(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Oh yes mummies,
rem I once mentioned that my memory is failing?
I went to my gynae last Fri and so consulted him on this.

Sad to say, this is permanent. As advised by Caicai, can take Gingko as supplement.

Btw, Beyond went for lasik right? Wonder how is she now, with perfect eyesight.

coolD,

oh.. she's SpingD.. hehe. ok ok , got it liao.

sanrio,

wow.. your kids so sweet le.!!!

Kate,

ya.. tanglinmall a bit far le. hmm.. mayb i call them, see any trial class coming soon.

tks. ash loves her but somtx can b a bit too 'rough'. they do 'fight' somtx thou..
cher trying to return a kiss to korkor but korkor's face too far away. cant capture any more impromptu pic cos korkor ran away liao..
1302560.jpg

Darbebe,
my memory is 'failing' too. worst af hving 2 kids :p i alwy cant remb where i put my mobile, key etc.. hb alwy remind me 'dun forget abt ur wallet (cos got impt items like nric, cards..) n just leave it anywhere'..
jia lak :p

Sanrio / Cool D,
Yes, it's permanent. He suggested supplements like gingko or Vit B. It said to improve memory.

And...it will get only get worse with each pregnancy.

sanrio
both your kids so sweet to each other. so nice warming!

joeyan
can i ask.. how come cannot boil ABC pasta together? coz i tot ABC pasta take some time to soften

Kate,
Too bad i dun have the outfit leh... if not it will sure turn out to be very funny!

Jo,
Maybe u shld start to trian your BBO to take some photos outdoor/indoor so that she
wont be so shy..

Michele,
Ya, I also heard some mummies from March thread said very messy & not organise at all.
I think maybe its bcox of trial class so they didnt manage it well.

Aprilmum,
So have u figure out who is that mummy u mix up with me?

Michele,
All the mummies are busy handle their babies & not all looking at the camera..haha...really
difficult to take a group photos..

Sanrio,
Thanks! Yes, maybe u shld wait for cher to stand n 'walk' 1st...i believe it will turn out
very nice..
Hey... your photos so sweet & touching... ash so good boy hor

Jess,
Since she is giving u so many troubles, might as well send her back. Employ a new maid that
never work in spore b4. But then u must really spend some time to teach her..I think is
better cox she is new & is easy to teach & discipline them. Thats what I did..

Oh yes, don alway scold her too often cox u wont know what she will do to yr bb...

mummies who have magic pot: you can use it to cook your pasta. it will really soften the pasta, minus the trouble of keeping an eye on fire. I tried cooking macaroni w it on sat. Just put pasta into a the pot, fill w water, boil for 10mis, and viola, the macaroni so soft after 2hours. If wan it to be softer just leave for longer.
Save gas, electricity and no need to keep an eye out for fire.

kate,

i start Ning's porride with the magic pot liao .. exactly like what you said.. save gas and electricity!!! my home electric bill hit $260 last month.. normally it's just $100-130 only and we seldom turn on aircond at night. Hope this month can save a bit

Dlim,

ya.. i mix up you and CoolD liao lah.. hehe.. now i'm wonder who is Mom@work le.. still dun know who is she yet

Jesse,

Is your baby boy name Jesse?

Definitely without maid is busier. I have to do more dirty work and cannot sit down at the computer to read internet anytime I want loh. However, both my hubby and me felt very peaceful immediately after the maid left. My baby boy is also closer to us now. One disadvantage is that we cannot happy happy go out and do our own personal things lah. Therefore, we need to do some proper planning before we do our personal things

Augleo,
Mine's ranges $150 - $180 per mth .. which I thot is already high considering we only hv 2 adults in the family

And I only have fridge/ wine cooler on 24hrs. But hb sometimes on his pc 24hrs too, if he downloading things.

coolD
Yes, I was ter. Dlim call me up the nite b4 to fill in the slot. My gal was beside bbV, she got a big flower clip on her head.
Btw bbJ really active!! wonder how u manage...heehee....

for those still considering of the family zoo pass, u can get it @ 10% off by using IKEA Credit card. just get to know this promotion from 1 mummy today.

coolD,
wow! ur hb must b wine lover.
my monthly estimated bill $80+.

M@W
Oh i see .. dinno it was u. Nex time meet up muz chat more
Ha, I always tell bbJ dunno he is 'pig' or 'monkey' .. hehe :p

Actually I saw some mummies taking pix in the GUG class before the teacher phobits it .. any pix to share, anybody?

Augleo,
Actually not really .. the wine cooler was a gift dan last time wedding got left over wines so started keeping wine lor. Some times frens gathering they will drink la.

Ur bill amt is very gd considering u r a SAHM. You know, during my confinement my bill was $300 .. haha.

coolD,
b4 JK was S$50+.
but me seldom on air-cond n mayb oni few hours in a week.
me using central heater.

during confinement the bill hit $150+

Disney n Jesse,
u've mail

Leo,
Wah...how come your utility bill so cheap?
I'm SAHM. Before maid, it was less than 100/mth. Both Jesse's room and our's on a/c the whole night...and Jesse used to have a/c during his naps too.
After maid, it became 400+ the first month and then 200+ the second month. And we haven't turned Jesse's a/c on much because he was sick for the whole month...My jaws dropped when I saw that bill...and it still hasn't gone down. Maid really expensive...it's not just the salary.

Thansk for the email

PGal,
yes, my baby boy's name is Jesse. I can only imagine how things will be without a maid. HB keep telling me the whole day, let's just change maid. Haha.

Utility bill:
ha...i've a frez = SAHM w/2 kids + 1 elderly staying in 5rm flat...her bill oso $80+ lei.
me still hv room to improve = hahahahaha!

Jesse,
me seldom on air-cond lei

can't compare loh.

Augleo: than I try to meet ur timing loh.. since I going alone! how to join the contest? Only that day than can register huh?

Michelle: don’t be lazy la… so big.. hogging the forum page!!

Kate: my ashlyn is very attach to yao lan… but if she super tired.. sometimes aircon can work wonders…

Aprilmum: didn’t read in details.. but pls join me.. we got excuse cos we are pregnant.

Kelley
Cannot use the stage when you preggie or just give birth to judge your character..coz you’ll definitely be more emotional during such periods. But overall, I feel that you are doing quite good as a mum liao…you dun have the help of your mum or husband…have to rush home take care of Ash after work…not easy & tiring.

Dlim
Dunnoe why got so many insect bite on my boy’s face & neck lor…damn big one some more…at first I tot bed bug but cannot be …his bed very new and we flipped the mattress to check…strange thing is his grandma stay in same room never kanna any bites lei…maybe the mozzie chose young & tender flash to attack. :p

Pgal
Ya how…no artwork for us lei…but last week trial got…hmmm….we being short-changed liao.

Aprilmum
Hahah…all the while you didn’t know who am I ah…kekek….tot we were quite obvious in the class coz my boy kept crying in the beginning and very loud…and we were late so have to squeeze in the circle….oh ya…apologies again I didn’t realised I was blocking you for awhile at the class coz was busy trying ways & means to get my boy interests in the class. Pai Sei Pai Sei…..:p

Actually we got meet b4 (but never chat) at Michele's place gathering for X'mas...

Kate
Where to buy the magic pot?? How much & what brand is it? Can use the slow cooker to make the pasta instead?

Augleo / Jesse
When I doing confinement....bill came up to $300bucks! House only got me, hubby & baby & CF lady...

Sanrio
Your family went for a stay at Swissotel Stamford? Ash is such a sweet bro!! You have taught him well.

Augleo,
your bills are cheap! My monthly bills are about $110 on average, considering that the air con are on every night and during afternoon naps.

During confinement month, it hits $150-$180.
I almost fainted when I saw the bills. The air con was practically switch on for 18 hours each day. Buayz Tahan the heat!

Ambery,
No wonder I only see you towards the end of the trial. I think you probably can't recognise me. Sanrio and Taro also couldn't recognise me.

springdance:I bought thermal magic cooker last week @ Isetan prvt sale. Brand is ENDO. Orig price $59 but Isetan having ENDO fair (think it's ongoing)so price became $39 n i got further ten% disc so $35!! So far used the cooker to cook porridge n macaroni n fairly happy w the results... Cos dun need to stand @ the stove to watch fire, time wasting esp when need to look after the lil one! I haven tried slowcooker to cook pasta before so dun no... you try try n share the results :p?
Magic coker diff fr slow cooker is tht magic cooker won't use electricity/gas n won't overcook (dun need to add water).

Shirley: wow, wht contributed to the bulk of your bill last month? aircon huh? Hope the cooker can work some magic on your bill

Kelley: YL so addictive hor. but bbs can sleep for very long duration inside right?

Augleo,
Looks like a/c is really the main culprit for ultility bills hor .. dunno wat inverter or wat, seems dat it does not work :p

SpringD
I tink u shld try some mozzie patch or some repellent are also infant safe. Dun bian yi e mozzie drinks for free :p

springdance,
tks
but somtx wen he is really 'notti', i get very upset.. now tat he goes to school, gd side is tat he learn to speak, read, write n draw well but downside is he pick up negative behaviours. but i suppose is part of growing up so we hv to kip teaching him. we wen for lunch at hai tian lou.

Augleo,
wah, ur bill is so cheap. aircon contributes to d main bulk. if we dun on, average ard $120+. if we on aircon, average ard $200+. cfment time worst cos i on aircon all d tx esp bfg, so hot..

Din hv chance to login till now.. so many posts!!

Hope i'm not too late to say glad to meet all the mummies at GUG class yday..
I personally like the class leh, fd Joanie enjoyed herself very much... but agree with Pisces gal, the fee is expensive..

Pisces_gal,
Your Gerald was really attentive! Wow...

Mrs Lai,
Tks for helping me when changing Jo's diaper aft the class.

Darbebe,
your sisters are as pretty as u!

aprilmum,
hope your backache will go away soon, saw u carrying Ning like that very siong!

michk,
K's so chubby & cute! Could really squeeze her when I carried!

Cool_D,
Luckily I din go for 2 classes, alone with Jo sure can't make it..

disneytokyo,
your boy has a pair of nice & big eyes! he's so active..

Springdance,
at least Jonas was ok at the 2nd part..

mum@work,
hello!

Hi Darbebe,
Yes, I went for lasik last week liao... hee hee, now perfect eyesight already.

I didn't log in for the whole of last week as my son was admitted to kkh due to high fever, 40.4 degree. I Stayed in the hospital for 3 days with him. Now super tired as didn't get to rest well for the entire week. He managed to recover only after bringing him to his usual PD in Raffles hospital. All in all, he had fever for 7 days. Wanted to bring him to Raffles right from the start, but that PD was on leave so ended up rushed him to kkh.... But I think it was a wrong decision.

Hi Augleo,
Your utility bill was cheap, and consider you r at home the whole day and have to cook. Mine about $150 to $180. Refrigerator and Wine cooler needs to be on for 24hours.

Utility bill
we hv 4 adults with 3 aircon every nites.. our bill abt 200+. coz air con is a killer!

Magic pot
hmm.. seem interesting leh.. tempted to buy. may buy this i/o slow cooker

Augleo,
do you throw in your ingrediants and boil for 10 min before putting into magicpot? how about fish?

Teething
which type of gel or medication wld you recommend?
aiyo, my D finally teething liao! felt something hard on his gum.

and issit normal that they are sticky and cry very badly for no reason? sigh.. i getting frustrated over my boy. coz when i take things away from him.. he scream murder!! i hope this relate to his teething

beyond
can we get that fm pharmancy?
juz apply on the gum rite.. but the teeth is not totally out yet.. can only see and feel the white patches on the gum

Hi Min,

Yes, can get it from Pharmacy. Just apply on the gum. I only came to know of this teething gel when my son teeth already out. But for your case, I guess you can start to use it now.

Kate,

i'm still trying to figure out how come my last month utility bill can be so xiong loh.

UTILITY BILL

actually we very very seldom turn on aircond and the main increase actually is the GAS!!! increase by 80%!!!!!!! GOSH!!!!! so i really really hope the magic pot can help a bit this month.

Currently, my maid will cook the porridge using the magic pot stainless steel container for 15mins. then put in the magic pot for at least 2 hours before feeding Xin NIng.

Dlim,

above is my magic pot pic which i showed Kate last time.

SpringD,

ai yah.. small matter lah!!..
in fact, i remember all mummies' face, but i dun know who belongs to which nick here. Really?? we met before in michele's place.. i can't recall le. Too many mummies there.. hope next gathering can chat more with you

Augleo!!!!!

thumb up for your monthly utility bill!!! YOU"RE REALLY GREAT SAHM!! hahaha..

ixora,

ya loh.. whole body damn "suan"

M@W,

HELLO here

Augleo
Ya, we went to Tuas after the trial class. Went to the motorcross track. What else. All thanks to my dear hb.

JWT
I think bbG enjoys herself very much. I was afraid she'll be cranky coz I had to wake her up from her nap but I think she really enjoys it, especially the swing!

Dlim
Wah lao, your bb so strong eh. Can walk and hold the basket! Make me envy.

Jesse
Have to be extra alert! Guess what, can never leave maid at home alone. Once, I went home early without informing and I found a man in my house! And worse of all, that man is my hb's friend leh. So disgusting. This guy is totally condemned by us.
Of coz, have to send her back and this irritating man got the cheek to appear at the airport and gave her a peck on her cheeks before she leave leh. Yucks! Takes 2 hands to clap I guess.
Anyway, she also said her mother is damn sick and is dying and asked this man to give her a handphone so that she can call home. Com'on, where got free handphone one. Surely done something in exchange.
This girl called us several times to ask if we can take her back. Even spoke to my present maid. These people really bu2 yao4 lian3.
I think after this maid, I may consider taking in a part-time one.

Sanrio
Ash kor kor is so sweet to Cher mei mei.
Cher looked so cute, trying to kiss kor kor with her tu tu mouth.

Darbebe
You are not alone. Guess most of us have failing memory, except........... Augleo.

Augleo
My last utilities bill is a shocking $390! Almost faint. Thought got mistake but the person on the phone said there isn't. Probably it's the dryer and we've got 2 big fridges. My maid take forever to cook so I think she wastes a lot of gas also. But it's mainly the electricity. Maybe the slow cooker? Aiya, really don't know. Ya, think it's the air con. On from 9pm coz I watch Channel 8's show in room, till the next morning/ afternoon before I bathe bbG.

Michele
Thanks for posting bbC and bbG's video of them playing together. I didn't manage to take any pix/ videos coz my camera low batt and I forgot to charge. Don't mind send the the video? [email protected]

JWT
KSS, Augleo, who else. Can you gals send me the pixs? [email protected].

Good Morning Mummies,

Re: Teething
I use Dentinox too. Last time I used baby oragel but baby didn't like it. He loves Dentinox. When he sees me hold the tub he already start to smile! haha. But yes, I think it's quite common for them to be extra clingy and sensitive during this time and before they reach another major milestone. But there are children who also don't exhibit this behavior. Mine's more niam to begin with lah...

He just popped another tooth yesterday but I see 3 more trying to cut through. It's very frustrating.

Gene,
Yah, some times I think of getting part time help also...but that means at night we cannot go out any more. Now, some times at night after we put him to sleep, we can still go out.

See how lah...we hardly ever leave her alone at home one. That's why it's quite shocking that she has the audacity to sneak out when we're in!! 5-room flat okay, not some big mansion.

Anyway...here's a BRAG!
I hardly ever have any cos...Jesse not very advanced child. haha.

But yesterday, I was trying to distract him from the computer so I asked him, "where's the nursery rhyme book? Let's go get the nursery rhyme book..." And we went to the shelf and he managed to pick the correct book.

Since we were already at the shelf, I asked him to pick out various other books, putting back the books each time he picks them out. And he got it right. wah...I was impressed. haha.

Maybe your baby has already been doing it for weeks lah...but first time mom so...everything also a bit more exciting.
hee.

But teething is still a pain and the clingyness and reluctance to nap/sleep drives me up the wall.

Min,
The ABC pasta takes only about 2 to 3 minutes to cook. If you boil them together with the rest of the soup and stuff the ABC will just 'disappear' (literally) into the soup hehe...

Dlim,
Tried many times but that bbO just refuses to cooperate and looks away at the most crucial time and smiles only after the shot is taken. So infuriating!

Jesse,
Wah bbJ really very good leh. My bbO is only good at throwing stuff and so far he only recognises Pooh Bear cos he wants to bite Pooh's nose. Argh...

Maid Grievance:
Mummies, I also have some grievances which I have held back for a long time. My maid is from Philippines, she is a transfer maid cos her previous employer whom she worked for 2 months only had post natal blues so did not want a live in maid anymore. I took her on when bbO was turning 3 months and she was ok then. Her many yrs of experience was at HK and Kuwait, and so I thought it would be fine in SG. I know she has a SIL in SG also working as a maid, but never did i expect them to talk to eachother everyday. Only did i learn that through her SIL she made many friends, and they always meet up at Lucky Plaza on her off days once a month.

1. HB gave her a post paid sim card cos many times we found her crying cos she don't have enough credits in her prepaid sim to call home and her children are unwell. Received a bill of $300 in Feb cos of her calls home during Xmas and NY period. Phone has free incoming but the local calls exceeded the free talktime cos she calls out. This amounted to $90.

2. She never listens to my instructions. I told her several times NOT to leave bbO in the walker alone since now that monkey can climb out on his own. I go home only to find him cruising in the walker in the living room while she is cooking in the kitchen.

3. She lies! My godma's maid told me that she borrowed money from her. And when I tried to sound her out subtlely she told me that she only borrowed money from her SIL which she pays back on her off days when they meet. I asked her if she borrowed money from anyone else and she said no. My godma's maid even told me she bought a new hp, so now she has 2 (plus the one i bought for her) Geez!

4. Using the hp all the time. I was on leave one weekday and when I walked out after my nap, she hastily put away her phone and looked at me guiltily.

Sigh much as I would like to give her a piece of my mind, I am refraining cos she is home alone with the bbO and she does take good care of bbO. The thought of changing maid did occured a few times but what if the next one is worse? So i've decided to stick on with this, and let hb handle her.

darbebe,
u on air-cond every nites lei...me oni on less than 8 hrs per wk.
unless is super hot, then will b 4 hours per nite

sometimes it hit S$100 esp. festive seasons

Beyond,
congrat!
hope bbX is well by now n he is ready for his b.day party next wk.
u are the 4th mummy that i heard their child is having high fever.

min,
JK's porridge cook in shuttle chef pot (boil over the stove for 5mins then lock in the pot to cook), ingred in diff pot to steam. cook separately.

Gene,
pix aldy sent to u on last Sunday.

michele n gene,
ur maids love to do cleaning tat y the utility bill is high

good morning mummies,

today is the 2nd day i've started work...tired tired...slept at 12am and woke up at 5am everyday.

have to pack the boys' school bag...cook bb hippo's breakfast...pumped breastmilk...

have been giving bb oats+fruit for breakfast.
anyone has other suggestions?
MIL will help me to feed him at 9am before sending him to infant care centre...
I will cook the breakfast at 6am (yawn) and keep it in the thermos container for her to feed 3 hrs later.

If need MIL to prepare breakfast, it has too be very very simple and straightforward.

I feel so paiseh to blend the apples/pears early in the morning at 5am+...so noisy! Asked her to blend just before feeding bb the oats...she says she dunno how and cant do it...so bobian...my poor neighbours have to endure the noise so early in the morning...

Maybe i shaould blend the fruits the night before...

thinking of giving bread as breakfast...how much to give and which kind?

if give biscuits, which kind is more healthy and filling...instead of those "snack" kinds?

sigh...so tiring...go back home still must coach gorgor spelling/ting1xie3...