(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

moxi,
it's an office lunch, so i don't have to pay. but will tell the organisers in case they're paying by cc, thanks.

brushing teeth,
i introduced pigeon step 1 toothbrush to him when he had 2 teeth. then switched to pigeon step 3 when 4 more teeth popped out suddenly. i haven't started with toothpaste. we get him to self brush when me/husband brush our teeth in the morning and at night. we brush in front of him and he'll imitate our mvt

michele & Jesse,
I used to dive too! But it's been a few years since I dived. I dun dive anymore.

S/W,
Ooh looks like we can travel together. I like to visit libraries and museums too, but so far been to very few because that's always not in the itinerary on group tours.

Mrs Lai,
I love beef too! Find a day, we share a cow between us eh? (just kidding, maybe half a cow...)
I cannot guess the xiong one. Kitty one I know.

Answer to Kelley's qn??

moxi,
using the combi noodle cutter to remove the apple skin? oki, i shall try

ya...is kindda a toy to me....hahaha!

sandwich...
no bond! that was why he took the offer! he didn't want to be bonded!

Moxi...
i started brushing her teeth with a proper toothbrush when she was 10 months...she had about 4 teeth then! before that, i used her washcloth.

noodle cutter
i like the combi noodle cutter...the one with the spoon and casing. i will be handicapp without it cos i cut almost everything with it! and i agree with moxi...looks like for fun but it is actually very useful!

hey s/w,
me too. I like sea sport, but not diving. Prefer water surface, like wakeboarding

One thing I always do when i travel is visit their supermarket. juz to see what their locals are eating, especially their vege.

Mrs Lai,
72days? I cannot imagine!!!

From 4 onwards? You mean the babysitting service? The Kid's Club at Angsana Bintan is from 3 - 10yo. Only 2 years more. haha.

Rina,
your EDD was 24th April? Yay!
I'm keen on starting to exercise, but I can't do it till I find a gym/place with child minding service.
So far the only place I can find is Hollandaise Club but we're not members and I'm not sure really really really want to exercise that much to join! haha.

Sandwich,
It was US80 for me...and HB had a la carte...total bill for that evening was less than US160. At Blu we spent about S$300...so you see why I think it's good value.

Aur is not that great a place to dive lah...the current is quite strong there. I've also only been there once and don't intend on going back. Can try Tioman. Of course, this is old info lah, but 5 odd years ago, it was the best place for me...I went almost every weekend. And you should know, I really don't like touching any "live" little thing (so fish tank fish is out) and I'm actually afraid of water (Jesse got that from me - still screams and panics if his face gets wet during his bath).

Eh, you should go to Washington DC lah...the Smithsonian would be your dream come true. hehe. And it's free! I loved the Holocaust museum there. And of course, I think all Modern Art Museums are inspiring - makes me think *I* can do art. haha.

I used to go to museums and maybe I would again one day. Think now I'm just mostly brain dead. I'd definitely bring Jesse to museums when he's older...[*thinks to herself* What have I become?]

We hope to visit the "Holy Land" on our 7th Anniversary. Don't think it includes Egypt though. haha. No, Jesse won't be coming with us.

yeah...I googled the line. haha. Have fun! Sounds like a good "girly" lunch place

Ixora,
did I read somewhere that you're going to London? Sooo nice! Another kick in the butt for us...we rejected that. *sigh* We'll have to wait 3 years to see if any opportunities come up again. *sigh*

Moxi,
Jesse doesn't have toothbrush...haven't started brushing yet. He's teething again though see two more (top and bottom) coming...he has 8 or 9 teeth now...I think. He doesn't like to open his mouth for me to count and will chomp down hard on my fingers if I try.

Cherry,
hope to go back to diving again one day. We already sold our equipment for now...maybe when the youngest child (if I have anymore) hits 12 we can start diving again. 12 is the minimum age, right?

jessesmom,
is your husband in the foreign service? good that he gets offered good overseas postings.

your 7 yr wed anniversary coming up? next week trip is my 4 yr wed anniversary trip. too bad can't go far far away.

my girlfriend went to the holy land last year -- it's not a popular destination to visit, right? had her laptop detained at the airport & took one month to bring it home, but the pics she took were so beautiful!

Jessemom,
nope, my hb is now in London.. me still here.. din wanna spend $ plus we had been there b4.. juz now my hb sms-ed saying wish he had brought me there again.. after which I feel I shld hv gone over.. sigh.. wrong decision.. nvm.. shall look fwd to our Aust trip.

sandwich,
3 more years! What's your wedding date? Mine was 22 May 2004...same? Or your's one week earlier?

No, he's not in foreign service (I got rejected for that! haha). Just that the company he works for has a few offices around lor...

I guess it really depends lor (re: holy land). Not everybody has a reason to go there. For me, I'm quite interested in Biblical history. And while it's not going to be a "study trip", I would like to know (at least see/touch/smell) the land I read about. Good tip about the laptop! How about blackberry?

ixora,
so he's working there and you're here? How long will he be there?

My mom always told me that I should never be separated from HB...when my dad was posted...she left ME behind! haha. but ya, I'll also go where ever HB goes. I had wanted to come back here to give birth, but then she said we should be separated...then I wanted to come back after a few months (for some support and help) but she said I shouldn't deprive HB of watching Jesse grow up. I actually hated the first few months of his birth.

When's your aust trip? Bringing Joanie?

jon's mummy, Leo,
thanks for the info. the 20% storewide sale - is it for members only or for everyone? If it applies to the masses...of course I can wait. haha.
And I'll get some more singlets too.

Jesse,
I'm very out of touch already. But I remember my sis was 13 or 14 when she started her diving lessons. So I guess 12 should be the minimum. If not no strength to even carry the oxygen tank.

I bought my noodle cutter at Tom & Stephanie. It's also available at Taka and Isetan.

Mrs Lai
That's definitely "QIAN BIAN"...only a person with poor England will pronouce "Bei" as "Bear"...tis' joke has to originate from Taiwan. :p

Cherry...
sure thing...hopefully this board will last that long!

I think even at 12, I'll probably have to carry his air tank for him...it's like 13lbs. On the upside, does it mean his tank will last quite long since he lungs are smaller? haha.

Jesse,
I had trouble carrying the baby tank then. Probably now with regular training from carrying M I'll be able to manage hahaha.

Trips
I keep surfing to find a good place to go and I just keep thinking...maybe he's still too young...maybe we should just visit grandma in m'sia. hehe. All those kid's club and even club med is for children at least 5 years of age. Visit grandma in m'sia, at night go "free" babysitting service. haha.

jesse,
so funny u and your 'free' bbsitting svc. so where is gramp's?
we thot we were gg to have that too, but bbK was so sticky, in the end, have to brg her along

cherry,
forgive me if I have forgotten, but are you very small size? what's a baby tank (you don't mean the secondary unit, right)? I've only seen/used regular tanks...easiest way to carry them is between the second and third finger.

Jon's Mummy,
thanks for the heads up
Will wait for the announcement then. hehe...

Michelle,
hehe...that's why it's a good thing that Jesse sleeps early. gramps just do her usual lor...sit around and watch tv while we go out for KFC. Haha. You're from pg right? If we ever go there together, can meet at the KFC at Burma rd. They have 2 playground...and gramp already said she doesn't mind watching J...says the restaurant too smelly. haha. When are you going back any where? I'm thinking of going during hari merdeka.

cool d

me ! haha , i also just like u, like to visit supermkt when i go overseas .

augleo

haha, dont disappnt u,not slice the skin frm apple. but more like just take a pc of apple skin( alr deskinned liao) n test the cutter =P

cindy

o dear =P.. i havent been using a toothbrush on her till nw.. i thot she oni 4 teeth so 'not motivated' to brush heehee. ok will go n get the pigeon brush n let her try

jesse

cn buy at tom n step like wat cherryteq said
we had a bp prev so i bot frm there. i also wanna go for holyland pilgramage... but thik nw that dream like driftg further away liao ever since my bb came along.

ixora

cheer up ..time flies , b4 u knw it, he'll be back. At least nowadays got skype to chitchat n cn see each other.

cherryteq

for beef, i like to buy frm isetan orchard. so far we try many supermkt n wet mkt , but still prefer theirs. alternatively, cn go tierneys to get cos theirs is NZ beef -gd n cheap.

sandwich

if u r sashimi lover, cn target their salmon belly. its alw the first thgs to get snapped up =P

Cherrteq: ooppssss… sorry.. but at least u can take a break from work.. to wipe the table…

Mrs Lai: so wat is the HK answer?

jessesmom,
blackberry should be quite safe lah. my girlfriend had a lot of questions cos she had records of multiple visits to indonesia/malaysia on her passport. so the immigration officer was asking her why she visited those countries, giving her opinions abt these islamic nations etc. she must have retorted back at the immigration officer. i guess as long as you don't retort or act overtly aggressive, you should be fine.

moxi and michele,
i have not been eating seafood like a normal person ever since i was breastfeeding. am always worried abt the seafood allergy risks. but will try a bit lah, hehee. hope the deserts are nice, cos i love deserts!

s/w

they hv ice cream teppanyaki !! yum yum, n like 20 diff types of toppings .. they also hv v nice unusual flavors too. i thik they make their own ice cream =P .

jessesmom,
actually he's only away for 11days.. keke, juz that if i had gone over, wld extend the trip lor.. going Aust in Aug, yup bringin Jo.

Moxi,
tks!! 11 days only so yup he'll be back in no time.. juz that my mil will be staying with me for a few nites, me abit sian.. kekekeke

Jesse,
Hee so embarrassing. I'm nowhere near small size! I'm just weak. Oh I'm not familiar with the terminology. I just call it the baby tank because it's the smallest oxygen tank around. Should be the one for kids you were talking about. I rem when I was still taking my diving lessons I was using the "adult" tank when we came back to shore. I was so tired out that I tried climbing a small sand slope when I toppled backwards and fell like a over-turned tortoise. Of course I provided lots of entertainment for the people around, my hb then boyfriend and cousins who were laughing like mad. I didn't have the energy to get back on my feet and just laid there...

Moxi,
wow I didn't know that. Ok next time must check out those places. Thanks!

ixora15,
oh really? tat's gd if they are more flexible now cos i have friends cousin who went with bb food was asked to discard even they declare. Earlier i also thot of bringing bbJ to Aust but changed our mind cos of food

Michelle,
you're kidding! My parents live on the parallel road! ;) Which end is your gramps at? Macs or erm...Northam?

Cherry,
don't worry about it. It's all in the training..haha. I'm sure you can do it now.
After looking after a baby...

ixora,
okay lah...11days. When we first came back from states, the next week, HB had to go back there for 3 weeks! I was quite mad...and of course we (Jesse and I) didn't go...I mean, we had just recovered from jet lag, said goodbye to our friends etc etc...

I'm confused so you are going aust...is michele also going? I thought she was...but I could be mixed up. Are you going brisbane? *blur*

Sandwich,
when your anniversary?

kelley: yes you are right! cuz HK no mouth!

Spring: no idea where it originated from, but it's one of the few qian bian qs I remembered my colleague telling us back in 2005.

Travelling: I love to go to 1) supermarkets (i had a really fun time in London!!!!) and 2) the museums (i just tot i'll pop in to take a look, and I ended up spending 4 hours in there!) The churches I got bored after a while, but the initial few were still good ... UK is a good place to go to visit all the historical sights. I plan to go again one day, to visit scotland, some of the british isles and of cuz the countryside.

Cherryteq: what's ur real name ah ... i wana go and check out your staff profile hehehe

Mrs Lai,
don't know leh...I've been looking around and nothing (beef) appeals to me. Told HB about the two places over dinner...then he said can try the new meat mkt at upper east coast road (can't help it, I'm a eastsider at heart).

Bought once at market place at Paragon...200/300gm minced beef for $8+? It's so ex here man.

Yes, I hope to visit scotland one day too! If my HB hears that he'll just laugh at me. I develop a scottish fetish after reading a novel...so lame, right! "Outlander" series...very good. ;)

jesse, no you didn't get it wrong! i'm going to australia in july! hehe... and guess what? my wedding anniversary is also in may, on the 10th and this year is our 5th - no presents, no holiday, nothing, zilch! hb say must save money for claire! *humpft!*

upper east coast road got meat mkt meh?? how come i dunno?!?

i dunno when can go club med leh coz my next 2 holidays oredi planned (july and end of year or CNY next year) - maybe claire's 2nd birthday present (from me lor)? haha...

cherry, pls lor. i also use the small tank (i'm 1.6m so don't qualify as petite right?) and xs BCD!! haha... but i like coz the XS bcd usually very good condition compared to the other sizes!

jonmummy, i dun think its a big issue about food lah... i believe we can buy our bb supplies easily in the supermarkets there (like cereal, rice for porridge, meat, jar food, etc etc. in fact i think their range is even wider than ours)! australia is great for family getaways i feel and that's why we chose that over NZ. hehe...

Michele,
we didn't plan to celebrate our anniversary this year...it just happened that my parents were around...usually we do nothing - just another ordinary day. Except we say every 7 years we'll go on a trip.

I can't tell you exactly where the meat shop is but it's I think opposite al forno's/margarita's. And I've never been there, just driven pass a few times (think it's new) so I don't know if it's just deli stuff or real chunks of meat. I'll ask my friend to take a look for me. Will update if I find out anything. (Haha, fren replied. She's damn slack man...said she'll ask her maid to find out for me tomorrow. haha)

Heh, I used to wear XS/S BCD...doesn't say much does it! Haha. Just asked HB about the air tank..he says the one we always use is the big one. He has never seen anyone use the small one before...but he has seen it.

Say, which diving center did you use to go with?

jesse, ok i know where you're referring to but that's east coast road! upper east coast in where my in-laws stay! haha... near bayshore park. the meat shop must be new then coz i've never seen it before. its near my fav beach road prawn noodle stall. hmm... i miss the prawn noodle - maybe i shd go there soon!

haha... so now you know someone who has used the small tank lor!

diving center? are you referring to here?? or when i travel? i did most of my diving when i was studying in australia. when i came back, i dived in thailand mostly so used their local dive shops. have only dived tioman once (just before i got pregnant) and went with my friend who runs a dive shop @ plaza hotel.

michele...
same! i also dun get anything for anniversary or mother's day! hmmmph! at least yours 5th anniv dun get...mine 2nd already dun have!! ahahahaa!

jon'smommy...
ya...no worries about the baby food in oz...they have soooo much to choose from - better n cheaper!