(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

mrs lai,
looking for partners in crime huh, heehee.

btw when u give potato, sweet potato, pumpkin, etc, do u mix wif milk onli or wif cereal oso?

mrs lai
the ON website is always on maintenance!! u must be lucky to get in.. i always kena maintenance mode

Michk
condoences to your sis's fren. felt so sad reading abt it

Mrs Lai
I can see that you are an expert in bb nutrition. Can I seek your advice? I just started Faith on brown rice cereal 3 days ago, 2 tsp once a day, mixed with BM. I'm planning to intro puree to her end of this week. Since cereal is more filling than puree, how much say pear shld I start her and the amt shld stay consistent for how long? Shld I add BM into the puree? Appreciate your advice.

Can someone pse tell me which grinder I shld get? I need to use it in the next few days. Thx.

Gene
I will be uploading them to Faith's blog sometime soon. Very tired these few days. Will email your gorgeous shot to U.

Ambery
for me, fruit puree is like a snack for BB. so it depends on how much you girl can take.

i started of cutting the pear into cube then steam and smash. Gave my boy abt 5 spoonful for the first time. can increase over time or when your Faith is eager for more.
Till now, i give him half a pear.

No need to add FM/BM as its quite watery after smashing or blending.

only add FM/BM to sweet potato or advocado.

hope this helps

Ambery
No worries. Take your time k. I know it must be really tiring to make sure that everything runs smoothly that day. But just to let you know that you gals did an excellent job!

<font color="ff0000">Red Dots On Baby</font>
<font color="aa00aa">Mummies, </font>
Want to share with u my exp of my gal after she started semi solid: She has started on fruits for the past one week and on saturday, she developed fine red spotty <font color="ff0000">dots</font> on various parts of her body. Abt 8 in all. Size is like a dot made by a red pen. My first thought was that she had contracted Chicken Pox, but after monitoring for a day, she was still in good health; There was no fever, no pus, no itchiness, n she was still in a good mood thru the day. I brought her to my PD n she said that it was a harmless body reaction to the foods she's started on. Her little body's immune system is reacting to protect herself, n this is relatively common. The dots will go away by itself, but will also appear on diff parts of her body too. I counted this morning n she had 10, now she has abt 6 of those dots. No medicine was prescribed but cost me $48.50 in consultation. Hope this helps u save some heartache n worrying

hi babywiz, how old is your bb and what did you feed her? my bb gets sore eyes frequently too, from food intolerance/allergies. 8-10 fine red spotty dots are actually quite mild, i've seen a lot worse in my bb's case.

michelle, thanx for sharing the link! i want to buy everything, hahaa! i let kaizer bang on the piano at home every weekend. he is always very excited by all the noise that he makes (he's excited by virtually everything lah), so i think he'll go crazy if i get a few of these instruments for him.

good morning all

a rare occasion where I actualli log on so early ! hahahahaaaa.......

sandwich,
yup, once the details came in, me & the mar mummies immediately put our orders thru'.
hope kaizer will love all that u are getting !

babywiz,
i intro nan into kellys cereal 2 nites ago n yest mornin, she had some rashes around her mouth, dunno issit nan or juz milk rash. i tried addin apple into cereal, but she dun like, threw away the whole bowl.

good morning ..

Omg, wat a sad sad piece of news. .. **heart ache just thinking of it**

BBwiz
Thanks for sharing .. I am also comtemplating when to start my boy on semi solid (especially after getting so much goodies from the Mapril gathering;p). But at the same time, am also worried abt allergic reaction. So i am still waiting for the 6mths point .. which is 1 more mth to go.

darbebe: maybe you can start your baby on the foods later? I read somewhere that if you start baby on solids too early or when your baby is not ready, then the baby's immune system kicks in, which may lead to allergies later on. You may want to double check with your PD again.

Alternative, feed your baby 1 type of food over 4 days, each time a small amount. then if got rashes you can record it down which food your baby has reaction to. Then you can aviod giving such foods until later on.

I hope this helps

Ms Tan: not expert - just did my fair share of reading up =)

initially when I gave my girl solids, I started off with sweet potatoes and avocados. give a little mix with BM. then I tried also brown rice cereal (Healthy Times) mix with BM for my gal. So initially very small portion - about 2 tablespoon or so. Now she's on 2 cubes - sweet potato, papaya, avocado, pumpkin, cooked apple per day with 4 tablespoon of cereal per day.

You just need to start little, same single food for 4 days in a row, observe if any allergies. then you start on a new food. Recommended testing portion is 1/2 cube / 1/2 ounce - I think about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of the food before it's mixed with other stuff. So like 1 teaspoon of sweet potato before it's mixed with milk.

I hope this helps

mrs lai,
think shld be of any prob collecting for u, then how to pass to u ???
never mind, figure that out later... my husb works in IBP, convenient for u to collect fm there ?

Mummies: I realise the handheld blender even at 600W also cannot do a proper job og grinder the grains. So tonite, I'll try using my coffee bean grinder instead. Hopefully it will work =(

I cannot rem who is asking about the blender - but I recommend for baby's use to get the Braun 600W handheld blender - it's about $120. The 400W is about $90 i think. Sometimes they will have sale for that item. Cannot be used to grind grains but very good at pureeing other food (instead of mashing it ;P)

---> this mummy getting lazy liao

mrs lai,
maybe get get J&J to sponsor goody bag for our xmas gathering ? still got frends there boh ???

cool daughter,
macam pro ! hahahahahaha

Hi morning everyone...

Sandwhich : You remembered you said that the HT cereal is yummy? I gave my girl HT Berley cereal on Sunday evening right after i got back from the gathering and she took 3 teaspoons. I am so happy, she never finishes her cereal or puree. Monday i tried, also finished.

Michelle : So sad. Just a 6 mths old baby. When you have more news, update us k?

cool_daughter : The 1st solid i gave Glynnis is EYS brown rice cereal, then followed by avocado, sweet potato, potato, HT cereal, porridge (only when i go back to my mum's house). Hee...

Unofficial solid given by MIL will be orange and Yakult. These are no no loh.

Mick: my ex boss become regional MGR liao - but no harm dropping him a note and ask - I dunno the consumer division pple hehehe

MichelleK: Thanks for the link. Am buying same items as u & Mrs Lai :cool:)

Mrs Lai: I try to place order & transfer $$ to u by this Friday, ok?

Are we meeting this Friday??

err....How to cook EYS brown rice cereal? I tried thrice but not very successful. It became very sticky and lumpy once i put it over the stove.

I find it troublesome. haa..lazy me

cant wait to get the HT Cereal and start her on it.

yest rec'd mailer from JL.

cardmembers @Last 4 days REAL HOT SALE (25 to 28 Oct 07)
* up to 90% off storewide +
* Additional 20% off sales prices storewide +
* S$10 rebate on min S$100 nett spend in a single receipt +
* Special hot buys

if u hv the mailer, u can redeem for a mystery door gift.

Moxi: I didnt know avent has no. 4.. I tot the biggest is teat 3 or variable flow nia.. my gal still using 2 only..keke.. but she also using pigeon bottles using teat Y.

Mrs Chia: looks like u got da feng shou at the gathering!! Sound so fun!

I see some of u ordering hand drum. Which one is it??

Mrs Lai: is me who ask abt hand held blender!! Ask u hor.. u make bb food in bulk u store in freezer rite? How u defroze the frozen cube??

so long never post.. anyone miss me boh?? i doubt so..

kimsansoon,
not at all. dun mention.
u must b very tired, travel such a long distance. u take care huh. heehee! m i the 1st one meet u n bb?

darbebe,
yes, me too can't the EYS brown rice in a nice paste. but after 2 tries ok le.
really dunno hw to advise but is the water vol. n the heat ctrl ba. my bb love it if i add apple into EYS brown rice. usually i will use the apple juice (after scraping from fresh apple)to make the brown rice more smoothly.

bbwiz,
my bb oso hv red spots on his hands "after" solid. when i asked don't seem like food allergy. i've consulted PD, was told is insect bites. those red dots just like wat u describe. PD shown me the pix hw does food allergy shld b look like. now...no more red dots le.

Mrs Lai
Thanks very much for your advice
How long was your bb on 2 tsp before going to 2 cubes? Is 1 cube = 30ml right? Is it ok that I feed her semi-solid ard 8pm after her 1st feed, coz I can't rely on my maid to prepare her food in the day.

Augleo: wow.. so much discount.. bt i also not JL member..kekeke..can buy bedsheet wor.. very cheap.. only members hv ah.. no open door sale?

michellek
yr sis' friend's story is so sad and scary... sigh, tt's the problem when we leave our bb in other's care...

eh, can't advise you on the milk intake after cereal. sometimes i'll latch her on, sometimes i don't.

waking up
my girl woke up at 2am, 2.50am, 5am this morning.... tired!!!!