(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro: Look at grip 4, my thumb is placed entirely over the pencil body and almost touching the forefinger. When I look at my own grip as I'm writing, the thumb is jutting out from the pencil body. I can write using grip 4 but my natural pencil grip is as described above.

Germaine: Haha.. True.. I don't kill the bees that come visit us either.. And I've learned to ignore most bugs.. We have strange looking ones around, day and night..

AAA,
ya, huajiao comes from big fishes like shark so more expensive and the yubiao is from small fishes, cheaper. :p

AAA, YY,
not easy to hold with grip 4 leh. I also hold the pen with thumb placed over pen, infact touching the top part of my forefinger.

AAA, i think i grip pencils like you. thumbs moving out a bit.. not so close to the pencil.

CK, wah!! pig organs.. i think u need to wash many times. with salt water? i am not sure.

astro, i am glad to hear that PT is good. so far i am still having lots of ?? about PT.
tian doesn't like maths at all. and i dunno how she can survive next time. haha!!

papa mama v good in maths ( cannot dance )but end up with a dotter who is so hiao2 and can dance so well. *puzzled*
oh, jay said maybe u can try putting teng at PT K1?

i am teaching tian chinese. so after CNY, our chiense lessons starts. might be bored la, but it is nursery level woh. am thinking if should put it on saturday am instead. like 9.30-10.30am nia... then we can go out gai gai le.
actually i oni read chinese books to tian la.. by reading then slowly teach her some writing next time (6 months to one year later??)
i bought a set of books for her, so we target to recognise 100 characters by Aug 2011??
hee hee

autum: no time to download yet. got to wait till weekend at least. hope the pics turn out well. now i know why view finders are useful. mine dun hv view finder.

huingee: yep, he enjoyed the snow alot

QQ: start teaching tian chinese, i feel so stress!

AAA: KS still not cheap in the outlets

ash, welcome back.

the reason why i teach tian chinese is i dun want her to become so angmo. and i have some time now before i go into another career.. and i dun want to give up my job when she enters p1...
maybe just 3 min heat!! haha!~

QQ: how to start teaching? i will try to read 1 eng book & 1 chi book every nite. but sometimes, he will tell me "eng only, dun wan chi"

Ash, when i realised our kids will be in K1 next year, i also stressed...ha ha. Honeymoon period over.

CO cant recognise those 4 characters...

Ck
Use lime and salt to rub the pig stomach, inside and outside, den use knife to scrap away the dirt... Inside and outside too... U can flip in and out like flipping panty like tt.. I hope the description is easy to understand ... Hahaha! My hb granny do it this way.. At first I Tot wad is tt... So big soak in water... I think if I m not wrong, she blanch it before cooking... Look like placenta to mi.. I don dare to eat...

side track abit:-
Last weekend we brot the kids to the library for the first time. Our intention is to read the books in the library. When Clyde found out that we did not borrow the books at his usu story time, his cried manz. haha... end up we went back to the library and borrow the books. Sibeh drama. hahaha..

yvonne: great description!haha

wah. just ended class.. so draggy.. dunno coz of the weather.. or what. all half dead. maybe coz of the teacher feeling sian sian also. ha.. anyway..

rr/QQ/AA: i think i get what u mean by the grip..
look what i found..
http://www.sbac.edu/~werned/DATA/RESEARCH/pencil%20grip.pdf
(Scroll right to the middle when u see the 6 pictures)..

are you ladies using either The Lateral Tripod Pencil Grip or The Lateral Quadrupod Pencil Grip? in the study.. they are also considered as mature pencil grips , on par with the dynamic tripod grip.. functional grip the specialists call them.. and not does strain the wrist or shoulder muscles.. so also can!
so interesting hor?.. hahaha. i better stop become i go too deep and get obssessed with it again :p

QQ: i had that thought. then i think logistics is difficult though. also dunno.. and not cheap. PT K1..thye used montessori for that also.. so dunno if teng can switch so readily.. ..

i do hope that teng is strong in his language.. coz i believe. u need to be able to read.. else u cant understand maths too. coz maths inside.. is a form of language.
i saw on the news last night.. the education minister. i forgot his name. he quite good looking one for his age.. haha. he was commenting about the revised MT syallabus..
'if chinese is main language athome, then all teaching ought to be done in english in school and vice versa'..

Ash: yesterday i called teng.. '腾腾, come here!'
teng paused .. whatever he was doing and said 'u cannot call me 腾腾! u can only call me that when you speak chinese. you must call me Rayner!'.. i was like.. 'wah.. sure or not.. must have such a fine line?'.. hahaha
a bit like A's case :p

astro, i forgot to tell u.

last weekends tian told me about intestines, etc. cause they are learning body parts i think. there are many things she doesn't understand but someone told her the poo come out after going through the intestines. did she learn from PT? i am not sure, sounds so chim to me.

yvonne, no problem de.
oh yes. u v steady. the panty flipping. really so well described!

astro: a funny incident y'day in the car too. i told A...
me: tomorrow, you tell mama(grandma) that you big boy already, no need stroller
A: cannot! bcos mama speak cantonese

YY,
wtr: 'if chinese is main language at home, then all teaching ought to be done in english in school and vice versa'...

But isn't all teaching in school done in English? Then those who use English as main language at home, how to have all teaching in Mandarin in school?

pax: A was forced to drink fresh milk towards end of the trip cos we ran out of fm. ask him to drink fr cup but he doesnt want. then hb also say i too ambitious, want to change everything at one shot. i will warm up the milk slightly. do u warm up the milk or ur kids drink cold milk?
on the plane back, he drank cold milk cos i lazy to warm up.
at home y'day, i told him tt after his fm finish, he must switch to fresh milk like in toronto cos big boi already.

ash: if ur post in on FB. i would hve 'like' it :p the children... such innocence!!!

yesterday i did lego with teng right.. then there were some of the models. wich he puts it in the wrong orientation.. then my question is 'nope. how to make them the same?'.. teng turned the other piece so that they face one another intead of removing the peg and realigning it altogether!
ha. a bit hard to type to show here. but i was like 'yahor. that is also 'the same''.. hahahah

RR: ahhh. then cleared coz a mature grip. ha..
i always know that with different pens or pencils. my handwriting can change.. so i never truly believe the handwriting analysis tests.. now i know why!
with thinner pencils/pens.. i use the lateral tripod grip.. with thicker ones. i use the dyanmic tripod! ha.. wah liew.. imagine u go outside.. look at pple write. and tell them ' u are using the lateral tripod grip...'.. they sure look at u.. and give u 'wat the hell u talking look?'.. hahaha :p

QQ: wah.. true wor. coz things left unabsorbed from the intestines then pass thru the anus becomes poo!.. aiya. u make me heart itchy tosend teng to PT K1.. :S so nice! i think teng stagnant at LV.. :S.. but if i change teng over.. lost of logistical issues on top of a heavier cost.. miser would tell me.. 'dun rock the boat so much'...

Ladies.. Our Education Minister is Ng Eng Hen. Teo Chee Hean is our Defence Minister, and also the Deputy PM, and according to LKY, the smartest and ablest minister next to the PM!
Ng Eng Hen is an oncologist by training.

I googled for more info. What I didn't know was Ng Eng Hen is also our 2nd Minister for Defence.

i'm ashame to admit tt i'm very very bad with who are wat ministers

astro: time & again, our kids will remind us not to doubt their intelligence!

YY,
ok, so we are in a "ideal" situation, haha! Cos Mandarin is the main language at home and RR's English teacher is their form teacher so I would say 80% of the teaching in school in English.

Ash: I do not know all of them. But the key ones - Law, Transport, Manpower, Health, Finance, Home Affairs etc.. I know lah..

Astro: Yah, my grip is similar to figure 4.
Hey, on play dough. I agree with the mum. My children tend to mixed the colors and it becomes a big lump of brown. :p Plus it dries and flakes quite fast. I was just asking my maid if she knows how to make play dough - cos to me, play dough is a lot like the dough used in break/cake making mah. So the recipe has come in really handy.
I also let my children paint macaroni just now.. Actually their basic activities are play dough, lego, puzzles, painting, coloring, fight with each other, cry, shout very loudly, watching leap frog dvds, blow bubbles, watching tv, etc.. They do these everyday wor..

juz rec'd email fr A's sch tt they r planning to start chinese speech n drama. maybe this is a good start to build his confidence in chinese? but i still duno how to resolve his lunch cos start ends at 11.30 & enrichment classes start at 11.45.
any mommies facing this type of issues?

Astro: Forgot to mention one point. You have been using whether the school has a year end concert as a gauge if the school is good. Anna's school has no year end concert wor.. And I actually prefer it this way. In fact, at their old school, I opted them out of the concert.

Germaine: Really? I always throw them away when it starts to flake.. Becos I always have a young one at home, and I don't wanna risk the little one eating the crumbs. :p

Ash: Does A like strawberry or chocolate flavours? If yes, you can switch him to fresh milk by bribing him with these other flavours. I mix the milk flavours.. And I'll usually dilute the flavoured ones by adding in some non-flavoured milk too.
Actually, my children love fresh milk wor.. I think becos it's sweeter than FM.

AA: ya. i heard someone once comment Dr Ng is very smart.. i talked to him once before. in an educational settings.. not too bad. he is charistmatic in person.. also talked very brieftly to LKY before.. hmmi prefer Dr NG .. :p

ha. cute lah. shout and cry very loudly.. :p
hmmm. i like the kids in the concert. coz teng suprised me qutie a fair me that time.. so i thought it is nice.. but then again. it is also a $$ venture for PT too..

RR: haa.. ya.. last time i was also in ideal situation.. :p but i scared lah.. coz hor.. i can speak in chinese also.. but scared teng later cannot speak english :Sso i speak english lor. .so for teng.. it is 50 - 50...

YY,
but if you use English at home and school teaching mostly in English then it's not 50-50 liao?

AAA,
why you opt AA out of the concert? I actually find that the kids learn/benefit from these big scale performance, build up their confidence.

Ash,
A is not in ccc? Think most of our kids are in ccc for the enrichment so don't have the lunch timing issue bah. How about checking with his classmates' parents?

Re: Playdough
I always find it very funny to see Reyes play with this cos she will salivate!! She must have imagined it to be some food. :p But the last time she plays with it was quite some time ago so not sure if it's still the same now. haha!

RR: i meant at home.. it is 50 -5 0 for teng.. i unless i tilt it 20% more cheena :p

ya.. concert builds up confidence. that time i saw teng doing the doggy dance! i teared! he wasn't afraid! and right on tempo!

QQ: PT is very creative with their concerts. i am SURE Tian will love it! u want to send her to speech and drama classes also? less dancing there.. more speech. chinese one.. onz? :p

RR: In Anna's case, we opted out cos we weren't sure when we would be stopping her at that school. (ie not sure if she'll still be in that school when they hold the school concert) At that time, we wanted to give her a break and accustomed her to the afternoon school timing before she started in NY Kindy.
In Ayden's case, we just followed our earlier decision.
The P was quite disappointed when I told her anna wasn't joining. I remember her facial expression, and she said what a waste cos Anna's very spontaneous and has no stranger anxiety.

YY,
I always laugh when I see her play with playdough too. I thought it was a tongue muscle thingy when she was younger but apparently it's not. She's just tiam jiak and the playdough looks like some colourful kuehs? hahaha!!

RR: Hmm.. Actually it's because I don't like to attend these concerts. I find it boring. Haha..
Also, I think most schools over emphasize the year end concert. It is an avenue where the school is able to showcase the children to the parents, and naturally, as a result, they put in every effort into making this a success. A lot of the work is repetitive and making sure everyone is synchronised.
My sil has the video of my niece's year end concert, I don't think she (my niece) found what she did as super fun wor. I think my sil has more fun watching the video than my niece.

RR: i want to ask the teachers but no chance cos its hb who sends him to sch. unless i make a trip specially juz to ask abt these

AAA,
ya, somehow parents get the confidence too in knowing their kids can actually do something like that. :D
For the kids, it's a different kind of exposure in building up their confidence. Makes them more daring when facing a big group of audience in future. After each concert, they feel good cos they get the "recognition" from the audience.

RR, Astro: But it's true wor. Somehow playdough must look very delicious to the young ones.. I had to stop anna playing in the presence of Ayden when he was younger, and now I only let them play it when meimei is sleeping.