(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Gene,
thanks for the detailed reply
Appreciate it!

Min
Jonas same same with D again...he also do the "headstand" on the bed only...and when he try to push himself up, he can't balance and fall FLAT on the mattress...so it's a good thing he's not trying this stunt on the floor.

Gene
My boy has been getting bad constipation quite often recently...just last weekend, we had to dig his stools out from the hole...he was crying so badly...poor thing. He's still on NAN 3...dunnoe if I should change FM...but then, another thing is he DUN EAT fruits at all...which I believe is the main factor to his C problem. signnzzzz.....

Any mummies here with babies who dun like to eat fruits?

kaizer is at home today. can't go to school as he has a fever. hope he gets well by noon time so that i can go to work in the afternoon. otherwise, i won't feel nice to take my usual thursday PM leave tomorrow!

gd morning .. Yday on leave, brot jboy to the Birdpark. Nice weather & jboy enjoy too. I myself is also amazed by the parrot during the show .. they can count from 1-10 in english & chinese, sing Ke ren lai, rasa saya, happy bday, singapura !!

cool_d,
the parrot smarter than my boi! haha.

Leo,
sure...sounds good

sandwich,
issit only a slight temp? Take some panadol and maybe he'll be better in an hour...hope it's just teething like Mrs Lai said... Jesse has been feeling warmer these past few days too but no fever.

SpringD,
erm...Jesse takes bananas, watermelon and apples? Count as fruits, right?

Talking about watermelons...Caitlyn loves them!

Sandwich,
Hope Kaizer gets well soon! Poor boy, he has been down quite a bit since he started school. Do you think its becos of school cos there are so many kids?

Feeding
I think Caitlyn is beginning to realise the wonders of eating! Her appetite has improved quite abit and she has been eating faster! Keeping my fingers crossed!

fong, dreamygal n mummies,
polyclinic charge the 3/6/9/12/18 mths assessment? (if we want details assessment, PD clinic charging S$35!)

Per jab of 5 in 1 is S$88+, inclusive of the assessment?

Mummies: I'm pushing back the MMR jab to 2 years old for V.

The PD banned TV for my gal for the time being. It's based on my gal refusing to respond/ ignore when called :p *haiz*

Mrs Lai,
u dun scare me leh...JK has his MMR jab this morning. he can't talk yet!!!
when he gets to engross with TV or toys, he oso din response.

Aug: she wasn't engross - she just refused to respond. and she only willing to acknowledge daddy not mummy (heartbroken). So anyway the PD says can push back MMR and see how it goes lor. My gal also not talking just blabbering.

Leo,
when I'm engrossed with something, I also don't respond! And when J is engrossed with something he also doesn't respond...I think that is normal. I think I'm normal hahah. :p

Mmm...Cindy,
Good for Caitlyn! I cut some watermelon last night and my friends ate it all, leaving none for J (today). Oh well..

Mrs Lai,
I think the "standard" for babies our age it to babble and not to talk lah... Jesse's way of saying "read this" is to bring the book to me and then say "Da Dum".

working mummies and SAHM...
is Wednesday liao. "tahan" another 2 days more is wknd le.

it gonna to be a fun wknd for all

Mrs Lai,
yest. rec'd call from PD clinic = gentle reminder: due to MMR jab (which suppose 2 wks ago).

D,

mrs lai
don't scare me also. i let my D watch tv when i need to do chores
but TV got anything to do with MMR ? what about 18mth jab? gonna push back also?

SpringD
our boys really can be good frens
but he still no sign in walking
still got jelly legs

mrs lai, agent d,
i really do think he's teething. cos he has been constantly bringing his hands to dig (for lack of a better word) his gums recently. anyway, he's been asleep for 1 plus hour already. hope after he wakes up, he'll be well enough to go to school.

cindy,
yah he has been getting sick on/off pretty often in the past two months. but luckily he didnt get major bouts of stomach flu, diarrhoea etc like some of my colleagues' kids when they started school. so i was actually prepared for the worst, but the worst hasn't happened to him yet.

mrs lai,
kaizer hasn't taken his too. i might ask for it to be pushed back as far as possible, cos no urgent need to take it at the moment anyway.

cindy,
good for caitlyn! kaizer has tried watermelon before, but quite neutral to it. i'll most prob let him try again since he loves fruits. at the moment, his fav fruits are grapes and bananas. but he is okay with guava, oranges and apples. haha, fruits + biscuits are the mainstays in his diet. things like rice and spagetti are his deserts and side dishes!

mrs lai,
think u pd cautious.. coz u see K every week rite? she still blabbering. also not talking. ignoring ppl as well. think just our kiddos are slow in talking.
guess, when they do, we will wait to shhh... them up.

my boy can only say ball, dada, nei nei (milk), apple, mum mum (food) and na na (banana)for the past 3months
seem like no new words added though i been teaching him.

Michk
is that the shot at JB gardens ?

wait a min .. wat hv i missed? How is MMR related to not talking??!!

D
the keeper says, parrot has the IQ of a 3yrs old kid. .. so for now, they are indeed smarter

sandwich,
your "healthy eating campaign" is really taking off with Kaizer! haha. :p I think they really take after us lor...I eat fastfood about 3 times a week and the rest of my meals are mainly starchy or meaty. Our family takes a week to finish 5 apples and we hardly have any other fruits around (the watermelon was given to me by my mil). So it's not hard to see why Jesse hardly takes fruits except what I've mentioned. I did think of buying some blueberries for him to try but I forgot when we were at the supermarket. It's just not something that's on my mind...which is terrible.

This Kaizer's ailments had to do mostly with food and allergies, right? I think he's doing really well, health-wise, considering that he started childcare. Way to go! Keep those vitmins and healthy stuff going his way!

Cindy,
poor me too. I only had one piece/cube

How's summer?

Mrs Lai,
Can push back to 2 years? My PD say max is 18mth and she says hopefully my gal can talk by then.

SpringD,
My gal eats lots and lots of fruits and vegs but now and then she still suffer from hard stools ah.
Maybe you can try other FM? or offer more water/Ribena?

s/w
hope Kai recover fast!!

my boy down with cold & cough .. seem like his immunity is down esp pneu 3rd jab
he juz got fever 3wks ago
i hope its bcoz teething too

Cindy,
I hated summers...but hey, the ang-mohs love them and relish it! I always just kept telling myself, at least it's just a few months and the really hot days only probably add up to 3 weeks total.

I've never been to Niagara in summer (always wanted to try the original Buffalo Wings but never did)...maybe you have to go further north! haha.

Talking about buffalo wings, there used to be this place called "BW3" (google it) they had fantastic wings and Tuesdays were wing days. I think they have branches scattered across the country (or maybe just the midwest). But if there's one near you, give it a try.

aiyoh...is lunch time le.

D, u named so many food : fast food, buffalo wings....
make me hungry and drooling.

my lunch will b boring mee sua!!!!

augleo
i wished i m having mee sua .. especially my mama home cooked mee sua wif liver, kidney n meat

I am going east pt again .. probably end up wif LJS. Boring ..

Jesse...
You are making me very hungry too! And sadly, there's none near me!!
You are right, the ang mohs really relish the warmth! My neighbours will take their babies to the playground and parks at 11am/12nn!!!

agent d,
yah i like fruits and veg myself. before i gave birth, i used to take fruits for breakfast. there was one week when i just had raw celery and raw carrots with cheese for breakfast, and that freaked a lot of people in the office out. my husband eats a lot of raw or semi cooked veg, he can even tolerate raw garlic. but of course, i can't lah. my dad refers to the veg that me and my husband eat as "grass". cos his version of veg is the normal type of asian veg -- well cooked, with condiments, and with lots of seasoning. but now with breastfeeding, it's a different story. i eat like a pig. for breakfast today, i had a pack of fishball mee, a pack of fried carrot cake, a cup of fresh milk and 2 choc chip cookies. oh no, feel quite gross to be eating so much now that i'm typing everyting out.

Psst, Cindy!
They are crazy

sandwich,
you can eat as much as you want, it doesn't seem to be sticking onto your bones!
Hey, have you tried raw snow peas? Just wondering, do you just eat the seed or the whole pod? haha.

Leo,
I also no lunch
Shall cook more of what J's having and eat that.

CoolD,
my PD say she usually put off MMR till the child can talk cos there are "Rumours" saying that MMR will cause Autism..

MMR jabs: if can I thnk later beta.. ashlyn had her MMR the other time.. aiyo.. gave her super high fever.. cos during the jab.. it collided with her teething period… so there was high fever, runny nose, cough.. wah piangz.. lucky all over

Eating habits: and yes.. ashlyn’s eating habits are coming back and bigger… now she loves drinking milk.. drink n eat.. hopefully for long long time!!

Sandwich: ashlyn loves fruits.. when she doesn’t eat much.. I give her tons of fruits…

Cooldaughter: come my house eat mee sua ba… I got tons for my confinement I dread eating them!!! Wat u want to know about MMR?

Agent D
Of coz counted lar….especially apples…an apple a day keeps the doctor away…but my boy just dun like….not even his used-to-be fav papaya…..duh! Guess he’ll have to drink Lactus daily (which he loves!)…..

Meddy
I ever changed his FM before coz he didn’t like milk …but he’s not used to the taste…so still gotta mix with NAN. About Ribena….I heard that it actually do not contain the vitamins C that the advertisement claims?

Min
Can D walk with support yet? For example with you holding his hands?

Augleo
Looks like you making frequent use of the zoo pass…and that’s good….juz wondering, how many times has JK been to the zoo already?

Cool_D / Kelly / Meddy
Jonas has had both MMR and chix pox jabs already...seems ok...no or very slight fever...errr...can't tell if he got autism though...in the first place, he will always cry when strangers stare at him and when he's confined inside in a new enclosed room.

kelley
I love mee sua. During my confinement, almost eday lunch i oso eat mee sua .. nice

re MMR, coz I suddenly see posts abt delaying MMR & baby not talking mah .. so I gancheong. Jboy also not talking yet. Yday went birdpark, teach him 'bird', he kip going 'tst' :S

cool_d
well, I can tell you that there is inconclusive evidence wrt MMR and Autism.

Here are 2 FAQ I took from American Association of Pediatrics website:

What Parents Should Know About Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR) Vaccine and Autism

Q. Is there a link between measles vaccination and autism?

* No, there is no scientifically proven link between measles vaccination and autism.
* Extensive reports from both the American Academy of Pediatrics, the Institute of Medicine and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention conclude that there is no proven association between Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR) vaccine and autism.
* Autism is a chronic developmental disorder, often first identified in toddlers from age 18 months to 30 months. MMR is administered just before the peak age of onset of autism. This timing leads some parents to mistakenly assume a causal relationship. There is no evidence that MMR causes autism.
* Increasing evidence indicates that autism is determined while the baby is still in the womb, early in the pregnancy.

Q. What are the complications of measles vaccination?

* Measles vaccine is safe; most people have no reactions.
* About 5 percent to 15 percent of vaccine recipients may develop a fever five to 12 days after MMR vaccination. The fever usually lasts one to two days and usually is not associated with other symptoms. About 5 percent of MMR recipients may develop a rash one to two weeks after immunization.
* Central nervous system disturbances, such as encephalitis, have been reported with a frequency of less than one per 1 million doses of MMR vaccination administered, a frequency many times lower than the incidence of serious central nervous system disorders that follow natural infection at a rate of one per 800.

If you want to read up more, this is my source:
http://www.aap.org/healthtopics/immunizations.cfm

And I'm sure google will turn up even more.

aiyah... the thing is, your kids ignoring if engrossed. For my gal, she is refusing to acknowledge. Worse, she just ignore, staring at something else or look elsewhere.

My hubby said the PD not v good :p then i was talking to my sister, my sister said (in USA) the PD will observe the kid playing with the parents then comment. Ours is the PD ask the kids things and see if the kid respond.

So now, the PD is just very cautious and said to push the MMR to 2 years old. Which is fine with me.

Any mummies want to order from Babymallonline? I collecting orders now and once the 20% comes I'll key in the order. My colleagues want to order some so I tot can topang some orders from here also.