(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

tks for concern. i tink n hope i m beta. got to c 2nite how. daytx i m quite ok but usually nite/midnite then i start to get all d symptoms n discomfort.

Springdance, Cherryteq, Mrs Chia,
my boy was seen at kkh tdy, still nid to go back on wed to c d paed surgeon for more detailed assessment.
diagnosis tdy: hydrocele
it is a fluid filled sac surrounding a testicle tat result in swelling of d scrotum, d loose bag of skin underneath d penis. abt 1 in 10 male infants has it at birth but most disapear wo treatment w'in d 1st yr of life.
if a hydrocele doesnt disappear af a yr or if it cont to enlarge, it nid to b surgically removed.
symtom/indication: swelling of 1 or both testicles.
d surgery is gg to b painful, me really sim tia.. haiz..

Mrs Lai,
sori i hv missed many previous posts, can tell me abt d scan? 'me n my maid crying outside'. wen i read tis, i feel like crying too. can undstd d heart of a mummy, now tat my elder boy likely nid to go tru a surgery, i cant help it but feel so upset...
a mummy's greatest wish: all our bbs n kids are healthy

sanrio,
went to google abt ashrel's condition. have you all done an ultrasound sound test? is surgery a must-must in his case? very very poor thing.

mrs lai,
vanessa's very poor thing too. when they were poking me during the pregnancy, i felt so uncomfortable too. must be terrible for her. let us know the results soon. like you, i also like to praise bbs and kids, cos i believe that this would encourage them to grow up to be more confident and optimistic individuals.

mrs chia,
i uploaded a few pics for you and jeremy on kaizer's blog. (like the one of you and jeremy alone!) do check them out when you're free.

cindy,
hope the flight was a good one for the three of you. upload lots of pics to show us!

valc,
not too sure if you're reading this. but how's the FM feeding coming along with? i'm very tempted to intro FM too (wanted to intro in Jan when i went for a trip, but managed to keep postponing until now). are you trying multiple brands at the moment?

cindy,
hope u had a gd flight n caitlyn is all well oreadi. kip us posted n so eager to c lots of pics. mus b soooooooo cold :p

sanrio,
know its very hard on you, but it's even harder for your boy. so you gotta stay strong for him. let me know if you need help with bbsitting cherelle (ie if you need to shuttle to the hospital often).

Hi Sanrio,
dun feel bad.. I've come to accept that I'll always be worrying abt my child. And if something goes wrong, I'm always questioning if I've somehow caused it? if I did this right or omitted that.. and I feel guilty all the time.. worrying that I'm not a good enough mum.. cos if I'm good enough then my son will be in perfect health.. but of course children will fall sick and they are not perfect beings..

bb J has been constipated these past month.. have to put in suppository and I'm thinking and reading and trying to find out what I did wrong..etc,, but I think it all boils down to him not drinking enough water.. he doesn't like the bottle and he doesn't take to the sippy cup either so he has to be spoonfed and he doesn;t like sitting still for too long, so end up water not enuf.

hey Taro,
can you pm me your contact as well? may want to rent some toys from u also.

Hey springdance,
bb J is crawling everywhere, pulling himself up and cruising.. and bumping his head almost daily-- sigh! btw, can you pm me your PT maid contact.. thinking of getting PT help but will only call after CNY.

Hi Sandwich, can pm me K's blogspot? will love to look at the pix.

Gene-- Gladys so quick.. bb J still dun know bye-bye..

Hi Cindy-- how's Boston? cold? any snow or prospect of snow?

hey all mummies-- any mass birthday celebration?

gacc: DMSA is a scan to check her kidneys are scarred from the previous UTI. They have to inject a tracer, hence they have to put in a VI tubey. The most "painful" part is cuz of her pudgy hands, they have a hard time finding a vein. She was wailing cuz she had to be restrained in order to have the tube inserted. My dearest hubby was saying, "not painful wat, they got apply the numbing cream mah" I think one of this days, he SHOULD get a brazilian wax, after they have applied the numbing cream and tell me if it's painful or not.

Me - i cannot look at needles. My maid and I were outside cuz we both cannot tahan ... she was crying so loud ... and so pitifully like "where is mummy! where is aunty! help me help me!" After that I can help, cuz i know she loves shopping so tt's the best way to distract her from the splint.

Let us know more when you see the PD again on wed? *hugs*

Sandwich: I wanted to pass u the CB's aloe vera cream - but I haven't collected it. It's supposed to be good for sensitive skin.

Cindy: glad you both arrived safely! I hope she's recovered from her flu and I hope both of you can adjust to the climate there!

Valc: I wanted to tell u this - I had a massage by Grace and it's quite good - Firm at the correct spots!

dlim..
my son's blog http://deardillion.blogspot.com/

sanrio
cheer up ok.. will keep you and ash in my prayers

hmm.. din know there such problem with boys

Mrs lai
i gave pork mincemeat but if i never stir well then will hv a lump. so thinking if i shd blend again at home since i oredi asked pork seller to grind it 3 times

i used corn in porridge.. and its smell so good esp in slow cooker.
btw, do you all think i put too much ingredients in porridge?
normally will add carrot, fish, meat, cauliflower (or brocoli), potatoe etc.
will hv at least 4 items inside.

my fren say its abit too much.. 2-3 items in porridge will do but i find it abit boring leh.
wat do u all think?

my boy can blow kisses and also boo .
he can also wave and do hi-5 but depend on his mood

BB waking up at nite..
sometimes maybe BB cld be feeling hot? or maybe they juz wanna co-sleep with daddy&mummy?
my son sleep beta when he is with us. but of coz this equal to less intimate times
but the feeling of looking at him first thing in the morning, warmth my heart

to all the mummies & babies who are not feeling well, *hugs* - i pray that you will get well soon!

praising babies
personally, i also think its very important - if you shower your child with praises every day, it helps to build their self esteem and in turn their confidence as individuals. at the end of the day, don't worry so much about how other people think! he/she is your child!

sanrio,
can understand your heartache. Before I became a mummy, I thought I understood how mothers feel abt their kids. The other mummies are right, you gotta stay strong and think positive. If all that 'pain' is needed to make ash well again, have to go thru it. *hugs*

Mrs Lai,
*pat pat* you sure know your gal well to distract her with shopping.
dun get angry with your hubby la, men are like that, always think they know what we women go through and to them we always seem to make a fuss out of nothing.

Min,
my boy sleeps with us. At night when he's feeling cold, he'll snuggle closer to me as I'm nearest him. otherwise, he's the king of the bed, roll and wriggle to all corners.
Btw, I follow your blog. My heart goes out to you cos I also experience the same prob with my boy. He's not that close to me

re: praising kids
praising is a must! for our kids' ears only.

Anyone knows what happened to Healthy Times products? Suddenly can't seem to find them. Tried a few Cold Storages, haven't checked NTUC.
Any leads?

sanrio , hope everything is fine for ur ah boy n U . mummy has to show that she is brave , so that ur sonny will b strong too.

Good Morning mummies,

Yes yes, I agree that we must praise our babies in order for them to feel good about themselves thus building up their confidence.

I meant there might be hinge of pantang-ness though I dont't really believe in it. Dont misunderstand me that Im not praising my baby. :S

Min/Cherryteq,
I always don't slept well when my girl sleeps with us. I'm very conscious of her thoughout the night, worrying that my hubby will 'crash' on her.

morning,

does anyone go john little often or their member? does anyone recall seeing their flipper baby bed on sale? i thnk i wana get one for my upcoming bb... told HB.. no more yao lan.. if nt we hv yao lan everywhere in the house..

Min: Before cooking the pork, I will actually use my hand to mush the posk with the water, breaking it into pieces, so once it's boils, it still has lumps, but not big lumps. You can try that if you are not squeamish hehehe it's like playing with cotton wool in water :p The best part of sleeping with baby, is when they wake up and they give u such a sweet sweet smile. The worst part is when they wake up and see you, and cry the head off (looking for my maid).

My ma jie also complains to add too much ingredients' tt's why my gal won't eat. I have to patiently explained to her it's because I used the wrong type of fish. I think it's OK to give a combi of items, but I guess to cut back on the amount of each item? Too much of anything is not always a good thing. I put enough to make the porridge tasty since I don't add salt. My girl will not eat plain porridge - must have enough liao! Corn makes the soup/ porridge taste sweeter too!

Darbebe: my hubby's sleep on the floor when our gal sleeps with us. Partly cuz my gal will flip and kick and other stuff. She has 2/3 of the bed and i have 1/3 :p

Cherry: ACtually I also having a issue with finding HT bottled food in NTUC - I cannot find them. Cold storage I didn't check out.

long time no post.. so many things to catch up..

was so busy over the weekends... training new maid, house spring cleaning, shopping for CNY, etc.. tired man~!

maid:
so far so good, most impt mil 'likes' her hahahaha :p

Sanrio,
take good care of yourself. met u y'day at KKH and u were so strong, didnt know your asthma were so bad...

checkup at KKH:
sigh, bb did not want to be cooperative. so dont know the gender yet..

Mrs Lai,
From what I know, NTUC doesn't carry HT jarred food, only the cereal. Cold storage carries them.

Mrs Chia,
Thanks for the info. I'll have to go buy soon, my boy's finishing the cereal.

Jmon,
bb wants to surprise you.
I rem my bb also hid his gender from me until 4 mths chk up. He was sitting cross-legged (according to the radiograher) then showed her. I couldn't understand anything till now.

Augleo,
thanks! I always have problems with directions, so I cannot rem who lives where. Except sandwich, cos same neighbourhood as my mum. Forgive me if I ever ask you where you stay again.

cherry: Is your boy taking the brown rice ceral? Do you want mine? My girl stop eating cereal liao so it will go to waste - it's still not opened. If it's ok with you, I can drop off at ur mum's place @dover during lunch time.

Mrs Lai
Dun be angry with your hubby for the comment…coz he’s the MAN, so naturally have to say some stuff to assure the ladies and have to put on a braver front…anyway, the traumatic experience is over liao…May little Vanessa eat well and and stay super duper healthy from now onwards.

Sanrio
Gosh….I already feel quite heart-pain for you just reading what you have described…can understand how bad you must be feeling now…some more you not feeling well. Still remember that time Cher was sick and how you exhausted you were…you must really take care and think positive okie…. wishing all will turn out well and fine for you & Ash.

Mrs Chia
Jeremy progressing so well…haiz, dunnoe what’s wrong with my lazy boy…still dunnoe how to crawl.

Me forgot to bring my mobile phone to work today…can you PM instead to remind me to give you the contact number tomolo? :p

cherryteq,
the bb was crossing his/her legs yday.. hb was disappointed cos he said wasting his time to take off just to go with me for the checkup... typical man..

Mrs Lai,
Thanks for the offer, but my boy's taking multigrain cereal, so it'll also be wasted if pass to me.

Augleo,
thanks. I'm from the South (still mainland), maybe I'm the only one.

Jmon,
oh my bb sitting cross-legged but could see from the top of his head down, so was clear. the few times before this, he giap his legs together cannot see. Aiya, forget abt your hubby la, think we should organise a counselling course for them.

jmons,
still duno har?? aiyah.. waiting for u to announce !

augleo,
i was at Eastpoint on sat. din see U
kekeke

cherry,
think only SPring nearest to u

darbebe, cherryteq,
yah the main caregiver/parents muz be consistent.. when my mil/mum takes care for awhile, i told them not to gv pacifier no matter how.. at first, i appeared very cruel not giving her suck cos she cried and cried.. but thankfully, efforts paid off.. juz try if u think your bb is ready...

aprilmum,
yah hor, i forgot there's one more pc with u.. btw, i feel i din buy enuf leh... kekeke.. nvm, nx time then.. mayb fox bb will hv fty sale again!

min, cherryteq,
my gal will request to sleep with me in the morning at abt 630am.. i oso find she sleeps better.. esp in the afternoon, if i sleep with her, she can sleep for at least an hr.. if on her own in cot, 15-30min nia!

ixora,

hahahaha.. you feel din buy enuf!! hahaha.. ya.. wait for next sales, mayb you can get a better one
let me know when you coming over CP ya
mayb we can meet up for lunch.

balloons with helium
the prices in most shops at concourse (self collection), moving to middle road mid March 08
normal balloons @ $9 for 10 pcs,
normal balloons with happy birthday @ $12 for 10pcs
foil balloons, 18in @ $5
foil balloons, 36 in @ $18.
if u bring ur own 18in foil balloons for them to blow helium $1.50 per pc (so better to get foil balloons in sg than birthday direct unless u got special theme)

can email to christina:
email them: [email protected]
www.twinkleballoons.com

cont...
** Inflation Charges for Customer's Own Balloons are:

$1.20 for 12" Latex (Helium + Ribbon / Streamer)

$2 for 18" Foil / Mylar (Helium + Ribbon / Streamer)

$4 for Above 18" Foil / Mylar (Helium + Ribbon / Streamer)

got the info from mar thread

tks for all d concern. i hv to stay strong for d kids. but not so gd for me, ydy midnite n tdy i hv been running high fever up to 39.5. hb brought me to gp n he suspected i got bacteria infection in my airway. tmr i m gg to my specialist.
m feeling really really tired (thou tried to take few short naps tdy) n oso cher ydy nite oso developed a runny nose n cant nap/slp well

i m praying tat she wld b strong not to catch any other virus.
dun noe whether i hv d 'strength' to go kkh w hb n ash tmr thou i v much wanted to find out more.
tks for all ur prayers..

Sandwich,
tks so much. my mum came over to help me.

oh dear sanrio, you must be very tired.. is yr mum staying over with you? might be good for afew days until you get better.. take lots of rest *hugs*

halo mummies

long time no post!

Mrs Lai, Cherryteq
u can try getting the HT bottled food from the market place in tanglin mall. or the organic shops there or the organic shop in great world city. i remember seeing them there. the same for the cereal.

but i managed to get a box of HT brown rice cereal from toa payoh ntuc last week. so u may want to try.

Blue! long time no see! she kinda stop eating cereal liao so ... maybe can try to mix with her porridge instead lor. the bottled food i also don't really give her anymore, it's more of the "just" in case when we go out.

Spring: ya it's really just MAN. the PD called today and said it's ok. so yipee! her kidneys are in good shape!

ok mummies, I'm going to sleep. v tired.

sanrio,

dont worry abt your son.
My elder boy had hydrocelle too. Diagnosed in Jan07, scheduled to have surgery performed in Mar07 but was postponed twice as he was having runny nose/flu/cough during the period he was supposed to have the op.
In the end, the op was only done in Jun07. Short one. less than 20 mins. He woke up from the GA very quickly and surprisingly, the wound was not painful for him....and we are talking abt a boy whose pain threshold is extremely low.
The 1st day he was a bit drowsy..but the 2nd day onwards he was ok liao...and he returned to childcare centre on the 4th day i think...

Hi sanrio,

I have 2 friends with similar condition as your son.. dont worry, it is a minor op.

My son jayden went for circumcision last mth and he did very well. No fussing and I was veri surprise. He had reoccurences of UTI and was like Mrs Lai gal and went thru various test and scans.. PD suggested going for circum to see if there's any improvement. I went to a private surgeon and he was very gd but ex... On the day of his ops, I spoke to some parents who also brought their boy for ops and they have the condition u mentioned ie swelling of the testicle. Dont worry too much, he will be fine. Take care...