(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Dr Ong's mommies! did u know Janice is preg w #3!? her #2 was borned last May. #3 is due in Mar. she got preg immed after confinement. :p

we brought Jo to c Dr Ong jus nw. she got bitten by some insect. 4 bites. eyelid, cheek, nose and wrist. her right eyelid so swollen that her big eye is nw jus a slit. her left wrist is swollen up to mid of her forearm! so poor thing. Dr Ong gv antibiotic ointment for her eye n skin. also standby augmentin (oral antibiotic) jus in case the swell dun go down. and she had a slight fever! pengz. so toxic this insect. Dr Ong suspect the insect is a type of flying ant. i also got bitten a few times the past few nites, but thot it was jus mozzie. problem is we din c mozzie. mozzie tend to fly ard the body, but this insect sting n fly away or hide smwhere. we din even c anythg flying ard...

on the side note, i let Jo apply the eye ointment herself. i got her to sanitise her hands n put a bit of ointment on her finger, she apply herself. easier this way. otherwise she struggled when i applied this afternoon.

din realise my post so long...

pink, hw was ur trip?

star
yes, blogshop cheaper by almost sgd10.
try Brightening Rice Water Cleansing Rich Oil fr the Face Shop. quite gd. Vivi recommended this one too. i ran out of makeup remover, so got fr retail instead.

edde
i got ur PM. hv been bz in ofc. need to chk thru email archives in ofc mail. i'v fwd this CL list to SQ b4, nt sure if she still hs it.

SQ
u still hv the CL list which i fwd to u?

Autumn
it s ok. no need. i know where to get liao. jus rmbr a handicraft shop which shld hv.
thks!

Pax! So serious? What flying ant? How are the bites on you? This topic is close to my heart. About 2 weeks ago I found some insects in my toilet sink! There must have been 30 of them. Problem is I don t recognize what they are! At first glance, they looked like baby spiders - tiny bodies, but super long skinny legs on closer look, there are only 6 legs in total + 2 long fillers, so I thot maybe they re some species of ants. But unlike ants, they don t travel in a line from a source! I just couldn t figure out what they are, so I took pics and whatsapped my hubby. He told me to kill them, which I did. And to my horror, I found out they have blood! So they re some kind of blood sucking cross breed?!!? So are they mozzies? And my horror intensified when I took in the realization that there are no animals (no pets) around, so it s possibly human blood. Super gross!!
This puzzled me for a few days, there were no more such cross breeds, but the thought just kept in my mind and refused to go away. Then one morning, Anna excitedly came to tell me there was sone insects same as the ones found in my toilet! My heart missed a beat. Where?!?? She brought me to the balcony where they were playing bubbles,

AAA
Dr Ong asked if there's any construction site ard? in fact, right next door, the owner had the whole place except the facade of the semi-d tore down. she suspect the insects came fr there. problem is i dun c these toxic insects ard! did ur kids complain of insect bites? u got photo? can post? i shld post photo of Jo's face. so poor thing.

btw the bites on me hv been there since tue/ wed. Dr Ong said it will bcom a big patch. which was wat happened to me. she wanted to c, but the bites r on my upper thighs! :p

And pointed to the bamboo shoots. I glanced in the direction of her finger and saw the huge insects!!! Some with bodies as big as 20 cents coins, with the characteristically long skinny legs. suddenly wike my up ( I literally just woke up! ) If the ones i saw were the babies, these must be the giants! Imagine the amount of blood!!! Thing is.. Most if not all are not moving. As if they re camouflaging from some preys, or maybe they re nocturnal. Not sure. I could t conclude if they were the adults or not, but we ordered all the plants to be cut down. Yucks!!
I still don t know what they are!

Pax: let me go google.. Will be back.. Althought the trees are gone, the horror still haunts me! No the children didn t complain of any bites, nor did I see any bites on their bodies.. Phew!

Pax: I can t find any pics that even closely resemble the ones I saw.. Yikes! And they don t fly wor. At least the babies ones found in my toilets don t. So they can t be mozzies.. They look like a cross breed between spiders, ants and mozzies. Their bodies appear to have only one segment, and they re black in color.

Pax, ok noted. Paiseh.

AAA
U didn't take photo of the insects? U post here n let us see if we recognize. Size of 20cents coins are huge!

Autum: I didn t take any pics of the adults. The thought crossed my mind but I can t make myself stand still long and close enough to them to capture a shot. I didnt want to expose my vulnerability. What if they discover I was spying on them and they jumped onto me??!!! Yucks! Thing is, they re not that close ( maybe 2 metres air space away?) by for an easy shot to be captured. Plus I ll be taking against the light.. Everytime I inspect them from a distance, I have to shield my eyes from the sun s glare.

They look like crickets too, but with flatter bodies. And truly, I m not 100% sure the ones on the bamboo shoots are the parents of the babies found in my toilet.

I better stop thinking over this. I m starting to scratch all over.. Yucks...

This is one insect I told my maids to kill at sight. We don t normally kill bugs or insects, but these belong in the same category of cockroaches to me.. Just kill.. Yucks..

Oh dear pax
Poor Jo
So sayang
Poor thg

My meimei also gets bites everywhere on her thighs
N tey r red n swollen too
My mum kept telling me my hse is so dirty, but I already get part time aunties to clean 3 times a week!
Dirty I also can't help it!

Then my dad busy tahan, wash n vacuum my car thoroughly 2 days ago
I feel so Paisei

Aaa
Eeks!!
Gives me goose pumps!!

SQ, CO got new bites on her body in sgp literally everyday. At first, we suspect our place is dirty or bed bugs...but cant be cos we slept with her...and she got it. The pd said likely insect bites (cos of tropical climate), though we did not see any mozzie. The bites disappeared when she is in BJ. (one plus point here) The pd asked me to give her zrytec to prevent her from scratching.

SQ u should apply the the mozzie cream or patches on her regularly than maybe can lessen the bites. I used to be so KS i just apply the CB bug lotion for her after bath each time. Its very scary to see bites on them cos it swells very big.

AAA yucks maybe u should get an insect team to come in and fumigate your whole place. My hair was standing asi read all your post.

I am at nex now doing cny shopping queuing outside ocbc cos need to change new notes!!! Cant believe there is such a long queue.

Star
Al e banks v long Q
Except uob cos apparently tey ran out o new notes
Actually I dun really care for new notes
Or any traditions in tt matter
Find it a waste o time
I m so jialat

Ya on n off I Apply the CB cream
Nt consistent other than when we go out
I m So lazy

Star: I think this bug is isolated on the bamboo plants, and particularly on newly grown bamboo shoots (the ones which leaves are still unfolding), cos I only saw them on the shoots. And we've asked the gardener to cut down all the bamboos. It was so funny. I told the maids to close all the doors and windows when the gardeners were doing it.. Haha..

And yes, we have a regular fumigation plan with Rentokil.

Autum, Pax: I think they look something like this. But I'm not very sure.. The scary thing is they take up the whole top tip (maybe abt 1/2m of the bamboo shoot - big and small ones together, but not overlapping.) And they're not moving, now I think they could be drinking the sap of the bamboo shoots, that's why they're unmoving.. And they appear not to be concerned with the sun - as if they're sunbathing.

http://www.google.com.sg/imglanding?q=Dinoderus%20minutus&imgurl=http://delta-intkey.com/britin/images/fsup161.jpg&imgrefurl=http://delta-intkey.com/britin/col/www/bostrych.htm&usg=__Ui-7KGgCEDDcQkBqaOfY-aBbcdc=&h=1354&w=900&sz=259&hl=en&zoom=1&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=c5Syyp8AZDY7aM:&tbnh=150&tbnw=100&prev=/images%3Fq%3DDinoderus%2Bminutus%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX%26rlz%3D1W1ACAW_enSG320%26tbs%3Disch:1&ei=elY6TZ75CIq8rAfO4rGYCA&um=1&sa=X&rlz=1W1ACAW_enSG320&tbs=isch:1&start=10#tbnid=c5Syyp8AZDY7aM&start=14

AA: what are those bugs? u found them in ur house? The link seems to suggest them found in England?

Pax: teng was also at Dr ong yesterday aftnoon. he has allergic bronchitis.. it is his blocked nose stupid issue again. was also running a slight fever last night..

sayang Jo and speedy recovery!

Janice is preg with #3. i recalled seeing her once aft she returns from maternity leave.. that means,, she was already preg then?! wow....

re: teng's K1 issue
I spoke to the P . she checked it out and found that it was a 'recent' addition. There used to be a choice. sian..

next wed we will shift teng up to K1..no gradual coz the more we dragged,, teng gets worse.. from experience.

i bought some K1 activity books to try out.. realise that his pen grip is nt stable enough to write so many words.. haiz.. so it sends me thinking.. move him up or not? .. again? yes.. again...

i cld write it and asked for deferrment.. it is plausible.. just that need to verify a certain clause in the form.. maybe i shd? then teng is learning at his own pace..

I can't remember who else asked about my decision for teng (from the archives) so i just work on my memory of some of the posts..

QQ: i dunno if teng's gf will thank me or not.. maybe he can't catch up and therefore appear dumb to girls?! ha..

AA: ya. thanks for reminding me to have a deeper read on the website.. ha.. the thing is not really he has advantage of nursery or not.. but of he is asked to go to a higher level when he might not be cognitively ready for it. the children who start at K1 are cognitively ready for it so their learning curve is not that steep. Teng now without the benefit of N2.. and not cognitively ready for K1 will have a steeper learning curve.. ....

v sian also. coz was recommended two programmes .. I can Read and MPM .. both programmes civics plaza have and in fact MPM is done at PT .. so venue is not a problem.. in fact i think teng will be happy to have MPM as he loves PT. home coming for him.. i suppose..

just that.. a bit gua zhang leh.. yamaha on sat.. little gym on sun.. in school he has MIM and a science programme.. plus read and MPM.. wah he has 6 courses at this age?! Over the top liao lah!

then difficult to fit the reading and MPM programme in the weekdays afternoon given that i don't want him to miss his K1 class lessons..

haiz .. headache..

maybe. the best way to resolve all these... is let him stay put and i write in to defer? :S

Astro: Agree 6 lessons may be too many. But have a think through if he needs all of it and for how long he will need to attend that lesson. Little gym, does he still need it? In light of the other classes, priority for this has dropped perhaps? I say whiz cos I believe there s a max benefit to obtain from each enrichment, once that s achieved, time to move on. So he may need 5 or 6 now, but these shd reduce (or becomes optional) once he catches up. Hope this helps.

Astro,
Teng can catch up, dun worry. In a mths time his pencil grip will be much much better.
You can check with the teacher and P about what is covered in N2. Like numbers 1 to 100, addition, number sets etc. Kindergarten then is the real thing, you are not too late. Maybe the lst half year Teng might be adjust but I'm sure after Jun he can catch up.
For the time being no need to go for MPM as you can teach maths yourself.
Then go for I CAN READ assessment and see how.
Everything will be fine as it's only in Jan, just in time to start kindergarten.

Jia you, Teng and mummy.

astro, dun feel stress. Still have some time, dun write letter first. Try first ba.
Mpm hor, teacher told me need assessment, so kuA zhang.

Ck, take care too. Now u have sufficient time to rest? Ur mum needs lots of rest too. Must stay happy de.

AAA, so ur house needs a lot of maintenance! Scary the bugs.

Astro
at least u hv decided. P has agreed to move him. dun worry too much abt it. i'm sure Teng will catch up. he's a smart boy.

Astro, actually u really dun need to worry so much, there are other kids just slightly older than teng in that class, I believe teng can catch up de, have confidence in him.

Huingee, this PT likes to assess kids and see what to do with them de. I am glad that tian likes the school but I really dunno wat they teach in school. Maybe I should pay more attention fro. Now on? She cannot write many things yet. Ae we supposed to teach them instead? Start nex year or start this year?

Pax, jay seldom check fb de, but he showed me one page of matt's writing there, and he said he was impressed. So he also implied that maybe we must teach tian soon? I told him Matt is ONI k2.

Alamak i dun think rae can write. She can draw very well though. So must start?

Rae havinf a fever since fri dunno wat happen again. Dunno if its tat flu epidemic. Her fever hit 39.6 just now now on brufen n paracetomol n spongging!!! Read from fb tat K also having fever as well as anthea n andrea. Sian man hope all get well before C N Y

Star, this tian is aso another one who cannot write. She cannot write her own name yet. Both chi and eng.
I am teaching her to read Chinese books now, but she really not v interested in this kind of learning. She likes to dress up , ban4 mei mei and play at home. Sigh...

So many ppl are sick now. Take care.
Star, recently rae had fever a few rounds le, maybe need to bu3 her body a bit?
Infuses school started le, so many ppl are sick and the epidermic started.

QQ
aiyo.. M is in K2 liao lah... fyi, we din teach him. he learned everythg in CCC. same for Jo. i was surprised one day last wk, she wrote J, then O. then i taught the rest. since then, she has been writing her name. she showed her tr, so tr nw let her write her name on the worksheets. even jus nw, she insist on writing her name b4 sleeping.

i think for most kids, once they realise they can do smthg, they will wan to learn. i hv seen this to be true for quite a few kids, incl my 2. nt jus academic, also in sports. e.g. M, he wanted to gv up inline skating. after a few lessons, he realised he could skate, he simply wanted to go on and on and on! nw he can chase Jo on his skates!

but when they hit a block, they may jus give up. then they will need a lot of coaxing to continue. like Jo, she lost her balance in the pool n drank water, she told me she dun wan to play in the pool anymore!

QQ ya lor dunno wat happened. Just recovered n fever again. I suspect someone pass to her in school.
I think ban mei mei n play at home more fun than reading chinese books right.:p anyway does tian like to read normally? I alao asking MIL to teach her to read chinese books. Eng books i can but chinese a bit CMI. I dun rae knows how to write at all. I ever ask her PN teachers they say they dun really encourage writing cos finger muscles nit develped or strong. I dunno if this year N she will get to learn how to write. Her colouring quite steady maybe can start already.
How to bu for rae? Chinese herbs?

QQ
bottomline, dun push. dun expect. 顺其自然. Tian will surprise u. like how my kids surprised me time and time again with they hv learned in sch.. i also dun monitor lah. i'm vv the bochap. as long as i dun get complaints abt behaviour, i'm nt so concerned. to me nw, is for them to grow up w gd character.

so no enrichment class (e.g. chinese, abacus etc.), only music (bcos they requested). sports - swimming and in-line skating (learn w friends more fun).

star
炖 冬虫草 w lean meat. normal herbal chicken soup is also gd.
Nursery this year, children will learn to trace lines (curves, straight etc) as foundation for the writing skills. learn n write alphabet & numbers.

Wah this MPM programme sounds chim. Must start our kids already?

I dun think i will sign rae up for i can read. I think i will coach her myself on this. She is starting to learn how to read now. Not reading by herself but More words recognition. Hehe but she likes to read maybe this helps.

Pax thks for bu tips but rae dun take herbal stuff i tried so many times. Maybe i will try a light version of herbal chix soup. If she dun want i can still drink.

Pax good to hear this from u. Ya i try to coach her a bit everynight when we read together. She always want to read herself sometime she offer to read to me n she will come up with her own stories as she flips thru the pages. I find her quite creative.. Hehe

Btw i read the news on the new highway u involve in this proj?

star
go w the simple herbal chix soup. yu zhu, baihe, red date, longan, gouqizhi. these herbs r "sweet" n do nt taste very "herbal". no need to put too much.

This insect talk is making my hair stand!!!!! Do any of u know of other bugs on the bed or is there only 1 kind whic is the bed bugs? Sometimes i get bites but i dun think its bed bugs leh.