preg i lost d wt much faster as i tbf n oso d stress n tiredness of having 2 kids. but i m one w high metablosim rate loh.

lovedogs,
i put in my clean finger to feel cher gum. to my shock, 5 teeth are erupting at d same tx, no wonder d crankiness, drooling n lost of appetite. not to worry abt hunger, lack of nutrients etc.. is a phase/stage, wld pass.

janet,

i nvr hit her on food. coz i worried they will choke. but she is willing to eat the EYS brownrice with pumpkin today... i bought fish porridge from crystal jade and plan to feed her for dinner later...

as for water, she refused to drink since born... hiaz.... i can't be feeding her sweet drinks everytime... i am wondering at which age we can use cane?

smalldreams,

my hb always refused to be the "bad" guy too. so he nvr really wants to feed her water coz he knows she wont like it. all the "bad" work always i have to do. hiaz

fed chloe soup with abc pasta..it was so messy! dripping everywhere..how do you all feed?

smalldreams
can steam also

lovedogs/sanrio
both of u so thin, dont hv to worry ant putting on weight

wonderbaby
Use a deeper spoon, tats wad I do but someX I oso use normal tsp. When bbK open mouth den quickly put it in lor. I normally add in meat, vege & egg wif the soup base.

Lovedogs
I use FM. I didn’t add sugar too cos didn’t really like the idea. Can steam fish, carrot, n vege like brocolli, potato and then mashed them up. Then add in some soup or stock cos potato can be quite dry…..add till its like wipped potato from KFC…depending on if Tassa prefer more watery paste or drier one.

Prob Tassa is teething now n more picky with the food she wants to eat. Dun worry abt tat.

How abt feeding water to tessa in different way, like using spoon or use ur cup to feed her. Javen like to use my cup and drink like how adult drink….so I bought him a small cup and he use that when he having meal. Or sometime when I drink yakult, he also wanna drink. So I keep the bottle and pour in water for him n let him drink like how I drink. He also like it even though its only water.

Janet,
I cant see the eye bag on ur bb le……ur bb fair fair hor.

Wonderbaby,
Normally I dun put in too much water when cooking the ABC pasta or if theres too much soup, I will scope out the ABS pasta into a bowl and then add just sufficient soup..not too watery else very messy. Just like a little bit of those watery porridge type.

wonderbaby,

same as cheezel, i don't add a lot of soup when making the abc pasta. so mainly she is eating the pasta only so it was easier to feed.

cheezel,

yes got try to use cup etc... still same. sometimes when she finds drinking from cup fun, she will drink from it but most will flow out. but when she refuses water, watever method (including spoon) also cannot. good idea on the yakult, let me try

lovedogs
one way to prevent the water from flowing out is to fill the cup almost full of water and try not to tilt the cup too much...this way with the cup full, doesnt need to tilt the cup too much, she can actually drink much more without spilling. i used to spill quite a bit of water when i feed javen till i saw what my hubby did. quite effective.

sgn
can save te thread in ur favourite. one click n you are here in the thread even though it went missing.

lovedogs
oh bb learn very fast. now i beat (not very hard)ky whenever he is naughty n when i ask him how mummy beat beat, he will show u how i beat his arm. yesterday we were at ntuc n misbehave himself there, i beat him n he just keep quiet n keep still for a while. they are very clever creature lor must teach the correct way then they will learn.

tok abt beating..i intend to buy a cane to standby liao..not to cane him..but just to scare scare him only..

small dream
the bread pudding no need to bake..just microwave it for 3 min can liao..

Just bought bb for the chix pox jab..doc recommend him not to drink Friso..switch to Simlac Soy milk 1st...then monitor for a while b4 swtiching back to Friso..

tomolo going to bring his stool for testing

oh i just went to JL expo this afternoon..they got quite a no. of bb items this time..it just like another JL in the east...but whether is it cheaper than the one in the town..not sure lor..

made bread pudding using 1 pcs of bread instead of 2 and added some chopped carrots and brocolli but my girl only ate half
think she's too lazy to chew

zhuzhu

wow, you're quite fierce huh, use cane to scare him? hehe... For me, similar to sgn, I'll tap his hands if he's naughty but only if it's hard he'll understand. in Malay we call it "Pok". But u noe, if we tell him we'll "Pok" him, he'll be the one who comes to "Pok" us! *headache*

Btw zhuzhu, I walked past the JL sale yesterday but too crowded so didn't buy. Can't imagine the Q at the cashier! But I did see plenty of baby items.

wonder_baby
Heys, I think half a bowl is still quite good. If my boy, I think he'll only eat 3-4 spoonfuls. such a small eater...

smalldreams
hey u r wrong i really beat with little force ok if not he wound't register in his mind. sometimes his still can smile at me!

hapybaby
looooooong time no see. u means all ntuc having huggies ultra sales?