(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

OH then i should get swim diapers where huh> oh do u know wat sorta vit i can give ethan if i want him to gain weight?? i find him skinny n dun eat well.. a few times some ppl tell me he looks like 6 mths. just now when out dinner w my dad, there is another bb boy.. maid told me the boy is 5 mths! n he look abt same size as ethan.. ethan will turn 9 mths in a few days time.

I was doing assignment with a four yo girl last time. My fren's kid. Wee were chatting and she said she likes to draw. Drawing is one of a good way to know how a child think, what she likes. She draw something and told me it is a flower. Ok.
Then I saw a sun, etc etc from the picture. Eventually she talk about growing flowers and turn into a garden.
Bingo. I got the topic. I prompt her about growing flowers, ask her if www know what to prepare ?
She said can grow baby flower from seeds. Then I just took out a paper, as her to record what to buy, then we go buy tools and things needed for this project.
She wrote and drew, seeds la, sun la, pots, water, etc etc, with some promptings from me.
And wee went into planting flowers,
Actually scaffolding can be that simple, butbshe din know about fertilizer, so I told her www can include that in,
And she took photos of her plants every other day, etc.
Etc.

In this case, the girl is able to do it independently, I mean plan, plant, water plants and grow flowers by herself next time, and she will remember to put fertilizer and that was her interests then. If half way her interests really changed, we can continue to scaffold or switch to encourage her skills development instead of knowledge, etc, writing some words that she doesnt know, all theses provided that she has a strong interest to write out those words,
If she like colour mixing, we just guide about colour changes, blending and mixing while the topic is on flowers. She will be fascinated about the colour changes and forgot bout flowers. Etc.
Flowers are ONI the main pivot,

QQ,
hmmm ... this adult scaffolding child's free play is very familiar to me. That's what we do.

Cos Reyden is very curious about things so each time he comes across something new, interesting, he'll ask lots of questions about it. Then I'll really take pix, come back show them, google for more info and talk to them about it. It'll then become our daily/weekly activity or their bedtime topic till the next thing comes up.

Belle,
swim diapers think those places that sell diapers will have, right? Last time we got the Huggies ones.

Vits got to ask the experts here le, I'm not too sure.

RR, so I think they are having fun and really learning as they play because mama is busy scaffolding them.
Sometimes their interests die off just like that, even before we start, it is fine DDR. Just wait for other chances to do it again,
Well done!!!

oh RR! i think u can really take YH as another one of ur Rs liao! i suddenly remembered this..
last night.. middle of the night.. yh was sleeping on the big bed between me and miser.. then i heard him crying.. i opened my eyes.. the boy was on his fours.. pushing himself backwards.. eyes still closed.. till he got off the bed with eyes still closed! .. shucks.. is he then doing a 'reyden'? escaping from the bed? :S

Mummies... You all still around? I watched Rites today... It s quite scary.. :p I m scared ler... Anthony Hopkins is good.
Sorry for the abrupt change in topic..

Let me go catch up on the posts since I left...

Astro,
hahaha!! Why he wants to escape from the bed? Where did he go after getting off the bed? Sounds like Reyden with the eyes closed. He can go to the toilet and back to bed in the middle of the night with his eyes closed! I was telling Kent we don't have to leave the lights on since he don't even open his eyes. haha!

QQ,
let me go back up and read what you and Astro were talking about this scaffolding. Now I know at least I'm doing something right, hahaha!!

Another example, going to bored u all down,

Another 4yo boy, he was flipping a book of cars. He told me his papa was driving a car, honda, etc, then I look at that picture asking him if he know the parts of a car? He said wheels, then I ask him how many wheels his papa,s car has? He said two, then wee talk about other things., about car.
I identified that he doesnt know about four wheels rather than two, so I provided boxes, etc materials and www started making a car model, he agreed.
Ended up the car was not balanced with two wheels, so I asked him to observe his papa,s car again, and he came back out another two wheels in,
A tussle he already knew it when we were working on the model, but he went back home and confirm again.
He always see the car from one side ma. He tot ONI two wheels, v logical wo. And most of the car pictures also showing two wheels nia,

Astro,
the googling and taking pixs are part of my own interests too! It's simpler than sitting down and going through worksheets/books with them. :p

Astro, the ONI difference in scaffolding and extending interests is, before we scaffold, we must understand the kid, their skills and knowledge, then we scaffold and make them learn something that they dunno, or the next milestone, if there is a milestone to identify,

We dun reteach things that they already knew,

If they can count one to ten, we don't give them ten or less than ten apples to count, u get what I mean?
W give them more to count, if we were to extend the math and counting skills,

RR: i catch him back lor.. :S his feet were on the floor liao.. and he was crying with eyes closed :S

haha.. now RR is the one who is going to be hooked on scaffolding :p

QQ: ha.. i am good with technical searches hor? hur hur hur :p

RR: read more on this

http://www.earlychildhoodnews.com/earlychildhood/article_view.aspx?ArticleID=127

"Role of the Teacher
Somehow the phrase, "free play" has entered our vocabulary. "Free play" means play free of structure and adult involvement. This is unfortunate, because adults have a variety of critical roles in supporting children's play. These roles include providing materials that encourage high-quality play, structuring environments, modeling play (like when the teacher becomes a participant in a socio-dramatic activity), and introducing children to new play opportunities (girls on the workbench and boys in the dramatic play area). Vygotsky's idea of scaffolding (Berk & Winsler, 1995) is particularly useful in explaining the role of the teacher in extending play. Further, his concept of the use of private speech by children to structure, extend, and expand their own play, illustrates children's internalization of teacher scaffolding. The teacher does, in fact, have a central role in children's play."

QQ: i think scaffolding and extending interest is the same leh.. coz u start from where they are.. and u push on, encourage and push them a bit more.. Vygotsky's Zone Proximal Development.. ha.. this one my bread and butter in school! hahaha. mejo and autum will know why :p so i know what u are talking about.. hahaha.. :p

RR: serious ah? ok.. take more pix.. take more pix :p

QQ: i think u can come to my school and teach. the culture shock wun be as great for u as it wld be for others.. coz u already know something about the key principles of my school's pedagogy :p

Astro, yes.
Ibbelieve most of us scaffold our kids I. Somewhere, however, it Does nit matter.
wee do it correctly or not, the kids learn their way.
It is more effectivenif we do it systematically.
Or rather, this is how we identify good teachers. So far, I have not seen many teachers with such traits except my lecturers la.
And maybe myself, a little bit ONI, and some of my classmates that time. We were really into this and learn together.

QQ: all these are chim principles you are talking.. but i love them! hahah.. it forms the core of my work in my school! :p
eh . ur typo again.. what is 'dorsey'? that one i really can't guess.. :p

now i am thinking.. apart from a master in curriclum and teaching, a master of special needs .. maybe i shd go and get myself a master in early childhood education.. synergy! all related! hahah.. :p

SQ/RR: this one hor. what QQ is sharing ah.. let me pre=empt is chimer than the assimilation and accomodation principles that AA and me were talking sometimes back ah.. :p:p:p

Astro,
yes, yes!! I'm getting more interested in this. This sounds more interesting to me too, haha!!

I think learning by going along with the kid's interests will work well for Reyden. An example - I had been trying to get him to write his own name/words but he refused. Then one day he was spelling "Power Rangers" for us so I took the chance to test him on writing. I asked if he knows how to write that out and he could! I praised him and he felt happy of cos. The more praises I have for him, the more he wants to show me. :D

So the topic over the next few days was all his toys' names like "Kamen Rider", "Transformers" & etc ... He learnt the spelling from TV and his toys and volunteered to write out for me.

From these scaffolding examples QQ mentioned, I think I should take the chance to elaborate more on each toy like colour, material & etc ... so that he'll learn more? Am I right?

QQ: This is a very fun method. It requires lots of involvement of the adult. Putse to shame.. It is something I always dream I can be good at doing with the kids...

RR: Hey, you re very very goot lat! See!!!
And I feel you ve unknowingly privided the best enrichment class for RR!! This is best suited for their temperaments.
Reyden is a really interesting and unique boy. For his age, He provides very "adult" replies. I mean "teacher is pretty" sounds like what a cheeky jc/uni guy will provide to justify for attending lectures and sitting at the front row!! Hey, he is truly special..

Astro: Cute pics. Yah don t look that alike. YH has lots of hair! Climbing over gates? You can bring him to my house! I have gates to prevent the kids from climbing up and down the stairs and to prevent them from falling off the second floor. Each of my kids learns to climb over the gates at a very early age. :p Even meimei is doing the act of scaling the gates now!

RR, bingo, Yes. Not ONI that, u can use power rangers to teach maths, science,mccolours, as long as he is into power rangers.
But not violent pls.
If u wanna talk about violent, then can also but must manage well.

Astro, to make it more complex.
U should also draw out the ecosystem and see how these information are related to the kids, then let them learn the environment too. Relate their learning to environment,
I cannot believe that I am talking about this topic now because if I talked about this four years ago, I think all of u will throw rotten eggs at me la,
I dun spend as much Time with tian about scaffolding here learning, but sofar so good, jay can do it better in this sense, I ONI comment,

So AAA, if u happen to know someone who can teach ur kids in this way, will u put ur kids in that school?
Lots of involvement and effort, but the pay in this line is too low to make this happen effectively.

RR: see ur enthusiam?! :p

and yes! that is the extension part.. take the chance and extend.. talk about colour.. i think with reyden.. he is spirited. he likes to initiate.. whereelse teng is more passive so that's why he is okay with my initation... so for reyden. u need to find his hook.. then scope and push his learning.. that is also part of the assimilation and accomodation thingy there too..
let me try to explain so that u can understand what aa and i were sharing earlier on based on this current example

Eg: Reyden talks about power ranger.. (so he already know something about power ranger and his interest is there.. so for anything that comes his way.. he is going to exhibit a performance for something which is SIMILAR or FAMILIAR to what he knows/prefers).. if u build on (scaffolding) with things/activities related to POwer ranger.. Reyden is more keen to explore and try to make sense of this new piece of informatin that you are going to teach him.. say colours.. as long as he sees the similairity and find ease and comfort in what he is doing.. the line of connection on power ranger.. motivation.. interest driven.. all these are principles on how we all learn

clearer now?

QQ: May I ask. What us the teacher student ratio for this type of teaching? Cos the teacher has to be very very involved with the child.

iPhone is just ad irritating! :p but you ll get the hang of it slowly. Press the box if it s trying to correct your spelling..

QQ,
the violent and fighting part Kent takes care. He managed to make him understand that they only fight for good cause, only fight the baddies. Sounds like moral studies liao ... haha!!

Wah, can teach Maths and Science? I need to go read up on that le. Let me know if you have any reading materials on these too.

AAA,
oh, you look at the music teacher and the S&D teacher, you will know then, haha! The S&D teacher don't quite have "ren yuan". :p

AA: scaffolding and learning via play is very fun.. and it makes the brain work a lot. coz it needs organisation.. but it cannot be overtly obstrusive else it takes the initative away from the kid.. hahaha.. i shd be bringing teng to ur house to scale the gates!

QQ: ha.. i think u come my school lah.. seriously.. it would be a breeze for u.. and u might just enjoy it.. hur hur hur...

RR: can lah.. just change the contexts.. it is easy.. let me try to suggest one..

*Reyden fiddles with power ranger*
u go and ask him what he is doing.. then u take power ranger figurine from him and ask.. what happens if u turn it in a particular direction, a few times? have reyden to guess..

and u know what u are teaching him? Spatial awareness! mathematics!

Astro,
yes, yes, I get what you mean. You are right, Reyden's a very interest-driven boy. That's why I say this will work well for him.

I wanted to teach him about plurals with Power Ranger too cos they show it with 's'. So I told him there are more than 1 thus the 's'. Then he asked about Reyes. hahaha!!

Haha. AAA, actually we can do a group scaffolding, the answer is depends....
Age, what we want to explore.
It can be a group of ten kids to one teacher, if the kids are independent enough, etc. They help each others.
For younger kids, one teacher to 3-4 kids is already a lot,
However, Many parents are unaware that this is a better method of teaching.
So they change to thematic teaching, guided and supported by teachers, also ok, but this one is in between theory and practical,
Some kids are not that interested.

For group scaffolding, eveyone has diff interests, so educatior roles also include how to integrate and make their works, projects into one, or two big stories,

RR, my house got books, but can b very dry. U wanna read ???sure?

Astro,
wah ... spatial awareness ... math ... chim. I probably can't do it. I wouldn't think of this if you don't mention.

Astro, got some clash with Montessori sometimes.
Especially the practical life skills.

RR, I think u just need to learn the few roles of adults, can le.

Modeling
Providing resources
Asking questions
Etc

QQ,
books on this scaffolding, free play? I don't mind reading up on it. Will get the books from you when I see you next time. Your tupperwares still with me. :p

QQ: Hmm... Hey u asked a very poignant question. Will I send my kids to this school, if there is one. Is this full time or as enrichment? I may for enrichment. But for full time.. Erm... Needs some convincing. Why? Because this method s success or failure is too dependent on the teacher in question. Too much of a risk to take for sending kids There full time.
Fair answer??

AA: like what QQ says. it depends.. u can sccafold skills or content.. content can be purely abstract. hence that is more like a closer monitoring of paths of thoughts which might appear.. and hence deliberatey design something 'close by' to push that thinking.. the casees QQ shown u are such examples.. this one is less than manpower intensive..

but if do the see a snail and come back take pix kind. tha tone needs a sharper awareness. coz u are reacting to a stimulus..

either one.. lots of thoughts to be put in..

QQ: RR hooked liao :p

RR: may i suggest a simple principle which u can keep in mind... ? extend his interest.. keeps pushing.. dun lead.. let reyden show u what he is keen in. an du build on.. like that shd be easier

QQ: why is there a clash?

AA: it is a whole school driven approach.. it is never left to the whines and fancies of any individual teachers.. there are lesson plans with key learning objectives.. and how each planned scaffolding should help to realise that planned objectives.. it is more controlled than it seems on the surface..

RR: i have an idea of some potential urls which u can read.. easier to read also. but next week then i googled for u :p

Astro,
that principle is easy to remember cos he'll never allow me to lead. If he starts talking/asking us about something and we digress to something not of his interest, he'll ignore us and continue with his own talking/questions. :S

QQ, Astro, RR: Maybe I m the "typical" KS parent. It sounds like a teaching method used widely in the states. But I don t think it s common in China or japan for example...
RR s case is the best. You have an aptitude in this area, your kids have a regular program they follow, and you provide them with the best enrichment there is. Being their mother, you have both the motivation and vested interest to make the "lessons" successful.
But if it s someone else being the teacher, I ll have to be convinced by the teacher first wor, even if there are guidelines.

AAA,
hmmm ... I will consider sending Reyden to such a school fulltime wor. Can't really explain why but I got a feeling he'll learn more and happier in such a learning env.

AA: i teach thinking and problem solving skills to students..
i also train the staff to facilitate/create curriculum.. my unit is the training unit of the my org.. for all schools and centres..
so erm.. if we define new staff as students.. then ya. i teach 'students' to become 'teachers'.. ha..

but teachers.. all sama sama one.. our knowledge base

i need to brush up on my credentials..work a few more years.. publish papers...
then i can possibly go NIE to teach liao.. hahahaa...

AAA, yes. Precisely. We have done surveys before, this kind of play extension, etc will for fun ONI, according to many parents, they still want their kids to learn reading, writing
and most importantly, bring back worksheets and show parents,
U know what I mean. Cause u are one le. Haha. It is v v common de, and immediate results are that powerful,

SAd to say that this kind of play extension, scaffolds will be the best if it happens at Childcare, however it is quite impossible in sg because most cc teachers are not that enthu plus they have too many other routine work to do,

the way u girls r gg.. WAH!

this is wat i do w Jo.. when she 1st started writing her own name, i urged her to write other letters. she wrote A, then she asked to write B, then C, then D. same for numbers... also lots of praises and encouragement.

when she's playing lego, i'll ask her wat's the colour? and ask her what things she know are of those colours.. like blue - blue sky, blue wall (my room wall is blue) etc. she learn by association.

it's quite similar to scaffolding?

like what QQ meant to say "'somewhere, however, it doesn't matter..."