(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

caicai,
ya, I know there are many places to eat there, my auntie works there so used to meet her for lunch there... that's why we feel so bummed that we chose a lousy place. That last time I went to kuriya (a long time ago) it was good but it doesn't seem like somewhere I'd bring a baby - feel bad for disturbing other patrons. But I guess off-peak should be okay. Do they have times when the kitchen is close? I know house of sudanese takes a break I think between 2pm - 6pm.

dlim...

any tricks to train bb drink from mag, my bb jus do nt want to drink from straw...haiz

milo,

U r welcome.

Maybe u were like to drink & show him how to suck from the straw. They will juz pick up from u.

My boy can drink from straw but he always like to play with water.. end up his t-shirt all wet.
Dont know whats wrong with him, so we let him drink from normal milk bottle then he will drink
properly. Funny boy!

milo,
can try let her drink juice from straw.. taste nice so there's motivation for her to get the drink into her mouth, or use some interesting looking cup, and try with those yakult straw first.. =)

Dlim,
I know I'm slow, but wanna say your photos are very well taken. There's one Jayden with Matthew, so cute. Jay's half a head taller.

I'm assuming Jay lets the water dribble out of his mouth that's why shirt wet? I think because can suck up more water when using straw, so can "push" the water out of the mouth easily. If drink from milk bottle, head tilts back, naturally water gets swallowed better.
but he is quite cute, can just imagine him...

Dlim: wait till your boy sucks the water up and then pushes it down the straw again :p My gal does that and can see bits of her food floating in her water bottle!!! I know my gal does that sometimes especially when her gums are itchy, so the water will sooth her gums but she's not thristy!

Dlim,
Jesse some times loves to play with water that way too...and some times I let him, esp when we're in the car at the end of the day and we're on our way home. Usually, though, he just drinks from it and he knows I hate it when he plays with water. (In the carseat, I technically cannot "see" him play mah, since he's behind me.)

Suisui,
my boy can't do many many basic things lah but when it comes to drinking from a straw (I can brag...haha)...we just handed him the "cute" bottle and he drank from it! We didn't expect him to do it but he did. We were like, "erm...okay..." Before that though, we did try a couple of training cups and he didn't like any one of them...he loves the straw though. Now we have our little collection of these bottles.

1496105.jpg

yes, I realise it is very sad to collect such things...but I am a major nerd.
And my HB indulges me...haha

And I've never given him water in a milk bottle before...some times we feed him water from a spoon.

Mrs Lai,
Jesse does that too! After he dirties the water, he'll hand it back to me to ask me to change the water! We also find that the bottles have helped with his teething...

milo
my jboy also dun wanna suck fm the straw. I tried n tried till almost giving up le. Been a long time since i let him try again .. haha. Maybe I shld let him try again tis wkend

Cherryteq,
Missed out yr post. Thanks, actually I also anyhow take the photos.
Yup I saw the photo Jayden standing next to Matthew...too bad they are not
looking at the camera..

Your boy also quite tall. Actually I find that the tallest boy among our group
is Caicai's son - Zac! He is really very tall...

Cai,
I signed in but I cant see the photos u upload?

Mrs Lai/Jesse,

My boy does that too!! Especially during feeding time & we have to change the water very often cox
I find it quite dirty..

Jesse,
Yr boy so cute, still know how to return back to u & ask u to change...

Dlim: haha our kids knows how to rinse their mouth after a meal kerkekekek

I cannot tahan if she does that after she had fish - i need to scrub the entire bottle cuz i cannot tahan the fishy smell!!!

Mrs Lai,
ya, I also cannot find them at JL when I went last weekend...but I just bought from Taka (Creative Hands). I can tell you it's $8.70 from CH and $8.15 from NTUC if you can find it. JL was a really good deal...too bad I couldn't find it. From my experience, CH has the best range (since it's the distributor's shop!) but the elephant still eludes me.

Dlim,
Jesse is quite a character...haha...that's all I can say. He learnt how to dislike "mess" and "dirt" from me...so girly...*sigh*

Leo,
I was thinking if I should post the pic...I feel so "boh liao"! hahah...so sad...it's sad that I (not J) collect them, even sadder that I took a picture of them...and now most sad that I feel happy when I see the picture! Maybe I should go back to work! haha.

haha! nvm, i will REN till next storewide sale
(S$6.40 before 20% discount)
the next animal bottle will target on the blue cap one

will J.little (Rubbermaid) increase the price after reading our posts? hahaha! J.little spy here?

hi Meddy,
my 14months boy still can't say a proper word.
bird = bir
dog = woof
orange = oreo
able to points to few items correctly.

boys slower? but no leh, few of the boys can say loud n clear words le. me oso wondering when my boy can talk.

we hv a girl here able to say ORAGNES (3 syllable leh) at her 11mth. of coz, this girl oso can say other words. loud n clear.

according to reference book:
between 11mth to 15mths able to say more than 10 words.

me stress leh

caicai's album

share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AatGzhs4auWL-A

my peabrain didnt click on saved button just now :p

meddy
my 12mths can only say 'ah', 'pa', 'ma', 'la' .. dunno isit he really dun speak properly or i not bothered to make up wat he says. Some x he 'tok n tok' but i juz ignore :p

i think in general girls 'speak' faster than boys and boys' motor skills are better. my SIL and neighbour's boys only really started 'talking' at almost 2 years. claire's 'vocab' is definitely more than 10 words.

Meddy,
I think real speaking will probably occur only at age 2. As for Babaguge, I guess it ranges, some are faster than others. The question is does your baby understand what you are saying? Comprehension should've kicked in by now so... and as a matter of medical concern, as long as your child responds to his/her name and can understand you and give you eye contact, he/she is fine.

Heh, probably I'm saying all that because I have the slowest (but one of the oldest) boys around
I don't know how many "words" J speaks but...we understand each other just fine. :p

Cindy,
it's from rubbermaid

Leo,
actually I know that family that brings rubbermaid to sg. haha. one day I'm going to ask them why the price discrepancy.

Michele
Oh I see….keke….thanks for enlightening…. I know liao… Xen is the mummy staying in same place as Ambery.

SuiSui
Yupz yupz…I can imagine the difficulties if we bring baby shopping & eating whole day in HK…moreover not got the bird flu in HK, figured it’s kinda “risky” to bring our young boy there…and he basically dun like to drink milk…so if we cannot cook proper porridge for him there, then he’ll probably starve for the whole week in HK.

We not planning to go Disneyland some more……

Maybe we can consider quiet & relaxed places like Perth if planning next trip with baby.

Cool_D
How’s your trip at Genting? Got win any $$ or not?? How’s the food & everything? J

CaiCai
U planning to bring Zach to sign up for GUG? Dun worry…I am sure he can do much better than super shy & slow to warm up Jonas!

Jessesmum
Never mind…hopefully we got chance to meet in future…

Hey why you got those cute cups?

SD,
for Xen's residing = TRY again!

Jesse,
wait till i buy another animal bottle from J.little then u ask the family hor

wow jessemum , u hv good chemistry wif lil jesse to be able to "communicate" wif him.

i dun understand what my son wants , or rather i alwys irritate him n he cried in fustration coz he cldnt get across to me his wants. hahaha .
SD- GUG really that good eh . hmmmmm , i will ask my hubby tonite .

Hi Augleo,

my 14th mnth old gal can only bable "up", "pa", "ma" etc.. and to date still cruising and not walking hai~~

hey ladies, have just check "Creative Home & Living" at Harbourfront, they have discounts for all rubber maid items....except the animal bottle :p

yes, jessemom is right... the comprehension is probably more important at this age but some parents advocate signing to help your bbs 'expres' themselves more easily.

Springdance, I think you got xen's home mixed up! hehehe...

I give my gal gerber juices (mix w/water) in the rubbermaid container cos gerber juices seemed to be pretty "thick" compare to the heinz one..

Michele,
you remind me of the baby in "Meet the Fockers",
where the baby was trained to sign. Damn Funny hehe

My Sis attempted to teach my gal how to say thank you in sign language but ended up knocking her head cos she cud not "aim" for her nose properly haha

Re: Speech
i remb reading up n pd did say, girls develop speech faster than boys in general.
yes, cher speaks much much more n earlier compared to ash. b4 2, d only words ash said was 'ice = rice (his fav food)' n papa. i suppose no. 2 talks more under d influence of d korkor/jiejie too. imagine ash talks non-stop (really non-stop) at home so cher has to try her best to compete :p
not to wori: wen they start serious talking, they really really talk non-stop. v noisy :p hb somtx said ash very 'lo so' as he is at a stage of asking 'wu liao' questions all d tx. he wld ask, 'how tall would i b when i m 22 yrs old', 'how abt 50 yrs old', 'how abt 109 yrs old'... next wld b 'why....', 'why....', 'why....' follow by, 'can i...', 'why cannot...', 'in case...', 'because...' he can ask u anytg n evytg under d sun n they are v persistent.
ai yo....

caicai,
I have wonderful communication skills with Jesse...if he whines I say "shut up" or "stop it" and he does...he looks hurt but he keeps quiet. lol.

Leo,
maybe I ask can get discount. haha... don't think so lah...

SpringD
as mentioned, JL seems to sell it the cheapest. According to Leo it's $6.40/btl. Otherwise, I've bought it at Creative Hands (same co. as Creative Living Home) at $8.70 and NTUC Xtra at $8.15.

Mrs Lai,
you can check out the shop at Taka (one flr above Kino). It has many craft items...I don't even do craft but I think the things are very nice.

Meddy,
ya lor...the other rubbermaid bottles 20% off, right? So sneaky...

Signing
Actually, I think signing is great. I know many parents who have great success with that and a much less frustrated toddler. Unfortunately, I'm too lazy to learn... but we come up with our own lah.

sanrio,
tell ash, his adult height is double his height at age 2. haha.

and then resort to wat my mom did with my cousin.
"Auntie xx, afterwards you'll be bringing me XX right?" after asking 3 times...and my mom says "yes" she says..."You ask me one more time, I won't bring you XX." Shuts him up all the time. He's like super cheong hei.

For me, because I'm her daughter, she says, "go away, I'm busy". haha. :p

Ya...really relishing every moment he can't walk and talk.

jesse , JL's 6.40 is before disc
after disc slightly more than 5 bucks . good buy .
after our gathering , i went to buy @ JL Marina . but only left alligator , the bear type is either dirty or wif missing straw

was just sharing with sanrio that day about ash's cute antics. he asked me at the picnic how old my mei mei was (he meant to ask me how old kaizer was). then i told him i dun have a mei mei. hahaahaaaa, he took a while to process the info and then he went on to talk on and on abt his mei mei cherelle. so cute!

sanrio,
kaizer likes to eat rice also. we've stopped giving him porridge and totally switched to rice abt 3 weeks ago since he started school. hopefully he'll learn to love to eat like ash. can't wait for that day to arrive!

KATE
How are you? Haven't heard much from you since you started staying at home... just wondering how you feel about joining our ranks.

caicai
ya lor...too bad, the one at centerpoint didn't even have a single bottle and no one I asked could help me. NTUC usually only has the Lion, some times have Tiger. The rest I had to get from Taka. All the savings would've added to something but...

sandwich...
you confuse the poor boy! haha...I love it. :p
Really ah? Rice is a hit? I should try it with Jesse.

One day, he'll love food, he see mummy eats everything so sedap! Now he's just a normal, healthy active boy.

Btw, the Borders 40% discount, need to be a member or free-for-all?

i met kate during KM , she told me she actually went to BG on sat ,she went to the wrong carpark n in the end , nvr managed to reach our gathering ...

springD
Genting is fun but lose $$. Will be more fun if can win $$ tho. hehe. Food is plenty .. and we had A&W & Dunkin donut along the way, since haven had them for a long time :p

Btw, Xen stays Eden la, michele's neighbour

Sanrio/sandwich,
Speaking of Ash, I was very impressed with his good manners last Saturday! He asked me very politely for the animal biscuits, but he had a very, very serious look on his face. Very handsome too, couldn't help but oogle at him...

jessesmom,
yah i think i confused him.

it's free for all (well not exactly free, you've gotta pay 60% hahaa). only catch is that you've gotta produce one coupon per book. so print a lot of coupons if you're the sort who's planning to get 10-20 books at the discounted rate.

caicai...orh...next time you see Kate tell her to tell us how she is leh...

CoolD
I love A&W!!!

Sandwich,
then I'll wait for you to post the 40% coupon. Yay!

Meddy,
Gerber juices very very sweet.. I regretted buying so many.

RE - GUG
I have signed up the class for Jayden but currently on wait list.
Anyone sign up as well?

Jesse
SW already posted the coupons. U may want to refer back to the archive thread.

RE- MNG Sales
Any mango fans here? The sales start today!

Min,
U want to order the Ergo carrier? I want to ask Michele to help to order soon... pls confirm ya..thanks

Sandwich,
great to hear tat kaizer loves rice. ash loves soup too. i try to minus seasonings (so as not to trigger his allergies) so i tried stuff like red dates, honey dates or fresh fig (all fr yu ren sheng) to make his soup tasty. so far he 'tolerated' those chinese stuff well. i was advised to use sea salt instead of soya sauce for him. but minimal n only wen he was older. i m hoping for d day tat cher wld love rice n eat well like ash too, then easier for me :p
i can c tat ash enjoyed talkg to u. ash assumes evy1 has a meimei. u mus hv look so young tat ash tot u are a jiejie w a meimei :p he can b quite protective over cher somtx too.

Cherryteq,
tks for d biscuits n compliment. he wanted to eat d biscuit but hvnt met u b4 so he looked real serious (wori he may not get d biscuits) :p

Jessemom,
yup, wen come to food, somtx we wld 'resort' to answering him in tat manner. but he has lots of why, how etc... endless questions. actually i enjoy 'chatting' w him but somtx when i m really tired n dun feel like talking, u noe lah.. he wont give up. many tx i jus say, 'ok ok...' then he replied, 'why did u say ok, mummy can u pls answer my question properly'. faintz..... :p