(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

hi gal,

i believe the weight is gained by me... not due to bb leh... tonight got wedding dinner.... another round of feasting... :p

Lovedogs/Yoji, My MS still hv. ON and OFF.

Yoji, preggie women must AVOID ALL GINSENG RELATED STUFF THRU'OUT WHOLE PREGNANCY. Any words got "Sheng" is a NO-NO...

I dunno wats Maternity Towel and Blanket leh?

Hi lovedogs,

i also tend to put on weight easily and cant lose it after delivery. Some gals so lucky, don't put on much and can only see the huge tummy. Hee Hee!

Lovedogs,yy,
I thought first trimester no "Sheng" and second trimester must drink pao sheng but I don't know what is pao sheng here? Any other naming, is that call americian ginseng too?

Bb and placenta will start to weigh something around week 12-14 so its correct to put on weight...

hi celia,

this is my first child... so i dunno how much i will gain in total and whether i can loose them. i got this spa package where they offer 5 post natal wraps/massage etc.... abt $838 or something... u ladies think it is worth it?

lovedogs,

I only know receiving blanket, is the ready-sewn baby blanket with a good for bb's head. The last time, Mt Alvernia provided this. But otherwise, just need to prepare a bb blanket wide enuff to wrap him when exiting the hospital.

It's true that women of different countries or races practice differenct confinement rules. However, general rule of thumb is, each women's body is different in relation to the staple food and climate of the country.

For ang mohs living in foreign ctry, their place not as tropical and hence not as humid as ours. Theirs are drier. Hence, possible reason why they hv less chance of feng shi. And coz we consume different type of food, the effect is oso different.

In Singapore, across different races, the similar confinement rules wld be to eat confinement foods that allows you to expel the 'wind'. Malays/ Indian may take lots of spices. Chinese may be ginger.

The practice on 'not bathing' was oso carried forward from women in China. In China, they only have wells, ie cold water. And in Chinese TCM, cold water will introduce 'wind' into your bones, hence, they refrain from bathing altogether.

Here in Singapore, we're lucky to have hot showers, so that's a consolation. But Chinese TCM firmly believes that post-natal, the women's body is undergoing another round of change, and our pores are open. Hence, the advice not to blow fan/ touch water. We need to give it some time to close off.

Had an angmoh friend living in Singapore who recently gave birth here. She happily bathed in cold water when returned home. But suffered. Her blood flow was very very heavy , and had to be admitted back to hospital. She also complained that her whole body was aching very badly.

I guess this kindda reflects. Best to observe tradition with modern concept. Bathe, but in hot water and herbs.

hi littledan,

thanks for the explanation
may I know where to buy the blanket? heehee... juz KS abit... so can shop ard look see first. coz the hospital i will deliver does not provide all these stuff

hi celia

i was previously told can go for massage if its natural birth. if c-section then cannot liao... anyone know whether this is true?

also, normally how much does massage jamu lady costs? i think the spa charges very ex...

Lovedogs, for the massage session, how long is each session as you need to go 5times, right?

Celia, I heard Malay can do a better job. I hope to get some Malay to help and also do the "wrapping"...

Yoji/Lovedogs,
My SIL told me not to take Ginseng thru'out. Dunno leh... I KS abit, dun dare to touch. But I heard some gynaes will recommend and its alright.

LittleDan, well said. I do agree to believe old chinese tradition.

Hi lovedogs,

u can get the blanket with the hook from dept stores, shops selling baby stuff and even NTUC also sells it (NB: not all NTUC)

for C-section, gotta wait abit longer for the massage whereas natural birth can do it after delivery.

hi yoyo,

the package from rustic nirvana is :

$738 (promo for gleneagles customers)
5 day post natal home visits
includes : 5 post natal jamu massages
5 sea salt applications
5 herbal steamy wonders
4 overnight jamu wraps
5th day jamu wrap will be converted to additional 15 mins jamu massage
pls 5 baby massages
but must pay $80 transport to therapist

anyone knows how long after c-section then can do massage?

harlow yy,

i think better to be safe than sorry rite? Feng shi very torturing one leh...

lovedogs,

actually, i only used the receiving blanket once. Think you wld hv bought some bb blankets? Just fold it into triangle, with sharp point for bb's head. then wrap left to right. That' it liao lorz.

Lovedogs,
The package only special for Glen's customers? Actually see your package, quite extensive leh. Not bad. But abit costly.
You wanna take ah?

Littledan,
I know. My Mum last time didnt do a proper confinement last time, so now every time got arthritis and also feng-shi... Maybe cos our climate plays an impt part also. But SIN really too hot, cant imagine if we dont bathe for a month??

hi yoyo,

i dunno leh... sounds ex to me as well as i do now know market rate.

hoping that during next few months, can find cheaper lobangs...

Lovedogs, maybe you ask around first, dun commit.

Yoji, I never heard abt this. But I guess its best to find early if you wanna a massage lady..
But I also dunno where to find leh. I heard Malays are better.

yy,

dun be crazy hor. dun bathe or wash hair for a month a hotbed for disease.

can bathe lar. with hot water and herbs. and preferably do it in the day where there's sun lorz.

lovedogs, yy
Seems a lot of things to prepare and we still haven't got into the baby buying spree yet.

Littledan, Heee..... I also thot a month like too much liao.. But wats the best period???

Yoji, Lovedogs, Haz.... alot of things to plan. But best to buy bb stuff during sale..

yy,
I plan to get during the christmas SALE. That will be the Big Sale of the year right of the year.

yoyo
I think last tri u will be too tired to go shopping liao..2nd tri can start getting those bb stuffs...like wat Gal say..get it during Xmas sale..

Ladies, best time to buy bb stuff is during sale, so that you'll get abt 20% off. Don't have to get so early and don't overbuy, otherwise a lot of stuff will either be wasted or unused.

I paid abt $500 for the Malay jamu wrap..I think it was abt 6 massages and 6 wraps. Spa pkg definitely more ex, but more luxurious maybe? I did the massage/wrap abt 2 mths after delivery (wanted to make sure c-sec wound was ok).
Don't have to engage massage lady so early..usually available one cuz they can do a few a day, not like CL.

Ezann,
Er...kinda no MS but no appetite only lor. Heng this round i didn't put on 2kg every month. Else i think i'll faint...haha

Gal,
Eh...why 2 ratio i can't answer leh..sorry. The second scan is to check for nasal bone. The presence of this bone will make you more reassure its not down syndrome.

Littledan,
I had C-sect for my first gal...gynae say if go for massage must be at least a month later cos the wound not recover yet...so in the end i didn't take any massage at all

Re: blankets
I went to spotlight to get those kinda like felt materials. Then jus ask my mum to sew the seams and thats it...
I went JB to buy more metres since its so much cheaper there. There is certain things in JB are cheap...eg the baby bugs anti-slip mat for bathtub...here selling at S$19.90...JB selling RM$19.90.

I got one tip to share with all mummies which i find it is a good pratice. Newborns are very small and fragile right? So instead of those big bath tubs which they can't sit and too big...i use a little face tub to place her in to bath. Use my dinning table as a bath area so all things can place side by side. Let me post a photo to share to make this place more colourful.
564637.jpg

Meow, your bb is v cute. Thats a good idea to bathe bb.

Yoji/LoveDogs, uhmmmm then we gotta look out where got good X'Mas Sale liao... But sometimes will hv some good warehouse sale leh. But we gotta always flip the newspapers to look out...
If not, normal ones rather exp leh.

ZhuZhu, Ha........ Yeah hor..

Thanks ezann...i can post more hee...

Here's the kind of blanket i use...in future dun be like this blur mummy hor...see hospital always wrap BB in blanket..so reach home also wrap her tight in case she gets cold...in the end kanna heat rash all over her....poor thing..
564652.jpg

Meow, so in the end, wat u use to wrap your BB? I heard my MIL says must wrap BB tight cos their bodies are v warm and need warmth... ???

yoyo,

yah loh long john silver really is fish big piece...kfc one more flour than fish to me but kfc one crispy

hi Karen,

Can also email me the pics of receiving blankets too? i dunno what does it look like...

Knottsy, its been a long time since I eat LJS...

I just vomitted again - all the lunch just now.
Looks like MS getting worser every after meal.

Tks Knottsy. Yea, took wanton mee only.

Already sipped warm water, but too tasteless. I drink some sweet ribena, felt ok. Actually after I vomitted, I felt very much better leh. Dunno why?

yoyo,

yah becos the food all out liao so stomach not so bloated, that's why will feel better....
think u got to try eat half of the meal instead? at least may not be so full? and easier to digest..then if hungry again...take some food ...thumb of rule is to take small amounts...hmm think we are becoming like small children, eat small amts :p
i drinking starfruit juice...very thirsty :p heee

yy,
I think I don't see you online cuz I'm using a web based version. Maybe I try to add u in on MSN from home and see if it works.

want to ask whether is it normal that for pregnant will have a lot of wind in the stomach? do u know the reason why har? as i realised i release "gas" a lot of times everyday leh........