(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Cool_D
Both cakes same price and can serve same number of people?

Actually the dino one more unique...but animal farm more "famous"...especially if you got the 1st birthday barnyard decorations theme.

I tasted Awfully Choz cakes...awfully nice! Especially got banana filling in between one. SLURPSSSS!

Thanx for your vote. .. it's 2 for dino, 3 for party animals. Ok, will go for party animals than
Beta cmf the cake today .. still hv the food not cmf yet. Hiaz, ething last min, lazy mummy.

Kelley
Can't tink of the ans .. izit coz lian rong will melt so look like tears .. hahaha .. anyhow hump tump :p

springD
ya lo .. tinking of getting a 3kg cake. Same px. Tink my cousin getting the All choc instead of banana choc. but she says very nice

yeah, Mon evening le .. 4 more workdays than it's wkend !!

ok.. my answer... because "lian rong bao" got filing (Feeling) but "siew mai" don't hv!!! got a continuation.. to be continued tomorrow.. hahahah..

springd, kelley,
went to lana cake shop last thur after i had lunch on that street. the scent in the shop was heavenly!! don't have to pre order, i think. my colleague just walked in and got a cake in 10 min.

jesse,
did you get all you meals at the resort? which spa package did you go for? did you venture out to other parts of the island? the last time i went to bintan, we went outside the touristy area to where the locals were. quite an eye opener. but since the accomodation at banyan tree is quite expensive, i think it's not worth it to go for a day trip ard the island.

walking ard the resort sounds good. they have a walking trek/programme? okies, will wear track shoes there. i shan't bring slippers cos i think they'll provide, right?

Mrs Chia:

how do you call your father's younger brother's wife? Is it "Ah Sum"? COuld be, I need to double check for you. My dad didn't have a younger bro hehe.

How about your father's older brother's wife? Is it "Bak -mo"? Hmmm we called ours Bak Leong. Need to confirm if can call Bak Mo.

And your mother's older brother's wife? Is it "Kau-mo"? Ya.

My cantonese is half past 6 one ;P

springd, kelley,
went to lana cake shop last thur after i had lunch on that street. the scent in the shop was heavenly!! don't have to pre order, i think. my colleague just walked in and got a cake in 10 min.

jesse,
did you get all you meals at the resort? which spa package did you go for? did you venture out to other parts of the island? the last time i went to bintan, we went outside the touristy area to where the locals were. quite an eye opener. but since the accomodation at banyan tree is quite expensive, i think it's not worth it to go for a day trip ard the island.

walking ard the resort sounds good. they have a walking trek/programme? okies, will wear track shoes there. i shan't bring slippers cos i think they'll provide, right?

Mrs Chai,
instead of "bak -mo" we will call either Bak Leong or Bak You.
coz "mo" seems nothing which they dun find it auspicious. "you" mean have everything.

Jesse: It is SO DAMN FUNNY HAHAHAHAHAH

I waiting for my curry to be cooked, but no idea how long to "boil" it for cuz I added potatoes ... Duh ...

Kelley: I rem waterbed have maintenance to do? can be spoilt? I dun rem liao ...

coolD I vote for animals!

sandwich: oohhh.... i remember when i was young.. my mum always complain got to call in advance.. i miss eating cakes!!

cool_D,
think kelley is correct, no design one, all plain brown. i love the cake so much, think when i was preggy time.
i can actually go n order the cake fm this place in holland, and i ate the whole cake myself!

i voted for the animal barnyard too!

jesse,
hehe, how u know smurf is my fav ! kekekeke

bye, gals!

sandwich,

Meals
We ate most of our meals at Banyan Tree except one Lunch, we tried Angsana. I loved the Saffron Degustation Menu, HB (he had a la carte) thought the Thai food was good. If you intend to go there, bring a dress or something more formal. It's a very nice restaurant and service was attentive (tons better than Blu at Shang and cheaper!) I thought lunch at The Cove was quite nice Italian (not the best I've had but better than most I've had in Sg). Pasta was a little too al dente for my liking...and maybe should've had a linguini instead. Our lunch at the Lotus Grill at Angsana was erm...I didn't like it. I guess my idea of a mee goreng is different. HB had a burger and he wasn't impressed either (and he thinks macdonald's is good).

We had two breakfasts at Treetops. HB didn't like the buffet spread. It consists of a cereal station, a bread/pastry station, miso soup and congee station, some deli items, two "staples" (fried rice, fried noodles, etc), one bao, mini waffles, pancakes, french toast and two ang-moh items (baked beans, home fries, etc). Free flow juice and champagne (if you drink...we don't). They have made-to-order eggs from a choice of 5. The wait staff takes the order for that.

Spa
I LOVE the Javanese Lulur at Banyan Tree. I know it's a "pre-wedding" ritual for the bride but my HB went for it too. It was quite funny to see the receptionist and therapists cover-up their shock when he wanted to try it. You know, the slight widening of eyes and little nose or lip twitch. Anyway, I thought it was wonderful and I think that made my trip. (That and the dinner at Saffron. haha. Note: Its good if you're open to try new styles of food prep.) Love love love the spa pavilion...Would definitely do it again. Wanted to actually...haha.

We also did a session each at the Angsana Spa. I couldn't get a time slot to do the "Top to Toe" so ended up doing a Jamu Lore. More than one year late for this...but whatever. HB did a Fusion massage and he loved it. He said the therapists really worked hard for that whole 90 mins. He (being a man) preferred this over the Banyan Tree one cos well, he really didn't want the scrub or mask...though he thought the wrap was fun. And we had a good laugh over the condensed milk mask (he tasted it!) Oh, the therapy room was just a very simple "blah" room. I would pay that little bit extra for the pavilion at BT.

Btw, they were really good and we tipped all four therapists. If I could do it all over again, I'd definitely book the moment I arrive cos they were really booked out and we just took whatever slot was available...and even then they didn't have a long enough "time slot" for me to get what I want.

Nope, we didn't go anywhere other than the two resorts. Time really flew by.

It rained a lot when we were there but we managed to use the jacuzzi a few times.

Yes, there's bedroom slippers and bath robe. There's also outdoor slippers, though I'm not sure I saw anyone wear it to the pool. It's probably for use at the villa's deck. There's also colgate.

Think I answered all, right?

I'll post the link to my review once it's up...
But I think most of it is already up there!

Okay, HB back, time for dinner.

jesse: my bad ... forgot to tell u to book your spa apointements ahead of time. I normally do that whenever I go to Bintan for trips, cuz all i want there is my massages!

Geez, the last time I had food at the lotus cafe, it was decent. *haiz* I'll just pack instant noodles and canned food since my 1 bed room suite comes with the kitchenette. No point paying marnee for sucky food, besides I loved my canned sausages and maggi assam laksa *pant*

CALIFORNIA BABY PRODUCTS! Nabmum is doing a quick spree, so if you want, look for the BP and then emailed her the items you want. Expected date of arrival will be end of May. She says she wont be doing another spree so soon (used to be monthly)! the spree will close by tomorrow so let her know early if you intend to order.

BP Link : http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1384389.html?1210576098

The order link: www.freewebs.com/thepinkcream/cbbp.htm

Email to Ima (Nabmum) for enquries: [email protected]

Hi Augleo, Mrs Lai, Jesse, Min, Springdance,
thanks!!

Now to tell and train baby to call accordingly.

BTW, mummies, what do your babies call your siblings? Do they call the proper Chinese title or is it just Uncle.. or Auntie...?

Brush teeth
I've started brushing teeth for bbJ but not consistent.. only when I remember and chin-chin chai-chai one cos bbJ will start to bite on the toothbrush if brushing too long

hey augleo,
your Mandarin very powderful.. and I fail my 'O' level Mandarin oral.. so can translate what you wrote?

But then again once translated, I think it'll not be as meaningful?

Gene,
undstd ur worries. hope gladys gets well very soon. dun wori, as long as she is takg somtg, wont get dehydrated. dehydration is more of a concern esp in young bb like below 3mths old. wen kids are unwell, appetite can b no gd for even up till 2wks. but once ok, wld regain appetite n may even eat more.
if my kids got weak stomach, ash wld take reutefene probiotics chewable tablets. cher, reutefene probiotics drop. n i let them go light on their diet n no diary.

Mrs Chia,
u looking for me? :p

Mrs Chia,
i brush cher teeth twice daily during morning n evening shower. i cant do it b4 bedtx as she still latches on to zzz. she has 4 teeth now only. i use clean small face towel to thoroughly clean d front n back of her teeth then use finger brush to massge her gums n get her used to d brushing routine.

Hi sanrio,
how is Ash? when is his op (if needed?) we missed you at our zoo outing.. and also at the JG trial class.

i prob need to do the teeth cleaning as thoroughly as you do.. but I'd forget more often then not

Anyway, there was a Mrs Jaclyn Low looking for SAHM living in Bt batok.. but she didn;t log in liao.

gene: u mean even if u add a little sugar and salt to the rice water she still doesn't take?if not it will be clear feeds...like vegetable soup ....plainly clear soup no meat or other stuff added in it...are u on lactiford for her runny stools..it will help her get better as well.offer the feeds frequently in small amount.coz my sunny diarrhoea was so bad that he totally refused feed for 8 hrs by the time he drank was already more than 10hours,usually they are tired,uncomfortable at this point of time so may refused feeds but u have to keep trying.its only rice water,barley,clear soup,juices or ribena..any stuff that is able to replace her electrolyte levels.

Rina
Today, I've tried adding glucose to her soy formula and she took about 80ml each feed so I consider that a great improvement.

Traz
Hahah. Your korkor very funny leh. I think he's attention seeking la, coz didi gets to be pampered but not him.
You reminded me about how my hb brought me to bt timah hill when I was 35 wks preggie and with major water retention on my feet. Sometimes guys hor, they try to be nice but they're just not sensitive enough! However, brisk walk is good excercise for you la.

Kelley
MIL all like that I think. Like last ngith my MIL got tons of comments during dinner and this afternoon she called me to continue nagging about the food! Aiyo, bring her out to eat also complain so much leh. Btw, our bill was almost $500, still complain leh.

Springdance
Ya lor. So many brands to choose from that why also hard to decide on one. Augleo ask me to call for a sample which I did and Gladys quite like leh so continue lor. Anyway, it's cheaper than Nan. Like Sheng Siong sell Nan3 at $25, Friso3 at $21. So save $4 liao.
Brush teeth hor, very difficult nowadays and I'm lucky if she give her pearlies a few rubs. I'll use a finger brush with the first teeth toothpaste lor. Then later, I'll let her hold her own toothbrush and she'll start 'brushing' her own.

Cool Daughter
When I was working, I always feel depress on Mondays and ALWAYS look forward to weekends!
And you are making me hungry with the cake designs. I prefer the 2nd one but for jboy, I think the 1st better. More boyish.

Jesse
I also saw the article about those tree top walks along west coast. Interesting hor, but then have to consider the back trekking to get the car leh.
This is super funny:
Q:Is swimming good for your figure?
A:If swimming is good for your figure, explain whales to me.
I burst out laughing.

Jane
Ok, have updated your contact.

Yoji
Serena's cake is so pretty!!

anyone know whr can i buy scissors to cut food to feed baby?
does Kiddy palace sell them? or i can jus use COmbi noodle cutter?

thinking of bringing scissors so that can cut noodles like sphagetti to feed my son

Kiddy Palace members:
if there is storewide 20% off pls advise hor...thks in advance

Mrs Chia n Gene,
only the mummy's note written by me, the 2 "monday blue notes" are not from me

jus wanna to share some heartwarming stories with mummies here

combi noodle cutter:
bought last Dec, till now still in the wrapper.

Cool_D,
Know I'm lagging, but I choose the Dino design. Like Gene said, more ah boy.

Jesse,
Your description of Bintan makes me want to fly over now... didn't know it can be so shiok, must consider going for the next trip. Thanks!

MicK,
I loved smurfs when I was young too! Loved the fact they're 1 big family. Though then my english not good can only watch pictures dun really understand what they were talking about :p

Min,
I've only seen the Combi noodle cutter that's meant for food. Thought the Combi one very neat and good, comes with spoon as well.

Kelley,
Look forward to the second installment of your qian bian questions today.

Dunno if you gals are aware, Tom & Stephanie carries Combi products (at least the Tiong Bahru Plaza branch) and they have a free membership card. Discounts for Combi can go up to 20% during sale. Just to share

Augleo,
Same for my Combi cutter. Bought last Nov, now dunno where I've chucked it. So fast, it's about time to use it already... need to go dig around

Mrs Lai & S/W,
Today lunch still on right? what time is good for you gals?

Gd morning Mummies ..

Looks like it's time for baby teeth brushing. Me so far haven tried tho jboy oredi has 8 teeth. So use a toothbrush or those soft brush where u can slit into the finger huh? Brush with juz water gd enuff?

Mrs Chia
I only has 1 elder bro. My nephew call me Gu (1)gu (1), my jboy call my bro Gu (3) Gu (2) .. hehe. I still rmbr when nephew was small (mayb 2yrs old), we asked him where is Gugu (referring to me), he pointed to his little birdie :p

Cool_D,
That's funny... it's a real prob my boy will face too, becos the actual names for the birdie is not easy to pronounce (in Mandarin).

Mrs Chia,
My boy will be confused in time to come. My family speaks Mandarin, so he's to call my younger sis Yi(2). But my hb's side speak English, his younger brother is Uncle (sigh...).

cherry: I think i would have to give it a miss. Coffing very badly (got it from my gal) so I dun wan to pass it to you or your kiddos =( can postpone to another day?

as for T & S, they say membership must pay one ... I asked them the last time leh ... $10 or $20 to sign up

Yoji: ur cake so nice… u mst hv spend a bomb on it!!!

Cooldaughter: funny ah.. later I tell u part 2!!

Gene: wah… ur MIL reali cook so well meh?? $500 also complain..

Cherryteq: reali ah… I tot my qian bian question will not be appreciated… cos I thnk it’s funnier if I say in person.. with my comic face..haha

Part 2 of my qian bian question:

Than “lian rong bao” asked “char siew bao” to go watch the same movie again as “lian rong bao” loved the show so much.. but while watching the show, “lian rong bao” cried as usual, how come “char siew bao” never cry?

Mrs Lai,
Oh dear, then you better take care. Sure we can meet up another day.
Oops, you know what? I gave the wrong info! Now I rem I bought something and then paid $10 and got discount straight away which offset the membership fee, so I thought it was free. So so paiseh for wrong info...

Kelley,
I'm sure it'll be funnier if you said it in person, but never meet you so "no fish prawn also good" lor. I'm stumped by the baos, dunno how to answer. Just thinking of eating them...

long time never post here liao.. how're you all??

kelley,

what is the "lian rong bao" and "char siew bao" movie??? hehee

CoolD,

i started Ning in brushing teeth when she's 11 months old. so far so good. using toothbrush, sometimes with just water.. sometimes using the toothpaste.

Hi Cool-D,
hahahaha!! you made my day!! that's so FUNNIE

Cherryteq,
same-same.. My family calls everyone by the proper Chinese title but my hubby's side, mostly we call Auntie.., Uncles... so dun know if shld start with proper titles on my hubby's side.

Gene, Kelly

Thanks. First birthday bash so thought of something special.

Anyone heard of trio center - enrichment program in different languages(English, mandarin, Japanese)? Any feedback?

Mrs Chia: I think if have to start with the proper ones on his side, shd start with my hubby's dad! He says all the kids call him gong gong, whether dotter or son's kids. I am like ... is that right ????

Anyway dun care lah, they tell me call wat i call wat lor ...

jessesmom,
yours sounds like an jam packed getaway. i think mine will be more of a lazing ard/reading/relaxing/maybe walk a bit type of getaway. i dun think i'll be going for facial, but would want to try their massages. went to google saffron degust menu. sounds like a must-try yummy treat! breakfast sounds very bleah though (don't take champange too)! can walk over to angsana for breakfast right? looks walkable from the map. is there a kettle in the room for boiling water? i'm a water guzzler.

cherryteq and mrs lai,
hehee, will get my colleagues to go together with me to ashton's for lunch then. think i shall have fish + mashed potatoes for lunch today!

Shirley: U got let ur Ning try to brush her own teeth? We let my gal play with the toothbrush even if it's not brushing time. 4 teeth coming from the top so her gums v itchy!

aprilmum: u read back la.. it's my qian bian question..kekeke

mrs lai: hhmmm.. i don't know leh.. i give up.. i reali bad at guessing also..

cherryteq: no worries.. we will meet somehow someday..hahahah... tell u the answer later!!