(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Kate
I usually bring jboy to the playgrd on wkend evening abt 6.30pm .. when it's not so hot. Wkend abit diff coz usually rch hm almost 9pm.

2moro holiday, if u r home in the evening, we can arrange

Btw, we usually say 'bu ke yi' to jboy when we disapprove his action. Than he will shake his head like he ustands, dan cont. to do what he is doing ..**faint**

Cool D / Mrs Lai,
My NO doesn't mean anything to YX no matter how low tone or fierce I sound. He'll just ignore me and continue what he's doing. Last night, he climbed up his high chair while having dinner and bungy jump. Heng I hopped him before his head hits the ground. After the shock, he still try to repeat again. I surrender!

Wow, looks like I'm not alone in this "challenging" phase. Thanks for sharing.
I certainly hope this will pass soon and that our bbs and toddlers can understand what is the meaning of No and not hit...

SpringDance,

Re: Steamed Egg

I have tried steam egg for my boy but it seems that he doesn't like it. However, u must steam egg yolk only. I think after 1 year old then can eat egg white. Alternatively, u can buy Heinz egg custard for your son. Can get from most supermarkets.

Hope the above info helps

Btw, how much milk intake is your baby boy taking per day now?

Caicai,
he got those from me...

Kate,
HB and I lived in a few apts (alone) before living in this one and you're right, it really helps to know what you like and what you don't like. So when you have your own space, you can design it to you liking
I used to draw for hours (not that I draw well, only HB and I understand) what this apt should look like (w minimum reno). And also now some times we draw what we want our dream home to look like.

One day when you have your own place then you can be the true Queen of the apt!
Too bad each apt can only have one ;p

Mrs Lai,
Great Link!!! I feel inspired. Now I know even if Jesse doesn't want to play it..I will. haha...already I seem to be the only one interested in his xylophone now. :p haha. SSshhhH. Don't tell HB it's actually for me
I suck at playing that genre of music though...maybe I won't feel so intimidated with 25 keys. *grin*

Haha...I just showed HB the video and he said, "are you sure it's for Jesse?" He knows me so well!

SpringDance,
I have given steam egg, scrambled egg, fried egg, etc to Jesse before...with whites...he's okay. I think after 12 months can try already. Just start with the whole yolk and a little and see how lor.

Now I remember someone once asked about egg tofu, right? I've given that to him as well
Boiled it with his porridge and smashed it with a folk. I gave about 1/3 tube each time.

Taro,
If Jesse can play piano like that...can impress girls. haha

"No"
Aiyoh, Jesse also testing and testing. But he knows when mummy threatens to hit, she will. So now I raise my hand, he scared already. And when I say "no" (I'm very fierce) he'll stop dead in his tracks (maybe he's just a very good boy...hmmm...). But he does forget and need constant reminders when he repeats undesirable actions.

As for tantrums (like head banging, slapping, etc) I usually ignore all those things. He stops after a while.

Cherry,
at this age, any change will invite crying and tantrums. I suggest you start slowly lor. Instead of patting him to sleep, maybe just sit with him until he falls asleep first. Later on then do what Kate did. But if you just want cold turkey...then just do the Ferber Method. Think you can google this.
But you must close the door lah...

Egg Yolk: Instead of steaming, I made hard-boiled eggs for Malcolm (cos difficult to separate egg yolks and whites B4 & after steaming). I fed Malcolm 2 egg yolks per day since 11th month old(OOPS!! Dun know I'm feeding too much! Lucky only feed him twice a week)

3 May Gathering: I would try to arrive by 12.30 or earlier...depends on Malcolm's morning nap.

Sleeping alone
The one having problem is the daddy & not the baby. My hubby had moved himself & baby to the other room to "train" baby sleeping alone since bb is 9 month old. BUT until now, he is still sleeping with bb!! So ended up whole family cramped into that room & master bedroom is empty!!!

Discipline
So far, saying NO firmly with Malcolm & looking at his eyes works. If he continues to bawl, we would put him down & let him bawl until he calms down a bit. My bb very cunning, he would look see look see, if no one around, he would stop & rest. Then when someone walks in, he would start again....sigh....

Distraction
Another thing I do is...
When Jesse wants to do/touch something he's not supposed to, I'll say "no" and then offer an alternative. Afterall he's only 13 months old...I'll continue distracting until he cannot be distracted.

Catherine,
My HB is also the one who's more "se bu de" so when Jesse's sick, he's the one sleeping on the flr in Jesse's room. On a normal day, he's the one sleeping next to the monitor and attends to Jesse at night (or once he comes home from work). We put Jesse in a different room from us the moment we had the chance to do so...that's about 6.5 months. First night he was a little fussy, then we thought maybe the room too dark. So the next night we only drew the curtain on one side and he was happy with that.

Tell your HB if he doesn't leave soon, he'll never get to leave. Someone I know still has to sleep on the flr of her children's room because they slept with her since they were born. So now at ages 3 and 4 when she tries to move them to their own room (and they have each other for company) they still need mummy in the room!

Taro: I think YX just testing limits. At this age, the kids are already aware, so they are testing boundaries how far you would let them go. I am not sure if can start punishing them by putting them in a square. I know my SIL puts her child on the bed and cannot go anywhere as a punishment. I forgot how old the kids should be before we can do the time out corner.

augleo , mummies,

here's the link: http://moxibaby.blogspot.com/

kelley

Nt sure, but i heard the sale is on till this sunday . if oni its not so darn far, somemore its super super hot cos not aircondtn . if u do go, try mrg tm cos too hot nt gd fr u since u r supp to rest more these few days.

Mrs Lai,
I think at this age till 18 months, they still don't understand "time out" but what has been recommended is that the adult sits with the child but the child faces outward...no smiling, no talking...just quiet for about a minute. But no solo time out at this age. As for older, they say it's a minute to every year of the child's life. But *sigh* to time out or to spank? Who knows...I'm still deciding.

Michele,
hugz hugz.. who say claire is not growing.. she is
i saw how much effort u put in to feed her. put her in sling n carry d heavy food jar n bag all d way to town.
cher is oso 'rejecting' food these 2 wks... wen she c d spoon, she oso keep turning her head away or use her hands to 'beat' d spoon. ended up food landed evywhere, even on her head. then she pey chay, she wld rub her nose n eyes. messy... i dun mind d mess if she is willing to eat but somtx she simply refused. i nvr hv problem wen cum to feeding ash cos he loves to eat but we cant let him eat cos of his food allergies. yes, can undstd is headache n heartache for mummy. lets hope tis stage is temp n wld pass very soon...

Moxi,
tks for sharing ur blog n finally u did it
happy bday to maishia

i also hv problem disciplining my son!
cherryteq,
Dillion also smack my face a few times esp when i sling him. to him its fun coz he can lol and smack me *faint*

i do smack his hands but i'm worried if i'm teaching him that its ok to beat each other.

even when my hubby & I show stern faces, he bawl even louder.
like what Mrs lai said.. they are testing our patient and reaction. guess he juz love to see my reaction to his actions!
my boy super manja.. terrible 2 gonna start soon!

Min,
I wanted to give Jesse some of my porridge at Crystal Jade the other day (as a meal) but HB thinks it has too much MSG. But we have given him bites of this and that at restaurant before.

Happy Holiday to all

moxi,
thks for sharing ur blog link.
hv updated in our contact file

Maishia's b.day cake from coffee bean?

share w/us the studio pix when is ready.

J.little always sale!!!
Cardmemeber preview
Date: 6 to 8 May

Any1 using Zojirushi 0.9lit Lunch kit set?
cardmember S$49 (UPS$80)
good deal?
me thot of buying, any comments?

moxi
i hv added yr blog link to mine

jessemom
i always feed him bits of our food even after his porridge. my son's stomach is endless pit. can eat the whole day!
so think if i can skip porridge and feed him main meal outside

Min: My gal's breakfast today - 1 unthawed forzen blueberry pancake I made on Sunday, and then 1 hour later 1/8 of a ham and mushroom omelette, 1/8 of a hash brown, 1/8 of strawberry toast, 1/8 of a crossant and some orange juice. All from the Cafe Amis at the Botannica Gardens.

I would give her food from outside but I will see what to give her? Some of the porridge are full of MSG so I normally will order rice instead and some fish.

Best way to test the porridge, if it's plain and it's salty, I'm not going to give her :p

Mrs Lai,
frozen pancakes/waffles are said to be a hit with teething tods

Min,
Mine also bottomless pit. After his morning nap (12noon) we brought him out to lunch. When we got to the restaurant, he was so grouchy because it was pass lunch time. Quickly gave him his food (instant barley with Heinz jarred food) then throughout our 1.5hrs lunch we just kept feeding him (gerber puffs, raisins, bao (he ate one custard bao), dou hua...) At the end of it, his tummy was big and round. Now, 4pm, he just finished 200oz of formula and I'm cooking porridge for him again...will feed him later probably 5:30pm. He's really a pig!

jesse: really? I steamed it though to soften it :p Anyway her bottom 2 are out also, now she has 12 teeth!

Minced pork with potato/carrot/corn stew for my gal!

1391369.jpg

Mrs Lai,
Wah...what a nice float!
Was it today? Which pool did you go to? We're also thinking of bringing Jesse swimming but still can't find the time! Does Vanessa wear diapers in the pool?

haha...I really meant frozen
Really, it's true...they just buy frozen eggo type waffles to feed their teething tod.

Michele: Think boy & girl different lor. My boy also everything also eat (tissue paper, table, nappy liners) Basically, anything that he can get his hands on...or if we just say mumum, he immediately push out pacifier from his mouth & wanta eat...

augleo

thks for updatg
yup cofibean. hehe.. cheap cheap too =P ok will post on my blog once pics are ready

mindy

sure thg

btw, whr cn we buy the pigeon seaweed above?? gng travelling soon , so dont mind some of these instant food ideas.

Moxi
i got mine fm Taka's baby section. think 6 sachets for $5.10. i saw them at Parkway parade isetan also

if we are out for long hours, i juz prepare plain porridge and add them in when wanna serve

my boy's eating schedule
8.30: cornflakes with cow milk
10: few pc of bread
10.30: 210ml milk
1pm: mee sua
1.45: we went kopishop then fed him bits of rice/toufu/veg/gerber puffs
2.30: youghurt
3.30:milk

struggle for 2hr to make him sleep now and when he wakes up will be fruits and porridge

my boy can behave like a starved kid when we are out. he will scream if his mouth is empty..

Min,
Hahah...we should be happy lah, as long as they are eating well and active. I am very thankful for a baby who likes to eat so much. One thing less to worry about.

Catherine,
My boy teething again...he's biting everything too, even the table when I was feeding him just now. Just bent over his seat and chew on the table. Poor baby...

Hope all FTWM enjoyed your day with your precious babies. So how many have taken leave tomorrow?
My HB still undecided about whether to go back to work...heh.

Foto-U

Hey Mummies who have been to photo shoot with Foto-U before...after paying deposit and confirming time and date...that's it? Just show up on the day of shoot?

Hey mummies
Long time no chat. How was the Bday parties that u all planned?
Mine went terribly bad when my uncle got scalded by the water heater in one of the toilets in aloha loyang chalet.

Wanna check with mummies here on which brand of FM is on par with Similac?

jesse: it's the pool at my place. Actually we have another float, the hello kitty one, which coincidentally, another kiddo was using the miffy version in the pool! My sister donated some unused swimming diapers to me, which I think is a few years old? but anyway useable and just fit her only. Alternatively was to let her wear the iplay swimwear bikini bottom ...

She was v funny today - I did think of bringing her to swim so I just fish out the swimming customes ... this would be the "first" time we brought her since like 6 months ago which she refused to swim. I tried on the swimming cap and she didn't want it. So anyway we then headed out for Botannical Gardens and all. After we return home, she grabbed her bikini top and swimming cap and gave to the maid. So it was pretty funny to see her in the swimming cap, bikini top and her normal diapers crawling around the house.

So I went to dig out her float and i spent 15 minutes blowing it up. Almost fainted ah! She was so gan cheong to go out until we reached the pool, then she got scared :p

I can't take leave tomm also... Also want long weekend. The vesak long weekend also BURNT cuz got to work that particular sat =(

Claire: Hope your uncle is OK now.

Jesse: you may ask them what they want you to bring? Normally they will request for like 1 set of white or dark clothings. If you wan props, you may want to know what they have and you can bring your fav props if they don't have it

Catherine: sama sama, my gal ate bits of my ribbons, tissue papers, paper, brochures, and will lick the floor, the safety gate, the table, the mat, the highchair ... not sure she lick for wat????? to taste if it's edible ????

Wow..mummies..seems like ur kids eating lots of things liao..I'm still giving her the basic porridge..fish..veg..now can eat egg liao meh..? I didn't know tat..how are u all cooking it..?

grabecky
i use hard boiled eggs then jus give 1/2 egg yolk.
sometimes when we are out, i will let him eat a bit of egg white. actually now can give egg after 1 yo

jessemom
u can get swim diapers from coldstorage. its blue package

i let my boy wear swim diaper and also swm suit

Let Mums take centre stage this May as Raffles City celebrates Mother’s Day with a spread of pampering offers:

Liz Claiborne | #02-18

Enjoy 20% off on regular-priced accessories! Better yet, enjoy an exclusive closed-door shopping experience on 10 May with a high-tea reception* and stand to win attractive prizes.

Insight Optical | #B1-70
Get a complimentary pair of 1.56 CR-39 multi-coated lens (worth $60)* with purchase of any progressive lens.

MPH Bookstores | #B1-24
The best reads for Mothers are now available at 20% off! Offer is valid for the Chicken Soup, Cup of Comfort series and cookery titles. Purchase any three of these titles at 25% off! Furthermore, you also get 20% off on business and Jodi Picoult titles in the month of May.

Inagiku | Level 3 (Fairmont Singapore)
1 - 31 May
Head Chef Yoshiyuki Nobukawa simply knows what Mums desire for Mother’s Day - a delicious and elegant lunch at the recently revamped Inagiku. Chef Nobukawa will be serving a scintillating four-course set with the freshest ingredients in the best dining setting.
Set Lunch
S$65++ per person

Plaza Market Café | Level 3 (Fairmont Singapore)
10 - 11 May
Treat Mum to a delicious day out this Mother’s Day and show your appreciation to her over a fancy and decadent High-Tea Buffet where regional fare and traditional gems abound to fascinate every Mother’s discerning taste.

High-Tea Buffet (12.30pm-5pm)
S$35++ per adult
S$16++ per child (6-12 yrs)

Apple Roadshow
1 – 4 May, City Square, Level 3

Meet the iPod family, the coolest family in town!

Enjoy an afternoon of fun and fashion as we showcase fashion trends in an explosion of style in our fashion showcase on 1, 3 and 4 May. Our event ambassadors will also be on-hand to demonstrate the impressive capabilities of the iPod touch. Get spotted with a balloon, and stand a chance to walk away with an iPod shuffle.

grey: if u never give egg before, best to try out a hard boil egg first and give the yolk first. You can try the egg white later (still hard boil) to elminate any possibilty of your child being allergic to egg, egg yolk or egg white.

Min: *pant* i want this one! Inagiku | Level 3 (Fairmont Singapore) Been craving for sashimi like mad lately.

Cindy: I wish I was preggie. It would save me a hell lot of money! The test is negative =(

Besides, if I am preggie, I'm prob busy puking than to think of food!!!!

morning!!!

how was everyones holiday..??

Mrs Lai: ask u hor.. is van on similac follow on milk? is it called gain IQ? any comments on the milk??

i went to the FP toys fair yesterday and spend almost $170 on toys for my gal and also my HB!!!