(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RR,
I thot only 1st Sep will be school hol, why 2nd Sep also school hol? I blur le. I don't need to take leave cos I am on holiday at that time.. i am saying all those working la. Like your parents, Kent etc.. and you too.

I don't mind go 5days but i thot HK nothing much to do de :p

CK,
I think SQ promo must wait till much nearer the date.

RR,
Tiger cheaper than Jetstar? The price we see on the website, got include baggage, for Tiger?

Autum,
this year onwards, Children's Day and Teachers' Day holiday will be on the Fri for that 1st Sep/1st Oct week.

3 days' leave for them ok.

Why HK nothing to do?? 4 days too rush.

Rr, I think yr travel dates, sq will not have any promotion, and not lower than 300.

Autmn, better plan for 5 days...then 3days 2 nights in Disneyland, can see 2 nits of firework.

Autum 4 days too rush lah u need 5 days my propsed IT for u
Day 1 - arrival shopping at kowloon ( can go up peak for dinner n night view if time permits)
Day 2 - disneyland
Day 3. - Lantau island n citygate outlet shopping
Day 4 - central / causeway bay or ocean park
Day 5 - peak n rest of shopping around hotel before heading
to airport.

There u go! 4 days really not enuff lah.

Autum,
nope, not inclusive of luggage. Jetstar's pricing also not inclusive of luggage mah.
Jetstar timings no good, either 6am or 3pm. Then coming back either 11am or 8pm ...

RR: i have stayed in a few hotels
- Grandtower Mong kok (Mong Kok MTR no more around)
- Metropark MOngkok (bear to lai Chi Kok MTR, very near to fa yuen street where to sell all woman clothings, good place to shop)
- Prudential
- Shamrock
- Benito (Tsim Tsa Tsui MTR)
- Hong Kong Island side near to peak

My personal fav is still a hotel at Mong Kok side, i love the vibrancy there but it may be a bit fu4 zha2), so good places to conisder is Tsim Tsa Tsui(Benito or Astro's YMCA Salisbury) MTR or Jordan MTR - Shamrock or Prudential.

Edde, CK, SQ all can give good hotel recommendations as well, u need to ask them too.

CK, RR and Autum are chiongsters, 1 day then can complete the whole park.. hahah. for my earlier 2 trips to DL, i did it in 1 day, but agree with u, if its the first time going there, 1 day may be too rush.

RR: anyway if u hit school holidays, chances are there are a lot of ppl at DL, so queues for rides will take a longer time too.
We were there from 9am to 10pm at night after fireworks. But damn tiring lor.

RR, i stayed in Causeway bay...the hotels i stayed are not really the worth the $$ type...so nothing to recommend you : (

OT starts tonite! My eyes r shutting off...hope my awfully choc cake will wake me up later.

CK, i stayed at central once, i dun like it.. so quiet at night, still prefer kowloon side, more shopping and much more happening during the night. i used to also stay at my uncle's plc at the peak but gave up and decided to stay on my own at kowloon side cos its such a hassle to travel down and up! even though HK cab fare do not have midnight charges.

Star,
Thanks! Wow, we have HK-trip-advisor here! Thanks for the suggested iti.. I am so lazy. Haha.. thanks for your list of hotels too.

RR,
Oh, I didn't know HK so exciting de. Wahahah... I must be damn jialat. So u more or less confirm those dates le?

Autum,
ya, if my parents can't make it then we'll go on our own. They went a few times le, can go or don't go.

Starfruit,
tks. I look at the hotel names, I feel giddy le. I forward everything to Kent, ask him go check. :p

RR/Autum, i think RR can really shop, so pls allocate more time for her to go shopping. i like citygate outlet shopping cos they have a huge esprit outlet there and the clothes are soo cheap. RR there is a coach outlet there too, so if u see any bags u fancy, the prices are ok. and not to mentioned the sports brand outlets there like adidas, nike, timberland etc. can spend 1 day shopping there.

Autum, citygate is at Tung Chung MTR, directly above. Tung Chung MTR is also the stop to get to Lantau island via the Ngong Ping 360 cabele car.
www.citygateoutlets.com.hk/

My suggestion, for your lantau/Citygate IT, go early, take the NP360 cable car to lantau (the ride is fantastic, cos u go across part of the ocean, and i love it) to reach lantau island, tour for half day there, go see the big buddha etc, have vegetarian lunch at the big buddha and come back to continue shopping at citygate for the rest of the day before heading back to kowloon to your hotel. MTR from downtown kowloon to ung chung is approx 40mins.

RR, Autum, i did DL in 2 days too coz i bought the package from disneyland HK website, they include 2 day pass. first day we chiong all the shows, 2nd day we chiong all the rides. and yes, pls avoid wkend! i purposedly chose to go on wkday so that it wasnt so crowded.. esp the 2nd day morn, Q for rides were manageable

i am opposite from star, i love the hotel at central! with kids along, its really hard to shop, so we reached hotel every nite at 9pm, turn down and sleep! the next day the kids woke up so early, so we started the day earlier as well.

ya i took tiger. dave said no more tiger next time. wahahhahahahhah!

autum, we spent abt 3k for 5D4N including airfare, hotel, and everything bao gah liao! but we din buy a lot of stuff back.. mostly in our stomachs :p

the ring. i will ask my bro for the website and show u guys :p

Star,
Ok, so that means, we stay in Kowloon area, take MTR to TungChung in the morning, go Lantau, then come down in afternoon to do shopping in Citygate, then take MTR from TungChung back to Kowloon? Sorry if the question sounds stupid :p

edde, hahah pls give some reccomendations to RR/Autum for hotels in central.
Yeah i am total opp i love to shop, rae likes to stay in hotel and a few times, i ditch her and hb and went out on my own, cos my hotel at kowloon side is so accessible to shopping.

RR/Autum, cosmestics/skincare products are also cheaper in HK

RR,
U know what, I am really taking down notes in a small notebook!!

Edde,
oh, so all in still need 3k la. Then in that case, the package i saw from Cathay is not that bad. But still exp la.

Autum/RR: to add on to your notes.. if you are not taking the DL hotel + park pass combo package but only buying the park passes on its own, get the passess at the airport cos u can get them cheaper from the travel counters there as compared to directly at the park entrance.

For day to day travel, u gals will prob use the MTR and Buses, get a octopus card at the airport (u will see the counter once u exit from the restricted area) and can use it immediately. u can use on buses, MTR and even use to buy stuff at bakery, supermart, 7-elevens etc very convenient.

hahhaha star and i r really very diff! i am really not a shopping person, i love HK for her food!!!!!! but i do regret not hvg gone citygate

star, if ask me to go shopping alone i wont de... coz no one to give me yi jian...

central hotel i strongly rec courtyard marriott! cheap and gd

star is rite. i bought my ocean park tickets from this tour agency counter in airport too.. cheaper. china travel services or something. very near the octopus counter.

autum, yr cathay package is already 3k excluding food, trpt and shopping wor...

Edde,
hmmm ... so if stay Central then no shopping at night? I think Kent and I will take turns to go shopping on our own at night.

What other hotels you recommend outside Central? My WA sot sot, can see, cannot see. :S

Hk trip?

Citygate: If you re not planning to go Lantau, then citygate could be the last place to go before heading to the airport, cos it s on the way. Alternatively, go to cityfate first before heading towards hotel.

Star: You miss out Stanley wor.. But that can be done with ocean park lah..

edde, haha so u found the china travel services counter too.. hahah yeap thats the plc to get but have to check expiry date for the tickets lah.
BTW< how much did u pay for courtyard mariott? cos the hotel sounds expensive leh.

BTW, RR and Autum, i snapped a pic of this china travel services counter, let me know and i can email u the pic for identification. cos this counter not that easy to find and at first glance they look like they only do visa to china!
U can get your ocean park tickets, NP260 cable car tickets (Which allows u to jump queue from the reg queue line, will share more info on how to do that if u are planning to take the ride) as well as DL tickets.

edde, i prefer to shop on my own somtimes, so no one to nag at me hahah and i can take my time to decide what i want.. hahaha

AAA,
I mean go walk around alone at night? Cos Starfruit mentioned she went out on her own for her hotel at Kowloon .

Starfruit,
which hotel was that?

AAA: yes! how can i forget stanley.. hahah.. yeah, half a day enuff right? and yes they can do with ocean park or if they do not want to do ocean park, cna just spent at stanley and then come bac to central and go to causeway bay for dinner and shopping!

RR: if u want to take turn to go shopping, stay at kowloon side, cos once u come down from the hotel, u have shopping already, more accessible and u can go on your own for 1 -2hrs and then go back to the hotel to meet kent and the kids! the G2000s, bossini which can be found everywhere has a wider range compared to SG.

RR: the entire nathan road is accessible to shopping, depending on what u want to buy, very walkable too and if u stray too far, take a bus back cos its a straight road. u have the reg boutiques and the night markets! all the hotel i listed (kowloon side) is accessible to shopping.

germ, ok will email u cos photo at my home computer now. wen are u going to HK?

RR: and along the stretch u can see a lot of sasa and bonjour, get your cosmetics and skin care there, cheaper too. U need to go agryle centre (Mong Kok) lah, with ur frame and size, u can get lots of stuff there.. kinda like our far east but cheaper pricing. and u can buy lots of HK stuff too.. hahah

RR: Yah, I suggest you stay at Kowloon side too. More shopping and the night market, Tung Choi Street etc is all at Kowloon side.

Star: We ended up staying more than half a day at Stanley Market! Haha.. It was totally unexpected. After that we went for dinner at Kowloon side, and then only had time to go for night shopping ler.

Star,
yes, pls email me too. Wah, we are getting so much info from you and edde, really thanks to you both!

RR,
now u feel like flying there NOW right?? :p

RR, Sports stuff is cheaper in HK too. Things like running attire, shoes etc etc.. Birkins is also cheaper there, and they have the whole selection. And yah, cosmetics brands - Fancyl, H2O etc all cheaper there.

aiyo u two are making me excited leh, must convince HB to make another trip there too!

Uniqlo is slightly cheaper in HK(there is an outlet at Mirama hotel along nathan road)I think its a good time for u all to go cos aug time is summer sale period and all the prices gets slash and many as much as 70%!

AAA: i think i really must include stanley in my IT for my next trip, will ask u again on what i can do and see at stanley if my trip is confirmed!! hahah i totally do not have any info on stanley at all!!!

AAA: the sports shoes (adidas, nike, puma) has nicer designs in HK, cos i think the HK ppl trendier thus they bring in all the very unique fashion style for these sports wear. There is an entire sports street at Fa Yuen Street, go there if u want to buy any sporting attire/shoes.

Star: Hmm.. It's just lots of shoping outlets. But remember I went with a group of 6 girls, so a lot of time was spent waiting for each other to finish the shopping before we move on to the next shop. I got Ayden a Mcqueen bag and Anna a HK bag there. Erm.. My friend who bakes fondant cakes got figurines at one of the shops. Then we all got clothings for our maids cos was really cheap. And even the big bag we all bot that got us lots of attention when we use it together, we got it there too.
Overall, prices for shopping there was the most decent..

Its really shop til u drop in HK! I haven't been there before the way u gals described makes me so eager to go!! Maybe shld ask hb to go HK than go bkk.

Star: Yup, we went there. Cos one of the girls was looking to buy a pair of Adidas walking shoes for her hubby. So we almost combed the entire Fa Yuen Street! That's where I ended up buying a pair of Birkins and a Puma wind breaker (in maroon pink) cos was waiting for her.. And yes, the designs and colors are trendier in Hk than in S'pore.