(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro,
u bake muffins to eat all by tomorrow right? if that is the case, no need to store. just put on a plate and out of reach of ants can liao. U can cover using a dish-cover.

Autum: next up. i am going to try ur 'apple chunks' muffin.. maybe with some cranberries?! yummy! kekeke. maybe could mix in some yogurt as well.

then savoury kind.. ehh, corn kennels + some ham bits+ cheese? wah yummy! ops.. pple muffins craze over. i just starting :p

how about orange juice (using pax's idea) then add with some rasins and maybe.. hmmm.. some nuts? kekeke.. :p

astro,
my apple muffins, i added honey oats cereal. actually supposed to add cinnamon powder but can skip that cos our kids probably won't like that taste now. some add raisins too. Actually can add anything and everything bah.. see what u have in the kitchen!

Astro,
the recipe site, that one is more a cupcake leh..not really a muffin. that is using the cake-method.. not the muffin-method. but anyway, as long as edible and tasty.. that's the most important!

autum: oh is zit? got diff ah?.. anyway. maybe that's why i got 'success' the first itme round.. coz i often bake cakes..

anyway. what is the 'muffin' method? where ? can show show?

then i will compare which is easier and i will choose just that.. kekkeee..

astro,
the baking911 site explained it very well. i would think that muffin method is harder than cake method.. cos for muffin method, it's very hard not to over-mix. the cake-like method is to beat until everything is smooth. but for muffin-like method, can only mix the wet and dry ingredients until they are just combined.. the whole mixture is very very lumpy with traces of flour visible.

my friend who always bake cupcakes told me that cupcake is just a smaller cake, whereas muffin is more like bread (and a little like cake).

http://www.baking911.com/quikbrds/muffins.htm

wah..muffins and cupcakes day?

today i went to shunfu market there..went to buy the muffins.
Latst time i used to bake...those store bot kind..and just mix...fool proof for a person like me.

i always tot muffin...is becoz put in bigger cup. Dan cupcakes..put in smaller cups etc. But will cook faster..and will cook in toaster oven kind. Last time no oven..so always experiment with toaster...

dan when got older...buy own oven...but hor...the cakes...always dun rise in the middle leh...dan i buy those chiffon cake pan..wif lobang in the middle...worse..whole cake dun rise.

so many talented mummies here...i see...also wana drool.

astro....
hehehe...i lazy to sew...tot it would be faster if use machine mah. Thatz why i buy so many buttons...rarely use...coz paste on...look not so authentic. Dan i also like if can sew one whole line across the picture to give it the sewn on look for SB-ing.

mickey...
will pop by to collect tomorrow Coz i'll finish work at 3ish. Sianz...got to wake up at 5.30!!!!! Coz start at 7....

autum: i see i see. ya. that site explained it very well! so i was baking muffins using the cake method! kekeke.. alright.

cakes can easily be over beaten.. like what i was telling jaxe.. coz i used to throw away or have miser gobbled down cannot make it cakes.. too dense and heavy coz i always too ks , over beat it!

jaxe: ta-da.. ur 'problem' solved.. go and read autm's recommended site.. ur dryness is highligeted there..

hmm.. so must go and compare and contrast hor. then decide on one which is easier..:p coz i like lighter stuff.. not so dense

audrey: ur cake centre sunk becoz u didn't beat it enough.. particularly for chiffon cakes.. the egg white portion must beat till STIFF.. keke. dun try that without an electric mixer :p

anyway. u very inventive..:p sunken center.. then buy the chiffion mould (with hole in the middle) so that will 'conceal' the sunken centre? :p

i like baking chiffon.. coz it tastes so light
and so fun to see the egg whites can 'beaten' by the machine till WHITE and stiff :p

audrey,
u try to bake muffins then. i think it's easier than cake..

Astro,
i find it very ironic.. cos it seems to me that cake-like (or cupcake) is to use more sugar and butter, yet the outcome is a lighter texture.. whereas muffin-like uses less sugar and butter but come out denser. my instinct is to think that more sugar/butter = more dense! but i guess i m wrong.. i m really novice cos i have not baked a cake before.

Ask u, i must use a mixer to make the batter for cake is it?

audrey: i dun remmeber my HE lesson doing bb bibgs leh. mine was doing some stupid bags..

i cannot make it lah in sawing. i prefer the cooking and the theory part

audrey,
My HE lesson also didn't make baby bibs. Instead made baby shirt. But i forgot all about it.
Notice we order from the same organiser at the overseas thread. I like to get from her cos she stays opp my blk.

astro,
Same i also cannot make it in sewing part. The cooking is fun.
My hb got a fren who hb and wife horoscope is opp me and hb. We went to taiwan together and true my taste similar his fren and his taste similar to his fren's wife. Very comical.

autum: no leh. cake is easier than muffins! :p.. kekeke. coz i go by this logic.. cake everything all dumped together and beat.. but muffins seperated into dry and wet.. which is easier? :p:p

and the answer to something which is counter instinct .. is because.. of the duration of whisking.. the cakes need more whisking.. hence that introduced more air.. and if i didn't interpret wrongly from that site u recommended about muffin.. muffin is more of combining ingredients.. which u CREAM together.. cakes i Whisk together.. so more air introduced for the cake method which makes it lighter..

the reason why u feel that way. is because u thought of butter pound cake? :p wah. that one. is super rich.. and lots of butter and sugar.. hence a 'dense' taste? :p

u can whisk manuelly. but buy those held held cheap cheap mixer but then enough :p. some, if u get my kind (cannot remember brand), can do bread dough as well! coz comes with cake whisk and that spiral thingy (dunno what u call that) for making of dough one.. can make paus also! wow!..kekekeke. :p

astro.....
i also buy electric mixer....but somehow...cakes and me hor...cannot make it. I tink...its cheaper to buy made ones in my case...at least..its edible.

i remembered last year...i went to tangs during my birthday..i bot the super b pots which costs altogether 200ish...as my birthday gift from hubby...coz i saw the auntie bake her chiffon cake...and how easy it looked.

I tried...but somehow...somehow...haizzz...
ended up...the pot i left it one side....dan hubby ask me..how come i dun use it...dan i quickly say...i tink your mummy would need it more..so now its with my MIL.
lol

i also like going to the kitchen for HE. but only go few times...most of the time..its sewing!!!! They made us sew an apron also....

autum...
i did cupcakes last time...but hor...too tedious..so small..dan evry fast eat finish....dan have to scoop into it one by one....muffins....i tink i also tried b4....din rise so much.

huingee: hahahah. comical.. :p.. and if ur hb and ur frens can take jokes kind.. let's assume i were u.. i would say.. ok for this trip. let's swap spouses! whahahah. ok.. lame joke :p

ok.. speaking of which. i got a very lame joke..

let's see who can get this :p

man tou and tong xia bao went to watch titanic. Tong xia bao cried but man tou didn't. why?

:p:p:p

huingee....
yeah yeah..i saw your nick also. i joined the spree coz son's birthday coming in july...dan he wants superman cake. So i tot buy superman theme stuff for his party favour.

babyshirt? i very tempted to try doing a dress for kay. I actually bot some material...but hor...still in storage. heheheh..buy off the shelf easier.

audrey: whahahaha.. u are damm cute! :p

speaking of which ah.. there is actually this cake baking activity .. which is commonly used in team building for cooperations and insitutions leh.. i wonder how to develop team spirit when baking cakes leh.. :p

autum/audrey: my dept going on fri to do this cake baking for our retreat.. and need to decorate the cake! wha.. going to be FUN!!!. kekeke.

mickey....
definitely tomolo!!! I nid to see the Ks bag.

nitey nite.

jaxe....
wahhhhhhhhhhh....that looks so yummy. looks so ferrero....
i must learn baking...*writes down on her journal-to learn baking*
this cheesecake...won't sink in the middle wan rite? Or rather..it doesn't need to rise?

audrey: i think.. u got probia of cakes with sunken centers! :p:p.. how about baking tarts? as in the crust? that one MUST sink in. *siams audrey* :p:p

astro....
wah....dun tink my dept would ever have..coz we have a lot of proficient bakers at my dept. I tink hor..lucky also. Esle very xia sway.

what is tong xia bao?

audrey: whahaha.. sorry. my hanyu pinyin cannot make it! :p

I meant dou.. whahahah. this blunder is already so lame and funny by itself! :p

ok.. dou sa bao? ehh. how u call that? that dou sa???.

astro...
i tink i ever tried it...tink the verdict from my brothers who were my usual experiment samplers...please dun do it again. I tink the crust was too hard...dan their teeth cannot even SINK in. lol

hmmzz...oh yeah...nearly forgotten...the only thing that needs baking and that i can make...is baking cookies. DUn nid to rise...

i actually tried this long long time ago...and its delicious!!!!! oh well...mayb the only few things that i make that is edible.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Urban-Legend-Chocolate-Chip-Cookies/Detail.aspx

audrey,
cupcakes fast fast eat finish is good what. i much prefer to bake a batch and just finish them all by the next day.. keep too long hor, nobody wants to eat liao.. u know what i mean? scarcity is good then it makes people want to "fight" for it and quickly finish all!

astro,
this is the first time i heard of baking as a corporate activity leh.. hmm, maybe i should suggest it for my dept!

Huingee,
do u bake now?

mummies, seems like baking is a very common thing hor? i start so late.. so old liao then start to learn! still got long way to go man!

autum....
you are doing very well leh. Tink you very goot liao lor...still know how to wrap bak chang. i tried helping my MIL few years ago....after that time..she din ask me for help liao.

Mummies, i just got hm...teary now. I noe i gotto be stronger but broke down in hb's car while on the way hm.

Todae's such an unlucky day for ah bian. We went to my mum's shop after kinder. He was happily playing wif the tibits and oso eating the muffin which Linda has baked. Then he went to grab afew tins of biskits to play...treated them like drums. I was toking to someone and mummy was at the cashier...out of sudden, we heard a loud cry..ah bian was lying down wif one of the tins. He cried so hard that i carried him up immediately. His whole body was shaking...i noe he was in great pain. He got a cut on his nose by the tin!! Poor boy, cried for v long cos the cut couldnt stop bleeding...blood and mucus started flowing out together. My heart hurts so much at that moment but i could only hold and sayang him tight tight. Heng...he managed to calm down after abt 15mins of crying.

On the way back to BP, i was worried that he might han bin tonite. Who noes, one incident follows next. He was trying to shut the door and hands got giap..end up cried badly but not so cham as compared to the cut on the nose. After awhile, he was playing wif my nephew and was pushed to the floor. Faced down..and i heard a loud sound...i knew it was gg to be serious again. Yes indeed, he got a big BA LU KU on the forehead. Realli so ke lian...triple on the roll. He was tired after so much of crying that he fell asleep on my chest.

Mummies, hb was nice to console me but i just couldnt stop myself from crying. I know its part and parcel of the growing up stage...i oso know i hv to learn to accept these esp if im gg to #2 soon. But i need time to cool down...while im typing these, im oso tearing cos im v v upset to see my boy got hurt so many times. ....I told hb i should hv brought him hm tonite...now im missing him badly.

All i can do is hope he sleeps thru tonite.

audrey,
for baking, i start with muffins which is very easy.. i haven't done the more difficult stuff yet! for bak zang, that one needs practice la. so if u practice more, u sure can do it too.

astro,
your cake looks so pretty!

Autum, i nvr had MS when i had ah bian. The puking feeling im having now still ok....didnt vomit out any food yet. Had fixed appt wif my gynae...gg next sat. Shall update u gals wif more firm details.

audrey: kekeke. think only u interested in my lame joke.. kekeke.. coz hor.. dou sa pao.. got 'filling' wor... (= feeling)..

whahahahah!! lame or not ?! :p

autum: actually it was ur colleague.. from ur dept one. new guy but quite old liao :)P) very naggy one. u know who? :p// keeke. who told me about this cake baking thingy.. then really now i am going for htis! kekeke..

bbmar,
poor fabian! u hug hug him more ok.. hug and kiss. u try not to worry too much.. i know it's not easy but tell yourself he will become tougher after all the knocks.. hugz to u too!

wah.. bbjie: sayang sayang.. *hugs* can understand how heart pain. teng FALL onli i break liao. ahbian fall plus cut.. sayang .. sayang.. *hug*

autum: thanks.. actually. it was a big blunder. but 'skillfully' covered up.. coz everything is all brown! kekekek..