(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

hey no need for the GG link liao. i got it.

by the way, does any mummies here know if we can employ temporary maids? not those local part-time cleaners but those usual Indo/Fillipino maids but on a temp basis instead of 2yr contract.

<font color="ff0000">star</font>

re: GUG (my humble feedback)
<font color="119911">read only if you are interested. else skip</font>

1. the timing of the classes sucks. i picked the 930am one cos it's the least worst. but land up still cannot make it. the class started 1 min and YE started to be cranky liao. but if you can find a suitable timing, then this is not a problem

2. language. wa, the teacher li li lor lor so much i also blur. but i think YE find her a nag at certain parts and switched off. else, she's quite intrigued and would go v near the teacher

3. last week we learned "J". So it was "Jerry the Jellyfish" n how it wiggles. some kids quite fascinated, some kids can't be bothered. the teachers went around letting the kids touch the jelly fish, YE din even wanna look at it

4. then we had jam, jelly etc, cos it was J theme right. so they gave each kid a biscuit, spread with jam. i find this v interesting. it's a good way to make them learn instead of just nagging at them

5. very good in teaching YE routine and discipline. cos at home and at her granny's, it's own-time-own-target for whatever she likes to do. but in the class, she has to follow predetermined steps of doing things. we (meaning YE and me) hated this at the beginning. she din wanna follow the crowd in doing what the teacher says. v stressed and paisei for me. i wanted to just not go for the remaining 7 classes and forfeit my school fees cos really sian. i dun like to "force" her to do things and then scarly she's put off from learning. but later i thot this is essential to help her ease into the singapore school system (yes, i very kiasu, think so long ahead)

6. art work. they had to paste kellogs frosties on a sheet of paper. she ate all that she found in her bowl. the teacher said to develop their pincher grip. so i just relax since she obviously has v good pincher grip to grip the frosties. they must have tasted better than her boring plain cheerios. quite paisei when everyone had art to bring home, hers was just blank since she ate everything. i told the teacher forget it, just throw the paper

7. break time. it was cute to see my bb turn into a big gal and sit at the tables and chairs. i had to refrain from crying. yes, melodrama. but i see her sitting there by herself, drinking from her straw cup and eating her snacks from her snack cup, i must say i'm proud of her. some kids older than her still can't manage this. their parents got to do everything for them

8. after break was music time! our favourite part of the class. once again reaffirm my decision to let her carry on with kindermusik. she responded really well and giggle and enjoyed herself. i like the "live band", ie. one teacher played the organ, vs those pre-recorded music lah. since this was already way over her nap time, she did VERY well to giggle and participate. v happy with her

9. after class, put her in the pram, made milk, and she KO even before i could walk out the door

sorry so lor sor

hi hi.. visited doc. got MC. antibiotics. sian...

QQ
u so so so smart.. yes, i was baking last nite. Hokkaido Milky Loaf. yummy! this time i got it right.

re: baking muffins
it's one of the easiest "cake" u can bake. actually it's more like a quick bread. jus need to mix wet and dry ingredients. spoon into muffin cups and bake.
u can use plain flour or self-raising flour.if self-raising flour, reduce baking powder by half.
i've a latest receipe. Matthew's Raisin Muffins.

Carol, QQ,
Astro's walker, I saw in Toysrus. The blue handle, can be pushed all the way in (when baby is still small/short).. when bb grow taller, the blue handle can be extended up.

SQ: they bought the real jellyfish there? wow...
YE soo cool.. think teng will need help with eating.. and i think teng will have an art piece to bring home.. coz not yet so tylo put all the frosties in the mouth! hey. nice feedback..

managers .. can help post SQ's GUG feedback int o a new page? then i try see if i can dig mine and star's out.. and whoever posted.. then there u go.. our consolidated feedback on GUG..

michelle: u posted once mine and star's in april thread right? still have that copy?

carol: he's 14 mths.. so he has to .. if not i will flip again..still can't crawl though.. hmmm..

pink,
i like you.
v to the point.
i can't pinpoint good or not good.

YE doesn't enjoy it as much as Kindermusik. neither did I. but we agree that it's impt to help her understand the importance of routine and how she's not the boss all the time.

so i'll still put her in out of necessity. but when one day she doesn't wanna go anymore, it's time for me to re-evaluate

my qn to you would be:"why are you sending her there?" then i tell you whether you should go

i sound machiam so hao4 lian4. buay tahan
but that's my point

Autum: ya.. i bought that in vivo toyrus... precisely because of the extendable handle and the adjustable speed.. FINALLY i found one with adjustable speed..

but hor.. teng's handle quite high liao.. dunno if it is already all the way up..

pax: rest well

astro
no no. bluff one

it's a jellyfish toy lah.
alamak!

actually now that i've attended, i would love to see the other mummies feedback. can cut and paste and repost so i can see how "out" i am?

haha.... please dun bother to retype

SQ: u know what? if u can handle the formatting of this forum hor.. the GG is not going to be tough for u .. hence u not the IT unsavvy that u pointed out long lonng time ago to me.. wonder if u remember :p

SQ: u saw mine last time? :p super long.. haha. lost in archives liao.. :p

wait.. i go find and post in GG also.. :p when did we attend GUG huh? Star,??? pink ????

hi mummies i just briefly scroll thru archives le..no time to read. yday came back n KO liao..

astro
*ah bish* pls turn ur attn to sthing else besides...B.U.T.T.S :p

star
can u post the pic of the kitchen set? i know of one TOMY one that got sound effect..thinking to get for Chloe next time..now dun think she knows how to appreciate the sound of the cooking set.

QQ
was it u who mention ur frn got BP for shoo shoo? i hnt got any shoes for Chloe le..wanna get her a pair of good walking shoes tks!

Pink
i didnt really get the O joke le..
but 'leia leia' wu di bo very cute..i think if i were to tell it to Chloe she will BOCHUP me!

Joelle
Seth look very happy wondering at T3
i once brought Chloe to T1 or 2..she treated the place like her home..wah! crawling everywhere , i told her WEI! THIS ONE NOT UR HOME LE! ahhahaha.

Mejo
i like ur apple &amp; mum &amp; baby pics..the greenery of the outdoors certainly makes the pic so much more interesting than the indoor shots!

Yday went to Conrad for dinner with hubby &amp; Chloe..as usual she cant sit still..dun think i got any nice family shots AGAIN..haiz..

gtg back office liao..rain n rain!!
catch up again tonite.

belle: i seriously want to focus on malao zai's handsome face.. but i remembered ur nick for me.. so found my eyes roving to his butt! :p

pax,
i love your recipes!
cos they are simple.

i hate those that i have to buy the whole bottle of cinnamon powder or paprika and what nonsense just to use "a dash" of them!

thanks for sharing!

btw, saw tat i have a missed call. you looking for me?

aiya pax,
sayang. i missed it again!
never mind, see when you come again lah.
just paisei your book still with me

astro,
it's precisely i'm not IT savvy that i "refuse" to go to the google groups etc. last time pax had to spend a lot of time just to make sure i know how to sign in. just like star getting me into her thermos page or sth
i tell you, save your time. dun bother

SQ, I am not professional la. See my viewpoint as a mum.
If it’s from professional view, Kindermusik is slightly better.

1. Before class: Quite okay because all bb were exploring toys (balls, some alphabets) on floormat. Forgot if there was music at background or not. Mummies were chatting while bb were playing.
2. Ice breaker: The class started with introduction &amp; greetings, quite good.
3. Songs: They have quite a number of rhymes and songs, not bad. Interesting lyrics.
4. I also find that giving each bb a chance to touch at jellyfish is not so interesting. Not all bb like it and its kind of a waste of time. Imagine that we have 10 bb inside the class, then 5 sec each, and will be about one minute in order to finish the activity. Each bb has only 5 sec, and of course they will tend to defocus and make noise. Somemore, it took quite a long time before the teacher took out the jellyfish, jams, etc.
5. Cereal activity: This is not good. All babies just wanted to eat them instead of pasting them on the paper. Somemore, its not age appropriate for them though the highlight was to let bb peel away the doublesided tape.
6. Action activities with bb: No comment on this because I find them ok. Most bb like actions and its quite fast.
7. Story telling: Failed badly.
8. A-Z flashcards + songs: Songs ok, but teacher asked bb (with mum’s help) to match the cards with those on the wall. Quite ridiculous cause it’s again not age appropriate.
9. Break time: BEST time cause tian and ethan busy eating biscuits and drinking water from the same type of strawcups.
Pincer grips are not a problem to them at all. (see, the cereal activity failed in point 5).
10. Yes the theme was J. some reinforcement was there as repetition of J related items were mentioned in a few activities.

So overall GUG class tries to squeeze everything into a single lesson, which has no focus of learning. Therefore, it might be too tiring for our bb at this stage.

SQ: The only thing I feel is the lesson is too long. 1.5hrs?!? I already complain Shichida's 75mins is long, altho' usually the class doesn't last 75mins lah.
Duration is more for a playschool instead of a weekend class.

SQ
hahhaa yeh im a lazy person, i hate meetings and discussions - mostly waste of time, i will fall asleep :p so i rather they tell me, yes/no, good/bad.....then i decide.

hmm..why i send her there? personally, i just want my bb to socialise and enjoy herself at this stage, if she grasp anything from the lessons, that's a bonus.

i should be getting the left kitchen set

Blurbelle
Nana posted that if you O during sex, likely to get BOY. so i asked mummies with boys whether they did O.... Ms angel somehow mistaken O as nauseousness, so she posted that she O when she brushes her teeth, damn funny lor.

astro
err..our GUG trial was 17th Feb

Kitchen Set: I don't know why I'm not drawn to buy Anna one. Mummy can't even cook herself. Seems like an irony?
But guess all bb girls will like masak masak when they're young.

SQ: i dun believe in not being able to learn.. come come.. let's do it together :p.. one day i will bring my laptop.. and we can explore the GG together ..

ya.. that lady.. ha! i dun remember her liao. u got good memory.. i still searching my gug review .. lost in the mountain of archives we have !

QQ: u very fastleh. ok. u attended GUG not long ago :p

blurbelle, its organised by garfield.. dunno if she is here.

SQ, cereal activity.. no leh.. all bb eating cereal what.. no good comment about that activity.. same as u.

SQ/QQ
i do feel that some of the GUG activities are ridiculously inappropriate for 12mths bb, esp the matching of cards on the wall. SO even if i want to sign up, that would be after 18mths.

guess i'd made up my mind, just a nearby small playgroup should be good enough for the time being... hahha i called the dou dou class up and the organiser said Im over gancheong, she's not even 18mths yet :p

astro,
we just lim kopi together and let the kids play
no need the laptop

i'm that bad

pax,
i take another book from you and will mei2 wan2 mei2 liao3
i buay tahan owe pple things for so long. cannot zzz

ya, which school matthew attending? near clementi?

oh..bbmouse i see.
i think the jam + cracker's activity sounds good (SQ) but we din have it during our lesson last week (astro, last week nia). the cereal activity hm..
Dlim will have the same comment as me.. not so good right?
haha! its hard to please all paretns bah.

ok.. maybe ask us this.
if our bb like to paste cereal on paper, we can also do it at home, right?