(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

mrs lai,

ya.. training her now.. i'll brush for her first.. then later, let her hold the toothbrush and she'll play with it..
.. cos her gums v itchy!

kelley,

ok ok, i'll read back

jesse: the Saffron Degust menu, do you know how much roughly? Also must book in advance? I checking with Angsana if they offer transport to Banyan Tree for diners.

Cool_D
Better get a cake that is BIG enough…coz awfully choz cakes are really good…think guests will ask for 2nd helping…kekekeke.

Sandwich
Think Lana is a well-known old name in the cake business….standard still as good I believe but becoz so many high profile bakeries sprouted in Singapore…People tend to forget about Lana liao and it’s located at a not so convenient location. You didn’t get something for yourself too?

Yoji
Serena’s cake is from Cheryl Shuen rite? Looks like one of her trademark designs… I got my boy’s cake from her too.

Jessesmom
Woa….degustation menu….so you & HB must have tasted some good wine? By the way, did Jesse went along with you two for the trip?

Gene
Gladys so clever can brush her own teeth…..one of my good friend’s gal also drinking Friso….I ever got a sample from them too…must say the Co. is quite generous…gave the standard retail size rather than the mini sample size…

SpringDance,
I got the cake from Hyatt mezza9. Cheryl Sheun quoted me more for her cakes. U got your cake from her. Does it taste good?

springd,
nope, didnt get anything for myself, cos just had lunch before i went there and was stuffed when i stepped inside the cake shop. it's super inaccesible w/out a car.

mrs lai,
i've googled and found out that its fourty plus USD. after the taxes should be abt seventy plus sing dollars for dinner. when are you going to angsana?

jessesmom,
never eaten at blu before. but am going to the line for lunch this thur. heard that it's nice.

mrs lai
my IL also wanted ah gong n ah ma. Correct term should be yeye n nainai i tink but MIL says dun sound nice, so we stay wif tis.

btw, so wats e animal jay afraid to chauffeur?

Mrs Lai,
no lah...no bad lah...next time I'll know what to do

The Degustation Menu is US80++ per person. Only I had it. For spa and meals, it's 10% tax and 10% service charge. So that Menu would be US96 lor.

I know you didn't ask..but... it consists of 7 single-portion/bite-sized appetisers (what I can remember: lobster and mango vietnamese spring roll, chili crab in tomato, fish dumpling in tamarind broth, sashimi, etc) including a very good lime sorbet to cleanse the pallet before the main course of Wagyu beef (I was already very full at that point and HB ate most of it. But it's really tender) and it concludes with a 3-dessert sampler plate and coffee/tea with petite fours (they gave me 3 pralins).

I don't think you need to book in advance, can just make reservations when you get there. Angsana can provide a buggy from their lobby to the lobby at BT. And BT can provide buggy from lobby to Restaurant.

But really, I think it's much easier to walk. Saffron and Cove are just a few steps away from the beach and in less than 50m, it's Angsana's property already. I think from Lotus Grill to Saffron, it shouldn't take more than 10 mins slow "lomantic" walk. haha. Should try walking in the day first...cos at night, lighting not very good. But we also just walked anyway. I think we must've gone to and fro the two resorts 3 or 4 times during our trip. Nothing to do...walk around. heh.

Sandwich,
they provide complimentary Aqua (500ml) at the villa. It also has a mama kettle and complimentary coffee/tea. At the villa, there are 6 bottles of water. They'll replenish during turn down and when they make the room up.

PS: I know I'm repeating, but I think it's good to "dress up" a little for dinner at Saffron. My HB loves dressing up (man just need, shirt and pants with proper shoes. for woman, smart casual dress/skirt or dress pants. proper footwear...)

SpringDance,
Don't have wine pairing lah. And we don't take wine either...we just don't take alcohol. haha. But if have it'll be a lot more ex! And only I had it, my HB is very traditionalist when it comes to his food. I'm the one who loves trying all sorts of funny things.

No Jesse stayed at home with my parents. hahaha... But we are already planning to bring him next time we go away. Actually, we might've brought him on this trip if we had known that they provide baby sitting service (US6nett/hr). We used to pay US 10 - 15/hr...so this is cheap for us lah. Actually, I'm willing to pay that now too but can't find baby sitter...but I digress. heh...

Trips
Although I loved my time at Bintan, we probably wouldn't go again (to Bintan). To Banyan Tree, yes...just a different location.

Now trying to plan our next trip (bringing Jesse along) to either Bali or Phuket this coming Dec/Jan. Any suggestions? Btw, my HB did say Bali/Phuket is nicer than Bintan.
I'm a Swa-Ku when it comes to these (beach) destinations...never been before. I've only been to cities. hehe...and not many asian ones at that (e.g. never been to bangkok!)

Brushing Teeth
I asked my HB this morning when he started brushing his teeth...he said after he started pri school!! Erm...okay, I remember doing it much earlier. I should ask my mom. But she didn't mention anything this time round when she saw Jesse...

sandwich,
never been to blu, it's okay to give it a miss. seriously. food was average, service was borderline terrible. for view and music can just stick to the bar side. we only went there cos years ago, when we were at the bar side, I commented to hb that it'll be nice to try the restaurant one day.

where's the line? never been. tell you ah...I've been out of it for the last 4 years. blu was just a once off that my hb managed to (I wouldn't say "trick") surprise me into going when we had a maid. (She stayed at home when Jesse slept for the night. our dinner started at 9pm.)

jesse: I didn't like Bali - found it too commercialised. Only nice place to visit was the padi fields and we paid like 100000 rupiahs per pax to go for the day trip. Phuket is bustling with pple and tourist - good for cheap massages and ogling at the ah kuas and the ang moh men with them. But again, beware of carrot head choppers. They tot i Thai and kept asking me to help them by getting my hubby to buy things from them - i blur like "huh" when they speak to me in thai! Phuket quite nice on the "quieter" beaches, but if u dun like sand, opt for those resorts confirm got pools one hahahaha
- for eeg, i like beaches but I just dun like swimming in the sea !!! Don't think bangkok is suitable for the kids now ...

SW: the tap water is drinkable - think they pipe in from singapore.

Jesse: Ok got it for the menu - I'll whack it cuz I love beef!!!!!! I've night blindness so not a good idea for me to walk there at night - everything also cannot see!!!!

Kelley and CoolD: I got another one (I rem vaguely) - Doraemon saw Hello Kitty on the streets one day and said hello to her. But Hello Kitty did not greet Doraemon back. Why?

jesse, depends on what you are looking for when it come to beach resorts - i'm a regular to phuket (yearly for diving - though i've not been since i got pregnant) and i've been to bali once (also for diving) and i like both (what can i say? i'm a beach bum)! phuket is a lot cheaper though. i stayed at banyan tree in phuket (nice villas & secluded location)and in bali, hard rock (very run down). if you enjoy pampering, then u can consider sheraton or ritz in bali... very nice.

s/w, the line is good! very fresh seafood! hehe...

kelley and Cool D:

Ai qing zou de tai kuai jiu xiang long juan feng
Bu neng cheng shou wo yi wu chu ke duo
Wo bu yao zai xiang
Wo bu, wo bu, wo bu yao zai xiang ni

sandwich,
thought I should mention, the Lulur does not include a facial. It's a massage, body scrub, wrap and bath. I also didn't do facial, though I was thinking about it on the last day...but no time.

michele,
eons ago, hb and i dived too! haha...but that's like 20kgs ago and way before Jesse.
Never had a chance to go phuket or bali for diving though...plan, paid and cancelled. sigh. Don't think we'll be diving this trip though. The last dive I took was in Jamaica, July 2006.

Any opinions on the Holiday Inn at Phuket? Or Laguna (Hb went there before). Read about Holiday Inn last night on TripAdvisor.

This time round, we need to find a place that's also good for an almost 2 year old. E.g. If we had gone with Jesse to Bintan, I think Angsana would've been better, since BT would probably be a waste of money with kid in tow.

mrs lai... i'm considering club med when i next go to phuket coz of their babysitting services (then i can go diving!)!

haha... but my next holiday has been booked and the following holiday - i'm trying to decide between korea & fly/cruise to HK!

Cool_d
Tis branded stuff…$160 price tag expected…but if the guests are appreciate good chocolate…it’s definitely the CHOICE.

Yoji
No her cake dun really taste good…too sweet & dense….mezza9 is good? If I knew…should have got from Hyatt…did you you provide them the Disney figurines or they source for you?

Sandwich
Ya know wat…me very greedy one! If I go to a place I seldom go (plus not so accessible) and the place sell good food…I will sure “tabao” something even though I might be very full…save for tea-break, supper or even breakfast. :p

Jesse
Prices in Bintan sure is high….. I tot this price tag would come with wine…. But the menu you described sure sounds tempting! OIC….Just the 2 of us…must be a romantic dinner. Heheheh….

Bring your hubby to the restaurant (Prive) at Keppel Bay Island if you have the chance…quite interesting cuisine and the island gives a “out-of-Singapore” feel.

Errmm…you sure Jesse dun mind being baby-sit by any strange looking foreigner?

Mrs Lai / Cool_D
I also know the answer for this one! Heheheheh……

Kelley gal…c’mon give a guess? Get a quick look at Hello Kitty to find the answer!

Mrs Lai,
Club Med is an option! They got baby sitting service? Hehe...Michele when you want to go? I only need like 10 weights :p

Hehe...I last dived first week of July 2007. Got pregnant first week of Aug. And I actually remember this, LMP 17th July. Don't forget, Jesse came out a whole month earlier than EDD.

michele: ooo tt's nice ... I'm planning for my F & E to Japan, I wana go on a eating trip !!!!!! we were just talking about the food we had the last trip when I was preggy with Vanessa - we all cannot help but drool ....

Michele,
if you can believe it...Hb and I both suffer from terrible seasickness!

SpringD
Hehe...I'm a bad mummy. I actually let strangers look after Jesse...but they were recommended by friends. As for hotel one...aiyah, I just need someone to sit there (somewhere around) when he sleeps.

jesse: oops hahahaha ... ya they do ... cuz they usu want to ascertain the "age" of the baby ...

the worst thing is, I never can rem ... i only know my cycle are usu 28 to 72 days.

Sandwich...
Yeah...caitlyn is always v happy when we take her to the playground. Anyway...Sanrio said that you ask me to stay on cos u dun want to see me! sobbbbbz!!! ahahaa...no lah....hb hasn't finished his phd yet so if we stay on...we will have to fund everything ourselves...no $$$! tho i really wish we could!

Brushing Teeth
I have been using a proper toothbrush w toothpaste to brush caitlyn's teeth. i used to do it twice a day but nowadays i m so lazy...i do it at nite only. if babies dun want to brush, you can try giving another toothbrush for them to hold or say something funny like mommy wants to tickle your mouth...

jessesmom,
US96 is more than what i've googled for.... hmm, maybe my googled info is outdated. the line is at shang.

michele,
i'm totally opposite from you. i went for a diving trip at pulau aur once, but will never go again. i'm not a very beach holiday type of person, but i think my husband is. hahaa .... if i had my choice, i would travel the world to visit libraries and museums, most people will prob think that that's boring. i dun mind visiting lombok and bali for their cultural stuff though.

haha.... s/w, i'm surprised! i've always thought u're a sporty person!
u know, when i went egypt, the tour guide (who insists that he's not a tour guide but an egyptologist) ranted on and on about the history of the tombs and places that we visited but i absorbed NOTHING at all! haha... just enjoyed being at one of the 7 wonders of the world!

isetan member's sale, this thurs
anyone going?? wanna meet? i'm leaving claire with my parents to cheong the sale!

Mrs Lai: so jay chou don’t want to chauffer the elephant!! .. I don’t know know.. cos Hello Kitty got no mouth!!!

Ok.. my answer is.. cos “lian rong bao” and “char siew bao” got different feeling (filing)!!!.. hahahaha .. did I just wake everyone up from the drowsy-ness after lunch??

cindy,
of course not! miss you and caitlyn ... but singapore is so boring. i'll want to go away if i have the chance too. but i've to wait for my husband to finish his bond. does alvin have a bond?

sandwich

rem to bring ur uob cc if gng the line. got 15% d/t. i think there is also promo 4th person eat free.

augleo / mindy

so qiao! i just took out my noodle cutter last nite too
i tested on apple skin (no noodle) n i was surprised it cut quite well. i still thot its 'for fun' nia.

aprilmum/ cindy/ jesse

my girl oni 4 teeth nia. so far i oni use finger brush .. hw many teeth b4 u bot toothbrush for ur bbs?

michele,
i didnt like the pyramids as much as the citadel and alexandria. cos the pyramids were too touristy for me, whereas the other places were more "alive". but i really really enjoyed the trip to the cairo museum where the guide rambled on and on abt the history of the place, hahaaa!

i like sports in general. just don't like fishes and diving...