(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Thought I should add:

Q. Why are we seeing a rise in the incidence of autism?

* Physicians use a book called the Diagnostic Statistical Manual to help them diagnose cases of autism. In the past decade, the guidelines in that book have changed. They have become more inclusive. So children who used to be considered "learning delayed" or to have "behavior problems" may now be more correctly diagnosed with mild autism.
* Parents and medical professionals are simply more aware of the condition and are more likely to pursue a diagnosis and treatment than in years past. As there are more state and federally funded programs available for children with autism, there is an increased incentive to make a diagnosis, so those children will have access to those programs.
* A recent study in the British Medical Journal found no rise in incidence of autism in children who received MMR as compared to those who did not. The authors also showed that in autistic children (both ASD and classical) the age at which a child received MMR did not affect the age at which the diagnosis of autism was made.
(Same source)

Springdance,
vegetables? cher dun take much fruits (as n wen we serve fruits at hm) but she takes vege evy meal. or u can try, 'Organix Fruits Puree'. 100% fruits with no artificial ingredients. a bit pricey, abt $2.10 for 1 tiny container (1 serving), comes in 4. i got it fr vitakids. convenient, tastes nice (i tried) esp cold fr fridge.

Talking:
brought cher to zoo. rhino, elephant, any big n 'fat' animals, she wld say, 'pig'. ostrich she said 'bird'. anytg tat swims like penguin, she wld say, 'duck'. favourite phrase loud n clear now is, 'mama up, out'. tat is askg me to carry her n go out of d hse..
she speaks earlier n more compared to ash. but no worries, ash spoke his 1st word/s v late but is v chatty (non-stop) now.

sandwich,
hope kaizer is much better. let me noe if u are near me n i pass u some breakfast 'O'.

SpringD
D still can't really walk with support. he wld at most push the walker for merely few steps then wanna sit down oredi
when i wanna hold on to his armpit, he will scream

Dlim
i juz saw enfragrow @NTUC. it has got new packaging .. with 4x DHA! but i think my son now very like to act smart!! too much DHA also not very good!! haha

actually tot of switching to Gain coz they always hv freebies.

Min,

Yes, they increase the price juz bcox of the new packaging with 4xDHA!! Doesnt sounds rite to me..

Its really too much.. a jump of $6 & thats alot! My son has been with enfa since birth. I have no
ideal what other brand is good.

Sanrio
Yap…did think of buying jarred fruits puree to mix with his cereal for breakfast…used to do that when he was younger until at a stage, we stopped becoz he pukes when he tasted the cereal mixed with the puree…think I will give a try again like you say….

As for vege, we do give with his porridge lunch/dinner…but I guess there’s not much vitamin c left coz we cook together with the porridge instead of steam separately. :p

Min
Hmm….try holding his hands instead of his armpits…think it’s more comfortable this way and D may probably try to walk a few steps with your support.

Sandwich
Is Kaizer OK already? Did you eventually manage to get back to work today?

Mrs Lai
"Smacked" via email you meant? :p

any mummies wana go botanic garden next weekday?? cos i finish my cnofinment liao.. plan to bring ashlyn to the jacobs place that she missed the last time round...

Springdance,
this 'Organix Fruit Puree' tastes much nicer than the jar ones :p Cher nvr like jar food even the fruits ones.
i steam the vege separately.

Min: there's another jab at 18 months but i forgot wat it is. She told me to go back in Dec for another jab but i cannot rem wat it is :p

kelley and spring: ya smack down via email. Someone v smart, reply me a few times somemore cc to whole big world. So I just answer v short and sweet and asked that person not to put words in my mouth. In the end, that person email me privately and asked to make peace. I just said I am not attacking that person personally wat. It is a problem they have to solve and cannot push it back to us. I am not in the wrong and please don't treat me as an idiot. anyway good have all the big emails. I already compiled, forwarded to my colleague and my colleague will showcase the emails to our boss, since we all share the same reviewing personnel.

Mrs Lai,
must be feeling very satisfied now huh! hate those ppl who like to CC mails to the whole world just to show off!

Hi augleo,
Zoo sounds good! But now no car leh, cos 10 years up already and car is scrapped and hubby says cannot buy another car

Hi MichK,
can pm me the details of the outdoor shoot? or post details here if more convenient? me haven't even gone for studio shoot yet *sigh*

SpringDance
I suspect Nan3 causes constipation problem. Now that I give Gladys Friso3, she's ok liao.

Mrs Lai
Gladys has to go for 2 hearing tests coz she didn't respond! It's not that she can't hear, just that she doesn't wanna acknowledge when called. It's just plain stubborn or too engrossed in whatever they're doing. I think it's normal.

Leo / Mrs Chia

I wanna go zoo but only can go on Sunday.

Mrs Chia

My hb also refuses to buy a new one after he sold his car.
He said GO GREEN with public transport. We can take public transport or even cab whenever we want. Save money and also an effort to save the earth.
Let’s quit the car and be green with public transport.

Sanrio
Oh I see…Organix Fruit Puree taste better than other jarred fruit brand? Alright…let me get a bot next time I go supermarket….Giant & Carrefour got sell?

Gene
Another reason why I stick to NA is becoz when I compare the contents with other FM, NAN has higher level of omega indicated….so I tot it’s good…but if it causes constipation like you say, I’ll rather forgo the so-called higher nutrients…I got 2 tins of Progress Gold (wrongly purchased by my FIL)…let me try to switch to that to see if my boy detox beta….kekekek……

Mrs Lai
Emails can be a very SCARY weapon indeed….that’s why sometimes I sit in front of the PC take very long to reply & compose emails…..so does my boss! That's why hor...she will go by phone call if can...no written eveidence mah! Hahahah…

EE,
plan to own a CNG car but the gas increased 40%!!!

Mrs Chai,
u need a car leh. esp. ur job.
get a smaller cc?
hv a girl frez, her hb bought a cheryQQ for her (SAHM) to roam round.

Leo, EE
ya lor...but CNG top-up now still not convenient...and the tank is quite bit leh.

EE
I did my part and went "car-less" for 3 years plus liao.

Leo,
cheryQQ can put carseat ah? its soooo small! Next time we plan to get something like that for J as his first car...haha...can't go too fast :p

Mrs Chia,
I'm also waiting 3.5years more to scrap my 16 yr old

SD,
almost deplete the zoo pass membership cost

D,
Bedok South will have a top-up (in the near future???)
agreed, that TANK huh...realli DIM TEH !!!

Her youngest one coming to 4yrs, don't sit car seat. Yes, is small but adequate for her usage. her hb drives MPV so her car is likes a "marketing" + shopping cart for wkday. hahahaha!

SD: that is also why I always tell the MAs to follow up with the emails on what was discussed - always leave a paper trial even though it was discussed on the phone. Then if anything, then we can always point to the email and said you didn't dispute my summary of the phone conversation then.

Gene: My regular PD less kan cheong - he thinks it's not a big deal cuz at this age they can always choose to bo hew. But he told us to make sure it's done on purpose, and he got no issue with the MMR being pushed to 2 years old.

Rem my gal VUR problem? I asked the PD if can stop the antibotics - the one i saw said cannot, must do another scan before can be off. the regular one said no prob, can stop immediately but any unexplain fever must go down to do a urine test immediately. So once we finish the antibotics (2 more weeks) then we will stop. So hopefully nothing happens lor. Anyway good to have the antibotics now since we all taking turns to fall sick.

Leo,
I agree, it's good for a run about the neighbourhood. Same with mine lor...

coold,
agreed. I went to visit my friend the other day (near town) used up at least $15 just for ERP and parking. Cte on the way home also got ERP. heh. Nvm the petrol...

coolD,
some of us have the aquadoodle mat

if you are not too fussy, u can get it from KP/Taka.
fm my exp, the shipping cost will be abt $30 if u buy fm US

Mick: simi backyard?

Coold: aiya i just got the mat today from toy r us? cost me $25 but not the stampers one - just basic one with mat and pen.

D,
the papers mentioned that there will be 1 CNG station at Serangoon North soon ah, convnient for us BUT then...the empty tanks weigh 60 kgs and full tanks weigh 80kg, was thinking, wouldn't it add alot of load to the car?

Min,
maybe next week, i wld ask the west side mummies n any other mummies whether want to go IMM again, unless they want to travel to town, or maybe we can have a mt up in town. i brought ash n cher to gogobambini on ash's bday n d kids love it. even my xiaojie cher enjoyed climbing n running ard. but i hv to follow her all d tx if she played at d kids play area. there is an area for babies but small. chuan!!
i dun mind gg there agn..

Meddy: Haiz u know why I bought it? Cuz the PD got ask if she got grab pen and start doodling.

Somehow either the PD v advanced or i v slow ... so in the end i went to get the aqua mat (wanted to some time ago but keep forgetting) and let my gal doodle lor.

I getting some washable markers also so maybe she can doodle during bath time :p

Mrs Lai,
the aqua mat sounds fun. I shall have to check toys r us out soon. Jesse (and his mummy) loves kitchen sets, I shall get that too...time to keep the jumper liao...

You should ask your PD to give you a list of things that you're supposed to try out with Vanessa before each check up then you can tell PD if she can/cannot do it. Mine doesn't give lah (the US one did) but our current PD also never ask anything...*sigh* We don't even know what the child's supposed to do or not do! Don't know ask good or don't ask good.

SpringD,
we brought Jesse to gogobambini on sat a few weeks ago and it was quite terrible. The big kids were at the baby area and they were jumping off the playhouses and stuff. The Staff didn't stop them and apparently their parents weren't around to supervise. The kids were very rude too. HB says he won't bring Jesse there again but I can try to bring him on weekday, maybe it's less crowded esp during school hours.

Meddy,
ya, but where's Serangoon Nth Ave 5? or issit 3? 60 - 80kg is like carrying an extra person around all the time...and the space it takes up in the boot also like that.

mrs lai
actually mat n pen is good enuff for now. Stamp will end up in jboy's mouth :p

Btw, where to get kids safe non toxic color pen or water color har? Like the one we used at JG trial seems good.

Gogobambini I also want !!

Leo,
too bad I never receive the mailer for empty milk can exchange...and also too bad all my empty milk cans are isomil (abbott). I think they know I buy that, that's why they never send to me...