(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Pink, i think mostly people buy those plastic wardrobe with a zip for their maids. If you dont have space, maybe make do with a box.

Just a note, they need to keep their sanitary pads...so your box cant be too transparent.

QQ,
We can set up a northlander weekend playgroup hour for the kids. But need to find a good location where the kids can play.

Nana,
She has yet to adapt to her new home. U gotta give her time. Do try to create a same corner or room (as your old home) if possible for her so that she finds something that is familiar.

Pink,
If u got space constraint, get those toyogo plastic cabinets. Its cheap, useful and not untidy.

Tell ur MIL that if ur maid get treated well and feel happy, she will work better. And we are not toking abt treating the maid like a queen. At least treat her like a person and provide her with the neccessities.

huingee.. yes.. brought before.. but that time wash house mah.. so after that nite time go home lor..

mejo.. she explored herself.. but i did tell her that this is her things etc.. same bed.. same toys.. jsut different place..

pink.. i know.. but i am leaving the country this thurs!! makes me worry even more ;(

pinkpink,
This is the fisher price laptop i bought. Have some games and most is Letters n phonics. Esther is very happy to have to this laptop. Even put beside her bed.
1383954.jpg

nanabear,
But when she her lst time visit the house her reaction is happy? If last time is happy now like want to go out is she don't know it's her house now.
See how loh, slowly she will get use to it. Now just have someone beside her.

Huignee
l like this laptop - buttons and mouse look so colourful, except the screen a bit small, different from the real one :p...$50? hmm...

nana
how long will you be in overseas? hmm...tough
i also dun know how to help

CK
you are right! thanks, i almost wanted to buy those transparent ones.

Linda
ya lor, just cheap toyogo plastic containers she also say we shouldnt buy...wow then maid gotto dig out stuff from her bag all the time??? wat kinda logic. my hubby even wanted to get drawers for her..kekkee

aiyo im going to see tie da later, really must go, before my phuket trip this wed...

any good place/restaurant to recommend?

pinkpink,
yes the screen abit small but ok for my 4 year old girl. My boy also will want to play but i think he can't see much diff. Better for older kids. Bought it cos my girl's abc still very weak, mummy too lazy to teach.

ginny,
My hotmail a/c kana lockout liao.. dunno what happen. Can sent the ON spreedsheet to my gmail? [email protected]?
Sorry for the trouble.

Re: JG
Any mummies here will be signing up for the class?

SQ,
haha... quick quick give ur feedback. *add stress to u* Compare and analyse GUG n JG. hee..

SQ: no need to stress lah..., just a feedback base n our trial yesterday. YE seems to enjoy.

Actually, my hb and i had the same comment after the end of the class... Just my opinion only k, i feel the staff a bit fake leh..sorry hor, let me emphasize, this is this my opinion. They sounded a tad too cheerful and friendly towards the baby. Dunno if this is the way u should behave in front of babies?

huingee,
I also nearly buy this laptop ley but when i'm in the Q i ask helper to put that back. haha.. coz i c the screen very small.

Re: Ham bin
wa last night J ham bin 3 times ley... scared me ah. I tink he's too tired liao

haha!! SQ, stress.. me also tekan u now.

relax la... actually slowly reply.

hb ask me to sign up for tian cause this is the first time he saw her so active and kept wanting to walk back to the classroom again. normally she is afriad to walk so much outside. i asked her if she was happie, then clap her hands show show. she kept clapping her hands.. that means i need to sign up for her liao?

Star, u think they are a bit fake?
maybe that's the way to communicate with young children? I saw my teachers (lecturers) last time, all of them also look so chirpy and happie when playing with children. I went praticum during my partime study, i also had the same feeling. During music time, etc etc, we all raise our voice high high otherwise bb not interested (i dunno leh).
but during other period, maybe not so.
now let me slowly recall how i communicated with other children last time.

bbmouse, i like the way anna nodded her head. like her hairpin can fly straight across.. haha! very good leh, she can nod so well.

I like YE, she is very guai. she is active as well. saw her enjying JG class yesterday. she can drink water very well from strawcup too.
after a while, she also bored liao then started climbing on her chair. but this Rae and tian also buey tahan and kept fidgiting much earlier than YE.

QQ: i dun remember feeling this way when i attend kinder and GUG trial leh.. dunno why i particularly feel so for thsi trial. hmm. ... think its just me lah.
So u onz tian for it liao ah?? heheh when u wanna start her.. but this playnest class is only on the weekdays.. no weekend classes leh.

pink, re container for maid, i bought the plastic chest of drawers for her to put her things. at least it is drawers and she can organise her things into them. tidier for the house also.

Star, i not ON yet. but itchy...
i know need to wait till 18 month then can join playclub something right? need to go read the brochure first.
hb kept asking me how much how much? bring her there le. she is so happie.

tian happie until she went home, saw her little bee which can be squeeze (then with a sound), she kept sueezing and kept giggling (laughing actually). last time she dun find the bee intersting at all! she can laugh until just 1 second b4 she slept. so ke3 pa4?? scary.

oh star, maybe u didn't visit any angmoh school yet?
I went for an attachment in an international school at orchard. wah!! the children there super happie one. i think they speak like that also (i mean teachers) but a bit less kua1 zhang1 than the JG yesterday. maybe those are older children like 4-6 years old.

huingee, pink.. yes.. she is happy when we there.. Sigh.. I will be away for 6 days..
now me dun feel like going how!!!!!!! *sob*

zoo : yes.. i think most of the pics with me.. I will upload it tonite to my thumbdrive den bring to office to upload ok?? i go and open a photobucket or something.. den u all can see from there ok

Pax : wat's ur acc number?? to pay u for the lunch..

Angel : wat's the total amount? and accoutn number..

Pax, Angel : better to sms me pls.. i got no internet at home.. get my number from GG pls.. Thanks a million!

Pink: For her sanitary pads, she just leave them in the toilet. We didn't say anything - she did it on her own. We gave her a small chest of drawers in the room. The toyogo drawer or even just a toyogo box itself sounds good enuf. It's up to you.

QQ: Anna was very shy in the class. And she always want to wander off the class to explore the table and chairs behind. I wonder why. Actually, I've no idea if she enjoyed herself or not. She may be a bit bored I think.

Tian on the other hand, definitely enjoyed herself. She's so sporting..

lai liao. in my next post. for those mummies not interested, paisei hor. i already try to "summarise" liao.

if you want just the VERDICT, scroll down to the highlighted sentence ok. paisei

QQ: Rae dunno why, dun wanna sit still at all.. all she wanted to do was to climb on top of the chair .. she just wanna turn around and climb up..she was like a monkey man!!
She actually licked the pink ink before the start of the craft session.. u can see me wiping her mouth with a hankie !!! almosted fainted when i saw her pink lips!

1st part of activity: play

Similar to how GUG runs theirs. In fact, I spoke to the teacher in JG and she said GUG “copied” theirs. I mean, JG started off first, then GUG came along. And they can’t patent their training methods.

But I find the JG play too long to be PART of the class. JG has it for 20minutes AFTER class starts at 445pm. That means we sit around for 20minutes while it eats into the training time. At GUG, this is for BEFORE class starts (maybe 10mins), then AT the start of class (another 10minutes). So they still have the full 20mins but not at our expense ($). Also, I like the children to play before the start for a few reasons:

1. encourage people not to be late else their kids miss out the play. We always try to go early so YE can be involved and warm up with the rest of the children
2. $ of course. I know it’s only 10 mins, but at JG, they have a lot of these “time wasters”. Ok, maybe I shouldn’t be too harsh and use the word “wasters”. For lack of better choice okie.
3. It’s boring waiting for others to do their temperature check. So it’s good if the children can go in and play mah…

2nd part: Is this where they take out the cat? Why cat ah? Are we teaching C yesterday? Haha… star said the cat looks scary. It’s ok lah, I mean I dun mind YE being exposed to all these, but I just need to know why suddenly the cat come out? In GUG, it’s obvious that what they introduce is related to a letter of the alphabet. I like it cos when I tell her the letter, I can say things like “J for Jellyfish. Remember we saw the wiggly jellyfish in this am? Was it blue? Oh, then the jelly was wiggly too right? And how did you like the jam on the biscuit? Yum Yum, was it delicious?” that kind lah.

Wa, I sound like a kiasu mummy saying this hor?

3rd part: Story Telling

Appa the story? Some strawberry disguised itself? One good thing is it’s relatively short. So YE could pay attention. Sometimes she loses interest in GUG when the story gets a little long. But she’s getting better at it esp now that she finds those pop ups in the book interesting.

Maybe the story not as exciting for her cos at GUG, she will go and sit at the teacher’s lap J

4th part: Art and Craft?

Simple fun lah. GUG has more “challenging” activities. But this JG is ok, no complaints. Just that I din see the glow in YE’s eyes when she was stamping. At GUG, she always can’t wait to start. And she will be so excited that she will try to grab the teacher’s demo.

5th part: The playground

I should bring her to the playground more often. Haiz. It’s a good break to the monotony of class though. Kids need to sweat it out and run off their energy abit? Of course I admit a bit of saying to pay and let her play by herself. I mean, if we mummies group together and go gymboree, we can get the same type of fun. How about the next gathering at gymboree? Book their playgym to ourselves during off peak hours for kids to play? I mean, their biz also not so good mah, so they shouldn’t charge us too much also

6th part: Break

It’s free snacks, what can I say? At GUG, we bring our own. Which is good lah, cos we get variety. It’s a good way of teaching her to adapt to food in “school” though. Esp since I intend to send her to play school.

7th part: Singing

ok. They use the keyboard at GUG. Yday was guitar? YE has neither touched one before. So the teacher let her touch and play after class. Happy about that.

General: Quality of Instruction

The teachers were good. Enthusiastic, friendly. I like what I see.

For JG, I walk out saying to my hubby: “Hey, that was fun”

For GUG, we usually walk out saying: “Wow. That was an interesting concept about density that they introduced”. Even though it will be another ten years before YE sees the word density, I like how they introduce it through play. Fun!

<font color="ff0000">Overall Verdict:
JG is good. But I will stick to my GUG as I like the overall program better. It’s better structured. I see the planning in the course content

Bbmouse, i know why..

cause anna attended those classes with less ppl, less children. so she was overwhelmed. but she enjoyed herself at free play area definitely.
then she also walked around as she likes cause nobody give her any guidance wat to do. that's they way with them. let them wander. sometimes i so paiseh, just pulled tian back, otherwise she will sleep with the casey cat liao.

star
rae ate the ink?
was she hungry?

YE ate so much before class that she vomitted. so she's not interested in eating. else she might just do that too!

QQ: I also feel there's not much content in the class and hence anna was bored. So she'll rather walk around to explore and play other things.
And I find they have too many students and parents for the area they are conducting the activities. Like during story teling time, I can't see the teacher at all.

I agree with most that this is more a play session. Not sure how play club will be like in terms of content.

SQ: Erm... She was behaving oddly yesterday. Cos usually even if she wants to explore, she will go on her own. She does not always hold on to my hand and wants me to go with her. Maybe this is a brand new place to her. *dunno*

QQ: 1st thing i saw was ur comments of A. haha!! u saw him crying at the start rite? tt's why i think he is not so sociable. need longer time to warm up

bbgal,
think anna and seth can go off 2gether :p
coz when we had pur session, Seth also like anna, walked from the class.

wink ** joelle

yaya. bbmouse. there is not much content for the class. i agree....
even if there is, they also never emphasize clearly. its more like a fun club for them. or maybe disco class..

SQ: ya i was quite puzzled by the cat too.. i tot the cat will come out in the box.. but no.. turned out the strawberry craft paper was in the box. Anyway, they just brought the cat out and intro to the kids and then kept it quickly away liao, we didn;t see the cat again till the end of the class. and ya the cat was quite scary looking.. surprised rae was not afriad of it.
and yes she ate the ink, dunno why. she tot its tasty? she should not be hungry lah cos i fed her before the class leh and she didn't really finish her biscuit, took so long to eat it.. i was quite afriad she might choke cos i have never given her this kind of biscuit before.. but surprising, she ate it quite well.

I'm looking for good condition of the following book:

Feed your Child Right: The First Complete Nutrition Guide for Asian Parents

Please sms me for a good deal (9100 7866)

michelle. i not free to go leh.. sigh!

SQ, no wonder i feel that its very much like GUG leh. then i dunno how to explain the silimarity or differences. i find the staff in JG are better.

Ok, treat it as a playgroup, without much content. then JG is good. but dunno what is the content like.
remember my purpose is to find a place to let tian learn sharing, etc etc. social! if paying JG that kind of social fee, a bit ex right? how much ah? i not yet researched.

BBMickey
So sad..thks anyway!
Hey, I oso got pimple outbreak when I’m pregnant wif Kai. It got so bad that my whole back is filled with pimples (some acnes).
Now, resulting in scars
Then my face oso like volcano eruption! Tell u, dun bother to apply anything or squeeze them cos it’s juz temp.
After labour, all will be gone. It’s all due to hormones change.

The thght of leaving the kid wif the maid when they’re out of yr sight sure sounds scary!

BBmarch
ON stuff – is it heavy? Where do u stay? I text u ….

Pink
I think those plastic container can liao…no keys is good!

Nana
When the bags arrived then I start to collect. In case got missing items then I need to do refund.
Dun worry I will hang pig’s head if I cant find u :p

RE: Birdpark
Anymore free ticket for mommy? I wan.... *said 2nd time liao, very thick skinned*

QQ, SQ
how about costing for JG and GUG? big diff?

viv, moon
ok, dun care liao..i will go ahead and buy the toyogo containers.

ya carol
asher was a bit cranky in the beginning, ok after that. leia also needs a bit of time to warm up.

SQ
YE is really good gal, sit still, behaves herself etc. Leia doesnt even want to sit still on the chair. but she enjoys it, didnt even want to get out of the room to wash hands.

btw, the GUG class which YE is attending, is for up to how old? this JG trial class is Playnest, for up to 18mths, so perhaps its structured in a way thats more meant for Play.

Star: I think Anna likes the cat. Cos there is a cat in the same color downstairs. When we came home, she saw the cat again and pointed to it. Hahaha..

Another thing on JG: Altho there aren't many activities, it didn't feel like 1.5 hrs. I thot the time passes by quite quickly.

Baby Girl: ya time passes so fast, i was telling SQ, i dun know what we have done during the class cos the time just flies.. maybe its fun for the kids, thus time passes quickly?

QQ: hey u could be right, maybe rae thought it was lipstick? hahaha. lucky she never LS from eating the ink. And during the snack time, she threw her biscuit into Tian's bowl then later tried to take tian's biscuit!.. only YE was so guai sitting there eating her biscuit by her self.. so si wen too.. hehe

carol. yes.. we FORGOT to bring the artwork home.
tian was hyper when dotting the strawberry. it was in blue..
she dotted using both hands, then kena table. still go help Rae dot dot her work. cham liao. initially rae's one was very nice one, then got blue colour cause of tian.

angel just put your name into GG list for the birdpark... we will see how...

nana, give tiff some time to adjust... its normal bah.