(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

min,
my sentiments exactly! used to take fridays off, but now i think thursdays are better. cos fridays can usually leave 1/2 hr earlier, plus can dress down to work. so not worth it to take fridays off, hahaa. you have a lot of leave too?

Moxi
<clap clap> We looking forward to viewing Maishia's biggest prezzie from Mummy. Are you backtracking or moving forward?

Mrs Lai
Nice meeting U again on Sun, Faith keeps bio-ing Vanessa's pretty hairclip.

Mich
It's finally Wed, I'm off to get fresh stock in 10 mins, heez..

moxi,
thks for sharing

share with us the link.

Kelley,
u wanna to go Lok Yang?

augleo: i m probably going with my sister 2molo w/o my gal.. scared got alot of bb.. alot of virus around.. kaisu..hahah.. easier to buy w/o her also..

Miss Tan: wat fresh stocks u getting? share share?

Dear LinkPoints Member,

LinkPoints gives you more reason to shop at John Little!

Now you can purchase John Little Gift Vouchers and earn LinkPoints! For every $1 spent on purchasing John Little Gift Vouchers, you will earn 5 LinkPoints.

John Little Gift Vouchers can be purchased at John Little Marina Square and Orchard (opposite Somerset MRT).

The LinkPoints Team

mrs lai n jesse , why must ship fm states ? when i was shopping @ toyrus , i saw some pianos too . although limited ...

Agnes, Leo &amp; Mummies

My msn kenna virus!!! If you received my msn, do not click on the link, is VIRUS!
I accidentally clicked from my friend msn!!! Sorry for the inconvenient caused.

Mrs Lai,
actually I quite like my massages a little hard
So we'll see... i can't wait...but HB thinks I'll change my mind and not go (because I can't let of of Jesse) so he told me he dare not upgrade the villa.

My SIL highly recommends the lulur, so try try and see lor...seems fun.

I showed HB the picture of easy store gym yesterday and he still prefers the kangaroo climber. But he says we'll wait one more week to see if TRU gets back to us, if not we might get alternatives. So thank you for the links

As for toy piano, I gian the 6625 and my friend said "okay, have space". So now I'm just waiting for it to become available. So far all my searches show that it's on back order and will only be available 1st Jun! For this piano, the price (after shipping) varies from around US110 to US150. The bigger stores charge more lor...but at least they are known to be more "reliable" also. Plus credit card fraud is quite big in US, that's why HB reminds me to buy from bigger stores. More ex but safer. I used to buy a lot from Amazon too...direct or as long as they back up the retailer.

Here's what it looks like:
http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2323983

Caicai,
thanks for telling me the sale not worth it.
Then I don't feel so sayang about not going...my feet aren't feeling well...

The pianos you saw at TRU were they the electronic type of the erm...no need to use batteries type? See above link for what I'm looking for...was it that? I tried finding it in SG but couldn't that's why have to get from states lor...

Michelle,
If you know where I can find what I want, please tell me...

How are you doing? haven't really seen you around in a while...

jessemum: the piano looks very pro leh! Too bad I can't play the piano so cannot teach Lele even if I buy it.Are you planning to teach Jesse how to play the piano? Your home must be very big to be able to house the GYM and PIANO. I saw the gym and was like, nice but too bulky.

Kate,
haha...my living room is his play area. I know there are parents who don't agree with that but personally it doesn't offend me in any way. Maybe I'm making up for my childhood.

As for the piano, it's really a very tiny piano...if you read the measurements. I think it only comes up to my knees...but it's cute, isn't it?

Jessemum: yup, the little red piaono is very cute! Reminds me of what's-his-name's piano in snoopy and friends. Esp when read the descriptions, I can't help but feel tempted to buy! aiyo, this thread is actually not for the "weak-minded" haha! Alas, convinced myself that even if I buy also no use for it cos nobody can teach little Lele how to use it properly...
You gonna give Jesse piano lessons?

I think for people with extra room like my colleague, it is not a bad idea to create a playroom for child. Cos that playroom will be like the playpen, where he play freely in a big space and caregivers can do their things while they leve him in there. Besides, there'll be no need to worry that toys go all over the place because they are confined in the room.

BUT I dun have extra room so my liv rm is also Lele's play area. In fact the whole house is! But my liv room has lots of furniture liao. So not enough space to house bulky play things. If I buy some more bulky playthings, my MIL will surely have many things to say one.p

mrs lai and jesse .

I saw a "grand piano" black one ( quite stylo)
but dunno whether it is normal or electric type...

usually for electric , it is just 1 layer ( at the sale tis type was selling btw 20 to 40)

but the grand dame i saw , much more expensive 100 ?

kate
same lor.. no space for a playroom except for living rm. and MIL also will make noise if i buy big items

now wanna buy tricycle also cannot

Kate,
Yes, if we had an extra room, we'd convert it into a playroom and get our living room back. In fact, we were thinking about it...esp this time after my parents leave.

Well, when we get something new (and bulky) for Jesse, we just have to put something else away...we only have a 5-rm flat. Though it is good that it's usually only the 3 of us
And we are indulgent parents. haha.

Linus (in Snoopy) had a baby grand...which I would get for Jesse but I pai-seh to ask my friend to bring back something like that. If it were really up to me, I'll get him the 37, 44 or 67 key one, not just 25. Already pai-seh when I "upgraded" it to this one with bench and slightly bigger from the one Mrs Lai and I originally looked at.

If Jesse would listen to me (which he's not capable of at this point), I don't mind teaching him the piano. But I'm not going to force it on him. For now, that toy piano would just be something for him to explore and see if he likes it. (And to keep him from destroying mine.) Plus I think it's going to look super cute next to mine. haha. *poof* *brain turns to fluff*

Min,
my home also no space for tricycle...can put lah, but no place to maneuver!

Sandwich,

What time will you be at Mkt Pl Cafe on Sat? Then I know when I get drop by to get the sucking pads

jesse and kate,
kaizer's piano at the moment is my piano, hahaa! but he can't reach it properly yet, so he'll have to bang on the keys standing up, or bang on them while he's sitting inside his pram. i only let him sit on the piano chair occasionally, cos he'll want to reach out for the piano cover if he can, and has so far clipped his fingers twice with it *ouch*.

he and his papa can spend a good ten minutes playing nonsense on the piano, hahaa. i dun mind, cos i got it second hand at less than $1000. but i think the neighbours might mind, cos it's not exactly nice music that the boys are playing.

please, my current flat must be the worst of the lot! it's a crumbling 20+ years old 3 room flat. his playroom is the whole house basically.

jesse,
haven't decided. will have to depend on what time kaizer wakes up from his morning nap. and whether he cn stomach his lunch before we leave home. maybe 2pm ... we're having high-tea there right? hmm, or is it lunch? can't remember.

sandwich,
Jesse almost did that to himself too! He pulled onto the cover and almost slammed his fingers with it. Plus, mine's quite old (I used it when I was growing up) so the stand to put the books on is slightly loose, he'll pull on that and get the cover down.

He's always on the piano chair with me, but disallows me to play! It's quite funny how he'll lift my hand and "throw" it to the side. If I/HB can't it with him, he doesn't get to go on the bench and he plays standing on the floor. Cos the last time I allowed him on the bench alone, this is what he did...

1389338.jpg

My mother emailed me to scold me! haha.

that's a super super cute photo! he must be sitting real close to be able to climb up!

i dun have a nice pic of kaizer playing the piano, but i did record a video of the very first song that he played, hahaa.

yup still have your number

He was so much chubbier then...now that I'm looking at it. *sigh*

The bench was place in "proper position" for him to play...but he's quite a monkey. My mom was very shocked by how much and fast he climbs...all over the apartment.

Great! Then you sms me

jessemum: At least there are only 3 of you and you have enough space to put something away to make way for some bulky playthings for Jesse. My home shelters 5 of us (6 when BIL returns in a year) lor. Before Lele and my arrival in the home, the storeroom had been quite utilised for 5 years and packed to the brim liao.
Not much space to store anything away besides what is already inside. It doesn't help that my MIL is a empty box lover! You know, when you buy household equipments, usually the box throw away right? But she will keep the boxes. So of cos not much room right? My hub and the rest told her to throw but she very stubborn keep saying will need someday and have enough space now etc.
Imagine the liv room filled with Lele's tricycle, push car, playpen, walker and mu hubbie's road bike!Lidat... how to buy anymore bulky items?

Sometimes I really HATE that I dun have my own space to create a safe environment for Lele.

But other times, I count my lucky stars that this unsafe, cramped space is not my own. I can get so much experience now so I will be able to create a much more spacious and safe space for Lele in future when we finally owe a home!

Min: We usually let Lele play with the tricycle outdoors not indoors.

S/W: at least you have your own home! Not like me, homeless!

mrs lai , ya , the grand dame in black . stylo rite . but small size eh .... i think u beter pop down to a toyrus outlet to check it out first .
no point buying a piano and ship it back . wat if , halfway , bang here n there . the sound spoilt ? u go to the store , look c . if not suitable , dun buy .

Kate
Do you realise the playground downstr .. every abt 1yr old baby will be push down in a tricycle, older ones will be bicycle or skate scooter. .. It's a fun sight
one of these days we arrange meet dwnstr wif our tricycles okie ;)

CoolD: Nice meeting you that day in PP! BBJ very gao1da4 leh.p About playgrd filled with tricycle/bicycle/skateskooter ... hmm... I never noticed leh.
We should meet up at the playground sometimes! But probably evenings since Lele wakes earlier than Jordan so his rounds at the playground in the morn usually around 8.30 to 9.30.

I have your number. Will message you to arrange ya!

Augleo
Think we'll reach after 1pm...better feed my boy at home in case he starts crying bad again upon seeing the crowd and refuse to eat! :p

By the way, I forgotten...which are the mummies coming?

Kate
So you trying to ballot for an apartment currently? How come never plan to get a house b4 you got married?

Re: Steamed Egg
Mummies, me thinking of giving some steamed egg to my boy daily since his milk intake is very little....do you think it's ok?

So much happenings I really cannot keep up!
I have 2 questions hope to hear from experienced mums:

1) How to train bb to sleep on his own (using kate's method of leaving him alone and reassuring him some time later) when he's not sleeping in a cot but on mattress? We tried leaving him after he's fallen asleep but he'll crawl out to find us. He needs patting to fall asleep.

2) How to discipline a bb who now hits our faces with his hand when we're chiding him for doing something naughty? How to make him understand it's very wrong to hit out when "angry"?

Advice appreciated. Very headache and heartache now...

springdance,
according to my list is abt 17 mummies.
not sure michele has rec'd more trf.

plan to reach @12.30pm if not will b after 1pm. very much depends wat time JK awakes from his morning nap.

SD: Cos didn't plan to settle down so soon that's why never apply for flats till few months before we got married. At that time husband was hopeful cos he said there are plenty of flats in the region. But the area just got hotter w each application. We are still trying to get a first-hand flat lor. Now waiting for HDB to review our case. Hopefully they will arrange an alternative. Else we will have to look at resale.

Steamed egg: according to MOH booklet on children nutition, should not give more than 4 egg yolks per week. Speaking of which, I haven't started Lele on egg white yet... slow...

hi Jon's mummy,
yes, meet inside. go ahead n start makan. dun wait

reservation under michele.
think michele did hi-lite abt the high chairs.
see u there

Augleo
That's really good that JK will nap in the morning..then he'll have energy &amp; can play in the afternoon... My boy nowadays dun nap in the morning. He sleeps little...eats little...haizzz.

Kate
If not, you can also try for WIS...you looking at SK/PG area?

Thanks for the info about eggs...maybe I'll give on alternate days in that case.

Cherryteq
My boy dun sleep on his own...need us to pat &amp; carry...so can't give you any comments about this.

Regarding the slapping...errmm...dun put your face so close so he can't do it and you slap his butt or thigh instead to let him know it's wrong and he better dun do it again?

cherryteq:when lele does something we disapprove of, we'll lower our voice and said sternly but firmly, "Lele, no". He understands from our tone that we are not happy with him, so he will bawl. Sometimes other members will come over to sayang him and carry him. Sometimes he will requests for our attention. We'll carry him if he wants but will not start to "play" with him or smileysmiley with him. We will also not give any reaction to his crying. Hub and I usually jus do a bit of explanation to him why we say "no" cos we feel he will not understand much of it. Dun remember we ever dwell on a topic by scolding him after saying no. No theory here just happened it is not hub's and my style to scold/nag. But we remain consistent what things are nono for him. That said, we try not to have too many "no"s lor. Else everything also nono, he sure become desensitized liao.

Springdance / Cherryteq,
When YX's being noti, I smack him on the thigh or hand, he'll smack me back. Then I dare not do it again cause he's learning to hit back. He's like giving me a "I challenge you look"

cherry: if my gal touches something forbidden even after I have said no to her, I will take her hand and smack it and said "NO" again. so far it works for me lor, but i dunno what else to do also if she doesn't listen to me!!!!

She got cry sometimes after I smack her, cuz after hand, and still dun listen I will smack butt. But I emphasize on no and no one is allowed to sayang her. I'll let her sit on the floor bawl it out. I will also shoo the maid away if she wants to sayang my gal. My mum kena the most - cuz she shout at the kids can but immediately want to sayang them. When I scold my gal, my mum wants to be the best grandma in the world.