(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

MichK,

Oh pai seh... but even though u late but u still end up with 260..still alot leh...

Thanks for the link... I really find like pinching bb keira leh!! hehehe

KSS,

They have alot of things...like the basket, a chair from ikea, bath tube, fur carpet etc..
Maybe U can let yr gal wear bikini swim wear...so cute!! hehehe...

I brought Jayden's toy car, softball, book, etc there...

dlim & michk,

hope it turns out nice - bikini. to be shared ya!

coolD,

saw from foto-u thread. a mummy got those alphabet for her bb. for e.g. K A E L Y N

Springdance: my ashlyn siao siao one.. at nite.. a little sound also will wake up.. especially the daddy cough or snore.. yesterday afternoon guess what.. she slept 2 hours with all the hacking..

Hi Jon!! Welcome to the club!!

Kate: she sleep on yao lan.. I thnk that is why got 14 hrs.. few months back when her daddy nt in Singapore.. I made her sleep on bed with me.. she will wake up crying n then wana play liao.. in the middle of the nite!!

Augleo: wat u got for JK first prezzie??

Min: my ash is especially active at nite cos most of the family members are home at nite.. she know she can play.. no matter how tired she is.. she wants to play..

Gene: I would also prefer indo maid to phillipino.. cos I hate the Sunday meet ups they have..hahah

Mrs lai: wow.. ur gal eat porridge for bf ah.. u take care ah.. ur e card is very nice!!

Traz: than ur cheerios wana sell to me?

SprD: Managed to find some topics on shy babies on baby center. Below is an Q and A excerpt... Sorry other mummies for spamming!
There are more topics in this link
http://www.babycenter.com/400_how-can-i-help-my-shy-baby_500101_1000.bc

<font color="0000ff">How can I help my shy baby?</font>
<font color="ff0000">My son is 9 months old and displays signs of shyness. He buries his head when anyone he doesn't see regularly talks to him. I was painfully shy as a child and I don't want my son to go through what I did. What can I do to help him? Is shyness hereditary?</font>

Community Answers
1)I think a lot of people just assume a baby is shy when they exhibit the classic shyness signs, but in reality I don't think babies can be shy. They may be going thru different stages (stranger awareness, etc.) or they may not be in a social mood (like adults can be). My daughter was labeled shy by almost everyone who met her as a baby and I think she has taken on that role. I tell people who first meet her and say oh, she is so shy- that no, she isn't she just needs alittle warming up time. She is a slow to adjust person so she really does need that 1/2 hour to check out the situation and get comfortable. We as a society put too much pressure on children to be "performers" and that includes being very extroverted all the time (when they may not turn out to be). My advice- treat your child like an individual and respect her personality- even if that includes not being social all the time.

2) That's totally normal behavior for a 9 month old. To help him though, you can interact with the person while he sits on your lap. He might start to realize that it's a fun person. But don't force him to go to someone he doesn't want to.

3) My now 5 year old would not go to anyone other than her Daddy or me - this continued for years. We now have an 11 month old and are trying to make sure that doesn't happen again. We try to keep our youngest exposed to many different people (all people that we know and trust). Shyness isn't a horrible thing, but at the same time you need to be able to have your children around others. Play groups, nursery at church, and story times at libraries are great places to help in the socialization of your children. Good luck to all of you out there (including myself!) as we strive to find this balance!

darbebe
not yet .. i taking in may, hopefully Jboy can stand by than

KSS
I did thot of that. I actually wanna try n find basketball jersy for kids, but haven find yet. &amp; maybe print 'jordan' on it.. .keke.

Anybody know where i can find basketball jersey?

KSS,
That reminds me the flashcard, i told my husb must bring coz con form her name ! kekeke
thot iof this last sat, when i was flashing card to her.

u mummies very horrit, always wanna pinch my gal!

Michelle: i also half day.. but go ikea later.. wanted to go MS.. see how.. looks rainy!! wana get shoes for ashlyn!! hehehe

halo mrs lai

your ecard is sooo cute, or rather, vanessa is so cute!!! aiyo i dun even plan to do any ecard but juz email/sms my family and frens wh i have not even done so yet.

anyway, u better drink more water and H20 in case u get dehydrated. i'm also on MC this 2 days coz of my flu wh got worse on monday.

re:birthday bash
think i'm the worse mommy - i've only ordered the birthday cake so far. and coz my order is abit late - last week to be exact - so i've to sacrifice some design element eg. it's a design of an animal farm with the animals playing musical instruments but now, they can only do a design of the animals but not the musical instruments.

re:shichida
my hubby's fren also thinks the class is very good! their son attends the class. so my hubby is abit keen. i've also chked out eton school house website coz' there's 1 at newton but it's very ex! but understand there're alot of expats so not crazy abt putting our girl there coz i rather she has a good mix of classmates.

MK: what or where is KSS?
Cool D: Basketball Jeresy? Nice idea! Imagine him w a small basketball and sports shoes to match! Then on his bottom just diaper! Like something from advertisement!
But I dunno where can find jeresy leh. Try printing shops?

Mrs lai
wow good job! ok.. i think i beta work on my son's party. aiyo.. getting so stressed up over the preps.. luckily only this one. next yr will be a small scale party liao

cool D: Just remembered... Punggol Plaza selling jeresy-like tshirt and shorts only $2 per piece! The size abit big but I think might be able to alter w safety pins or something. You br J fown to try lor?
It's at the center open space outside watson's.

Hey Kate…
THANKS for extracting &amp; posting the write-up on shy babies….really appreciate.

Ok ok….next time I’ll tell people my boy is ‘slow to warm up’….NOT SHY. :p

Actually I try to bring him to gatherings &amp; trial classes to let him interact with people &amp; socialise….but seems that he have not get the hang of it…still cry or hide his head on our shoulders when we are amongst the people….for instance, during the recent GUG trial class…he was crying for the beginning half…but later became more at ease at the 2nd half…well, the write-up is very true that he needs more time to ‘warm up’ and adjust.

Oh ya…what’s your plans for Lele’s birthday party?

Blueroti
Where you ordered the cake from? Ecreative? When is the party? You designed the cake yourself?

Kelley
hmmm...babies are strange creatures...if they are in the mood, they can sleep in watever condition...

Kate,
Ok .. will chk it out soon. thankQ for the info

SpringD
I also tink jonas is juz warming up la. .and he only cried out loud coz the teacher Devi try &amp; draw star on him :p

SprD: Glad you found the info useful. I totally agree w the article saying that if we "brand" our child as shy and keep on "stereotyping" him, he will start to believe it and behave "shyly".
Another thing which struck a chord was parents' role in this. Seems that shy parents' children have higher tendency to behave shyly...

Even tho we cannot and should not force our shy child into interacting/socialisng, we can always show him how fun and harmless it is to interact. If our Jonas see from your example that interacting is nothing out of the ordinary, he will definitely warm up, at his own pace tho!

Besides, friendly or not is quite hard to define. I have a friend's DD who is 2 and can play and interact w anyone, but will not let ANYONE beside parents and her grandmother to carry. Dreamygal's little Glynnis too. Friendly or shy? Hard to say if you ask me!

OMG! I'm so LORSOR...

kate
actually i agree wif stereotyping .. so me n hb always try not to scold jboy notti boy. instead, we will quickly make him do the correct thing dan says 'good boy' .. HAHA, sometimes kinda diff &amp; 'notty boy' comes out much easier tho'. ..

btw mummies,
any of u kena label 'naggy'. my hb kips saying dat i m getting extremely naggy recently. Nags at every single things .. i really dunno if it's true leh, but he seriously tink i am woh..

CoolD: My hub neba say I'm GETTING naggy but then I think I have always been the talkative type la. I myself feel that when it comes to baby stuff I have tendency towards nagging. I try not to lor, cos hub will get pissed when I nag too much about baby stuff. Think it's ego.p

Kate,
Thanks for the info about cow's milk. Think I'll only give cows milk with the cereal, not anything else.

Disney,
Ya i heard the gym at Great World is good too. My ex-col was highly recommending that and the one at Shell House. But bbO is always home alone with the maid, hb and I are working in the day. Do they open on weekends? I dun mind taking him there on weekends =) any trial class?

So envious of you mummies who can capture shots of your bb smiling and posing for the camera. If only my Little Worm will cooperate and not make photo taking sessions a chore...

halo springdance

eh no, didn't design the cake - not so artistic! haha anyway, i ordered the cake from room for dessert - http://www.roomfordessert.com.sg/
they have this 2D cake with the animal farm theme. you can chk it out if you click on the "novelty cakes" banner. it's the 1st cake from the left - there's a pig, cow and duck playing some musical instruments. mine is only with the animals coz they don't have time to do a more elaborate design for me.

er it's abit ex actually, around $100 for 2 kg. i ordered the carrot cake but i really like the design so....actually can also custom make lah but really no time liao. initially, they didn't want to take my order coz' they're fully booked for that day but i managed to get them to squeeze in my order so have to compromise on the design...= o P

Mrs Lai
You take care. Must replenish your fluids!
Aiyo, that glass cabinet is really a time bomb. Otherwise, consider keeping it away until she’s older.
Sometimes I feel like I’m mad or something coz I can explode suddenly one. I am also very impatient and short tempered. But I’ve changed a lot since I’ve got bb leh. My mum say is my retribution for treating her bad.

Sanrio
No no. The maid you saw at my place is my current one lor. Quite good. Got her before I gave birth. The previous one is very ‘sexy’ one. I just remembered that one hor, wore my high boots I bought from HK to take photo ok. Only knew when I saw her photographs when I search her luggage. So guess who took those photos for her?
I don’t look fierce meh? Haha, that’s why I say looks are deceiving. I told hb, I can be gentle or violent. He choose which side of me he wants and just don’t irritate me lor. Btw, I used to go about on a scrambler. Many don’t believe.
BbC so cute! How to be angry with her? BbG very naughty leh. Most of the time I just swallow it down only.

Dlim
Ya lor, after slapping her so hard, I heart pain also. But then the glass broke mah. So I was quite upset.

Springdance
Sometimes I really feel like dumping bb at home so that I can have some ‘myself’ time. But then the thought of her alone at home with maid, aiya, think better not take risks. Then when I’m out, I secretly wish I don’t have to carry her and lugging a huge bag or feed her or change her diaper. I wish to be alone sometimes! That’s why although it’s stressful to work but then at least have time for a decent lunch lor. I always swallow my food down.

Michelle
That photo is it taken at Mt Faber? BbK so cute!

I sent my maid back to agency today.

I have a question...

Keep seeing BABY OATS at NTUC. Wondering if it's meant for baby or it's just saying that the oat is "young". haha. Quite stupid of me to ask, but I really don't know!

Please help... thinking of giving oats to J, if that's the right one.

*michele*
oh! the benchmark for 1yr is 9kg? Hmmm...ok, Caitlyn is aroud there. Not sure if she has hit the 10kg mark tho.

Anyway...so happy cos she took her first steps yesterday!!

Hi Mrs Chia,

Yes, you are able to take care of baby at night. But must make sure baby don't hit your eyes. It will be good if you hubby can take care, so that you can rest your eyes.

halo michellek

er what bday direct animal decor? it's party stuff? think too late to order now rt?

hi jesse

the baby oats - is it packed in a clear bag with green and white wordings? can't remember the brand but think it's baby oats, not for babies. i used to buy raw oats fr ntuc's health food section, vaguely remember seeing some baby oats stuff.

why don't you get healthy times oatmeal baby cereal? see this link - http://www.healthytimes.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&amp;Category=13
NTUC has it at the baby food section.

jesse
i give organic oat to my boy as b'fast/lunch when i take care of him

got it fm an organic shop. think NTUC also got sell. its oats but they pre blended into corse powder.

but this one must cook..abit troublesome and must keep stiring otherwise will get burnt. it taste bland so i always add in fruits

yes, Min is right. it's Origins.

hey michellek

know what you mean now...juz went to the overseas spree and came across this bday direct thread n u're right! my cake design is almost identical to the party stuff! i'm trying to ask if i can still order the stuff, duno if it's too late for my girl's bday! thanks for highlighting to me!

blueroti
now then order ??
abit too late lor.. guess beta don't take the risk since party is only 2wks away.
why not try Partycity or go to shops at Tekka mall (shops from former concourse). they got sell party decor like b'day direct

Hey Beyond,
thanks! my hubby likely need to work late.. so my best bet is for baby to sleep early and I'll sleep with him.

Been running around today trying to finish all impt stuff/ errands cos my cousin told me she took one week to 'recover' from her lasik- cldn't drive cos she was not used to such perfect eyesight. And the doc over-corrected for her cos told her ur eyesight will deteriorate over time so might as well over-correct now so that dun need to do another op in future or wear glasses after some time.

Hey Sanrio,
wow! $800 per mth not cheap for full-day CC.. I better start looking around for a good one around my area. BTW, I called your PT maid and the lady who answered says I called wrong number??

Ya lah, i kind of expect that when bbJ is alittle older also more challenging for my parents. But it warms my heart to see him bond so well with his 'por-por', his 'kong-kong', his 2 Ah- yees and his cousin, Jie-Jie H. If I'm SAHM, I prob won't go to my parents so often and he won't hv opportunity to spend so much time there. And my mum told me that when bbJ is not there, the house is so quiet.

Mrs Lai,
your e-card is so cute
. Your daughter is really a spitting image of you
.. must take part in parent-child lookalike contest- you'll give a good fight for top spot!!