(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mrs Lai, Disneytokyo,
we can go eat jap food one of these days, i love. the jap store n restaurant at south buno vista centre? is it gd? i've been to tat place few tx but hvnt tried their jap food.

Blueroti,
tks
i've rec'd the items

Jmon,
bfg wld get easier as d days passed. jia you

weight:
I am trying very hard to put on weight.. mayb i wld succeed af i stop bfg. but agn, i m d 'jia liao bi' type.

mrs lai
i juz went Taka and bot Pigeon's instant porridge and seaweed to put on top of porridge.

michk
nice bumping into u at taka..K so lovely!!

Augleo/ S/w,
Wat book is dat? Sounds interesting

Mrs Lai & all,
Anybody tried Hokkaido at Turf city? Juz went there for dnr lastnite (MIL's bday) & I thot the food is not bad. Ala carte buffet @ $28.90 ++ per pax.

augleo
which section of library u borrow books from? think its high time i bring my son to library liao.

today i went Kinokuniya with him.. wow big mess @ children section with parents and their kids sitting on floor.. then dunno how to find books to buy as shelves very messy

Augleo
I sort of enjoyed taking out my wisdom teeth coz got 5 days MC each time! I took 2 each time so I got like 10 days MC. Haha..
Luckily mine wasn't painful and healing was good. My friend who went with me wasn't so lucky coz she had part of her gum flesh pulled out too. Yikes!
You very you3 muo4 shui3 leh. Always so creative in poetry writing.

Jesse
Aiya, not I drive la. My hb did. If me drive, I think will take double the time. I'm scared of M'sia highways, especially after hearing all those scary stories. 2 weeks back, my hb's friend met a fatal accident near Pagoh. It's really sad.

Michelle
Ya lor. He loves driving and riding. He has rode all the way to the Golden Triangle before. Can you believe it?!

Michele
Which beach did you go to? Actually I think Phuket and Krabi's beach is not that nice leh. I mean, the sand looks dirty and the water murky. Perhaps those islands like Koh Phi Phi are nicer but then I can't imagine having to handle Gladys on the speedboat and I bet she'll get motion sickness.
I think I prefer Koh Samui. Can really explore the whole island. And I stayed in a chalet type room along the beach and it's damn cheap at 700 Baht/ night.

Blueroti
I damn sua ku. Haven't been to Sentosa in a while till 2 Sundays back. It's really nice now! I park at Vivo and took the tram (or whatever they call it). It's really fast and efficient. Just went to walk around and feed bb at the beach then went back to Vivo.
Actually I guess your hb's concern coz it's really quite troublesome to bring bb overseas. You should look at my luggage. Me and hb's clothes are just a tiny stack coz we brought casual light clothings. But bb's is like 2 bags full lor. Coz gotta bring all her barangs, food, clothes and more clothes. Aiyo. Then I very kiasu one, I always bring along my own kettle coz hotels' ones are always so black inside, for bb's sake.

Jmon
Take care! Remember that all of us here are behind you!

Mrs Lai
No one will be interested in looking at a skinny Asian man naked when there are so many farang men with sexy butts and torso. Kekekek..

Sanrio
After my laptop ganna virus, it hasn't been the same. Always cranky and I hate using it except for coming to the forum. You can see I hardly update my blog nowadays. I'll try to post up some pictures soon! Stay tuned!

thanks to all mummies for all support.... i will try to preserve the bf process.

sandwich,
i cant let Adeline latch on cos she is TOO SMALL.. now the nurses are feeding her thru tube. so far she is accepting the BM very well and the weight is increasing very slowly. and her intake of BM has also been increasing which mean her digesting system is well..

Gene,
got your sms but wanted to reply but i am too tired and totally forgot abt it. sorry..... and thanks for your well wishes... and wishes from other mummies too....

hey jmon

hang in thr! try to massage your B with warm towel so that it won't b so hard. anyway, good to know baby adeline is feeding well.

hi sanrio

no prob! hope the stuff arrived in good condition, so worried the postman will bend it!

halo gene

yeah, u're right. my hubby said at this age, baby won't remember even if she has been to the north pole! and the hassle of bringing pampers, milk powder, stroller etc. etc. .....so sentosa is the farthest we're going to venture right now. actually, we've not been to sentosa for the longest time ever too. and now that u mention kettle, u've juz planted the idea in my mind to bring my own! but mine is quite big leh plus u need a stove! so cannot bring liao. mayb later i go get 1 small 1. actually i also did wonder where to get clean hot water when we travel since it's true that the kettles are usually quite dirty. anyway, juz hope it won't rain. i'm bringing my mom too n think she's more excited than us!

**NO MORE MONDAY BLUE 1**

别让爱等待
病床前,白发苍苍的老先生一遍遍呼唤着:“老伴,你醒醒阿!醒来我们就一起环游世界,你不是一直想起吗?”

病床上的老伴张着茫然无神的眼睛,没有知觉,没有反应。
老先生深深叹了口气,内疚地低下了头。

往日一慕慕浮上心头。。。。。

初识时,老伴也是一个充满抱负和理想的优秀青年,家境也好,原有出国念书的计划,为爱而留下来。他为了弥补心中那份歉疚,许诺说:“有一天,我会陪你环游世界!”

只是,随着孩子们一个个出生,经济的压力逼使他们不得不缩衣节食,环游世界成了一个遥不可及的梦想。他总是安慰妻子说:“等孩子再大一点,等家里再宽裕一点。。。。。”

孩子终于长大了,各有自己的家庭。他们也有足够的钱可以实现当年的梦想,可是男人的事业正在高峰,别说出国旅游,平日连俩人相处的时间都有限。面对老伴期盼的眼神,他也总是抱歉地说:“等我退休,我所有的时间都是你的,你要怎么玩就怎么玩!”

这一等就是二十年,到他退休,老伴却等不及了。一场脑中风,造成深度昏迷,日夜陷在无梦欲的世界。只留下老先生守在床边,不断重复地说:“老伴,你要赶快醒来阿!我带你去巴黎看铁塔,去荷兰看风车,去罗马。。。。。”

来不及的爱,来不及表达的歉意,来不及挽回的错误,来不及实现的诺言,来不及送出的祝福,来不及离别前最后的拥抱。。。。。我们总有太多的来不及。

我们总以为时间会等我们,容许我们从头再来,弥补确撼。

岂不知明天的许多事情我们根本没有办法把握,我们惟一能做的,只不过在还来得及的时候,小心呵护手中的珍宝,一刻也不要放松。

Gene,
the last extraction was 2wk MC. not shoik at all loh...even thot company paid the bill n can idle @home. is PAINFUL loh.

Sentosa,
drive in S$2 for car n S$2 for per adult.
capark for per entry S$1

darbebe....
waiting for ur Princess b.day party pix

jmon,
jia you! hope bb adeline gains good weight fast so that you'll be able to bring her home soon!

augelo,
does jk like the book? kaizer not super interested in the book yet. but i myself think it's super cute. anyway, my chinese is so poor that i can't really understand your chinese post, hahaa

Min: Har ... i was there at taka the supermarket on Friday and I hunted high and low I couldn't find the porridge. Where did you find yours? I think I got no "yuan" with the pigeon instant porridge!

Sentosa: Last time if UOB 121 custoemr got free entry, now dunno still have or not ...

My gal fell again today *haiz* my stupid fault. She fell from the stroller and landed with a loud thud on her head. Thankfully no vomitting or her mouth was cut. I think the balugu will appear tomm =(

Jmon: All the best! Hope you will be able to bring your gal soon!

sori for 'grumbling' here on a sunday nite. very sianz... 1) over 'poor' ash food allergies 2) his surgery. sat nite hb's frd invited us to his hse. for early supper, they bought famous shui jin bao, shun kueh etc etc n for d kids, they bought yummy/famous kaya swiss roll. as usual, ash requested for food n we gave him 2 tiny slices of swiss roll. probably is d pandan colouring or kaya, he started coughing non-stop all d way back hm n cant sleep (thou he was v tired). due to discomfort, he cried. i hv to put cher to slp, comforted him, read him a funny outer space story, n af his anti-histamine worked, he was beta n wen to slp at abt 11pm. tdy we wen suntec n he fin his plain water n requested for apple juice. back in car on way hm, he kept very quiet. daddy asked why n he said he felt unwell n wan to vomit. then he started coughing n vomitted all d apple juice. jia lak, even apple juice (fruit tree type which claim it's all natural), he oso cant take.
i felt upset loh cos how i wish somtx wkend teabreak, we can brg him for ice-cream etc but evytg he cant eat. brg him to kids party, he can only 'swallow saliva' wen he c other kids eat cake. n evytx he nicely ask me, 'mummy, can i eat .....', i wld say, 'no becos....'. somtx can c his face so disappointed or somtx he wld cry. my heart oso ache n somtx i oso drop tears
haiz... he kind of inherited my 'food allergies' genes...
his hydrocele is back n tis tx is even more swollen (like more water). it shrinked d other tx but came back. surgery rescheduled on 28 apr, d monday af cher bday. hb told me not to go as it's gg to drag d whole day n cher nid me.
haiz..

sanrio,
read your story and felt sad, cos kaizer will prob grow up to be a little like ashrel too. sat we brought him to science centre. gave him three sips of ice milo (he was quite eager in wanting to drink as compared to his usual refusal to try new food). then 2 minutes later, he puked (but not a lot) and 1/2 hour later developed hive-like rashes on his neck, chin and hand. luckily recovered on his own after an hour. glad that its a moderate and not very serious reaction.

jessemom,
i've getting my ergo online from babyneeds.com do you want a pair of sucking pads? i can bundle everything to gether when i order. most prob it'll cost $17.50 a pair. let me know if you prefer mocha or white.

sandwich, my pedia told me that we shld give anti histamine if those rashes developed. Regardless whether it subsided after an hour, it is better to give anti histamine in the next 24 hours bec sometimes the effect might be internal. Just thought to share it with you.

Min - what's your baby's reaction on the seaweed food?

Sanrio, Sandwich,

I feel you pain when you talk about allergies. Though Jesse's ones are mild compared to what you describe. I know there's an online cake shop that sells glueten-free/dairy-free/sugar-free cakes. Next time for Jesse's birthday, I'll be ordering from them. http://www.theconsciouschoice.com/cake/index-buzz.htm

Sandwich,
what, do you think, in the iced milo is Kaizer allergic to? The condensed milk? I introduce foods to Jesse very slowly. E.g. I mix half his spoonful of milo with his cereal (rice/oat/barley) in the morning and so far no problem. I increase it in future, but now it's just for taste.

Sanrio,
now that I hear about Ash's food problems...I won't complain about not being able to feed Jesse dairy anymore. It must be hard for you to say no to him all the time.

jessemom,
okie, i'll get the white one for you. are you going for the 3 may gathering? can probably pass to you then.

disneytokyo,
i'm using topical steriods for my bb now (elomet, hydrocort). don't think they can address internal effects. anyway, my PD was cool whenever i visit him and recount the allergies we've experienced since the last time we met him. no specific instructions from him on what we could do after the allergic reaction. but thanks for the advice anyway =)

sanrio: Hugs for your boy and you. It must have been tuff being a mummy who says no to him all the time. Poor Ash also suffering cuz he cannot enjoy what the other kids seems to be enjoying. *SNIFF*

sandwich, jesse,
tks for hearing my 'story'. for my hb, he jus dun feel so 'affected n upset' like i do. he said, 'our boy is like tat, wat can we do, let him cry then let him suffer later right'...
diary n milo(contain diary n coco) is no no for ash too. he is basically 'surviving' on rice, meat n fish(he dun really like). he cant enjoy wat most kids like.
i can only 'console' myself dun complain, b thankful cos he is healthy. n jus hope tat he wld slowly outgrow these n get beta as he gets older.

mrs lai,
tks. evyday i oso cant remb how many thousands of no............. i said to him.. somtx he is so funny, he console himself, 'ashrel so poor thing, what can i eat???'

Snario: what is he allergic to? No wonder you put so much effort in cooking for ur kids. I really pei fu! Do you intend to bring him to test for all the various allergies like Kaizer?

Gene
Welcome home! Sounds like a really long drive….think I’ll have motion sickness too if it’s me!

Dun think Gladys is hyperactive lar…she’s just curious…which applies to all babies & toddlers.

Looking forward to see the pics of tanned Gladys & Gene…kekek

MichK
How cum K suddenly puke in early morning?

Mrs Lai
I also LOVE Jap food a lot….but hor, I dun think it’s fattening (exclude the tempura) lar….you should “fang xin” enjoy.

Augleo
Omigosh…wided-eye….inspiring poetry….in chinese some more… That’s the most difficult part! Just curious, you studied higher Chinese last time?

Sanrio
Sayangs for little Ash…can he eat seafood like prawn & squids? Hopefully when he is older, he will grow out of these food allergies and enjoy all the food he want.

sanrio , at least u can console urself , he is healthy rite
, just that he missed out on some foods , but he is still a blessed boy . u dun blame urself for the allergies , this is beyond a mummy's control .

sanrio: sorry to hear.. hope ash is feeling beta...

i had a tiring weekend.. went to sin siang choon to choose bathroom stuff.. aiyo.. i was like WTH.. jst choosing wash basin or even tap is such a hassle there were thousand n one kind!! can't we jst stick to one tradtitional kind like last time!! aiyo... ashlyn was cranky cos i made her miss her nap time cum no crawling around when we are outside.. so she hates it!! so i had no choice bt leave her in the sample bathtubs!! haiz... building ur own home is tiring!!!

sandwich,
I still don't know if I can go for the 3 May thing. Since can go impromptu, I may do that. I'll be going RCT again today...but I think you work in the west, right? Well, when you have it, we can arrange to get it from you.
My parents will be in town end of the month (Yay!) so I might be able to take some time off when Jesse's napping...

how can I pay you? I can transfer money to you or pay you when I see you. Whatever you're comfortable with.

Sanrio,
ya, that's why I'm giving him a little bit only. Like you, I want him to "outgrow" this...don't we all wish our children were at least "normal"...

It's very hard for a young child to understand why he has to be different from other children lor. My hb has food allergies, so he's more sympathetic to Jesse's situation. It's such a challenge to find the right words and delivery for "no" to something that is "normal" for everyone else.

I was once with a group of young children. One mother insisted that her child only eats organic foods (nothing to do with allergy) and none of that "animal crackers" we give out as snack. So when it was snack time, we had to give the boy his muffin while the rest had animal crackers. He cried. Of course, after much thinking and praying, we just decided to give everyone organic teddy grahams.... But it's not so simple in your case. I think that every challenge we (and our child) encounter is some training for their/our benefit. It's hard for Ash now, but through this, he will learn that it's okay to be different and he'll learn self-control and not to succumb to herd instinct/peer pressure. These are hard lessons for a 3 yr old...but it'll work out for good. Hang in there! *hugs*

mrs lai
you must go to Taka level 3 at baby's dept where they hv Pigeon stuffs there. its not at supermarket

disney
hv not given them to my boy yet. waiting to give it when we go out

Jessemom,
tks for sharing. actually somtx i m quite 'proud' of him :p somtx, he himself would say 'no' or 'i am allergic to xxxx, i wld cough n vomit if i eat', wen som1 offer him somtg which he noe he cant eat.

Mrs Lai,
tks. he is allergic to many thgs. mainly dairy, nuts, coco, some colourings n preservatives, even mango, grapes etc etc..
pds n both specialists he saw said no point for him to go for allergy test. not 100% accurate. since he is not a bb now, just do 'trial n error'. if he reacted badly, abstain but do try agn af somtx. alwy start w small qty n 1 food at a tx (sound like a bb). eg: he may not b ok w it tdy but mayb few mths down d road, his body may b able to accept it. n as for now, jus abstain fr those tat are highly allergenic eg: nuts n diary..
since all gave us tis same advice, we din insist on d allergy test.

Springdance,
tks. so far he is ok w prawn in small qty. n he likes.

Springdance, Kelley, Caicai,
tks. me feel beta, no choice loh.. he is happy, jumping ard agn once d allergic reaction is over but which mean he has oso forgotten all d discomfort n wld want to eat n eat agn. he told me in mandarin, 'ma ma, wo heng dan chi'. hahaha!!

Sandwich,
our boys would outgrow these allergies very sooooooooooon.....

dun say kids are dan chi , i am also a greedy aunty . when i was preggy , alot of things i cannot take , i crave for this and that . however strangely after my pregnancy , i did not eat obsessively nor every day of the things wich i crave badly . so i think one day ashrel will reconcile with the fact that he cannot take these foods and will learn to give it up . lets just hope that these allergies will be gone soon.

sanrio
i see u later. Hue is at Level 1 when Mphosis used to be. if u can't see it then i can meet u at Kate Spade. Its quite big, shd be able to spot it. otherwise can call me when u reach

sanrio,
ya, I asked my pd friend about testing also but he told me the same thing...not accurate. Just do trial and error. Oh well...

I'm glad he knows he can't eat certain foods and can stand up for himself. So proud of him too! Good going!

Disney,
did you try any nice jap food this weekend? Any recommendations?

my son also almost fell last nite.
Hubby was working nite shift so i slep with BB alone.

Middle of nite, i felt some movement and open my eyes and shock to see him almost falling head down (head on verge of touching the floor). i immediately grab his legs and pull him back on to the bed. can't imagine if i did not wake up ok.. falling head down first is no joke!

jesse,
Last fri I went Hokkaido at Turf City .. Ala carte buffet at $28.90 ++. Not bad.

Btw mummies,
jboy is 11 mth today, so I can finally start his 1st bday party preparation. Hehe, been delaying & keep telling myself still long way to go

caicai
jboy is another allergic child so he has been on Isomil all these while:p The prob wif jboy is, he tink he is very advance & tries to walk, result, here baluku, there blue black :p

my jo oso not well, had fever last thurs for the 1st time.. now cough worsen and kena running nose too.. so tiring looking aft her.. plus her teething, super clingy n she cant sleep well..

Sanrio,
You are doing good with Ash. He is a sensible boy - knows how to reject on food that he couldnt take. See if he'll outgrow the allergies when he's older. I hope he does. *pat pat*
Meanwhile, seek console that he's an active and healthy boy.

Sandwich,
I wish for Kaizer to outgrow his allergies too, slowly and gradually to be like any other kids.

Sandwich,

I still have not confirm whether to choose learning vision. Cox i was recommend by a friend of mine.
Has yet to confirm but im still looking ard so that i can have a few choices to compare.

Thanks for yr detail explanation! U really look into everything including the full length windows! Good!

Really have to go down there to feel & see before deciding. Seems like the learning vision @
temasek labs/nus is very good!But then my hubby want somewhere near to our place. NUS location still can consider.

Once we have decide the place, will update u again.

gacc & sandwich,
take heart, at least your boys are active, healthy, handsome and lovely.

SpringD & Kelley,
Won't be able to meet you gals for lunch from now on, cos I've quit! Now I've moved closer to sandwich (i think) and Mrs Lai (i think and think)

Mummies & babies not feeling well,
Take care and may all recover soon!

JMon,
Congrats on another bundle of joy! Perservere and take care of yourself so you can take good care of Adeline!

Mrs Lai,
you must tell me where are you mah? You never tell me how I meet you?
Anyway I'm very near the place where if nothing happens, won't visit one... *wink wink*

Sanrio: Ogie, next time if i ask u over for the swimming I know not what to offer to the kids and adults. Maybe get a list of food from you so everyone can have the same type of food and he won't feel so left out ...

If he goes for the op, how long will he out of action?