(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hello all,
everyone in the festive mood already? can't believe it's x-mas eve tomorrow! i had fever yesterday due to engorgement, and my breast hurt in a bruise-y sort of way. but luckily my engorgement's not so bad today, cos i have a department x-mas celebration later. i feel so much better than yesterday, so should be able to enjoy the nice lunch =)

anyway my engorgement came about because kaizer was suddenly willing to latch on less often in the middle-of-the-night. he can don't latch on for 6 hours straight now, when previously he would always wake himself up every 2-3 hours to latch on, even up till last week. i have been reasoning with him nicely, and he nicely accepted all my reasoning -- with actions to prove it too! i feel that he has suddenly matured, hahaa. but i still need to try to solve my engorgement problem if my next goal is to get him to sleep through 8, then 10 then 12 hours straight.

sw,
to relieve d discomfort, u can hand express out d milk a little, w'out d stimulation (latch), d body wld gradually adjust d milk production according to his needs.

traz,
i looked tru d archive posts, ur girl jvel is so pretty, did u submit her foto for bb contest. go n join mother & baby mag cover look contest!

Leo,
I have not been there before. But I think its $5 unlimited play for kids below 2.

Anyone been there? Can advice?

I agree that the venue is inconvenient. Also have no idea how to make my way there.

darbb,
its pretty remote place to go w/o car. but then can also take cab. remb to brg your own socks, otherwise u wld need to buy from there.
i usually spend $12-15 there for food and a drink

augleo
think as long as a child is abv 90cm must pay bus fare regardless how young they are.
unless you carry him up the bus then act blur when the conductor check.

height = 90cm :
JK's measured height in clinic is abt 4cm diff. from the height taken from the height charts on the bus n MRT gantry.

as long, JK not reaching 90cm @the tpt company's height chart hor

Merry X' mas

☆  ╱╲ ╱╲ ☆  ☆  ☆
 ╱╳ ▲╱  ╲ ╱╲ ☆  ☆    
╱╱ ◢◣    ╳  ╲  ☆  
╱  ◢█◣  /    ╲☆   ☆ 
☆ ◢██◣聖誕節  ˙˙˙
___▂▂█▂▂__预祝你聖誕節 快樂﹋

Tom going Childcare center hunting....so even though I'm not working...sigh..

Let me share my story:

Cherie Hearts @ Jalan Singa

I must say hubby & I dun really make much research in any CC as out main aim is not to produce a "scholar" but more for Mal to enjoy himself & we could go to work in peace and assurance that Mal is being taken care well.

With this in mind, we went there with Mal twice to see the facilities & the teachers.

It's a 3-storey semi-detached building. Mal is in Playgroup 2 @ ground floor.

What I cannot tolerate:
On 3rd day: CC called me up and said Mal having fever @ 37.4oC. I was outside & rushed home to pick up paracetomol and rushed to CC. Then, they told me Mal's "fever" had subsided & he was ok!!!! They could have call me again meh!! Made me rush around like MAD WOMAN!! Best part is Mal was having fever cos he was crying meh!! The teachers would unable to calm him down lor...

Then just this monday, CC called my hubby up (think they dun dare call me liao) to ask when I'm picking up Mal as he was "NOISY"!! This is so UNbelievable!! They are professional & I alr PAID FOR FULL-DAY CHILDCARE!!! So angry!!! This time, I took my time and told them I just rushed out of a meeting...they claimed that it was miscommunication!! They just wanta find out what time I would arrive and it so happened that Mal was crying!

And it doesn't help that there's always no "Black and white" about anything!! The teacher informed me on mon that tue they are having water-play & I need to pack Mal's swimming costumes. Then come Tueday, she told me she remembered wrongly, it should be THURSDAY!!! What the %%*&@*&&@!!!

Cherie Hearts not cheap leh! But they still have "hidden costs". Mattress, mattress covers, additional lessons (kindermusik, speech & drama), yakult lah!! Wa lau eh....neverending!

Sorry to flood the forum with my complaints, especially during Christmas but really frustrated!!!

Best part is Mal is so insecure these past weeks!! I really donno whether it is just part and parcel of separation anxiety or he was tramatised by the CC. For the past 20 months, we never have problem putting him to sleep but recently, he only sleeps if we carry him! I so heartpain but I don't know what to do....so tom must go look for alternatives.

Catherine: *patpat* forum is for us to vent also mah ... I would be heart pain and very frus also if I was in your position. I still haven't start looking for a CC :p but I think I will start in january, hopefully I can find something good for V *cross fingers*

cat,
saw mal the other day, think he took it pretty hard. try searching for a new one. good luck.
i am bringing K to see the one i have chosen on friday, worried that she will start crying until dunno when

though, brot her to see kinderland yest morning, she was quite alrite. b4 we left the house, told her bringing her to school to see.

Hi Mummies.... merry xmas !

our kids are coming 2 yrs old liao. any1 1 has registed for play group ? any recommend for east area ?

Good morning mummies

1st n 2nd J.little hv cardmember preview.
more for CNY.
red pkts, gift card n abalone

any1 going? most likely will go alone w/o JK.

Mrs Lia,
so fast, CNY liao...last yr u still helping me to check out the New Moon Abalone @J.little

Catherine,
u interested?

i'm having fever and engorgement yet again! hiyah, hope the day ends a bit sooner, then can go home to feed kaizer a bit of milk.

sanrio,
don't have time to pump or hand express for the 5am-6am feed (which he decided to skip today), so i guess i will just have to endure with a few more rounds of engorgement.... am going for a short trip to bali with my husband from 1-5 jan. think i'll use the opportunity to reduce the milk supply then.

Augleo...

Interested but must see when...cos 2nd got school & I'm "arrowed" Sec One classes may be expected to stayed back until quite late 8-(

CC @ East
Brighton is famous for Montessoni (850 for 1/2 day, 1k plus for full day, I think) My friends put their kids there and said it is fantastic...but very expensive lor...

Would suggest u bring yr bb to go to the school in the morning...when there are other kids crying & talk to the teachers who would be taking yr bb instead of just looking @ facilities.

halo sandwich

oh man! engorgement is no fun. when i breastfed my girl last year, i kept getting it. anyway, hopefully u will be ok soon or u may want to consider visiting the lactation consultant.

anyway mummies, Taka having additional 10% off (Dec 26-28)on most, if not all items for taka card holders. Pigeon having 20% off so u get additional 10% off. it's pretty crowded today so i guess it'll be worse over the weekends.

mummies: just want to share some news ... I'm preggy with #2 finally!

It's been rough for the past few weeks and as it is, i'm still not feeling v well. I feel sick (headache and cramps) mostly and it makes me even more tired.

Worse still, I have little appetite for dinner but by 12 midnte, I'm starving.

OK I'm going to look for some food and then I'm off to bed.

Nite mummies.

Congrats, Pretty Bunnie...

Childcare

One important thing that I learnt from these whole incident is that u can never be too kiasu & kiasi.

Must always work out between yrself & hubby what's most important b4 deciding on childcare. Example:

1) Costs? (Montessorni usually 1.3k +-, NTUC usually 300 only & all in between)

2) Convenience (if childcare called either one of u up, can anyone take leave to take care? If not, any grandparents or relatives can help out?? So location very important!!)

3) If yr bb comfortable there? My bb Mal is used to Chinese auntie (as his babysitter talks to him in chinese, etc) so Cherie Hearts teachers all Indians & PRC so he a bit uncomfortable there lor.

4) Air-con or not...I strongly suggest NO air-con as lotsa my friends who sent their kids to air-con usually have their kids fell sick every week...not joking business lor.

5) Structured curriculm or not...(Montessorni usually have themes & programmes included. Even though CH dun have, they also have enrichment WHICH U HAVE TO PAY EXTRA!!! so be careful when u scout for CC) Nowadays, lotsa interesting programmes/enrichment around like abacus, monthly execution to library, swimming, 3rd language like Japanese, etc) Although our kids still too young to go for these (usually more meant for 3yrs old), but I dun think we as parents got so much time to source & bring them for external activities...unless u wanta them to switch CC again!!

6) Communications between CC & parents
Recently then I know there's such thing called a com book. Some CC have com book for parents & CC to communicate with one another. I find that this is better...at least, when tr notices anything, they can feedback & v.v. & files for keeping all the artwork, etc they have done...

Dun be PAISAY...must ask the tr who is going to be with yr bb...eg, bath (some cc remove all bb clothings then wrap in towel & they wait for their turn for bath...some ppl dun like that, esp. air-con environment, will catch cold..so if u dun ask, u won't know...)

Must also ask how tr handle discipline. Some cc just talk only but never reinforce. Then, bb still anyhow do things..

HTHs!

congrats Bunnie. Take gd care.

Cat
thanx for the tip .. tink wat i m gg to do is to appear during meals time, shower time during the 1st few days of jboy's cc and see for myself. hehe .. trust wat i see oni :p especially jboy's cc is fully aircon, so tis shower thing is impt.

wanna ask how do our child fall asleep in CC?
coz nowadays D wants me to lie down beside him for his nap and night time.
i tried to let him fall asleep on his own in his play pen but he refused

so i dunno if he is at CC.. how is he gonna fall asleep huh?

happy festive season to all!

hippo is attending CC in jan too. Same CC as gorgor..so i think he'll not fuss as much? Anyway, i dun intend to stay ard in the CC with him, not even the 1st day. Will jz leave him and go.

Diane, GONG XI GONG XI! A cute little moo-moo to look forward to in the new year..

Cath, hope you can find a good CC soon...I think there are many good schools in the East area, so you got no lack of choices...But meanwhile, mostly importantly is that you must take good care of yourself too & try not to tire out yourself okie..cheer up!