(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

bbmouse,
The Thomas Ultimate Set, 60pounds is also about SG$175 leh.. so not really cheaper in UK. where did u order from? your friend got special place to buy?

Astro,
oh..

can we have a statistics for march babies?

据英国一项最新研究发现,父母若想预测孩子们将来英语和数学方面的考试成绩,有一个最为简单的方法,即看一看他们的手指长短。心理学家称,无名指长的孩子计算能力突出的可能性更大,而食指长的孩子则更善于读写。

原理 性激素&手指长度

科学家认为,这一趋势是孩子在子宫时暴露给睾丸激素和雌激素的水平所致。性激素一般负责大脑发育和手指长度。领导此项研究的巴思大学教授布洛斯南表示:“睾丸激素据称可以促进某个大脑区域的发育,而这个区域通常与空间思维和计算能力相联系。雌激素被认为可促进与口头表达能力有关的大脑区域的发育。令人颇感兴趣的是,这些激素还在我们食指和无名指的长度方面拥有发言权。我们可以对比食指和无名指的长度,用以衡量胎儿在子宫中暴露给上述两种激素的水平。

测算 喜好英语or擅长数学

在研究中,科学家通过75个7岁儿童的手掌影印,测算他们的手指长度。每个孩子都会被测量右手食指和无名指的长短。接着,研究人员用食指长度除以无名指长度,得出每个孩子的“手指率”(digitratio)。成年女性的手指率通常为1,意即食指和无名指长度相同。男性平均手指率偏低,为0.98,因为他们的无名指通常长于食指,也就是说,他们在子宫时暴露在睾丸激素的水平更高。

利用孩子们在英语和算术测试“关键阶段”的得分,研究人员对研究组(他们均是巴思大学附属幼儿园学生)的测量数据和他们在班级的学习成绩进行了比较。

结果发现,手指率低——无名指长以及出生前暴露在睾丸激素的水平更高的儿童,更有可能精于数学而非英语;而手指率高——无名指短以及出生前暴露在雌激素的水平更高的儿童,则呈现截然相反的结果,他们更有可能精于英语而非数学。

for michelle.
Step 1: please measure the length of index finger and length of 2nd last finger of K (right hand)
Step 2: Ratio of them INDEX/2nd last finger

Ratio > 1 = maybe more language inclined
Ratio <1 = maybe more logical, maths inclined

carol, wah. you're v good. yah... i like bags a lot but have cut down over the years. esp now with kid, all the guniang bag can throw out the door. =(

carol/joelle, last time i went to ask, i think the toddler will sit in front while the baby will sleep at the bottom cuz the bottom can be fully reclined. then at least the toddler won't get bored staring into nothing.

Linda: Didn't find it here. Asked a friend to buy from UK toysrus lor..

Hey, I like this set too.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/THOMAS-FRIENDS-WATER-TOWER-STEAM/dp/B000EYF60Q

Autum: I think this set will cost more than $175 even if it's available in Singapore. This set has 160 pcs.

Pink: Does your contact carry the Thomas Water Tower Steam available in Singapore? How much?

yvonne.. ya... buy a fan cover.. no joke.. my ger ever wanna do that too... so end up.. my granny bought a fan cover.. and den T went to push the fan down 1 day while i was brushing teeth.. lucky its those desk fan...

mickey
u like steam set huh..kekkee...the models i can source are those brought in in 2008. thomas too many models, can faint....anyway here's wat i can source:
Remote Control Steam and Sound Thomas
1375549.jpg

The only preschool remote control toy with amazing real steam effect.

The simple control unit makes Thomas move forward, reverse or puff a big whoosh of steam. He plays his theme tune and puffs steam from his glowing funnel as he chuffs along and makes brake and piston sounds when he stops.
Real, safe steam effect brings the excitement of steam engines to life.
Batteries: 3 x AA &amp; 2 x AAA

bbmouse,
oh.. i thot this Ultimate Set is the one that Pink posted (which was $175). I didn't know it's a different one! erm, but u asking your friend to buy is thru a special lobang? or certain shops? no worries, i am not planning to ask u to help me to buy! hahaah.. just curious.

Anyway, i m not sure if my hubby will have time to shop also.. hiaz..

bbmouse,
Good for u.. Dun tink ur fren can buy 2 sets of that rite?? (Jokin....)

The water steam set looks ok but not reallie as complicated. The thing with me is that if its a 'boy' toy, it gotta be complicated to keep the child entertained.

yvonne,

i also havent get the fan cover. and K laos like to touch the fan! more jialat, is i think i have been encoraging her somemore.

if i cant get into boscovs site, is it due to firewall? in office def cant get in. but funny thing is at home, i've managed to get in before. but recently i tried again and cannot get in liao.

Michelle-got THUNDER mer??? my side don't have but I see the trees swaying to and fro, sky a bit dark... what happen to u?? MC?

enne,
yup, on MC today &amp; tomorrow, but think i deft need to go in tomorrow.
need to catch up with my work

my stopid notebook changed HDD and now i realised i ddin copy my mail archive.
so i dun have history in my mailbox now. how to work like that ?? need to got to CBP liao

RAINING liao

QQ: hasn't tried that experiment on LBXX. but does that work on adults too? staring at my own hand now.. what happens if both mentioned fingers appeared to be equaly length? like that is no effect ah?.
duh.. *confused*

QQ: very interesting study you posted.. now then read in detai.. so apparently. my equal length is normal and the norm :p
ok. tonight go twist Miser's hand and see.. and also LBXX's.. :p

AStro,
if its about the same lenght, i think ratio is 1. So its still more inclined to language, arts, musics, etc.. not maths or logical. (its more for adult women)
this theory is right for me. my index is a bit shorter than my 2nd last finger. weird!! but now, its getting closer to 1 as I grow. haha!

QQ,
Din read the article. Have been seeing too much words recently to read liaoz.. LOL.
So wad is the 1 ratio?? 1cm?? 1 in portion of the finger??
My index is longer than the last. Normal rite?

Michelle: what do I have that is with u now ah? sorry. abit blur liao.. :p

QQ: huh.. i am talking about my hand .. i dun think got much diff.. but if really want to pick.. should be index finger very slightly shorter.. so which is that huh/ sorry. rushing grading but still so KPO want ot know :p

----
updated

QQ: wah lau. ithink u can kill me.. what am i asking?! :p. same as u mah!!! ok.. not making sense.. :p maths is definite no for me.. so only point left is.. we both getting more logical as we age?.. heeheee..

QQ,

Ohh, interesting. My second last finger is slightly longer on my right. On my left, it is very much longer. So = more logical, maths inclined? But if looking at grades, my language grades always better than my maths grades lei. I check YT's right hand. Looks about the same to me. Maybe just second last finger just very slightly longer.

Michelle: The link I posted above is not the Bosacovs website. It's another site that says the cheapest source is BOscovs for this product.

Linda: The water set is the add-on set. It features real water and the train that actually spouts steam! Cool right?

michelle, take care. u flying overseas these few days right? or came back liao.

eh i wanna faint liao. the fingers theory ah...
GOT PALLARAX (how to spell) error one! depending on which direction u are looking at. if similar then ratio is 1. most ppl are similar. but i have a colig with very small ratio, cause his 2nd last finger is very evry de long. haha! he is super logical and math, systematic person.

i think for us. same length one. sometimes logical, sometimes not. haha!!!
it applies to children bah, maybe not bb.

QQ,

Haha, I even went to measure with ruler! Very difficult to do for bbs though cuz they won't stay still. BBs are still growing so different bah.

SQ, do u have a habit of putting moisturizer on YE in Singapore? If you dont, remember to bring some for her on your Japan trip. Dry weather needs moisturizer for face and body.

CK!
you are so sweet! i've never thought of moisturiser for her! actually i dun put on anything for her and myself cos always scared i cant wash clean! but i'd better bring for her. thanks for reminding me!

Mummies.. I just discovered I can access the Boscovs website on my blackberry!!!

I'm going to start a spree on the Thomas train set. It costs only $19.99 on Boscovs.

Autum: You wanna buy this?

QQ,
nick's second last finger is super long... mi and bel's index is onli abit longer den the second last finger... we can study again on zoo trip... lol... nick's really long... he is good in maths and veri logical... but not systematic..

1375889.jpg

Thomas the Tank Water Tower Steam Set ; When Thomas runs out of steam, refill him with a real working water tower! The Thomas Water Tower Steam Set features a real working water tower. Press on the pump to release real water into Thomas' water tank. Thomas is now ready to continue to steam along. Thomas emits cool puffs of steam as he moves along the track. See the billowy steam and a red light glow from Thomas' funnel, as he chuffs under his own motorized power. The steam is cool to the touch and completely safe for kids. Hear Thomas' realistic sound effects too! The Water Tower Steam Set is completely expandable and compatible with all other motorized rail system sets from TOMY. Set includes: Metallic Thomas Steam Engine, Annie and Clarabel coaches, water tower, red station bridge, 3 trees, crossing station, tunnel, dropper, extra filter. Track includes: 14 curved track, 2 sloped curved track, 4 turn out track, 5 straight track, 2 half straight track. For ages 3 years and up

Price : usd 19.99 + 5% concierge + shipping

Who's keen?

1. bbmouse

SQ, the thought just came across when i was putting moisturizer for my girl tonight. I was thinking maybe you dont have a habit of putting moisturizer for her in Singapore, like ME. Especially for the face, it will PEEL.

When i think of anything, i will pop by and remind u... Hope u dont find me KPO or nagging.