edde,
actually for child models, there is no particular-look. it's not just being leng-zai or pretty etc.. cos for child models, alot really boils down to whether your child can take instructions. even the most 'ordinary' child is cute la. I brought EJ there because both me and hubby are the very kaypoh type. We are curious and interested to know how the modelling industry works. So we went there to talk lor. Yep, Yvonne is the liason person but when I went last week, it was her photog colleague (a guy) who explained everything cos Yvonne had no voice (sore throat).. in fact, today she just called me again to ask me if i have further questions.. haha..
frankly hor, $455 for portfolio is not expensive. I mean, it's not just about taking photos, but you are in essence paying for their service. They will touch-up the photos (10 shots only), prepare a folder, prepare photo-card, promote your kid to potential client etc. But many things depend on luck.. that's also the first thing they will tell u. Cos even if your child is very good-looking, cute etc.. but client don't choose, or on the day got job, your child falls sick etc.. so a lot of things must be right.. Tian shi, di li, ren he.
Anyway, I don't think I want to commit also.. time consuming.. then hor, they will decide on the clothes that your child MUST wear for the photo-portfolio.. so every 4mths, u bring your child there for photo-shoot. So if say this season, they want a rugged look, and they say u must have leather jacket, scarves and hat.. if you don't have, you must go and buy!
It's really an investment lor. If you look at this as a form of 'hobby'.. say u like to dress up your kid nice nice.. for pretty pictures etc.. then ok. But to me, i would think it's a hassel leh.. still must go and buy clothes.. must 'groom' your kids etc.. wah.. cannot la.. then all photoshoots or commercial shoots are all on weekdays.. so if get chosen, must take leave etc.. stress leh.