(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mrs Lai,
N*S. At the faculty just beside N*H *wink*. Hahaha why are we using so many **? Oh then we can still meet anyway, same campus

Ixora,
Yes, I guess I wasn't happy, so I left. Anyway, now my workplace very near bbM and my mum, so visiting after work should be easier.

Jmon
No worries. Just glad to know that your little princess is well and is improving.

Blueroti
Perhaps you can consider getting those portable electrical kettles? There’re those small ones which is more convenient when you travel.

Augleo
Then I must be very lucky coz my extraction is not that uncomfortable. In fact, I can have lunch as usual shortly after. Just that I’ve to gargle out the food stuck in the gums.
Sentosa, we just wanted to try the tram la. Like when we go there for swim or picnic, we’ll drive there.

Mrs Lai
I think you can find Pigeon stuff at the kids’ department. They’ve got quite a wide range of food stuff there.

Sanrio
Pls don’t blame yourself. No mummy will want their kids to feel bad in anyway. With all the love that you shower Ashrel, it makes up to him.

Springdance
Gladys is really quite active and extremely stubborn. Yesterday we brought her to Vivo and she insisted on walking by herself. BUT she still can’t walk la. So we have to hold her hands as she strolled. When I carry her, she protested by screaming and wriggling out of my grip! Aiyo, don’t know what to do with her. So embarrassing coz many people watching leh.

Gene,
I also find my boy more rebellious and stubborn now leh. Unhappy only trhow tantrums and kick around. I'm at a loss to beat, or talk sense. So irritating....

Hi Sanrio,
your Ash is very lucky.. very lucky to have such a loving and caring mummy like yourself..

Take heart.. motherhood is filled with joys and also heartaches. Now I appreciate my mother SOOO much more.

Mrs Chia,
same here, i appreciate my mother more.. used to lose temper at her when she nagged.. *guilty*

Cherryteq,
gd to move on.. oso gd that your workplace is nearer to bb..

Gene, cherryteq,
same lah.. my jo oso throw tantrum when unhappy or when she can't get things her way.. i get very frustrated at times..

gene n ixora , i think gals' tantrums are not as bad as boys . my sonny also very notti . hope when tey approached the TERRIBLE 2 , we will be very seasoned to handle their tantrums by then .

cherry, mine too! she is so insistent that she can cry until she cannot breathe and start hyperventilating just to get her way! so i don't agree that gals are more 'tame'!!

anyone wanna meet up this week for our usual hangout together?

nowadays jboy throw tantrums by throwing himself head down onto the ground. Or if some1 carries him away from something, he will juz let go n lie flat, so even when u r holding him, he is like trying to 'lie' down .. knw wat i mean?

Hiaz .. tink of the bright side. Our babies are growing & part of it is their growing temper. They are no more the 'dunno wat's happening' bb

Hi Mummies..
haven't log in here for a long time..how are u all?
my girl had quite a terrible teething time fr Feb till early April..*faint*..she wakes up every nite to cry..sometimes 2 to 3 times a nite..me no strength (mood) in the day..

Jmon - Congrats..!!

Gene - ur girl OK?

Talking abt weight..I still got 4kg to lose..I dun think its moving anywhere..my pre-preg tops can fit..but the bottoms can't..I've to get new ones..

Any of ur bb using sippy cup? I can't get my girl to use it leh..any tips?

Recently when my girl throw tantrum, she will hit her own head/face. I find it so scary! Like torturing herself to get her way.

So she isn't the only one? Where does our baby learn all this. haiz..

Ok Lah ..

Cherry: You either with FOS or SOM right? I'm with FASS.

Jesse: Doing paper work and running certain "events"

being stern with babies: Do you have a certain "look" when u scold baby? I do, I stare at her with my eyes big big and repeat "NO". If still complain, I will stick up my finger and repeat "NO". Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't cuz she gave me that "i'm so poor thing look" that I just burst out luffing.

Ixora: I cannot. I still snap when my mum nags. Cuz I can tell her nicely once or twice she cannot hear (she claims) so I will raise my voice the 3rd time and she complain I scold her. How to win?

graybecky: My gal refuse the sippy cup - she went straight to the cup / straw. The straw was a bit harder, needed some time to practise but she got the hang of it. The water, she shares with me from my cup so she just sip (but often spills). Sometimes she will just stick her tongue into the water or spit back the water *haiz* After talking to my SIL, I realise I shouldn't have started with the Avent spout, cuz that's very very hard to suck. Then again, my gal refuse the NUK spout also... then I gave up on that :p

disneytokyo,

I use to use Prickly Heat Powder:

http://www.fairprice.com.sg/ProductDetails.aspx?productID=0000000079998

My HB's family used a similar thing but in a red square tin similar to the one above. Can't find it online.

what do you use as a diaper bag?

graybecky,
Jesse didn't care for any sippy cups, we tried all sorts. But he took instantly to a rubbermaid water bottle with hard straw spout. He also drinks from a cup, but usually spills...

Tantrums
Jesse threw a tantrum when we were out just now. Just for no reason, he'll arch his back and scream. He's been screaming a lot since he was 11 months. Then it died down...but it started again over the weekend. Don't know what's wrong with him also...I always just thought my boy turned "2" not "1".

tks for hearing my 'lao sao'. my hb jus cannot undstd why i alwy get upset so easily :p

Tantrums:
even my once a upon a tx 'gentle' cher oso started her tantrum. tis morning, she was sitting on d floor n wanted me to carry. i told her 'wait' n she banged her head on d floor n cried. i did not carry her immediately, she cont to cry but tis tx she wont hit her head agn. af a while then i carry her.

Terrible 2:
is a lot worst than now leh... ash wen tru tat but i m glad is over. wen he was at 2 n he threw tantrum n we did not give in to him, he rubbed his ten fingers on d floor (outside) n stuff into his mouth. faintz... only my hb got strength to carry him up n away cos he wld struggle n skinny mummy would fall w him..
is part of growing up i suppose. now is 'why i cannot 3'?

cherryteq and mrs lai,
we can meet for lunch! if i'm eating at nus, it'll usually be subway, pgp, engin canteen, macs or science canteen. where do you gals usually eat?

jesse,
if you need it quickly, i can post it to you by next week (expecting to get mine this week if it's by local courier). i'm paying $279 or the carrier, back pack, pouch, sucking pads and courier. calculated that if i ordered from the states, it'll end up to be similar price after shipping.

sanrio,
they are allergic to the milk in the milo right? if it's plain milo will it be alright? am thinking that if a bit of milo can be added to FM, then kaizer might want to drink it.

sandwich,
for him is oso d coco. if i remb correctly, milo (plain) itself does contain diary. u can check d ingredients, i dun hv milo at hm now :p

Tantrums
my boy does it too! esp lately.. he will pretend to cry if he does not get things in his hands. He will always snatch my ezlink card when we take bus

and after shower he will cry 'murder' when we carry him onto bed to change.. he will start to crawl away, refusing to wear diaper or clothes.

hubby & I slap on his bum many times but yet no use.. he cry lagi louder

I very tempted to get cane to threaten him but i guess its too early. me myself traumatized by it coz my mum very very strict with me so i don't wish for my son to go through it

I realise Avent spout not easy to clean. i only use it for water then i realise the tiny holes turn black.. i remove rubber part to wash and use teat brush to clean also cannot clean

u may wanna try giving Vitasoy - 125ml small packet one . my boy can suck on that easily. maybe bcoz its not water so not much spillage

Min - no use. my boy also runs away from us whenver we change his diaper. we just give him something to hold on to keep him busy. Try to keep him busy or entertained.

my hubby is against slapping or caning or any form of physical punishment. I think we will adapt the time out strategy when he grows older.

Jesse - thanks.

Greybecky - my boy cannot sip too. He enjoys drinking from th cup more than sipping from the straw.

Cherryteq/ Ixora/ Caicai/ Cool Daughter/ Sanrio
Ya lor. So most of the time I just grit on my teeth and swallow my temper. She is really testing my patience.

Min
Gladys also pretents to cry. But with tears. But I know she's acting.

Cool Daughter
I know what you mean. Gladys will try to slide out of my grip. Same lor.

Darbebe
You are not alone! We are all in the same situation. Haha..

Mrs Chia
Now that I'm a mother myself, I understand why my mum nag or scold me for. It's all out of love! And now, our relationship is even better than before.

Michele
I don't mind catching up some time this week. Count me in!

sandwich,
milo has skimmed milk as it's second ingredient. But in the wise words of my pd, "you'll never know unless you try".

So how much is the sucking pads portion? Will you be in town any time this week? Otherwise, I can probably pop by on the 3rd. You're not going for the JG trial, are you? Of course, there's always the mail.

Sanrio,
thanks for letting us know what's to come! Then I guess it's true that even from now we need to let them know where the boundaries are. They seem so young to be testing boundaries...sigh...

disneytokyo,
bbjon will sometimes cry once we made him lie down to change diaper & always fling his legs up & down when trying to change diaper. HB very frustrated & smack his legs but he ignores! Getting very notti...

jesse,
it's $17.50. will let you know when i receive them through courier. yah, if it's light i can send it by post to you. do you use the carrier on a daily basis?

cherryteq,
means you can walk home to visit matthew at lunch time?

re: changing diapers
when kaizer was very young (> 6 mths old), he seemed to understand that i was changing diapers and would cooperate by raising his legs slightly. gone are the good ol days, hahaa! i think the only bb that is probably cooperative now must be cherelle! i've watched sanrio change her diapers before and i was so amazed by the two of them!

sandwich: i agree with u.. my gal used to hold her own legs.. but now adays my ashlyn will crawl away or will fake cry n twist n turn like there is no 2molo!! mst always entertain them with something new to hold so she will lie down!

darbebe , ur theme is porky pig or pigs ? so cute

re:changing diapers,
my son alwys try to crawl away whenever we changed him , very notti .

smack him also no use , they are such a rascal at times .

kelley , how is ur pregnancy going ?can sneak in to post at forum huh ?

tonite JL hv sale hor , see you all there

Changing Diapers
I change Jesse's diapers on a table and he doesn't keep still. He always wants to turn around and stand up and would cry and twist and turn all the time. I've also smacked him on his thigh before for doing that and he doesn't respond. Though I always try to distract him first with things...but it's usually futile.

sandwich,
I don't use the carrier daily. I only use it when I go out. If he's sick we don't go out for the week. When he's better, we go out a few times a week. No rush lah...we've been without it for quite a while now...it's a good to have but not urgent.

cai cai
i agree.. rascal is the word!

ya smack also no use.. they either cry louder or simply ignore you.

Sometime i raise my hand to pretend to wanna hit him.. he will come and hi-5 me *faint*
or when i point my finger at him, he will attempt to wanna bite my finger. aiyo.. pek chek ar!!

anyone using pull up diapers most of times? any idea if Huggies pull up got differeniate betw front and back like Mamypoko?

bbjon used pull-ups when we change him outside cos is faster. Yes, Huggies have front & back - the animals looking infront is Front & their backview is Back. Personally feel that mamypoko better compared to Huggies cos can hold more

Min,
cher used huggies pull up somtx, yes got front n back. front: front of animals face, back: back of animal face :p

Sandwich,
gone are those days... somtx she wld still 'guai guai' lie down during diaper change. but somtx she oso twist n turn n wan to stand up. if she struggle too much or cry (esp sleepy), i use pull up.

Darbebe,
now i got craving for agar agar.. nice..

Mrs Chia, Gene,
i oso apprecaite my mum much much more now

Min - i think mamypoko can hold more. My son joined an experiment with the diaper co and we found out that mamypoko when wet after 10 hours becomes gel like but soft. With huggies, it became hard. Dun ask me about pampers since we were askd to try only 2 products for a week.

Gene
Think this ‘embarrassing’ phase will pass for you very soon…coz I think Gladys should be able to walk on her own very soon from the way you described. Then you can just hold her hand and go shopping & “gai-gai”….heheh. My boy still prefer to be carried lei….during Sunday at his birthday party, we had to carry him a lot….so end up got muscle ache in my arm yesterday!

Cherry
So what type of work you doing at new workplace? Also organising seminars?

Cool_D
I fully understand what you mean…coz my boy behaves exactly like that too! If we are not fast & alert to hold tight onto him, think he’ll go “BONG!” with head crashing onto the ground.

Darbebe
Cute idea! Our baby borned in piggy year….just nice to have a “Zhu Zhu” theme….

Graybecky
*Waves* So long never hear from you….last was when we went for the trial together.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Changing diapers</font>
My boy not only twist around when changing diapers…he will crawl away once we remove his top…then struggle &amp; pull away when we try to put on his top…think he likes to be topless! Hot hot weather in SG…

goon is a japanese brand, I started using it when i went to jp last oct since no stock of mamypoko so i bought the goon ones.
luckily, i found thm in sg too, here's the link
http://www.diapers.com.sg/home.php?cat=1

quality is not far from mamypoko but it is a bit thinner and lighter which is good. their L size is bigger than mamypoko. You shld get a trial first and try it out.

<font color="0000ff">**Happy 1st Birthday to : Lele, Ferrell, Bryan**</font>

<font color="ff6000">**Happy 1st Birthday to Kelly**</font>

Cai: me ah.. sneak in?? hhmmm I nv join the new 2008 thread.. here already can’t remember so many pple..hahah.. tell u.. I jst had fake contractions!! Aiyo.. so damn pain!!! I tot I was going to give birth.. lucky fade away..

spring dance
now i know its normal that BB prefer to be naked. i tot my son was the odd one hate whom hate to wear clothes.

and we realise that when our grandparents look after him, they hv no issue with changing diaper and clothes.. he was very well behaved.

but when he comes back home under our care.. he turns into a rascal!

CaiCai/Springdance,
Yeah, cos she born in the year of pig.

Sanrio,
the agar agar is nice, not too sweet. Can try ordering if u are tired of having cake for some occasions.

Kelley,
went to your blog last night and I saw ur studio pix. It's nice. Ashlyn has a hair clip on her. No more botak Ashlyn.