(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Karen
Where are you??? Looking for you.

Hapybaby,
that you have found a wonderful nanny. My nanny did not try or offer to cook for YX (even when I wake up early in the morning, go market and rush home to cook porridge then rush to work) and somemore took him to the clinic last friday with her DIL without informing me until I called to ask how she's feeling today. My nanny fell sick since Monday till now and we decided to just let my mum take care for the time being till end of the month before I take over (clearing my leave). I Heng she say she refund me the money for this whole month cause her DIL giving birth next week or two le. Now busy shuttering to and fro my mum's place

Janet,
Is the annebel's recipe book the same as the "First Foods Book" sold online here? Are we talking about the same book?
kao_confused.gif

cool daughter,
No, banana and avocado, both cannot freeze. So what I did previously for banana was I cut some out for my baby and the rest of the banana I ate. So that is why I am not too keen on eating the remaining avocado...extremely high in fat, although good fat, but still fat.

Pisces Gal,
no, the books are different. Authors of 'First Foods' are local. I bought Annabel Karmel book from Borders. An Ang Mo extremely popular for baby recipes. The book that I bought is New Complete Baby & Toddler Meal Planner

<font color="ff0066"> Taro</font>

i oso find her a bit 'cute' loh, she tell me dun add $50, just go n buy fish/meat she cook, its only later then i realise she scared we tink she 'eat' the $50 so we tell her its ok, if got extra she can keep, not enough, tell us we pay her back.

cuz she cook everyday mah, easier for her to go buy than me go market everyday. den she dun like it when i buy 1 week supply fish/meat for her, she say not fresh wo.

yday she even showed me the soup she cook, say 'good stuff' say she dun anyhow cook one, and that in future when Avy bigger, wat she cook, wat Avy eat, which i'm ok, since home cooked food better mah.

initially she say cereal will do, porridge wait till 8mths, den who knows she herself started fish porridge without telling me, so since she started liao, i gave her another $50 from this mth onwards.

she said she cook twice a day for Avy, not morning cook 2 servings, she say not good, so will cook 2 portions separately for my gal. i tink really must count my blessings loh. to get a good nanny. again, God is fair, i dun have maid/mum/mil help but i got a good nanny tat treats Avy like her own grand-daughter loh.

we shall see, in the following months to come, see if she really get $$ from me should the $50 prove to be insufficient. :p

ay, good idea!!

then solve ur problem as well as ur headache of having to 'pro-rate' or refund wo, good good!

<font color="ff0066"> Pisces Gal</font>

i stay Sengkang.

Taro's nanny and mine gotten thru the same agent.

u need nanny too? ur maid oso v good to ur bb right?

All,

Who has foreign maid with you now? My maid said she missed home, and doesnt want to work already. I am with Nation. So difficult to find another suitable maid. Any recommendation?

Janet
Of coz I rememberbut horI tot we arrange to meet at 1pm?

Hapybaby
Any idea whether she steam the vege separately or put inside the porridge to cook together? Your nanny sure is diligent.. will cook separately 2 times for Avynormally many will just cook more in the morning and give for 2 feeds.

Cheezel
So your actual home is in Punggol lor? Looks like really a lot of mummies stay SK/Punggol/AMK area Juz curious as me not familiar with this area, can I know whether it is more convenient to travel to the East or West part of Singapore from this area?

By the way, your baby can crawl yet?

Janet,

Thanks for clarifying about the books. However, I thought local will be better, right? More suitable for our culture
. I also got my maid from Nation. Which branch are did u get your maid from?

<font color="0000ff">hapybaby,</font>
All I can say is that not all maids are that perfect after all - long story
nono.gif
. May I know which agent did u get your nanny from so that I can cover my own "backside" if anything happens. Good agent or not ya?

Taro,
Just a thought, if ur nanny's DIL give birth, then will the nanny focus more on her own grandchild and neglect YX a not?.. Must take note hor.. Last time that's what happened to my fren's bb. The nanny became selfish, and started carrying, sayanging on her own grandchild, and neglected my fren's bb...

Janet
I suppose Anabel advises banana & avo shldn't be frozen coz both turns dark when cold. Did she explain why?

On Maid, mine is an Indonesian. I almost killed her last nite for cutting ALL Faith's nails till almost bleed. She is not allowed to touch Faith's barang in basket in the first place. Besides I just trimmed them last weekend.

Jean
Do u want Clarins tonic oil? I use less than 10% then kept in dark cabinet.

* Cupcake Deco Class is full.

Janet
I suggest you have a talk with your maid first - the reason why she came to SIN to work in the 1st place. Since its cos of money, she should continue to work and once contract is up, she can happily go back to her hometown and accomplish the things she wants to. But then if she sounds negative, I suggest u send her back. Cos if this carry on, watever chore she does will not be 100% effort put in and thus create more probs lo... My maid from Indo. I ever heard your agent's name is apparently not highly recommended in forum (when preggie days), but I forgot who mentioned. Are you still paying her loan? If yes, then gotta check how is the agent gonna settle since loan paid halfway. If not, things are much easier.... If u need my agent's ctc, I can PM u. So far, thank goodness, my maid is still ok. Hopefully will stay in this way.. Keeping my fingers crossed.

any of you bought the books "Feed your child right" and "First Food", which are featured in Sg motherhood main page? Any feedback?

<font color="ff0066"> SpringDance</font>

er, ur question hoh re vegetables hoh, let me ask her tonight. :p

can only say dun judge a book by cover, to think i even told HB i dun like tis nanny (judging from 1st impression) and even contemplated looking for a new nanny then. :p

did u ask Nanny if its ok for her to cook for YX since i tot its the norm?

else it will be v tiring for u leh, morning go marketing, prepare, cook, bring over etc.

is the Nanny staying near ur place?

<font color="ff0066"> Ziying</font>

i bought "First Food", v simple to understand & follow recipes, lots of colourful pictures.

i read "Feed Your Child Right" in Times bookstore more cheem leh, n more wordy.

hapybaby,
you bought thru the website or u buy from Bookshop? Just checking, is the price cheaper if I purchased thru the online form or in Time bookstore? I am thinking of buying since I dunno what to cook for baby..hehe

Babywiz,
Thanks for reminding. I'll take note of that.

Hapy,
She's staying nearby. I did hint to ask her to prepare porridge for YX but she diam diam and smile only. You must keep your nanny lei. She's really good lor. Now with my nanny's grandson coming along, may have to have a backup plan le.

<font color="ff0066"> Ziying</font>

Times Bookshop selling "First Food" @ around $27 so u should order thru SMH cheaper by $5.

same goes to "Feed Your Child Right" but savings around $3 only.

but when u interview ur Nanny, did u touch on the topic when baby starts cereal/porridge?

keep my nanny ah, i tink she's ok lah, tat day her ex-employer came to visit her, wanna her baby sit her #3 den my nanny decline. HENG AR, i tot she wanna baby sit both Avy and this #3 and 'hinting' to me so i asked her is it she wanna baby sit #3 den she say no lah, 1 is enough, baby sit Avy 'play play' enough le, she say another baby she cannot handle.

hapybaby
where can we get the 'first food' outside? they teach us to prepare bb's food till what age?

yes, local authors would usually be more relevant to our context. But because I know all those authors on a personal basis, so if i spent money buying their book, somehow feel not worth it...hee hee, my mentality.

Let me check whether the book explains why cannot freeze. But usually when cannot freeze, may mean also cannot keep. Is the same thing explain in 'First Food'?

My Nation outlet is at Hougang Green. My maid works until finished the loan already then said doesnt want to continue. The agent also talked to her, but she insisted on going home. Actually go also ok lah...she is not very good. it is that have to go thru the searching process that is frustrating. IF you have good agent, can PM me?

Spring dance,
I wrote a following email to arrange for 12.30pm, because I need to rush for another meeting at 2pm. Can you make it? otherwise, we could arrange for another date.

<font color="ff0066"> Pampers Active (Purple)</font>

Just for reference.

Went Cold Storage during lunch time and saw 2 packs of M (66 pieces) or L (60 pieces) selling @ $45.85 which is cheaper than current NTUC promotion of $46.75.

3 packs of XL (38 pieces) will be $45.85 as well.

Cold Storage promotion ends 20th November while NTUC promotion ends 30th Novemember.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Posting on Behalf of DylanMummy</font></font>

<u><font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">BABYMALL SPREE #1</font></font></u>

Shipment already reach CGW US. Now on the way to Singapore. Will reach here 4~6 business day. She will update the table once i rec'd CGW charges.

<font size="+1"><u><font color="119911">BABYMALL SPREE #2</font></u></font>
Those who wish to join spree #2, please pm DylanMummy (Karen) your Orders.

So far Orders taken for Spree #2 are namely
- Blueblue
- Moxi
- Naqia

hapybaby
i just wonder how ur nanny manage to cook n look after avy cos my nanny says bb always wants to carry n she very bor eng. how to cook for bb next time. nanny always alone at home with bb only.

Taro
can complaint to bbnany? my hb's colic ever complaint that adrain till xiao as the nanny not good!

<font color="ff0066"> SGN</font>

i oso dunno how she manage her time leh, she say before we bring Avy to her every morning (8am) she will cook 1st serving of porridge using her mini slow cooker else nt soft enough for 11am feed. den i guess 8am we reach, feed her cereal and FM Avy koon liao den she do her things bah.

she even cook dinner everyday de hoh! and ya same complaints, she oso say Avy always want her to carry ALOT make her v boh eng.

this morning oso mah, Avy v gan cheong, see her open the gate only body lean forward want her carry already!

night when we pick her, i'll carry Avy and Nanny wanna carry her she oso want nanny. i tink its ok lah, shows Nanny loves her else Avy wouldn't want her liao. so in a way i v 'fang xin' loh.

den she have Avy's gong gong (her HB) to help carry bah, and her DIL and son (working shift so some days he will be at home) den afternoon her grandsons off school and home another 2 pairs of hands to jaga bah, my guess lah.

i oso lazy mum wat.

till now, i only fed her instant cereal. nothing else.

puree pumpkin n avocado is Avy's Gan-Ma give one loh. i lagi guilty.

to think in the past, i will steam brocolli + carrots + salmon/mutton and blend all the veggies for Snowy to eat, every Sat and Sun hoh, now i'm not so hardworking even for my own daughter loh.

hapybaby
heng lor, as my nanny's hb also help to swing my bb to sleep while she cook dinner at 8pm. bb doesn't want nanny's daughter ley. she put bb in the walker or yao lan n do work like keeping clothes while raining n sterlizing bottles for me which bb cries n cries, ai ya my son also hum bao n knows how to fake crying!
more n more ppl asking me'boy or gal' oh no! bb ky looks like gal!

Avy oso fake cry a lot. haha. tat day she hold the sides of playpen stand up and walk a few steps den humpty dumpty fell down and fake cry den her 'Gong Gong' gan cheong aiyoh aiyoh sayang den she ok, v fake loh!

good mah, bbKY look like gal, #2, #2, #2!!

springdance
i read that it is mmore nutritious to steam the sweet potato/spinch separately then only add into the porridge

janet
ya i noticed that the avocado turn colour after freezing

Hmm .. so fruits puree cannot freeze, what kind of puree can keep in fridge? Me going to get the bb cubes from Springdance today, juz wondering how I can make gd use of it

PLUS .. (actually this is the real reason), freeze puree easier, no need make everytime .. haha.

Janet,
I understand your frustration. My ex maid also want to go back due to home sick. Sianz hor. ..

Pisces,
I used Fancl slimming products. but now overstocked, cannot use. I got the Ameda from sil. you must drink a lot of water to get milk supply and pump both sides at the same time. pump every 3hrs, regardless day or night, then will have LOTs of milk.
if you pass by my place at cck, can drop off the pads cos I seldom go kallang.

Hapy,
I read on the milk tin it says bb must have 4 FM per day, I find this difficult and usually ended up with 3.5 feed.
haven't started Cookie on porridge yet cos the grannies are too lazy to cook!

knottsy,
I don't know anything abt teething but it will be a long process.

yoyo,
think I got hong sim like mummies here. don't feel like working. today on mc but don't feel that sick after seeing doc.
now thinking of switching career. any job that pays well but work 9 to 5 only?
mine's 24hr on call...

Ambery,
poor Faith, are her nails ok?
thanks for the Clarins offer but I used 1 bottle per month last preg and still ended up with stretchmarks. so won't apply so diligently now.

<font color="ff0066"> wonder</font>

now she's on 240ml (4 scoops) of Similac.

<font color="ff0066"> jeanyard</font>

i have never really follow the instructions on the tin cuz i find she can't really finish full feed if i follow. so each time will be around 3-4 hours (sometimes 5 hours if she zz / plays and miss 1 hour) and water will be a bit more than recommended.

Jeanyard,

Oh my goodness!!! i was just browsing thru the archive and just got to know that you are PREGNANT!!!!

amazing lo you... hahaha... i still remember how it was meeting up when we were still preggy and when i visited you at your ward after cookie was borned!! seems like yesterday only, and now you preggy again!

i just told my hubby my May forum friend preggy again.. and he siad if i preggy now i will die right.. and i told him YES I WILL DIE!! ahahah.. cos can't cope lo!!

well whatever it is... CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

hapybaby,
it is 240ml of water, then you add the 4 scoops of powder right? So in actual fact, the final milk level is much higher than 240ml.

I found it difficult to apprehend. The volume of the milk will be so much. It will be more than 250ml, and the milk bottle marking only goes up to 250ml. So our baby is actually drinking more than a cup of milk. (one cup by volume is 250ml). Dont you find it amazing that at one go, a baby is supposed to drink as much as an adult?

<font color="ff0066"> Janet</font>

yes, 240ml water + 4 scoops, den final product will be more than 240ml.

and yes, she can finish it loh.

but i'm not amazed lah, she used to be able to finish 1 shot 180ml of plain water oso.

Hapybaby
Okie.. let me know tomolo after you have asked her tonight. Thx!

I still remember last time you were complaining about your nanny lucky you give yourself more time to find out about her good points and realise shes really not bad afterall.

So you intend to let her take care of Avy until how long?

WowSnowy so good life ehgot salmon & mutton to eat. :p

Wonder_baby
Yah I think steam separate is better coz can retain the nutrients.. but my MIL taking care of baby alone so I guess to cook vege & porridge separately is quite difficult for her. Have you started on porridge for your baby yet?

JeanYard
So you informed your boss that you are preggie yet?

If got such a good lobang with work from 9am to 5pm with high pay, think the person no need post on forum liaozcoz itll be taken up before the person type out. Hahah! :p

hapybaby,
So your baby must be chubby chubby, cute, cute one lah...

my baby not so chubby..i wish she can eat more..and put on more weight

cool_daugther,

When are u going to Hongkong? Very envy leh
. I am dying to step out of Singapore but difficult with this wa wa around!

janet
ur baby drinking so much too?
my baby's milk intake reduced even before i introduced solid.
9am - 4 oz of milk
12 - 2 scoops cereal and 2 oz milk
3 - 4 oz milk
6 - 4 oz milk
9 - 5 0z milk
then lately she has been vomiting out a bit after her feed somemore

springdance
hvnt started..u? i'm still introducing single food to her. so far only banana, cereal, apple and avocado. sweet potato's next and maybe potato and peas ..i'm thinking of introducing first then when start on porridge easier and can add anything

<font color="ff0066"> SpringDance</font>

yeah loh, in the PAST, snowy v good life de, every Sat and Sun and PH, i will steam mutton cubes / salmon, den flake the fish, cut the mutton into bize size pieces, steam brocolli and carrots, blend and mix with meat for him de, den twice a month will be scrambled eggs.

now ah, after Avy came, no more le, no energy.
so felt quite guilty towards snowy loh.

see Avy i lagi guilty, i treat her not as good as i used to treat snowy. but really no time loh.

nanny even 'liam' me last night say weekends i must oso cook 2 times (porridge) for avy. den i just nod nod nod.

as to let her baby sit how long ah, HB say no 'deadline' wo, as my intention is to send her to childcare but even then, still need someone to pick her, cook for her so will still need this nanny loh.

and given her age, i doubt she will wanna baby sit another newborn (my guess) so Avy might be her 'last' baby? i dunno oso.

wonder baby,
your baby very similar to mine lei....lately also have been very prone to vomitting. most of the time due to pushing too hard when passing motion. Then yesterday night, cough also milk comes out...aiyo...

no, my baby usually does not take a lot of milk. some more have to feed when she sleeps. She dislikes milk. that is why not very chubby loh...cannot meet my target!!

She drinks almost like yours except the bedtime feed. she can drink up till 220ml. And I still do the early morning feed (6am), feed her 150ml. For the early morning feed, even though she didnt cry for milk, I still feed her. Because i am afraid she will miss some of her milk in the day. Sometime, when she throws temper, she will not eat at 6pm...so I have to find other ways to increase her milk consumption...ie, me still having to wake up early to feed her loh.