(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

If Jonathan didn't want to nap in the afternoon or maybe a shorter nap, we still stick to his usual bedtime that is before 10pm, after cleaning him up, changed pj & last feed, which at his routine at 9pm. He will be very restless during/after dinner but he can tahan until bedtime & will sleep through. Tip from my PD - add a tablespoon of rice cereal to his last feed so that he will be full then can sleep thru & it works for Jonathan!

My mum is particular abt routine so Jonathan will have quite fixed nap time - am nap abt 10am & will wake up at abt 12+, 1pm for lunch and pm nap abt 3pm & will wake up abt 5pm+ & have his dnr abt 6pm.

Caicai: Sleeping and last feed @ 9 is quite ideal wor. why dun you try feeding him his full feed at 9 and then not feeding till 6? 9hours w/out milk?
Actually sometimes lele also refuses to take naps esp afternoon naps, so we will let him sleep earlier that night.

9 hrs without milk , issi very tough for small tummy . u know for adults , sometimes we want to eat supper despite hving our dinner ?

Jon's mummy , the thing abt rice cereals . my ma scare indigestion coz very filling.

i will to give him a full feed tonite @ 9pm , but he dun keep to schedules . difficult to catch him and make him sleep . anyway , i will try again , dun give up

caicai
I feel dat 9hrs w/o milk at nite is ok, not day time. Coz anyway, bb is sleeping oso mah. Jboy nite feed is usually between 9.30-11pm, & his bf is usually 9am next morn.

Btw, my doc advised me against nite time cereal, coz with cereal, tummy has to work harder for digestion, so may not be able to sleep dat well. But Jon's mummy mentioned 1 tblsp so maybe small qty is ok.

caicai,
Jesse sleeps about 12hrs at night and he's okay without any milk in between. They are old enough to tahan already...esp since they really aren't doing anything and should be sleeping.

Even if he skips his pm nap (which is like every Sunday), he'll still play and keep going until his usual bath time at 6:30, milk and sleep. Now, I'm quite mindful that he might be transitioning to one nap (though it's probably a few more months) and if he wants to skip a nap here and there, I allow it. Test his boundaries. Which is also why I'm willing to go to the zoo in the morning (less hot) and let him skip his morning nap....once in a while lah. But his bedtime is always fixed.

But I think until Zach has a solid routine, better dun fool around lah.

augleo , my fren told me she bot a poohwalker @ 40 bucks....

jesse u back ?if got good buys , i cheong there after work

Leo, Caicai,
no lah...Jesse is napping now...depends on what time he wakes up.

If other mothers were going, I would've let him miss his nap...haha. Bad mummy. But ya lor, since it's just 2 of us, it doesn't matter...so we'll see. HB says just buy at full price, don't need to cheong. *smacks palm on forehead*

Actually, I'm looking for specific toys, which may not even be sold here (like that toy piano I was talking to Mrs Lai about).

Now, I'm trying to find a "lock and key" set for Jesse to play with. He loves our keys and keeps wanting to figure out how to use it. But our doors are too stiff for him and it's heavy to carry him to reach the keyhole...
Any ideas?

Mrs Lai
Coz my boy will really make the “Gek Gek” sound when he’s doing it…and his fav position to do it is using the kneeling position with his hand holding onto a table edge! After he is done, he will look relieve and continue to do whatever he wans to do…never make fuss to change his diaper also…Can imagine that?

Kate
That’s very good routine you have trained Lele on…embarrassing to say, my boy can sleep as late as 12am! No fixed nap times…can nap even at 8pm and wake at 9pm that sort….

Just like CaiCai’s case, my MIL will let him sleep when he wans… well, she did tried to put him to sleep before at certain timings last time but failed.

Sanrio
Cher is always the guai guai & quietly observing type of gal...so angelic.

jus rec the notes from JG.
pls refer n take note.

**WELCOME TO PLAYNEST!

Format of PlayNest:
Activity Duration
Free Play 20 mins
Greeting & meet the puppet 10 mins
Story & Magic Box 10 mins
Group Activity – Art & Craft / Drama / Puppet Show / Special Activity 10 mins
Snack 10 mins
Gross motor play 15 mins
Music 15 mins

Guidelines:
Wear socks
One-adult-per-child
Switch off handphone
Be prepared to get messy
Avoid side chatter
Be participative
Model concentration, positive language and enthusiasm

Please ensure you and your baby are healthy
– no fever, no chesty cough, no thick mucus, no HFMD-like symptoms

We look forward to learning &
having fun in PlayNest!

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth

Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 5pm to 6.30pm
@ Stuido 6
Trainer: Sujitha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
4. bububear
5. Gene
6. CoolD
7. Peg
8. *michele*
9. EE
10. Catherine
11. Mrs Chia
12. Miss Tan
13. cai2
14. yoji

any suggestion whr to hv dinner?
need to cfm a place for makan.
coz after class will b 6.30pm and we need to settled down fast to feed our toddlers dinner.
dun wish to waste time to search for the makan place
latest need to leave FORUM @7.45pm

4May (Sunday) 6.30pm dinner (after trial class)
1. Augleo
2. CoolD
3. michele
4. bububear
5. EE

<font color="0077aa">jessemum</font>: Whenever we bring Lele down for a walk, we will let Lele hold the keys and turn the lock by holding his hands. Toy lock&amp;keys is a good idea!

SprD: Dun be embarassed leh. you make ME embarassed! Actually last time my MIL also let him sleep as and when he wants. But we realised that fixed routine made him sleep better so we also urged them to put him to bed at fixed times. Somemore that time I was at home for a whole week so could train nap times easier. Then I made sure to tell MIL,"see? even when Lele continued to stay active 2/3 hours after wake, he fell asleep soon after we put him in the cot. So must put him in not too late."

kate , so good that u can stay hme for 1 week . i think i better make full use of this long weekend holidays , i am off fm 1 May and 2 May . Yippee

Kate, Caicai, Springdance, Jessemom,
i 'train' my kids to slp tru d nite as early as i can. both ash n cher slp tru d nite at abt 2mths old. i read up on sleep training n talk to frds but i 'modified' accordingly as i cant bear to b too 'harsh' on my kids. but but.. consistency is d key n u shd try to establish a fixed schedule. kids do well w routine, they wld b less cranky, can eat better and are happier if their timing is fixed/predictable. i supposed was easier for me as i m a sahm n i take care of my kids myself full tx. i undstd is more difficult if u hv other caregivers.
d only downside is eg: ash slp early like 830pm but nowady can tong a bit later to 930pm. so we cant go out too late. i seem to hv missed out 'some fun' but as i grow older, i becum lazier n prefer to stay at hm at nite. oso i tell myself nvm lah, d kids wld soon grow up....

Caicai,
dun wori abt empty stomach. in fact is gd for d digestive system (both adults n kids) to rest during sleeping time. oso slp promotes growth n development hormones. try try... still not too late. wish u all d best.

mummies: update on HFM, another colleague 3 kids kena including the dad! Another colleague down with chicken pox!

The weather is not very good, so do take care. If can aviod public places, please do, cuz some parents are very irresponsible, that their kids are down with infectious disease but they still bring the kids out!

Kate,
cher last feed is usually abt 9-930pm. somtx if her last nap is earlier, then she wld hv her last feed abt 830pm n zzz. she wld slp tru till next morning btw 730-8am for 1st feed.
we weaned ash off milk as he doesnt take milk well (allergies n lactose intolerant, soy oso cant). he has his dinner abt 645pm, fruits at 8pm. 1 cup of water abt 830pm. 9pm go pass urine n sleep.
morning breakfast abt 715am.

Sanrio: wow, very impressive! Your 2 kids can both sleep very well!

Caicai: You can do it! Like what Sanrio said, children work well with routine. The "healthy sleep habits, happy child" book also mentioned that a sleep routine is necessary esp for fussy babies or children who were colicky when they were babies. Lele fits the bill (he colic when young) and I agree that a slp routine made him and all of us happier. Try try la. Just be consistent in the technique no matter who handles the child. That way Zach will not be confused. Jia you...

friday meetup mummies,
i am proposing to my boss to have me work 1/2 day every mon and thurs from june onwards (when i put kaizer in the infant care centre). if that plan goes through, will ask all of you out on thurs instead. then the group will be called the thursday meetup mummies, hahaa! thinking that every monday i can bring kaizer to swim or to the supermrkt, sounds super fun!

Kate
Ya know what I think…maybe the training is easier for certain babies, depending on the character…like I had bad sleeping habits when I was preggie, so perhaps this has indirectly “trained” my baby to sleep late? :p

Sanrio
You are one of the mummies which I have always admired in training &amp; taking care of kids…as I mentioned sometime ago, you really have excellent time management for the kids…and you are doing all these alone!

Mrs Lai
Me being notti notti….I have not told you that my boy when kneeling on the bed, like to push his bum up &amp; down….think it’s playing thing to him… LOLZZ :p

Mrs Lai,
we've looked at babytown and babysayang before...even emailed babysayang re: kangaroo climber but they never got back to me...and their price is 800+ and said there could be a revision (usually means increase, right?).

I'll ask HB to take a look. He's actually the one who decides on these things...I usually have no opinion as long as it looks fun (and most things look fun to me :p)

Sanrio,
there's so much to learn from you. If and when I have a second one, I'll have to ask you how you handle both of them! Dealing with my 13 mth old takes up most of my waking moments!
And I agree that it's much easier to sleep train when they are young, we started at 9 weeks...

Hehehe....mummies, in the end I didn't go...
So who went? What's good?

Mrs Lai,
Fluffy topic again...

I've more or less decided what treatments to do next week
First day I'll do the Javanese Lulur at Banyan Tree (my SIL recommends it, though she did her's in bali but the idea is there) and second day, I'll do Top to Toe at Angsana. It's not the same thing but it'll be nice to compare what I prefer at the end of it. Yay! ....but I'm still wondering about the Jamu Lore...

actually routine also depends on BB character which i agree and also whether the parents got time and effort to do it anot.

my grandma-in-law can do it coz they need time to do their own stuffs so my boy will sleep on fix timing in sarong.

but when under my care.. he will sleep according to my timing depending that why he always take longer time to fall asleep.

s/w
i don't mind thurs becoz i normally will choose to work on fri as its more relax and can ko on time

i love to bring D to supermarket too! can teach him names of fruits etc!
BUT very itchy fingers as he likes to pull things off the shelves! there was once he push a box of toothpicks and splattered on the floor. wow.. so embarassed that i gotta walk off and felt so guilty abt it!!

jesse: perhaps after the one at Banyan Tree, you more or less know which part of the treatment you like rt? Then when you go to angasana, you can tell them your preference and see if they can recommend anything nice for you or not, and by then you probbaly will know if you like soft medium or HARD massages hehehehe

For the playgym thingy: Aprisin has the same item going for the same price BUT FREE DELIVERY. http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&amp;cPath=5_23&amp;products_id=224

I am considering this cuz it's foldeable and can keep :p

TARO ARE YOU AROUND? CAN ADVISE IF IT IS A GOOD ONE TO GET ?????

sprd/min: ya. I think that as with all things, no one size fits all. So the method has to be modified. There are also factors such as temperament, consistency of caregivers, length of training etc.
But I agree with sanrio that consistency is the key. No matter what we try, if we are not consistent in approach or train for a long enough time, then quite unfair to the child to say that he/she has not taken well to training/refused to be trained/hard to train etc.

jesse , i went to the warehse sale yesterday . nothing much , all the good buys were gone . sob sob

the racks for the supermarket toy was gone . so i didnt get to see what it was .

the pooh walker that my fren bot was gone ...

some train sets are there ( not suit for babies like mine )

electronic keyboard ( ranging fm 20 to 30 )

i bot a tambourine ( TOMY brand) that runs on batteries @ $5 .
the macaras which my fren bot was OSS .

sigh ~~~ too late .

**WELCOME TO PLAYNEST!

Format of PlayNest:
Activity Duration
Free Play 20 mins
Greeting &amp; meet the puppet 10 mins
Story &amp; Magic Box 10 mins
Group Activity – Art &amp; Craft / Drama / Puppet Show / Special Activity 10 mins
Snack 10 mins
Gross motor play 15 mins
Music 15 mins

Guidelines:
Wear socks
One-adult-per-child
Switch off handphone
Be prepared to get messy
Avoid side chatter
Be participative
Model concentration, positive language and enthusiasm

Please ensure you and your baby are healthy
– no fever, no chesty cough, no thick mucus, no HFMD-like symptoms

We look forward to learning &amp;
having fun in PlayNest!

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 5pm to 6.30pm
@ Studio6
Trainer: Sujitha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
4. bububear
5. Gene
6. CoolD
7. Peg
8. *michele*
9. EE
10. Catherine
11. Mrs Chia
12. Miss Tan
13. cai2
14. yoji

wait list:
1. fen

any suggestion whr to hv dinner?
need to cfm a place for makan.
coz after class will b 6.30pm and we need to settled down fast to feed our toddlers dinner.
dun wish to waste time to search for the makan place
latest need to leave FORUM @7.45pm

4May (Sunday) 6.30pm dinner (after trial class)
1. Augleo
2. CoolD
3. michele
4. bububear
5. EE

the toy'rus sale @ United Sq ( Novena )
kelley , wif ur tummy , DUN go . dun waste effort lah , they put so many barriers , to Q for entry and to Q for cashier . very mafan ....

DUN waste effort

augleo

i went to the mattel sale . well worth the trip. r u thinking of gng? posted the FP items i bot on my blog. The blog is my birthday pressie for maishia. hehehe... will post out the link for my brand new blog by today . Now gettg ready to go for studio photoshoot with bb n hb.

Hi caicai,
BBjonathan started having the tablespoon rice cereal when he was 6 months &amp; he's ok so far. This is to ensure he is full to sleep thru cos after his last feed, his 1st feed the next morning is abt 9am if he wakes up @ 7am+. And yes, dun give up!

CoolD:
Yah, 1 tablespoon shd be fine since was advised by the PD