(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hi ixora, springdance

yeah, i've been really quite consumed with work since i went back to work after my maternity leave last year.

i'm cancelling my leave next week to finish up my project. so have to ask my boss can i bring it forward to next year...

just fyi - today i called 2 agencies to book my girl's airfare to tokyo and both quoted me diff prices. 1 quoted me $250 while another quoted me $850! i told the 2nd agency that my girl is below 2 but she kept insisting it's $850. in the end, i called SIA again to chk if the prices have gone up recently and the officer said no. she said it's impossible it's $850. so for those who're bringing their little ones for a holiday, perhaps you may want to double chk with the airline u're flying with for the actual baby fare before booking it with a tour agency
= o P

Infant Air Fare
I also paid about $500+ for Caitlyn's fare to OZ on SQ. I requested for infant child food and they served her lasagne for supper and fruits and muffin for breakfast. She was sleeping during supper so they kept the food for her till she woke up in the morn. I find the service for SQ very good!! United was terrible. Oh...and if possible, take a nite flight! It's their sleeping time so they will be sleeping in the bassinet! My flight to Melbourne was great! Hope my return trip will be good as well! It will be a day flight tho.

Harness
Yes..the harness is vvv cute! But dun pull them when they want to run...if not will fall flat on the face!

Picnic
330pm is ok for us! Only thing is vvvvv hot...so maybe we will go later? Confirm again.

Since it's BYOD...I've changed my contribution.

Picnic @Sentosa
Date: 1 Nov
Time : 3.30pm

1 mummy suggested that we are so near the food court, might as well eat there.....kekekekeke! then is not picnic liao loh

let me know if u will prefer pot luck or prefer to eat there (food court).

1. Augleo ---> sandwiches
2. D ---> cut fruits
3. ixora ---> nachos and dip
4. CoolD ---> she will check w/her "chef"
5. cherryteq ---> still considering
6. EE ---> still pondering whether to pack from land or island
7. Dlim ---> still considering
8. SD ---> Dun mind to eat at foodcourt or packet finger foods
9. kikismom --->
10. milo --->
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = cfm??

Caicai
I’ve yet to ‘opening ceremony’ on my harness buddie also. My hb don’t like leh. He says I’m so cruel. But he said that coz he doesn’t have to run after the bb.
I remembered quite a number of us got it. I’ve only seen Cindy using it on Caitlyn.

Meddy/ Sanrio
Gladys tripped and knocked onto the edge of my bed and rebounced and hit onto the floor, right before my eyes. And she was crying inconsolably which was quite rare. So I was hugging her in my chest and when I look down on her face, I noticed that my T-shirt is full of blood leh. I went hysterical. Luckily the bleeding stopped quite soon after and now what’s left is only the baluku on her forehead.

can recommend the brand of shoes and where to buy for D whom is starting to walk?
i used to let him wear the sandals that hv squeaky sound but an auntie commented that its not good to let him wear it as the sole is heavy and not good for him to walk.

recommendations pls!

sanrio,
oh your thumb got infection too? sahms difficult not to touch detergent.. but like what michele said, use gloves to protect.. i muz admit that i bo chap sometimes, very bad.. nx time old liao then mayb will realise the consequences..
and tks for the tips to prepare jo for cc.. it's not a church based cc.. i dunno how jo & myself would adapt to the new routine, will see how things go..

Catherine,
Can't imagine the whole TV almost crashed on him! I'd be very scared.. luckily he's fine..

Gene,
Gladys oso bled after the knock? When did it happen? Hope her baluku will go away soon..

min,
my fren told me soft sole shoes are good for todds who juz learnt to walk.. so that they can 'feel' the floor.. she recommended combi but i din buy lah.. i din any particular brand, juz bot anything which i like.. u can try chk out mothercare, i see their tags got recommendation on the types of shoes meant for which stage.. i ever saw shoes for crawling to walking stage etc.. hope i din read wrongly.

ixora
thanks. i got combi but its not easy to wear or perhaps my D got broad feet..

saw BP on soft sole.. din know that we shd let them wear softer sole

nowadays due to D's molar eruptions.. he been giving us a hard time ..
been waking up a few times crying, then only want his daddy to stand and rock him to sleep

not much of appetite.. only finish 1/2 bowl or sometimes reject my pasta
and will spit out his food now .
tonight din even want his milk feed! which is very rare of him!

temper getting worse.. must grab hold of things he wants.. gave other things to distract but no use.. end up cry non-stop and hard to console!!

wonder when can he be back to normal!!

min,
i just bought a another new pair of shoes for k for our trip, she now enjoys walking on her Geox so much.

K started on some shoes from colette, clarks.
clarks shoes can fit broad. coz K also got chubby feet. since D just started walking, get thoese with the heel support types.

cath,
mal went to pull the TV. din get the chance to read archive. will read later tonight if i got chance, we are in kyoto now.
heading out now. hope mal din get a shock and you guys too!

min
just 2 share .. i started jboy wif e bubblegum squeeky shoe when he start to walk. I find dat e sound motivates him to walk

cat
Glad dat M is ok le.

Jboy oso had a baluku tis wkend .. on e back if his head. Hit when he slide down e slide in e swimming pool :S

Picnic @Sentosa

1 mummy suggested that we are so near the food court, might as well eat there.....kekekekeke! then is not picnic liao loh

2. D ---> cut fruits
4. CoolD ---> cha bee hoon
5. cherryteq ---> still considering
9. kikismom --->
10. milo --->
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = cfm??

Catherine
Omigosh… am sure you & hubby must have got the fright of your lives when you saw the scene happening….Lucky the TV is “caught” by the wires which saved Malcom… this “terrible two” stage is not only frustrating but also frightening for mummies & daddies…..

Blueroti
In that case, why not book your air tickets directly with SQ? Hopefully your boss is understanding enough to let you bring forward your leave…afterall, if your boss wans the project to be completed, then he should give & take abit for his staff….

Min
I also got recommendations about Clarks…so maybe you can give it a try for D… other than that, Jonas is wearing Osh Gosh sandals which he seems to be comfortable in it so far…

Catherine,
Must take care of yourself ok? Not to just take care of Mal.

Min,
M wears Combi shoes and Fisherprice sandals. No complaints.

Picnic @Sentosa

2. D ---> cut fruits
5. cherryteq ---> Fishballs
9. kikismom --->
10. milo --->
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = cfm??

Min,
cher is a fairly early but super clumsy walker n i find pediped shoes great. but costly.. till tdy she is still wearing it as her feet growing v slowly. i find clarks suitable only wen they can walk steadily.

ixora, michele, leo
tks, got to take care of my hand esp fingers as i hv allergy n gotten infection quite often. i tried glove sbut find it v 'clumsy'. but i tink i hv to. only i hv to minimise touching water but takg care of kids, bathe, cook, hv to touch water often so d skin keep tearing. got to diligently use my barrier cream..

sanrio and gene and jmon,
response for this week's meet up not so good leh. only you three gals are ok to meet. in this case, i might not take leave on thursday. i will take on friday instead so that there's an extra long weekend. maybe we can meet at IMM on friday afternoon instead. (can't remember whether jmon stays in the west or not). let me know if you can't make it because i can't remember which days cher and gladys have to go to class.

sanrio,
talking abt shoes, does cher's sandals (the one from world of sports, can't remember what's the brand) cause some abrasion on her feet? cos i subsequently brought the boy version for kaizer and he has some eczema ard the front strap areas. or maybe his feet is just ultra sensitive to the rubber.

any of your babies had ear infection before? mine does. left ear has quite a bit of hardened ear wax. right ear slightly affected too. both ears on ear drops now.

Min,
we loved the pedipeds we bought from their online store (took two weeks to arrive). J wore it from the time he started walking until recently... we're still not sure if his foot fungal infection has contaminated the shoes. His feet also grow pretty slowly and he's still able to wear them. So until I figure out how to sterilize them, we'll just keep them first.

He used to wear them all the time and it still looks as good as new, we were even thinking of keeping them for #2 (if any). When he changed his shoes to harder sole ones recently, it took a while for him to get used to walking in them. Till now, he trips quite often when wearing his crocs. He only seems more comfortable with a non-squeaky bubblegummers pair we bought recently. He did like his squeaky pair though...but he's outgrown that.

sandwich,
oh..I was just about to ask you about the meet up...

can't help with the ear infection...though a lot of ang moh kids had them when I was there...I don't know why...

sanrio and d,
any local shop in singapore carrying the pedipeds shoes? am thinking of getting a nice looking pair of shoes for kaizer for weddings and stuff like that. don't think i want to see how heavy the shoes are, and also to let him try before getting a pair.

"tripping over crocs" doesn't sound very safe at all. esp with those news reports abt crocs getting wedged in the escalators. heard crocs is going incorporate an escalator warning onto its new shoes.

actually, i don't know why and how the infection manifested. whether it's from loud noises, moist environment (condensation in the ear?), water accumulated from bathing (father bathes him in a rough fashion i suspect, cos there's a lot of splashing involved on those few occasions that i go peep at them), small particles from the cotton buds or whatever.

Picnic @Sentosa

2. D ---> cut fruits
7. Dlim ---> disposables (plate, bowl, forks, spoon)+ Fingers Food (Hotdogs & Nuggerts)
9. kikismom --->
10. milo --->
11. sanrio --->
12. ps_gal = cfm??

Sandwich,

We went to the learning vision open house last sat at the kent vale staff housing.
Forgot there is one at the reseach link. I can said, Im very impressed with the school there.
Most likely I will enroll for Jayden but b4 we confirm, we are making a trip down to research
link centre tmr to take a look.

So now we have come to our decision. Juz left with which centre to register with. If we confirm
research link, Jayden & Kaizer will be classmates soon... hopefully..

dlim,
yah, heard from the teachers that the school had an open house on friday. if you're impressed with the kent vale one, then you might like research link even better. cos it's smaller and cosier and newer. plus there's infant care facilities for bb no 2. i haven't been to the kent vale centre before, but one parent who has to source for another LV school (since his son's turning 3 years old soon and is outgrowing research link) commented that the kent vale centre looks and feels like an american prison. this second parent is not sending his kid to kent vale for this prison reason. even though i strongly suspect that he lives at kent vale since he's a maths lecturer from norway (i think). anyway he's sending his kid to the biopolis LV centre instead.

let me know if you're definately signing up with LV, cos i get to enjoy 50% off my school fees for a month if i "recommend" you to the school. think it's abt $300 off maybe? we can share the savings together, like i did with my colleague who "recommended" me to the school!

dlim,
just remembered that you were considering sanrio's cc as well. any reasons why you're not going there? cos heard from sanrio that the school has a very big and nice compound.

Sandwich,
yes yes i remb ash is also 'allergic' to d rubber of d rider sandal. i bought 1 pair n ended up he cldn't wear it, still in my shoes cabinet :p cher is perfectly fine w it.
ash has to wear 100% leather shoes, so he wore a pair of clarks for quite somtx. else he is ok w crocs.
pediped: i bought a bn pair fr d selling thread. else can check out www.bbtinz.com. she may have some ready stocks.

Sandwich,
poor kaizer, poor ash. yup ash once wen to kkh ent surgeon to hv his earwax taken out cos he had pain. oso dun noe how he got it but somtx cld b water n tis boy is allergic to many thgs under d sun.
ash got his 1st pair of crocs when he first entered cc n saw many of his frds hv d shoe sn he wanted 1 pair.

Friday imm is ok with me. cher class is on monday.

sanrio,
something wrong with your link. anyway, do you think this material looks like it would cause allergies? http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&item=180299856736

when was the ent surgery incident? cos at the moment, mine doesn't know how to "complain" about pain yet, other than cry when i prod the wax.

oh, cherelle's going to class this afternoon then. have this feeling that she will always dress prettily for classes, hahaa. how come you are taking ash out of cc?

Sandwich,
Really.. hope i will prefer research link better. I heard the max of children they have is only 46 & thats
better compare to kent vale which they have 200++ cox they include for K1 & K2. I know why that parent
commented it look like prison cox K1 & K2 r on the 2nd floor & they have the metal bar railing to prevent
children from climbing high up.

I like their school, very spacious & new. The outdoor play area is very big. The disadvantage is they have too
many children located in that centre. I have not been to biopolis LV centre too. Wonder how it look like.

Sure no problem, if i were to sign up LV, i will mentioned your name. How many sets of uniform did u purchase?
If I were to sign up by this wk, I will get 1 set of t-shirt & long pant free.

The cc at Bt Timah where ash is in is too far for my mil to fetch Jayden. We intend to start with half day 1st..still deciding.
If at LV, at least my mom & mil staying at west coast can fetch him easily. So thats the reason by we did not choose the
cc @ Bt Timah. And My hubby also commented that the teachers at Bt Timah cc abit old compare to LV.

Sanrio,
Why r u taking ash out of d cc?

dlim,
i have one set of the sailor uniform, one set of t-shirt with long pants and one set of t-shirt with berms. the toddlers at research link don't really adhere to wearing uniforms. cos the infants next door wear their home clothes. so the culture at the school is that parents just wear uniforms for the todds as and when it's convenient. i usually will try to wear the sailor uniform daily (cos it washes and dries very fast), but the t-shirt set i only let him wear occasionally. the school bottoms are way too big and ridiculous looking on kaizer. so we have our own blue bottoms from old navy and gap (looks similar to school bottoms) whenever he wears the school t-shirt. i can give jayden an extra set of the berms and long pants, cos i estimate that kaizer will probably be able to wear them in 2-3 years time. by then, i better buy new ones, hahaa.

so when D starts walking steadily then change to harder sole right?
where can i find Clark shoes?

Sanrio, the link not working

S/W, Min,

Ya, I wanted to buy from bbtinz previously, but they didn't have stock. The home-based online store is actually located near us and I had called to see if I could let J try on for size but she wasn't friendly and just said she didn't have size. So I just bought directly.

The shoes are very light. I bought two pairs since they calculate shipment by no. of pairs bought and it's the same for 1 and 2 pairs.

Well, if you're in no rush, I could let you try/fit for size. Obviously I only have one size if you wanted to try the size. I only have size 5. This is a new pair, not the "fungus" one. haha.

I'll say one negative for pedipeds though...since it's all leather, it's not good for wet weather...it's slippery when wet.

The crocs J has are not the normal ones with toe cover, it's more like a strapped sandal. This is what he has cos my after-lunch brain can't describe: http://www.surfanddirt.com/nofear/dept.asp?dept_name=Kids+Crocs+Otter&dept_id=6408&s_id=0

Ya, I read that they'll put a tag on for how to ride an escalator properly. It's quite commonsense but it's the same as how Macs has to put "Caution: Hot!" on it's cups.

Just a thought on Pedipeds, while looking through their website: www.pedipeds.com

I'd caution about buying from the fall/winter collection...I think it'll be warm for our weather. I have a few leather shoes that's thin and nice...I can wear them in winter (snow and all) but my feet perspire when I try to wear them here. The older styles should be okay though, especially the "holely" ones.

Was quite tempted to buy from them...but I guess I'll wait till the spring/summer collection comes out.

Sandwich,
Thanks for sharing. Cox i was told by the LV that we need 2 sets of uniforms. So is one set of
the sailor uniform enough for kaizer?

Since is not complusory to wear uniforms to school, I find it more easier. Like u said if too big,
its kind of waste money too. Thanks for your offer to give Jayden an extra set of the berms and long pants.

Hopefully, we decided to enrol him there. Will keep u updated after my visit tmr morning.

me? nothing busy with.
JK changed his nap time and sometime i will nap with him

Mrs Lai: the last chat on MSN...she is so busy @work and no time to update her blog

Picnic @Sentosa

2. D ---> cut fruits
7. Dlim ---> disposables (plate, bowl, forks, spoon)+ Fingers Food (Hotdogs & Nuggerts)
9. kikismom --->
10. milo --->
11. sanrio --->
12. michele --->
13. cindy--->
14. ps_gal = cfm??

Dlim, SW,
when ash first entered tat cc, d entire mgt is dfferent. d principal n ash's previous teachers all left. ash is doing enrichment class w one of his ex-teacher now. tats d main reason we ar taking him out of tat cc thou d environment is nice.

SW,
i bought her too many dresses/clothes so when go kaikai, wld let her wear.
ash: i tink wen he was 2 yrs++. d ent surgeon removed a real big earwax, yee......

cher is wearing the pediped original. pediped is 100% leather n quite soft, shd not cause allergy. mayb when choosing d design, choose d more 'airy' design.
i hv ezcema on feet too so i m alwy in sandals (no strap) all d tx, cant b vain 'on my feet' :p

Min
I understand from the mummy who recommended me that OG department store (children's dept) carries Clarks shoes...maybe when you go shopping at OG.. can go look see...

mummies: I'm still alive. thank you for remembering I still exist. yup I am still at work.

Sanrio, nice seeing you and Amber today. Make me so gian to take leave on friday also. what time you all meetingat IMM? If I gua gua finish all my work and don't forget anything again (which I had been) I may be able to take 1/2 day leave.

Work's been busy cuz learning all the new things and never stop learning cuz it's a new "program" so a lot of things pop up along the way and new things we can think to do. It's tiring but fun and I enjoy it very much. These days I usually conk out before V does ;P

V can now say banana, bubbles and buttons. She is very good at signing "please" and "thank you" if she wants something you want! she's now also 12.2kg :p

ok that's all the updates i can think of now ... brains a bit the poof liao.

oh oh and i v happy today also cuz Amber says i lost a lot of weight. To be honest, I have lost about 10kg from about 6 months ago, so quite happy. got another 10 kg to lose. no secret, just plain STRESSED. =)

I aim to be like sanrio and sandwich's league!