(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ: Yah, children are smarter than us!
We shd not underestimate their abilities.

Star: How come you got the add at your finger tips? Machiam like a street directory? What's the name of the hokkien restaurant at jalan besar. I go find it one day.

star giolyn said facila extraction is moer painful than lasik, so i feel at ease cause i never complain during facial extraction. haha!!

bbmouse, hope u enjoy the life being a SAHM.. its not that easy though but i can assure u that its fulfilling. my mil is a good example.
and SQ, u there? cause SQ has been dwelling upon this idea on and off...

QQ: All the best for the surgery tom. It's normal to feel a bit nervous, but don't worry, it'll be over very soon. Think of all the convenience you'll get to enjoy in the future!
No mpore glasses, no more solutions etc. Many nmore less bottles to pack when you travel.

QQ: Jalan Besar area i am quite familiar, other then that, only hokkien food.. hehehe. but PuTian is famous for her heng hwa food.. damn nice. Lots of nice place at jalan besar, if u dun mind the not so clean coffee shop, there is this coffee shop along Jalan Besar that has really nice wantan noodles, yong tau fu and chicken rice. BUt the wan tan noodles very dua3 bai3 one, will only open at 8pm, if u go any earlier, she will tell u not ready and won;t sell to u. I usually ta bao back as supper lah.. i remember i missed this wantan mee so much when i was overseas that the 1st thing i do when i land in sg is cheong and go eat there..heheh

oh oh. time to orh orh liao..
a bit early right? but i am tired liao leh. haha!
u gals enjoy. and rest early bbmouse. tommolo still need to work.

edde, u take a good rest also when anthea is with nanny.

QQ: The procedure itself is not painful, cos you'll be given LA. After that, if you feel pain or discomfort, take painkillers.

I dunno how it's like, I can't imagine. But I will be positive about it. It's so much easier after I tell myself I don't have to make it so final, that I can come back to work after a few years if I want to.

Astro: if u r not gettinor g satisfaction from SAH looking after teng, i feel that this means u are not ready to be a SAHM, when u really ready, u won't have this disatisfaction feeling cos u won;t even think about it or find reasons or issue to justify your dissatisfaction. I feel that when u start resenting staying at home, then its time u go back to work.

Baby Girl: Power of internet lah.. heheh i know exactly where it is.. but dun know exact address.. since qq ask, i look for her lor. Wait i try and find the name of the restuarant and address and post for u here. i cannot remember the name of the rest lah.

QQ: what is facial extraction?

Baby Girl: I found it.. heheh.. details here:
Like i say, Its a really really simple restaurant, nothing fancy ok
Hope u enjoy the food there. Its not written in this review but i love their hokkien mee and her zhor.
Its really funny cos i have eaten there many many times and i never remember the name of this restaurant.

Quan Xiang Yuan (Jing Ji) Seafood Restaurant 泉香园(清记)海鲜菜馆
Quan Xiang Yuan Seafood Restaurant is in an old shophouse along Jalan Besar.
Categories: Zhi Char, Hokkien, Seafood

Located at 252 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208925
Show me on map
This is a traditional Hokkien cuisine restaurant in an old shophouse near the Jalan Besar Stadium and not far from Eminent Plaza. The specialties here include roasted duck served in sweet plum sauce, crab bee hoon (you have a choice of fried or soup versions) - the bee hoon itself has two variations the normal beehoon (米粉) and the tang hoon (冬粉) version which is a clear glassy noodle (they name it 'vermicelli' here which I believe isn't exactly correct). Dine in comfort be it lunch or dinner as the eatery is fully airconditioned. Tel: 6294-6254, 6292-9251.

Star,
is Pu Tian inside Park Royal Hotel? and the coffee shop u say got wanton mee, is it the one next to the dim-sum place? i can't remember the name of the dim-sum place tho.

starfruit,

Did you asked me about the GP? It is less than 2 mins walk from the Garden Circus bus-stop. After alighting, turn left and walk towards the indian hawker center. Go straight all the way and you should see it on the left along the shops. The jab is $160 per shot.

Autum: bingo.. yes yes the wantan mee is next to the dimsum place... heheh.
No Putien is not inside Park Royal Hotel, its located at that row of shopshouse very to the hotel towards jalan besar side.

Mejo: left side from the circus bus stop.. ok ok.. near the tip top curry puff side?? i cannot remember where is the indian hawker centre leh.

astro, dun think it has any side effect on her kidneys. my hubby said the 2nd med is to replenish her salt in the body. dunno true or not coz i wasnt there to hear the instruction from the nurse. enjoy yr retreat tmr, take a break from home

QQ, me no wei da leh... coz ultimately i hv decided to leave anthea with nanny.. aft looking aft her by myself for 1 wk, i realise she will suffer with me lah.. i am not a gd caregiver.. no patience and very careless. me going back to work tmr.. last 2 days..

star, bbmouse, i tot Beng Hiang is a teochew restaurant? their suckling pig is damn gd! my hubby has been wanting to order 1 whole pig and share it with me ever since we first eaten there. he must be crazy.

right side if you are facing hsbc bank, left is you are facing the circus. Near the watsons and singaporepools shop.

autum: dun go to the wrong putien ok.. there are two along that strech of the road, the one u want is the Pu Tien (Xing Hwa) restaurnt, the "fake" one is at the end of the shop house call Pu Tien Seafood Restaurnt. Any rule of thumb, just go to the pu tien that is more crowded.

Mejo: got another ws on airplant, i think i accidentally snap/broke one leaf of the tectorum when i was tying the wire around it. It has turned brown on the "snapped" area.. what should i do now har? leave it as it is ah?

Star,
i didn't kno that coffeeshop got wanton mee. i have eaten there quite a few times..but usually we eat the YTF with laksa gravy.. quite exp, cos their YTF got some special/different ingredients from the usual YTF. as for Putien, if got chance will go there and try.

Mejo: thanks.. quite easy to find. isit the only clinic along that row?

Edde: must take cake, i think ur nanny should have no problem nursing anthea back to her original weight.. really hope to see her this sunday, miss her leh. esp the cute way she crawl on the carpet floor. Beng Hiang is hokkien, not teochew, they are a very old restaurant, been around for many many yrs liao.

autum: yes yes the chicken rice stall there is very nice too.. the chix kut kut one.. very smooth.. hehe.. ya the yong tau foo got a lot a lot of variety, i am alwasy stuck there thinking what i want to order. IF u go there again, try the Shui Jiao mian(dumpling, got prawn inside).. i prefer the shui jiao mian to the wantan mian.. they put dark sauce and chilli sauce on the noodles.. yummy
.. i tink i like it cos i ate it for many many yrs since young, so its a taste that i always look forward to. The wantan mee is the stall right at the front corner (facing the main jalan besar).
Pu tien is nice too, if u have the chance, can go and try their lunch menu too.. very value for money esp if u have 4 pax.

wha all these food talk is making me hungry.

Star,
u really sound like a food connosieur! haha.. hey, maybe u can go and be a food critic. haha.. then can get to eat!

bbmouse,
talking about maids, I quite like the look of your maid though I've only seen her twice. She looks like a pretty nice lady. By the way, she's alone at home with Anna when you are off to work?

nana,
I agree with what astro says about not treating maids like shit or stupid cos they are also a human beings. It's quite sad & scary for them to leave their home & come to a total strange place. We are worried that they'll be up to something funny but at the same time they are also worried that we'll abuse or ill-treat them.

pink/QQ,
I don't feel as upset liao. And I realised it does help things cos I was getting all frustrated & upset when Reyden cried & 'rejected' me when she's out of sight. I kept trying to pull him to me & he cried even louder, endless. Now that after I cooled down, I'll try to give him his favourite toys or carry him into my room & coax him. And he did stop crying.
Then my hubby says that I over-reacted & caused him to scold the maid for nothing.

yy,
Ellie sounds like a good maid too. U bringing her along for this Sat's birthday bash? If you are then maybe I'll bring my maid along too. Then she can make friends with Ellie if you don't mind. hehe. Cos I seriously doubt that my hubby can leave me in peace & handle the both of them on his own if we need to sit & chat. :p

QQ,starfruit & whoever wanna get a swing,
I saw one at Fairprice Extra selling at $39.90. It seems quite sturdy & can be use till our kids quite old.

QQ,
I tried to ignore what they were saying about the double swing liao then you still go and post about me, my twins & the swing. Tempt me leh ... Hmmm ... Think I'll go Baby Kingdom & take a look. :p

bbmouse,
feel happy for you that you had somehow made up your mind about quitting your work.
I'm actually considering giving up the snackshop. Will see whether my parents wanna take over or not 1st.
Cos I find that ever since we started with the shop, we don't spend enough time with Reyden. We have to be out of the house by 7+pm & Reyes always get to go with us while Reyden has to stay at home cos of his sleeping time. And many weekends gone too.
Think I would rather stay in my job. It gives me more flexibility & satisfaction.

Autum,
if I'm in your situation, I'll get a maid. Probably will monitor her for the 1st 3 months when you are on maternity leave. Then install a webcam like what some of them suggested. Don't let the horrifying stories scare you. Not all maids are that bad.
Actually I was supposed to get a maid when I was into my 7mths' pregnancy. Then cos I listened to too much of my colleagues' stories, I had nightmares & got so worried that I went to cancel the maid & forfeited my agency fees.
But turned out that my MIL was a bigger nightmare so we went to get a maid after I gave birth. I needed a maid urgently so we took a transfer maid & she turned out fine. So it all depends on luck, 'yuan' & how you handle your maid.

How come I'm the only one posting here??
My son don't want me and no one wants to talk to me.

(*sounds like I'm getting post-post-natal blues, haha!!!)

Starfruit,

You can removed the dead leaf or leave it. Usually I won't go and bother about broken or dead leaves unless I feel that they may rot and affect other parts of the plants. Broken leaves may eventually fall off on their own after a while.

I think it is the only clinic there now. There used to be another one but that one dark dark shadowy type with nobody inside one. Wei Ming is bright and more cheery looking. The staff quite friendly except once one of the Indian lady kena scolded and threatened by a guy due to some reason which I did not catch (he threatened to take her to court) and she became flustered after that but otherwise staff is friendly. However, they tend to take a long time. Even with appointment. Try to avoid evenings, usually alot of people. Forgot to take my card with me. Will try to give you the tel. no. tomorrow.

Oh yar, I wanted to say something about diapers. I have used anything from NTUC fairprice to Mamy Poko, so I know the difference between the cheap and the expensive types. Basically NTUC fairprice is really cheap and won't last more than 4 hours before it leaks. So day use only. Sealer and Nepia is similar but nepia has wetness indicator whereas Sealer dun although the sale lady say have and showed me but the actual ones somehow dun. Also the difference between the mid-range and the expensive type is the smell. Both pampers and huggies ultra can last the night but pampers do not smell as bad by the morning. Mamy poko can hold the smell back the best. Nepia also not bad. Huggies, well... I really have to avoid smelling anywhere near my ger's bottom. At least for mamy poko or pampers, I can still bear to sniff her tummy in the morning. I have also used drypers but I really dun like the stickers that stick to skin and fingers etc. NTUC also uses stickers but the price made it worth it. It is very hard though so not suitable for young babies.

Irin,

Come, dun be sad. Your boy will stick to you like Koala in no time. See, like my ger always like put my hb as the last place, now also will sticky sticky to him.

irin irin
dun be sad...its difficult to toggle between 2 babies and make both stick to you as much. usually the gal will get more attention i feel.

mejo
im letting go of the kitchen set, finds it a bit small and door to open & close. will post in WTS.

Irin,
thanks.. guess hiring maid is seriously an option i want to consider. hey, since your maid is transfer maid, what is the reason for her transfer? which agency did u go to?

I just had a very unhappy episode with hubby. Just cried badly. He doesn't understand why am i making such a huge fuss over hiring maids or finding nanny.. he asked me why am i blowing things out of proportion. i feel so hurt.. think my hormones also playing havoc on me.

good nite mummies..

mejo,
talking abt diapers... i really hate those stickers tape... when bel was born, she wore drypers... and the tape keep cutting into her skin... till now the scars is still there... tried huggies and nepia too.. i feel, as she grow bigger, this two brand cant hold her urine and poo... sure leak... also, she will get terrible rash... end up, onli can use mamypoko... she is one clever gal... everything must use veri ex one...
also she is so big size, have to wear L size(going to upgrade to XL)... not worth the money... cos less pieces...

Autum,
don't be upset. Men don't understand what we are thinking about most of the time. Everything seems trival to them. We all understand why you are fussing over maids or nannies can liao.
Wait till you feel better than try to talk to him again.

She asked for the transfer herself cos she was taking care of a 2 yr old boy & his sis. The boy was hospitalised twice & she thought it's cos he always don't want to eat & it's her fault. Of cos I didn't believe her so we asked to speak to the previous employer. The previous employer told us that her boy was hospitalised due to some other medical reasons but the maid thought that it's her fault so didn't want to stay on & she assured me that she's ok & that I don't have to worry so we gave it a try lor. We sent her to pick up some stuff from there & the boy came downstairs with the mum & cried for her. So I thought she can't be too bad lah.
Then few months later, she accidentally blurt out that it was tough over that side. Wake up at 6am to prepare breakfast, go over ah gong's house, take care of 5 KIDS there, reach home at 10+, put the kids to sleep, do housework & sleeps at 12+ - 1. She felt stressful & missed her menses for 5-6 mths after working for them. She was worried for her health so she took the chance to ask for transfer when the son was hospitalised.
And she can still tell me she had her menses back the month she came to my house & she put on 3 kg since she's here cos she's having an easier life here!!! Silly or not??

Pinkpink,

Hmm, no door to open or close cannot. They will enjoy it more if got doors to open and close. I'm also doing JE551 private spree for friends. Need new clothes!

Mejo,
tks!

I was like you too, tried all diapers I can find in the market. NTUC, Pureen, Pampers, Nepia, Huggies, Fitti, Drypers, Petpet & now MP. I also realised some diapers worked for gals but not for boys & some the other way round. Agreed with your reviews on NTUC, Nepia, Huggies & Drypers. I still prefer Nepia the best but they don't have XL for the tapes ones, must use pull ups.

pink,
the kitchen set you got is not the same one from KP, right? Ya, I think the doors are good. They learnt how to open, put things in & close. But they'll forget that the things are inside after awhile. haha!

mejo
this top is also in JE551 which is selling at $11plus while CCT selling at $10 :p...if nobody bingo with me, i order from you.

Irin/Pink: ya they also learn that its painful when their fingers kena giap by the door.. hahah!!

Pink: go look for the FP set the one i have, cook n clean.. i tot someone say JL having sale for this now? This set got 1 oven door, 1 washing machine door and 1 fridge door to open. Rae is obsessed about yanking open the oven and washing machine door!!
I agree with u, sealer is much much better than nepia and it does not leak.. neapia's cotton will break up into small pieces after a while.. at least the sealer one is still intact!

mejo: thanks, i think i know where the clinic is liao.

Autum: its def the hormones.. go sleep, u will feel better tomorrow.

ok , time for me to zzz now too. nite mummies.

irin: my ger dun put thing inside, she is obsessed abt pulling the door opening and the emptying the stuff inside and throw them all out! its really a mess each time she finish playing!/.

starfruit,
ya,ya, it's always a mess after they play with it. My hubby says it looks like some hungry thief had just 'ransacked' the kitchen. Plus I went to get some more utensils & 'food' from KP. Faintz ...

By the way, I confirmed Reyden will be a house husband in future. I got a toy vacuum cleaner for them & Reyden knows how to vacuum the floor with it when Reyes goes & turned it upside down. She's really like me. :p

Pink! I just found alot of kitchen sets in the ToysRus website.
This is what I have.

1306033.jpg

Just Like Home Giant Kitchen Centre

I like this one. So real. It's selling at $99.95 now.
1306034.jpg

Just Like Home Mix N Match Kitchen Center.