(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ: yalor.. stressful.. then cannot be people with recessive genes for T.. can't have kids right?

how ur gynae know there is recessive genes for T in the family? before that he already know hence suggested the test.. or took the test than he reacted on it..?

astro,
think there were signs, then i did the tests. and confirmed his fears. or sth lidat. seems so far liao

i rem kinder only allows one free makeup. whatever it means. sounds stupid to me

yaya. bbmouse, SQ, we dun drink hot soup right? we wait till it settle to a reasonable temperature bah, then drink. I also asked my colig the same ?? last time. haha! Dun tell me u gals gallop hot soup and make yourself perspire perspire?

QQ: i got one chinese teacher. in secondary school.. he told us during one chinese lessons.. thatn he is that kind who GULPS down hot hot porridge.. i dunno if he perspires.. but he commented that he thinks his interior all brunt liao! haha..

astro,
i can't rem leh. think my low blood count or sth lidat.
ya, i miss one and they told me only arrange for one makeup. i dunno what happens to the 2nd and 3rd lah

oh no. i think baby also feel hot inside womb woh... do u think so?? hm.. not sure if anyone done the temperature test on bb.. or bb's response to hot soup..

QQ, SQ,
I also like to drink super-duper hot soup.. but the thing is, i don't perspire! oh oh.. something wrong with me liao.

all the talk abt test reminds me of my amnio test. so stress before, during & after the test. worst is waiting for the call.

Starfruit!
I know which one I confused Pine Garden with liao. It's Neo Garden!!! That's the one that does catering.. all along I had thought both are one and the same! aiyoh.. cause of the Garden in their names.. that's why I was scratching my head thinking how come PG got do catering but not listed in their website.. hahaha.. blur me!

Carol,
why must u do amnio? You are not above 35yrs mah.. not really needed right? I thot do OSCAR or Triple Test can liao? I did Triple Test only (blood test). I thot normally for us, just do blood test first.. if discovered to be high-risk, then doc will advise to do amnio.

I think Anna lifts up my shirt to see the underneath cos I think she thinks the baby is underneath the shirt leh (and not in the tummy). So funny hor..

Carol,
I see.. then u must have been quite worried then. Last time my gf also had a high probability in her blood test.. but in the end, she didn't even do the amnio.. because apparently doing amnio is risky as may cause miscarraige.. anyway, her baby turned out fine.. and I think when they measured her blood at that time, it was wrong timing.. apparently the blood test can only be done at a specific week.. if too early or too late, the result could be false positive.

autum/bbmouse: my doc was very confident of the procedure. anyway, also glad its done cos can be 100% sure bb is alright. also can confirm its a boy

Autum,bbmouse-I was 24 when I preg so doc say I shd have low risk of bb DS but NTSCAN shows high risk, so I was ask to do the blood test also which shows high risk too, NTSCAN+blood test = OSCAR right?

I was very scared, lived in fear everyday then I went for the amino test and even paid for the fast results to be out in 2 days, lucky everything was fine. I 24 yet still shows high risk, I think sometimes also bu zhun one.

Actually I feel tat Oscar is not necessary...somemore so expensive. Actually my gynae dun encourage, he said it's a new gimmick. WIth blood test, everything can clearly tell.
But i kiasi, still go thru it.

Enne,
Ya, I think buay-zun one.. well, touch wood.. but even if all the tests shows negative, there is still a possibility the baby could be DS.. so really must leave to God also.

erm, NTscan + Blood test doesn't mean OSCAR leh. or rather it depends on what type of NTscan and what type of blood test? in my case, my doc did a so-called NTScan.. which is he did his normal scanning of my stomach.. then he zoomed in on the neck area and measured the space between the neck and skull (the NT).. he said it looks fine. then he drew my blood for bloodt test.. which is the Triple Test. I know mine is definitely not OSCAR..

bbmouse,
what do they do for OSCAR?

I am supposed to see my doc tomorrow nite.. but I am thinking of shifting it to Friday day time.. so that I can take MC.. haha.. aiya.. actually it's because I am trying to siam this stoopid department thingy.. cos they are arranging that our dept staff go to do some Adventure Learning thing.. it's like Outward Bound kind of jumping around, scaling ropes or whatever.. cos my school recently had this Adventure facility.. so they wanted staff to go and use and do bonding!

Autum: OSCAR test has a detailed sca, the nuchal translucency test and the blood blood test lor.
I'm also going to see him on Fri. Hope to see the heartbeat clearly this time round.
Yah lah. If you're on MC that day, then no need to go for this adventure thingie. siao! pregnant how to do?

ehh. not sure how useful this is.. but i did the OSCAR.. at TMC.. and it is very similar to what Autum did.. except that the NT scan s done by a sonographer. not the gyane.. and they did a long long scan..quite some time taken. coz she was trying to gauge tehe proportions of teng and see if it appears within the 'correct region'.. and of course access the gender and also the neck thickness.. took about 15 minutes or so.. then i received a a detailed printout showing the percentile of the various parts against the norms (already in womb,length of teng's legs were at 97%.)..

then drew blood as usual. sent for test. wait for call,, got feedback on the risks of down sydrome based on my age..

is this the OSCAR? remembered it is coz on my payment invoice, it says 'OSCAR'....

bbmouse,
actually hor, I suspect that what my doc did for me can also be considered as 'OSCAR' leh. Just that his machine is not as advanced so cannot be considered as doing detailed scan.. but in reality, all they need to measure is the NT (which is the area from neck to skull).. so if the scanning person (doctor or scan technician) is skilled enough to be able to measure.. even on a not-so-good machine, i think it can be considered as NT scan bah..

Cos I remember asking my doc abt NT scan.. and his reply was, "there I scan for you already".. I didn't want to ask too much.. so I just orh orh.. anyway.. since I am sticking to the same doc.. so I supposed this time round, it's the same thing for me.

Autum: My gynae also scanned for me. But he still recommended the OSCAR test. I did it at NUH. I actually feel the machines at NUH not as hi-tech as the one my gynae has. Even the scan printout is of a lousier quality. The scan is darker and blurer etc.

Astro: Yah, I got that report too.

Astro,
I read your post.. and then what Angel's gynae said about OSCAR being a new gimmick.. now I am beginning to suspect there is really not much of a difference.. other than the 'detail-ness' of the scan.. I think, as long as your gynae is confident of gauging the NT (on his/her own machine).. then the detailed scan may not be necessary?

Maybe the detailed scan can give more finalised statistics.. like you said, whether the baby falls into a certain range etc.. but ultimately they also depend on the blood test.

Autum: Even the blood test is based on probability, not 100%. Actually I'm not sure if the blood test in OSCAR is the same as the triple blood test.
Becos one has 60% accurarcy, the other 90%.

Oscar:
I also went. Gynae said can dun go for me. i went cause hb came back last time, and timing just right so went for detail scan so tat he can see.
if i have a 2nd one, i won't go liao cause its not needed.

i think it is just my 'buay tahan' character.. i actually do ask about the various tests/signs and attempt to seek an explanation/clarification on it.. for each gynae visit. i do have a list of quesitons for EUnice chua.. haha. till she 'buay tahan'.. and say.. 'girl. everything is normal'.. hahahaa..

but i feel that i need to learn and in the process i become as informed as the specialists mah? They are paid highly because they are the experise and can give good explanations and educate me..no?.. chey.. haha :p

oh! not sure if this is going to complicate matter.. OSCAR is done before u do the amoniacentesis (i know for sure wrong spelling.. but u all get the drift?) because it is less invasive and provides a rather accurate of of probabilty of DS for the cbild.. amioncentesis is invasive. coz need to prick thru levels to draw out the fluid in the sac.. might prick bb and such. but this is highly accurate for probaliity of DS. Dr Chua did explictly explain that if OSCAR results not good, then must do the amnio..

triple t test - recalled reading it.. and it appears different from Oscar and aminio.. aiya. next preg.. DEF must reread all these liao :p

i think the higher the maternal age, they normally push for this. coz want to be absolutely sure.. coz prbability of DS increase with maternal age.. though i am equally puzzled with Enne's case..

Astro: Yah, I know the OSCAR is done before the amniocenthesis. If the prob is low for DS for the OSCAR, then no need to go for amnio. While the OSCAR test is totally non-invasive, there is a 1% chance of miscarriage for the amnio test. The chances of a miscarriage used to be much higher (ie 10yrs or even 5yrs ago).

My gynae said:
- What if the Child is DS? will you want to terminate your pregnancy?
Answer: if yes, then can consider Oscar.
If NO, then don't bother.

Astro: I know for the OSCAR test, the range takes into account the mother's age as well. As in, for a mum whose age is 34, 1/1000 is already acceptable, but if her age were only 24, then it would have been unacceptable. For age 24, a lower probability is warranted. So we can say a stricter "pass" is required of the younger mums. Something like this lah.

Autumn
Yah...tat's wat my gynae says too..he said he do measurement of the neck & skull thing thru ultrasound scan every time i go for chk-up & its the same. Somemore i went for OScar at TMC & I feel the nurse oso do photographic then measure..not much difference but jus a report come out stating the probability ratio. If I hv a 2nd child, i wont go for it again.

Aiyo..so suay yday nite i met a MAD MALAY MAN at the void-deck near my mom's hse. He was chasing after me n BB, xia si wo le

He kept shouting 'Hey, Where are you going' (xmany time)...sob sob sob then i quickly push the pram fast fast to avoid him. He was chasing behind me limply...ahhhhhh.....I pushed n pushed...luckily got 2 malay teens come from opp direction & the mad man stopped n walked away. We were just 3mtrs apart! Aiyo...sweat man! Told me hubby, he asked me to report police. Gosh? need meh?

OSCAR = One Stop Clinic Assessment of Risk.
Hahah!

QQ: I feel even if the parents want to keep the baby, it's still good to be prepared mentally for it.

angel, ask your ah lao show the man his muscle... those moving type... ask him to gek a bit.

wah. kidding la.. a bit scary leh.

bbmouse, astro,
ya, i remember something abt OSCAR being more accurate than Triple Test.. hmm, I would like to hazard a guess..

Technically, Triple Test is just a blood test, without any scanning at all. So if a woman goes to say a Polyclinic for ante-natal care, she is actually not being scanned each time.. cos Poly got no such services.. however, she can opt to do the Triple Blood Test. then if results come back.. the accuracy level is not as high as OSCAR.

I think in our case, since we all go to private gynaes, our gynae can actually do the scanning for us.. but of course, theirs is not the detailed scan.. but as I said, if the gyane is confident of his scan.. then maybe it's good enough for the NTScan. So that, plus the Triple Blood Test combined, may be overall good enough?

Anyway.. having said all that.. I suppose if money is not an issue, then no harm doing OSCAR bah.. since it's non-invasive.. last option is to do amnio.

QQ: ur gynae.. haha. very resolute in seiving out 'unnecessary' tests. .a bit cold (though absolutly true) the way he put it..

ok.. hope i dun get shot for this.. if i find out the child has DS. i will abort it. coz i knwo with my character, i cannot handle it. so i will do it. however cruel that makes me sound to be..

Angel: I think you shd leh. In case that man harrass other people in the neighbourhood as well. If he's mentally unstable, then he needs help.