(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mrs Lai,
good to hear from you!

Was wondering where you've been

*sigh* unfortunately/fortunately, I don't have that kind of stress in my life...I also need to shed 20KG...*sigh*

D,
with regards to how to "Sterilise" J's Shoes, I also face the same prob cos my Birkies get mouldy very easily. Usually I just rinse/scrub with warm/hot water then put it under the "Hot hot hot" sun..usually that does the work ah keke

SW,
My gal also had ear infection, then pd recommended the ear drops. But the drops made my gal scratch and rub her ear very hard. Maybe ocasionally you can take a peek into K's ears when he is sleeping, who knows you might be able to pull some wax out. Just last week my mom pulled 2 super black and huge wax out of my gal's ears and boy...they stink like mad!! Try not to let too much moisture into K's ears.

d and sanrio,
surfed a bit on pedipeds, looks like a pretty good brand to buy. anyway, found an ebay seller who's offering brand new boy pedipeds originals for S$35 only. loads cheaper than bbtinz. think i don't have to get kaizer to try first, since this is so cheap. at most if he doesn't like it, then i can sell it away online or something.

dlim,
i think the entire centre has abt 35 kids now. not very sure abt the exact numbers cos some come for 1/2 day programs. if you're visiting tomorrow morning, help me see if kaizer is enjoying himself in school. one set of the sailor uniform is enough for us. cos it really dries super duper fast after washing. sometimes he just goes w/out the uniform cos he doesn't want to wake up in the morning for us to change him. don't worry, uniforms are not really that mandatory for the research link centre.

mrs lai,
how many days of leave do you still have to clear for this year? congrats on vanessa's milestone. and congrats on your 10kg milestone! time to get new clothes? by the way, i'm actually 50kg now and 1.54cm lah. not stick thin like sanrio and i'm definately not in her league lah! haahaa...

meddy,
the ear wax is visible on the left side. tried prodding it and he was already very irritated (must be quite painful but they don't know how to express it like ashrel). anyway, to pull out with my fingers sound quite difficult since the earlobe looks so small. your mum used tweezers or bare fingers?

SW,
since the wax was visible, my mom use the "traditional little stick" to try to coax it out but must wait till they are in deep sleep cos its very ticklish..

Rite now i am thinking how to remove her nose wax instead cos dried nose wax usually sticks tightly to the skin, if i try to pull it out, it will definately bleed..hai~~

SW/Dlim/Sanrio,
I am thinking of putting my gal in CC , is there anything to look out for when i visit the centre? And anyway to know their pass records for HFMD?

Meddy,
Pigeon sells a plastic tweezer for the nose. I use it on J quite frequently until he's used to it already. He even tries to do it himself. If it's dry already, maybe and wet the end of the tweezer with water first then try. Another thing we do is we just wet the end of the "sucker" to wet the nose, and then use the tweezer...or wait for him to sneeze...

I thought you aren't supposed to wet/wash and sun birks? That's wat I was told when I bought mine...they say if wet just let it air dry but no direct sunlight...and no washing. I asked if I can use it to the swimming pool, they say better not. So I'm quite kind to my shoes. haha.

As for J's, I'll keep asking around, cos if it's "infected" it'll be on the inside and I don't think I can turn his shoe inside out to sun...so it wouldn't be effective...plus, I don't have much sun here...

mrs lai
D also very good at signing but he refused to mouth 'Please, Thankyou and Sorry'.

now D is down with slight fever.. i hope its due to 4 molar eruptions. and not even wanna take his milk

Hi Ixora and mummies,
I m selling my Step 2 Sunshine Playhouse. Let me know if u are keen. Too many big toys at home, need to clear space for ash's study area (he is going K1 next yr).

D,
i wet my birks wen i went swimming 2 weeks back. even af i 'air dry' it, it has a 'sandy feel' now, so i suppose is really not washable.

Meddy,
u can ask d cc any questions. our main concerns wld b: environment (clean, spacious etc..) n teachers (since they wld b d main caregivers).

SW,
since ash went to d ent to get tat big wax removed once, he dun hv tat prob anymore. so far, i jus clean whatever tat 'cum out' n visible.

Sanrio,
So ash will be in enrichment class only after he stop the cc this coming dec?

SW,
I juz went down to Research Link LV. The area is smaller as compare to Kent Vale but the environment
is better. They have lesser toddler & its more easier to manage. One thing I dont like is the place is
far too deep inside. We have a hard time finding the school.

Saw Kaizer but dont think he can recognise me..haaaa.. He was siting quietly on his chair with the rest
of the children doing their art & craft. He was staring at Jayden cox he was walking ard.

My mom went together with us too & she also prefer Research Link. But one thing we have to
consider now is how is my mil going to pick up Jayden if we were to put him for half day class?
She might have problem going there.....

Dlim,
he is currently in chinese enrichment class evy sat, done by his ex chinese teacher. next year he is gg to another 3.5hrly kindergdn n we hv not decided wat enrichment classes to enrol him yet. wld let him start piano lesson next yr since we hv a piano at hm.

Meddy,

Few points to take note of when choosing a cc -

1) Comfortable with the environment
2) Teachers are very important too (Eg: races & age (Once again, it depends on individual)
3) Total no. of children in a class
4) The centre must be clean/hygienic & spacious

Sanrio,
U know how to play piano? Actually I hope my children can play piano cox when Im young, I have interest
with it but my parents didnt send me for any classes. So I must make sure my children get to learn to play
if they really have interest in it.

sanrio,
i'm here... tks for keeping me in the loop.. let me ask my hb 1st and let u know k...

D,
what's the other hse your hb is looking at? me very curious...

Dlim,
i completed grade 5 n gave up liao cos cant stand d stressful exam, esp 1 to 1 with those v typical british serious looking 'old' examiner. hahaha... but i regreted giving up halfway else i can b a piano teacher at hm now. so i wld certainly hope my kids can complete grade 8, hopefully lah n move on to diploma if they wish too. just thinking n hoping... :p

ixora,
no problem at all but i do hv few mummies quite keen..

Dlim,
so far, ash loves music n he sings a lot in school, in church n at hm. cher is our 'dancing queen'. she loves to dance :p

Sanrio,
I really envy those who can play piano. Can understand how stressful is the exam.
Yes, if ash have interest, best to send him for piano class.

So good, u have one singer & one dancer at home to entertain u...

ixora,
I think it's the one Joanie likes...
He just asked if it's the same one we "saw" Joanie in and I said no...and that was that.

Dlim,
it's good for a child to learn music, the first few years it "tough" since they can't play much so can be quite boring. But after grade 5, it gets better...actually I know a lot of ppl give up after gd 5 (my HB is one of them).

But if the child not interested, in the end also it wouldn't really be "used".

For Jesse, I'd encourage him to try out the piano and other instruments. I wished I had learnt the violin or cello. haha...we all want wat we don't have.

Min,
my gal also having on/off fever. She is refusing porridge, rice, milk..everything that she usually eats. Now she only wans to eat bread and fruits..dunno whether is becos of the MMR she took last week or her teeth, last week her mouth was still quite "Empty" but this week she seems to have a mouthful of teeth! scary!!

D, Sanrio,
I also gave up Piano after grade 5, was super stress cos my teacher was from China and she is the kind who will sit beside me w/ a cane..really envy my sis completed her diploma ah..

D,
huh..Birkies really not suppose to sun? my whole family's birkies all went under the sun!

sanrio
i also gave up piano due to stressful examination which i found no relevant! i hate singing to the old man!
and i stop at Grade 7.. a pity rite coz i actually flunk grade 5-7 so my mum see no point in letting me carry on
and i also hate to sit for theory test.

next time i wanna let my son learn piano for leisure!

meddy
very worrying when they don't eat/drink rite.
my boy only drank 180ml FM for whole of today

but thank god he manage to eat 1/2 bowl of porridge that i cook.
and also finish whole bowl of oatmeal with purreed apple.

i dunno why he seem to be ok with and able to finish oatmeal when he is unwell.

but still very whiny! today hubby at home so he very sticky to him.. which makes me feel so sad. sigh!!!! but luckily he stil wants me to accompany him to sleep

Makeup:
i m looking for 1 compact powder (foundation). need d mummies recommendation. since i left my job 4 years ago n became a sahm, i hardly put on makeup. i need 1 powder for 'standby' use cos somtx i simply look too pale n pple ask me, 'are u sick?' esp during pms tx.
1) is there a 'water-based' type/brand?
2) non-oily or cakey
3) hopefully not exceeding $70 or $80 (reasonable??)
4) normal coverage, look natural n light, not overly done.

tk u.. brands i hv tried, prescriptives (no longer in mkt) n oops cant remb..

Sanrio: u still selling your playhouse? I was actually looking for one for V!

I stopped piano at grade 5 and no regrets. I am tone deaf and I always fail the oral test. The only thing i could pass was the sightreading. I even fail my scales cuz I HATED SCALES. i always pass a few marks above the passing grade only :p

I am GLAD no more no more!

Only if V is interested then I'll let her learn. Dun wan her to go thru the same stress I went through "in my time i not so lucky to learn piano so u better learn" *shudder*

sandwich: I still got about 5 days of leave to clear and 3 days of childcare leave. think will try to clear both soon :p which means I can roll 7 days of leave to next year.

Min: hmmmm come to think about it, I never teach her sorry!!!!!

pretty bunnie,
yes i m. let me know soon lah as i hv some mummies asking me n quite keen..
yes, now when i tink of d practice practice practice esp last min b4 d exams, phobia...

Picnic @Sentosa
Date: 1 Nov
Time : 3.30pm

1. Augleo ---> sandwiches
2. D ---> cut fruits
3. ixora ---> nachos and dip
4. CoolD ---> cha bee hoon
5. cherryteq ---> Fishballs
6. EE ---> still pondering whether to pack from land or island
7. Dlim ---> disposables (plate, bowl, forks, spoon)+ Fingers Food (Hotdogs & Nuggerts)
8. SD ---> Dun mind to eat at foodcourt or packet finger foods
9. kikismom --->
10. milo ---> home-made pizza or agar or finger food
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = cfm??

Any recommendation for beauty salons or beauticians for good and reasonable priced facials?

Please share the contact coz I am thinking of going for one.

!

Picnic @Sentosa

2. D ---> cut fruits
6. EE ---> still pondering whether to pack from land or island
7. Dlim ---> disposables (plate, bowl, forks, spoon)+ Fingers Food (Hotdogs & Nuggerts)
9. kikismom --->
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = TBA attendance
!

Picnic @Sentosa

2. D ---> cut fruits
6. EE ---> Otak or handmade Char Siew Pao
9. kikismom --->
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = TBA attendance !

meddy,
guess sanrio and dlim already answered most of your question. here are some of the other things that you can look out for:
1. see if the kids are enjoying their classes (see whether they are following the class or if the look bored)
2. see if the kids are of a good temperatment (can sit down and concentrate vs throwing things around and out of control)
3. ask the teacher in charge totally innocent and random questions abt the kids (for me, i think very good teachers know their kids well, so can tell these teachers apart from those so-so ones)

dlim,
so you and your husband will drop jayden off in the morning by car, but it's your mum/mil who will have a problem picking him up because they don't drive is it? they can actually take a bus to outside heng mui keng, and then walk in. but a bit far, yah.

sanrio and gene (and mrs lai?),
on friday i will most prob be there at IMM pretty early, since i'm taking full day leave. maybe going JE library to return books for my husband first. both kaizer and me will have lunch at IMM, prob at a place that serves kids food. maybe swensons? you gals want to meet for lunch outside or just meet for tea?

ixora, michele, augleo and d,
come and join us too! i know it's half and island away and too far out, but just asking in case you can make it =)

sanrio
i m oso 1 of those dat hardly uses makeup. Tis yr, last nite was the first time coz I attended a wedding dnr .. haha. I used to buy cosmetic but they end up expired and throw away, maybe after a few uses. So nowadays, I asked for samples when I buy skin care .. haha. Now i hv small lil bottle of foundation, loose powders, lip gloss, mascara etc etc.

actually if u feel pale, how abt dapping some lip gloss instead? Tis is wat i do when i go for more formal meetings :p

Sanrio,
actually what brand to use is very individual.. i use to have the concept that "Expensive should be better" so i use Shisheido (70+ for cake & box, 50+ for refill) till one of my friends recommended me Loreal. it works/covers just as well and it only cost less than half the price (28 for cake & box, 18 for refill). But most important is that your moisturiser and powder has SPF for skin protection

Sanrio/min,
ya maybe we should continue and finish up where we stop..kekeke still remember when i was young i use to practise till i fall asleep at the piano..haha

Min,
at least your son took half his porridge. Hai~~ dunno how long this is going to last..

Sandwich,
Yes, hubby will drop off Jayden in the morning & either mom/mil will pick him up. Hubby was
thinking of sending full day but I dont think Jayden can adapt it that fast. So thinking of starting with half day.

Thats the problem... its too far inside. I know there is one small rd that link to Pasir Panjang.
Thats the faster way in. I will discuss with them again & see how to arrange. My mom drives so no problem for her.
Only problem is mil. Quite tired to search for cc... hopefully we can decide one soon cox hubby wanna start this coming dec.

Sanrio,

RE: Makeup

1) is there a 'water-based' type/brand - (Chanel has one 'water-based' type. I bought one)
2) non-oily or cakey (Non-oily but abit cakey cox its water base)
3) hopefully not exceeding $70 or $80 (reasonable??) - (Price range ard $70-$80+).
4) normal coverage, look natural n light, not overly done. - (I find that Chanel 'water base' abit thick.
So if u want natural n light, loose powder more suitable. Its better to go down to the cosmetic counter to try out their powder & feel it)

Sanrio
Personally, I prefer Japanese brand for cosmetics eg. Shiseido, Kose etc. coz I think more suited for Asian skin..

But I notice MUA like to use M.A.C for some reason.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Learning Activites</font>
Actually hor...I tot of letting my boy learn dancing if he is keen...coz mommy likes to dance and I think professional dancers are sooo beautiful on the dance floor. :p

i MIAed for quite awhile.. too busy with kids n house n hb and work.. how is everyone..

anyone cheong to any sales recently?? i thnk i wana help economy go up!!

JL got sale at town.. anyone went?

hey kelley,

*wave* how are you? Seems like you have a busy schedule.

No time to cheong any sales as much as I wished to.

sanrio,

I used to use prescriptives but now no more...few months back visited many counters at Isetan Scotts, in the end bought one from MAC (60+) till now haven't open...still finishing up my prescriptives. haha. btw, don't know if it's water-based or not.

Actually, mascara and lip gloss/stick will brighten better than powder. powder evens out the tone, but if don't use anything else, it'll be very plain too.

Meddy, Min, Sanrio,
if you all wanna continue lessons, where would you go?

Maybe when J learns next time, I'll learn with him haha. Now it's impossible cos when I open the piano, he wants to play...if I play and dun let him on the bench, he'll whine and whine and takes the mood off for me.

S/w
too far lah...haha. have fun!

Min,
this must be the season for sprouting teeth! Finally gave Jesse paracetamol last night... read that giving them that would make them more prone to getting asthma though...so don't try...

D,
hmm..maybe Yamaha? keke but heard there's a constant wait list for the piano lessons. For my gal, will wait till she is 3/4 yrs then sign her up for the Yamaha Junior music course to see whether she has any interest..

Does Paracetamol really relieve teething discomfort? I gave her 1 dose around 9pm last nite but still she toss and turn and moan in her sleep last nite..

re:prescriptive
Heard of the brand before, seems many mummies here using it. really good? Anyway anyone here knows anything about Mineral Make up?