(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Yesterday, educated Mal on the "cane"...

I agreed that saying "Please do......" instead of "don't...." or "no" sounds better. But my dear son would act blur or look at us then still throw the thing....trust me....I tried...so yesterday, I cannot tahan...introduced him to his "new" best friend. We give warning & ask him not to throw. He look at us and throw, so we caned him. Then he tried again, we caned again. Then he starts to hesitate...& keeps the toys back to the original place...*TRIUMPH*

Nowadays, does yr son/daughter do this?? Once they can't get the things they wanta, they sit on floor (regardless where) then slowle lower his back until lie flat on floor then throw tantrum...so far, my mal does it every time without fail in front of grandparents but if he's with us...he wouldn't cos he knows, his "best" friend, Mr Cane is waiting....

Cat,
hehe...Mr Cane. Thankfully we haven't resorted to that yet...

If he doesn't get what he wants, he'll scream (very loudly) and then start shrieking away.

But in the one last week, I've noticed a change in Jesse. He's become more "kuai". He usually doesn't to things to make me angry and if he knows that I'm getting angry (from the tone of my voice and maybe the throbbing vein on my temple), he'll stop and say, "Mama angry. cannot xxx". I'm keeping my fingers crossed and hope that his behaviour remains the same or continues to improve... come to think of it, he hasn't kicked me once (while I'm changing his diaper) this week.

I agree that telling them what to do is more effective than telling them what not to do.

Recent example, in the car today. We finally bought him one of those noisy, cheepo electronic keyboards. It's in the car next to his carseat and he'd free his arms from the straps and reach over to try to get it. My hb kept saying, "Jesse, don't reach over. We'll give it to you when we go home" etc etc. Still he'll try to reach over...

Then I said, "Jesse lean back. We'll give you piano when we go home". He leaned back and say, "okay". After a while, he asked for his snack box and that was that.

So ya, I think he probably just doesn't know what else to do when we tell him not to do something. Easier to tell what he can do and to do it.

D: Envious of u. Jesse is willing to listen to instruction...Mal just loves to ignore us or do the opposite of we wanta him to do (rebellious nature...sigh)

Cat,

when he's naughty and is delibrately ignoring me, I do hold onto the side of his head with both hands, let him face me squarely...I'll look straight into his eyes and try to make him look at me (but his eyes will purposely look sideways) and I'll talk to him in a firm voice. After a few times of that, he "gets" what "mummy is very serious" means. Plus, whenever I threaten the naughty corner, I carry it out so he's more "afraid" of me lah. And if he misbehaves in public and I say I'll bring him home (I only say it if I can follow through) if he continues, I'll really bring him straight home (despite violent protests). So he's quite scared lah... "whatever mummy is crazy enough to say, mummy will do".

But like I said, he has improved this last week...trying not to make me too angry or something. haha. Good for me.

I can't say I've interacted with M before...but well they say "number one" might be more naughty or even regress when "number two" appears. So hope you can find a way to control him, train him and show him lots of love in the last few weeks. All the best!

D: Thanks! I hope so, too....maybe cos I'm pregnant, too so temper tends to fly easily. I'm not a patient person even b4 I'm pregnant ;-)

Cat,
I fly off the handle all the time...
Just try to control but aiyah...leopard cannot change spots. :p

halo mick
hope kiera is feeling better! it must have been quite a traumatic experience for u...goodness!

hey gene
good to know baby G is getting better. but there is some nasty virus going round.

cai2
i used lucas before but not much effect.
everytime D kena bitten by mozzie.. always a big lump then even when i apply aloe/lucas/CB cream also useless!!!

Kaexin
think D was precribed this sandy grandules also and Doc say flumisil not necc at moment.
anyway, i'm relieved that D is ok with the anti biotics added into his milk!
now as long as he sees 'white' medicine, he will run away from me.

so pek chep.. hubby always don't want to feed him medicine.. end up i always hv to be the bad person!

cat
i think all boys are the same pattern!

D also like that.. today he actualy threw his toys out of his playpen.
then Daddy shouted his name loudly. then D juz stick out his tongue and give us a cheeky smile!!!!

aiyo.. like that how to hv the heart to scold him!

Blueroti
Thanks, but I think I'll keep Gladys away from school for the time being. In case if she pass whatever she has to other kids or catch other nasty bugs again.

Min
Gladys also tends to have big lump when kena mozzie bites. It'll be up to a week before it'll go away.
Everytime, I'm the bad person feeding medicine too. Initially, she was more corporative. Now has to force feed.

kaexin,
hopes Keira gets well soon...

augleo,
i hvnt tried using suppositories...i took it fr standby...i veri kiasu...i oways take medicine fr standby...

gene, min,
i m oso the person feeding medicine...i used to force feed..tis time hor..she feed herself..she enjoys using the syringe...wahaha

Milo
Gladys used to don't mind holding the syringe while I 'inject' the solution into her mouth if I bribe her with some sweets. Now it doesn't work anymore!!! Not even lollipops.

She'll lock her lips. I pry open to find her teeth grit tight. *headache*

halo gene

for my girl,she also started to refuse to take medicine so what we did is pour it into a spoon and coax her to drink it. or pretend to take it ourselves and try to make it look like it's very delicious! or get her distracted with her toys and feed her the medicine.

ps_gal,
according to Gwen (zoo) u are so curious to know who are the new members.
This is a mass sign up, Gwen needs to consolidate all data before she can advise more info.

wld like to knw what are your objectives knowing who are the members for this mass sign up.
* for lucky draw???
if ur 2 individual pass applicants are TOTALLY NEW, they will entitled the lucky draw.

do let me know if I've yet address ur concern.

blueroti ,
i think i am signing up with GUG suntec ...
coz i find that the Chinese teacher mtd of teaching is easier for my sonny to understand , rather than JG's skits .

At GUG , they were singing songs ( no skits ) but they made the effort to introduce chinese vocabs to the kids . at JG , though the skit is interesting , but my sonny dun understand what the teacher is doing ( my personal opinion) ...

Meds:

I put all of Jesse's meds in the bottle of milk. BUT he refuses the antibiotic Zythromax (I think that's what it's called). NOTHING can make him down that...and I tried it once to find out why (just a little taste) and boy, was it nasty and the after taste lingers for a long time. I'd gag too!

Anyway, good to know all your babies are recovering. Yay!

Today, we're also stopping Jesse's meds (after 10 days of meds). Will monitor the situation...

PS GAL

ARe you going to organize a Welcome New members party in the zoo, if so.. I am interested leh.. I am also one of the new members

PGal,
From what I know of Leo, she's very "confidential" and won't divulge info of anyone even if it's harmless.

Since there's no need to know, I don't think she'll say anything...definitely not just for "curiousity's sake".

Maybe one day when you organise a zoo meet up, you'll find out exactly who has the membership!

Sharon, who are you? Quick! Are you someone we know but with a new nick? This is your first post!

We've had some change of names in the past...so who knows if you're "new" or "old".

D...
Sharon is a old member who hasnt posted in a very looooong while!

Wah...the zoo so happening ah!

Mass Birthday Celebration...
Sounds fun...but i think it will be super crowded at Sentosa since its Good Friday weekend leh...

Caicai...
JG teachers will also intro chinese vocab to the kids leh without the skits. Not every week have skits. But if your sonny prefers the GUG method...then of cos sign up for GUG.

Sigh....can u imagine that I'm in school by 7am this morning & now, at 5pm, still stuck for a compulsory school-training! Then, my superior still wanta meet me afterwards to discuss WORK...

Blueroti
I’ve tried using the spoon before and find it even messier. It’ll usually spill before going in to her mouth and coz it’s a 1-time, she’ll usually spit everything out.

Bububear!!!
Long time since we've last heard from you. How have you been? Think the last time we've met was at Tanglin Mall's Kindermuzik?

re:feeding medication .

i alwys feed my son using spoon ,lied to him it is cherry / orange juice . he took it all up

Hello Sharon,
was told that you've been around way back when. I joined not too long ago, so don't know you...

Hopefully, you'll be around when there's a zoo mass outing planned. *grin*

throwing out of the window: thankfully i stay on second floor (due to my phobia of heights!) and my 1st floor neighbour has this "roof" built to protect their "garden" which i say smart move. Let just say the things I have found in my "pond" and what I can see from my balcony includes

1) cushion
2) swimming float
3) newspaper
4) toy cars
5) charcoal bits from my plant (sometimes splash too hard and the charcoal flies out of the pot :p)
6) plant bits (not mine!)
7) cigarette butts

I have yet to find any remote control or bamboo pole though =)

Yes it is dangerous for the kids to be playing near the window in the first place! i use my plants to surround the railing so my girl cannot climb unto it (cuz dunno why the condo so smart make it horizontal bars) and I dun wan my house to be like a jail (grills all over) - the other danger comes from the fact my gal can press the lift button to go down (pte lift lobby) so we have to always remember to lock the front door when she's in the house (we normally leave it open to air it)

Sometimes we forget our kids grow so fast and what they are capable of doing compared to a few days ago!

Leo: glad you have filled the numbers liao ... i was still thinking want or not, but i really doubt i have the energy to "cheong" the zoo. I just have another 3 more visits to the zoo till 31 march to make my pass worthwhile!!!

forgot to say also, V will be starting childcare on 2nd march - i dun think she will cry but i am very sure i will cry my eyes out!!!!! i seldom so sentimental (i didn't even cry when she was born) but my baby (well toddler) is growing up so fast that I am so scared to missing out on anything! she will be the youngest in her class, the next youngest is born in feb 07, but japanese so i dun think they will "group" with her (total 4 japanese kids in the class). As it is already, she complained the classroom floor dirty when we brought her there for a visit ... but she seems to take to the classroom (without kids) quite well. I better prepare lots of tissue paper for that day :p

Pretty Bunnie,

In order to make your current pass worthwhile, u must start planning to cheong to the zoo every weekend starting from this weekend so that it is worthwhile

Zoo
So far I've been there for only 4 times. Twice went straight to the playground only. Sighz.. But nevertheless, would still like to continue bringing G there coz she seems to enjoy looking at the animals now than before and of coz, the water playground!

Bububear
Ya, we should catch up soon. You still staying at the same place? We can meet up with Cindy, Sanrio and the rest at IMM for lunch.

Michelle
Are you taking orders for the eCreative cakes? I wanna order!

John Little Sale
* cardmembers' preview 3 to 5th March 09
* Nursery items only @15% off + selected items
* Vtech toys @25% off
** Free S$10 ez-link card with S$80 nett spend (limited to 3 receipts)

D,
interested to get more Vtech toys?

Mummies: anyone interested?

Recommended for 2–6 year-olds
Bear and Chicken Go Camping
A new tale featuring the lovable characters from When I Grow Up.
Presented by SRT's The Little Company
DBS Arts Centre - Home of SRT
5 March - 11 April 2009

One night, best friends Chicken and Bear go on a camping adventure in the Great Outdoors. Armed with flashlights, marshmallows and peanut butter sandwiches, they find the perfect spot under a beautiful starry sky.

Throughout the night, they make lots of amazing discoveries about the world around us, like what makes a shooting star leap across the sky. And have you ever wondered where the sun goes at night? Or how crickets can make such loud noises? Join Chicken and Bear as they learn the answers to these questions and more!
Bear and Chicken Go Camping is the second part of a highly successful original series that began with When I Grow Up. You’ll fall in love all over again with Bear and his special blue blanket, and Chicken who is one super brainy bird!

DATE
5 Mar - 11 Apr 2009

Mon - Fri, 10:00am
Sat, 11:00am & 2:00pm

DURATION
Approx 45 Min

VENUE
DBS Arts Centre - Home of SRT

TICKET PRICE (Exclude Booking Fee)
Standard
S$18 (Weekdays)
S$20 (Weekends)

Please add to above price $3 Booking Fee per ticket for tickets above $20 and $1 Booking Fee per ticket for tickets $20 and below. Charges include GST where applicable.

Discount list: http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=bear0409#discountAnchor

diane.michele

u sure our tods can watch ?
ADMISSION RULES
No admission for infant in arms and child aged below 2 years old. Child 2 years old and above must purchase ticket for admission.

* No Photography, Video recording

caicai... C has already been to a few performance that has that admission rule. as long as ur todd behaves during the performance, they don't stop u (or kick u out) if you have a ticket for ur todd!

Mich,

Jesse older than Claire, but he sure kenna kicked out!

Remember the Prom? haiz... I think he has to be 4 before I can bring him to any performance.

Michele
This Fri, I'm mtg Jess and Leona for the fair. You wanna?

And other gals who are keen, are welcome. I specifically ask Michele coz she knows the 2 gals I mentioned.

D
Hahahah. Prob, either you'll hear announcement of a missing todd or you won't be able to really see what each booth has to offer.

Oh, ths weekend, there's this Mother and Baby fair at the Expo. Thought you gals would have known.

So Natas fair at Expo too? I thought it's at Suntec?