(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mrs Lai,
Congrats again!

Michele,
Congrats too! Go shopping nevertheless, retail therapy works!

mummies interested to sign up the zoo membership:
currently there is a promotion = subscribe magazine (reader digest is one of them) to get the membership for free.

promotion ends 31 Jan 09

halo mick

juz wanted to chk with u - when baby K was down with roseola the last time, how long did her fever last?

alexis had fever 2 sundays ago then was ok the following day. then she was down with fever last Fri and Sat. Was better on Sun and almost ok by Sunday nite. But she was feverish again this morning. When we saw the PD on Sat, he said it may be roseola. So juz wondering for baby K, was it the same case as in the fever will be on and off? thanks!

michele: hahaha you better see the OB soon lah =) then you can see your little one!

Blueroti: V had continous high fever and only when it subsided the rashes came out. THink her fever lasted like 4 to 5 days. for Roseola, nothing much we can do except to treat the symptoms. Heartbreaking hor =(

hi diane

thanks! thanks! hope u r feeling better!
oh dear, so baby V also was also down with roseola? we went to see dr tan last sat and it was a 3.5hrs' wait but thankfully we went home 1st so only went back at 1pm and there was still alot of people! but Dr Tan was very nice and patient (thanks for the recommendation again!)
he said the rashes should be out this Wed if it's indeed roseola. alexis' body was really quite warm on Sat, even her palms! = o ( so we sponged her. Anyway, we had to skip our nephew's 1st month dinner last nite coz Dr Tan said better to stay away from newborns.

anyway, hope your work is not too consuming and your boss will go easy on u! does she know u're preggie?

blue: tt was the time she was hospitalised, cuz we weren't sure if it was due to UTI or wat, and then Dr Tan was on leave. the stupid emergency number said Dr Lee was not avail and ask us to go hospital A & E. then dr lee said she was actually ard and that they didn't even contact her. so angry, but dr lee said she will complain for us! so then Dr lim was the one who saw us in the hospital and recommended all the antibotics and what nots ... haiz ... thankfully she recovered from the ordeal ;P

Ya unfortunately Dr Tan always very busy. but i guess i find it more assuring if my gal sees him.

we stick the koolfever on her forehead, her back (2 pieces) and 1 piece at the back of her neck, plus water cushion. that time cannot start on ibuprofen yet, so now if above 38.5 then give. if u do use the koolfever, dun wait till she's super hot then stick on, cuz the sudden coldness, alexis may not be able to tahan it.

My boss better now - i did have a talk with her about my work and then she didn't stress me today so i could complete what I needed to do in peace :p I then tend to the emails and the requests at 4pm today. but i left work close to 7 lah, cuz anyway waiting for my hubby to pick me up. my boss tells me not to walk so much (cuz i keep getting cramps) but er, not really possible lah. so my boss will mostly walk over to my room now :p

goodness! it must have been quite traumatic for u guys! poor baby V! thank goodness she is ok now. aiyoh poor girl! actually both dr lee and dr lim are ok too but yeah, like u, i would rather see dr tan any time coz' he's always so patient n reassuring! he told me he was also very "gan jiong" when his kid's fever hit 41 deg. cel n he had a blood test done, only to find out it was roseola! n he told us to page him any time.

as for the koolfever, we tried to stick it on alexis' forehead but she keeps pulling it off so we gave up in the end. even when we sponged her on sat, we had to play games with her so that she won't pull the wet towels off.

and good to know that your work is better now. at least your boss sounds quite understanding. hopefully she'll not load u with too much work.
u having leg cramps? did u try wearing flats? or prop up your legs on a stool or something under your desk?

blueroti,
Keira has fever for 3days straight then we gave her panadol. she doesnt like sponging. after the 3rd day, the spots all came out, it lasted for 2 days before it slowly went off.

now i am the one running a fever, been having one since sundat nite and also always peaked at nite. went up to 39-40 thelast 2 nite. doctor gave me panadol for fever/the aches,
cough mixture as my throat is pretty red.

bunnie/michele,
congrats to u both.

mrs lai, michele,
congrats..

blueroti,
chloe had fever for 4days...then all the red spots appear...lasted fr ard 2-3days...

hi mick

oh dear, what did the doc say? the last time i had persistent fever is coz i was down with tonsilitis. u may want to see doc again if u dun recover soon. take care!

hi milo, mick
wah looks like roseola is really common! thanks for sharing. my girl's fever has subsided but she started having runny nose agai!

Sandwich,
enjoy yourself.

Mummies and babies,
Happy New Year! In case I couldn't log in later in the day.
May all babies stay adorable and healthy.

blue: i went to taka sale on last sat ... wallop about $400 over worth of shipping :p V's stuff already $200 :p but v strange ... no crowd ... somemore we purposely cheong early at 10am so can beat the crowd for car park and everything else ... then i realise everyone else at the robinsons sale at centrepoint kekekeke

sandwich: have a good trip ok?

MicK how? u got see doc or not? doc say wat? u must take good care of urself ok, ask WS to look after K for you.

wishing all a very happy new year! =)

Happy New Year to all mummies & babies!!!

I would be going back to "jail" term so may not be able to come in until ML....sigh...if wanta meet up, pls sms me cos I sure can't read posting as often...

halo mrs lai

yeah, taka is not as crowded as robinsons or isetan. but guess it helps that u were there early too! tangs was pretty crowded too. aiyo it was really like a battle zone last fri!

wah sandwich
have a good holiday! i like bali, especially Seminyak.

HAPPY NEW YEAR mummies and babies! let's hope 2009 will be a better year for all!

Happy New Year, mummies!

congrats, Michele!
congrats, Mrs lai

Hello, BlessedOne- vaguely remember you had twins but you don't log in much-- anyway, hope to 'see' you online more. Your pic of your twin boys abit too small for me to see much (lao hua yen now) but they look happy.

Mummies going to the J little sale can report here? what's worth buying? worthwhile going shopping there?

i like bali too but only the diving spots!! too bad i've not been diving since july 2006!

happy new year! hope that 2009 will be a better year for everyone!

Hi Mrs Chia,
Yeah, I do follow the April Thread whenever I feel bored in the office but am wondering if I will become an intruder if I just join in all your conversations out of the blue...Anyhow, thanks for remembering me!
It seems like most of you have got bb # 2 or 3 already. As for myself, it's still the 2 boys and that's it. My hb is so apprehensive of having another child that he has been dilligently keeping track of my ovulation cycle and making sure that we'll never ever kena again..

hi Blessedone,
no need shy lah.. me also seldom join in the thread, mostly a silent reader (in the middle of the night, like now).

Wow! your hubby is super kiasi! he can track your ovulation?!! having twin boys must be a big handful to manage now but will be easier later (*hopeful grin*) cos they have each other to play with
(but also each other to fight with lor

Children are blessings from heaven and you have double the blessings. Yes many April mummies have 2 babies now or expecting #2 next year. But haven't heard of #3 yet.. hmmm.. wonder who will hv the first #3?

mrs chia , who knows one of the april mummies mite be expecting twins lah ?
keke

so long nvr come in , congrats on diane n michele . moomoo babies !

leo , i so busy at home wif my sonny , didnt manage to go to the JL sale . sianz

MicK- giant hv sale for ultra 14.70
realli hv to kick myself for not buying CS , 14.30 then .mamy poko has been causing red dots on zac's golden butt

Michele
Moo-llions congratulations for having another blessing from heaven.

Sandwich
Not sure if you will log in at Bali...Hope you & hubby have a enjoyable break-away...can go for spa massages everyday..heheh.

CaiCai
Busy with work recently? How come so long neber visit here? So how you spent New Year?

BlessedOne
Come in chat more often when you are free ya...you & hubby abit risk-taker nia...based on ovalution cycle only to do exercise.. :p

So who's helping you take care of your boys?

SD
planning for #2? with D sleeping betw us i think our exercise cannot be based on timming liao.
juz hope to let nature takes it course!!

*mich*
but somehow D always wakes up at the wrong timing!!! hahaha
and everytime i asked him you want di di or mei mei.. he just shake his head and laugh it off

halo mummies

juz wanted to share - my maid juz gave me 1 week's notice on Tue. she said her family wants her back home coz' of something urgent. when i asked her what happened, she said her family refused to tell her. i told the maid agency the story and they said it's probably coz' she doesn't want to work anymore and that I shouldn't have let her have a HP.
actually i didn't realise that they do not have to finish up the 2yrs' term or give us at least 1 month's notice. sigh.

Blue: tt's why recently people complain in newspaper about protecting the employers rights too.

recently I was talking to my maid and I asked her if she wants to renew. she said the "fact" that I don't allow her to have a HP she not very happy. So I fedup, I told her "you owe me so much money and you still got money to buy a HP? if you were in my shoes and you lent money to a friend who said needed money desperately and then splurge the money on her boyfriend, how would you feel?" then she keep quiet :p then I told her that after she finishes paying her loan to me, and she has the spare money, she can buy a HP. to me, a HP is a luxury, not a necessity and I never stopped her from using my house phone to call home. FYI, she still owes me about S$600 - of cuz I am worried that she will want to return home without paying back her loan, but I just take it as "bonus" to her lor. I've also asked my hubby to call the maid agent to help negiotiate the renewal of contract. My colleague told me super ma fun.

He told me that now, if the maid wants to go on home leave, the employer now must sign a new contract, stating min salary of S$600 per month, in addition to other forms (each form requires $$$$).

Is your maid filipino? if yes, then she may be holding out for the $600 salary she hopes to get elsewhere.

MicK's maid also recently left, giving less than 1 week's notice.

Are you going to get another maid?

Oh dear....reading all yr maid's problem is damn scary & lotsa ppl still ask me why I never hire maid?!?! Sigh...that's why I rather spend more money on babysitter cum childcare...

Blueroti...how are u coping now that maid leaving in such a short notice?

halo mrs lai

yeah, i've also read all the forum letters published in The Straits Times recently. Actually, it's true - the employers' rights are not protected at all. and the agency said I've to buy the maid an air tix even if she only works for 1 month coz' this is stipulated by Ministry of Manpower. i almost fainted!

my maid is an indonesian, so relatively cheaper than a filipino. my colleague told me that for a filipino, airfare is abt $600 plus. my maid's airfare is about $200 plus.

wah, your maid has a BF? how long has she been with u guys? my maid has paid off her loan so she's free to go. i've asked her to stay till I find a replacement, she insists that her family wants her back next week. She even told me that since I'll be on leave next Wed, she can leave. but the funny thing is - I'm not on leave next Wed. so guess she juz assumes that I'll take leave as she wants to leave on that day. guess i'm juz disappointed with her coz' we've been pretty decent to her and yet she wants to leave at such short notice. i also dun believe her family has some urgent matters that requires her to return home immediately. the other nite she was lying on her mattress and toking on the phone till past midnite. she was laughing too! i think it's her BF. she juz told me y'day that when i buy her air tix, i've to state she's flying back to surabaya! and lately, i also noticed she has been getting abit lazy. she didn't even tell us that alexis was feverish last week!

but anyway, since she clearly doesn't want to stay, we dun want to force her too. we've no choice but to take a transfer maid - she's the only indo maid available. she was sent back by her ex employer coz' she talks too much. we don't have much of a choice actually coz for new maids, i've to wait till feb. so hopefully, all the paper work will be done by next week and she can join us then.

mich's maid also left? i remember her maid has only been with them not too long ago, less than 2 yrs too. did she get a maid yet?

but now i understand why my colleagues - even the nicest- are always complaining abt their maids. sigh.

hi Cat

juz hope everything will go on fine with the paperwork for the transfer maid we saw y'day. if not, guess i've to take half day leave every day coz altho my in laws are at my place, but they duno how to bathe my girl or prepare her milk, meals etc.

actually, i did ask my hubby how abt we juz do without maid and juz send our girl to a playschool or childcare. but he thinks that it'll be tough for his parents. to complicate matters, my sis in law juz gave birth and she wants my in laws to help look after her baby too.

blueroti,

when my maids say they want to leave, I make them leave immediately. There's just too much that can happen between "now" and when they leave so I don't take chances.

Heh...I'm maid wary too...I believe employers need protection too. No just from maids but the agencies.

Hi D

i know what u mean. actually i've been worried that my maid will be unkind to my girl during this period before she leaves. she has been getting more lazy lately. anyway, we will probably send her home next Wed. initially when she told us last month she'll not renew her contract, we wanted to retain her and increase her salary. but before we can even make that offer, she told me she's leaving. so guess she's resolved in leaving.

Blueroti,
my maid gave me her notice on thursday that she wants to go back by sat. friday - my bday and last day at work b4 my hols. sat send her to changi, at night we went to japan.
very angry with her that time. coz friday still rushing for work, still have to go to garuda to get her her tickets, costs $350. she paid the whole thing though. she even asked me whether she shld compensate me for her early going home. we also treated her very good as well.
my MIL said since she no heart, then let her go lor.
in dec, she called my mil's to ask how are all of us and whethre i got a new maid.
but my IL's refused to get a new maid, so FIL been the on cleaning the house.

and since i have been sick the whole week, down with fever and now attacked on my voicebox.
i am not sure whether its taking a toll on them, since keira hasnt been back home for almost a week now.